Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 08:18:52 PM

Title: The official Glasgow Rangers thread
Post by: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 08:18:52 PM
I think Walter and Ally are great.
Title: Re: The official Glasgow Rangers thread
Post by: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 08:19:25 PM
Not forgetting Boydinho  :D
Post by: DownFanatic on February 04, 2009, 08:23:56 PM
Dado Prso was the man!
Post by: The Watcher Pat on February 04, 2009, 08:24:22 PM
Are you the bard in disguise? Or has someone logged on to the same computer as you?
Post by: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 08:25:32 PM
I miss Showtime Adveladze
Post by: Doogie Browser on February 04, 2009, 08:29:06 PM
Andy 'shagger' Goram, pride of every loyalist wife in Sandy Row
Post by: The Watcher Pat on February 04, 2009, 08:32:52 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on February 04, 2009, 08:29:06 PM
Andy 'shagger' Goram, pride of every loyalist wife in Sandy Row

Twice too..
Post by: aroundincircles on February 04, 2009, 08:38:13 PM
Basil boli
Post by: Rav67 on February 04, 2009, 08:44:19 PM
I see Huns fans have started a "we deserve better" campaign.  In light of recent and not so recent behaviour, I don't think they do!
Post by: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 08:50:19 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on February 04, 2009, 08:44:19 PM
I see Huns fans have started a "we deserve better" campaign.  In light of recent and not so recent behaviour, I don't think they do!

Now now, have respect on the Raingers thread.....

Post by: Doogie Browser on February 04, 2009, 09:05:06 PM
I have been a teddy bear all my life, but to be honest some of our fans piss me off.  I see some Celtic fans on their thread have major issues with their side too, I know what they mean sometimes, I guess thats something we have in common  :(
Post by: Dougal Maguire on February 04, 2009, 09:11:40 PM
My favourite player in recent times would have to be Sebastian Rosental. A great servant of the club. Mind you Tore Andre Flo comes a close second.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 04, 2009, 09:19:41 PM
caaa-puuuuu-ccchhooooo

:D :D
Post by: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 09:22:59 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on February 04, 2009, 09:05:06 PM
I have been a teddy bear all my life, but to be honest some of our fans piss me off.  I see some Celtic fans on their thread have major issues with their side too, I know what they mean sometimes, I guess thats something we have in common  :(

I thought it was time i came out of the closet and declared openly to the world that I'm a Rangers fan

(http://tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:sWYCMsGL-FWLiM:http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/c9/Rainbow-diagram-ROYGBIV.svg/800px-Rainbow-diagram-ROYGBIV.svg.png)
Post by: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 09:26:18 PM
Quote from: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 09:22:59 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on February 04, 2009, 09:05:06 PM

I thought it was time i came out of the closet and declared openly to the world that I'm a Rangers fan

(http://tbn2.google.com/images?q=tbn:sWYCMsGL-FWLiM:http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/c/c9/Rainbow-diagram-ROYGBIV.svg/800px-Rainbow-diagram-ROYGBIV.svg.png)

and i'm not adverse to dabbling in a little bit of GAA the odd time....in and out...
Post by: under the bar on February 04, 2009, 09:26:57 PM
Crossmaglen Rangers would probably bate Glasgow Rangers at the minute!

Mind you, Donegal Celtic would probably bate Glasgow Celtic!
Post by: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 09:27:38 PM
That was a fantastic transfer window by the Mint: Discuss
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 04, 2009, 09:58:52 PM
Quote from: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 09:27:38 PM
That was a fantastic transfer window by the Mint: Discuss
1.he managed to stay alive and not assasinated by rangers fans
2. he didnt lose any more money (ok much more)
Post by: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 10:02:05 PM
Which far flung destination did the legendary private jet go to in order to pick up the latest worldwide talent?
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 04, 2009, 10:06:45 PM
Quote from: carribbear on February 04, 2009, 10:02:05 PM
Which far flung destination did the legendary private jet go to in order to pick up the latest worldwide talent?
thik th ejet is clamped on the runway.
only set of wheels that murry can use right now are the obvious !
:-X
Post by: carribbear on February 05, 2009, 05:28:21 AM
Brian Potter: "Kenny get me zantec out, I've just signed Kyle Lafferty"
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 05, 2009, 08:17:07 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 04, 2009, 10:06:45 PM
thik th ejet is clamped on the runway.

A bit bad form there Lynchbhoy.
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 05, 2009, 10:02:59 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 05, 2009, 08:17:07 AM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on February 04, 2009, 10:06:45 PM
thik the jet is clamped on the runway.

A bit bad form there Lynchbhoy.
a bit, but no worse than the 'atmosphere' and ethic the man himself allowed to be cultivated in that club.
Post by: carribbear on February 09, 2009, 06:53:32 PM
Walter Smith has hurredly signed a couple of Snowmen from Forfar after they impressed on Sunday, they are due to arrive in the summer as replacements for Broadfoot and Lafferty. Frosty, who is 6ft 7 showed more ariel ability than the young irishman with a defter touch and more clinical finishing.
A shrewd bit of business there by the mint.
Post by: carribbear on February 15, 2009, 05:22:25 PM
Well done today Walter, gameplan worked a treat.

Kyle Lafferty on his own up front. That probably is even more negative than the UEFA cup campaign last year. Didn't think you could trump that one. Top marks.
Post by: Muzz on February 17, 2009, 02:36:47 PM
QuoteRangers may face SPL chant probe 

Rangers had asked their fans to stop singing the song
Sectarian chanting by a section of the Rangers fans during Sunday's 0-0 Old Firm draw has been reported to the SPL, BBC Scotland has learned.

The report, submitted by the match delegate, suggests that some away supporters at Celtic Park were guilty of unacceptable behaviour.

That conduct relates to the chanting of the so-called 'Famine Song' which, some say, mocks the Irish potato famine.

SPL bosses will now decide whether or not there is a case to answer.

The song, which includes the line "The famine's over, why don't you go home," was audible at various times throughout Sunday's 0-0 draw.

It refers to events that killed an estimated one million people in the 1840s and led to a mass migration from Ireland and has drawn condemnation from the chairmen of both clubs, Sir David Murray of Rangers, and Celtic's Dr John Reid.

Rangers have urged their fans to refrain from singing the song after it was first heard during their team's 4-2 victory at Celtic Park in August.

Following that occasion, Irish diplomats raised their concerns with the Scottish government after receiving a complaint from a Celtic fan.

The Scottish FA president George Peat said the football authorities were committed to eradicating such behaviour, after he heard the song during Rangers' 3-1 win over Hamilton Accies in October.

Representatives from Rangers held discussions with Strathclyde Police about how best to tackle the issue, and fans of the Ibrox club were warned that they risked arrest if they persisted with the chant.

A Rangers fan was given two years probation and a football banning order for singing the song at Kilmarnock's Rugby Park in November.

The club escaped punishment by the SPL in 2007 for sectarian chanting during a match at Inverness, as the league was satisfied they were doing their best to stamp out the problem.

However, they were warned that they would be sanctioned with a fine, or even a points deduction, if the problem continued.

Tut tut tut - should be ashamed of yourselves  ;D
Post by: lynchbhoy on February 17, 2009, 02:39:51 PM
Quote from: Muzz on February 17, 2009, 02:36:47 PM
QuoteRangers may face SPL chant probe 

Rangers had asked their fans to stop singing the song
Sectarian chanting by a section of the Rangers fans during Sunday's 0-0 Old Firm draw has been reported to the SPL, BBC Scotland has learned.

The report, submitted by the match delegate, suggests that some away supporters at Celtic Park were guilty of unacceptable behaviour.

That conduct relates to the chanting of the so-called 'Famine Song' which, some say, mocks the Irish potato famine.

SPL bosses will now decide whether or not there is a case to answer.

The song, which includes the line "The famine's over, why don't you go home," was audible at various times throughout Sunday's 0-0 draw.

It refers to events that killed an estimated one million people in the 1840s and led to a mass migration from Ireland and has drawn condemnation from the chairmen of both clubs, Sir David Murray of Rangers, and Celtic's Dr John Reid.

Rangers have urged their fans to refrain from singing the song after it was first heard during their team's 4-2 victory at Celtic Park in August.

Following that occasion, Irish diplomats raised their concerns with the Scottish government after receiving a complaint from a Celtic fan.

The Scottish FA president George Peat said the football authorities were committed to eradicating such behaviour, after he heard the song during Rangers' 3-1 win over Hamilton Accies in October.

Representatives from Rangers held discussions with Strathclyde Police about how best to tackle the issue, and fans of the Ibrox club were warned that they risked arrest if they persisted with the chant.

A Rangers fan was given two years probation and a football banning order for singing the song at Kilmarnock's Rugby Park in November

The club escaped punishment by the SPL in 2007 for sectarian chanting during a match at Inverness, as the league was satisfied they were doing their best to stamp out the problem.

However, they were warned that they would be sanctioned with a fine, or even a points deduction, if the problem continued.

Tut tut tut - should be ashamed of yourselves  ;D
anyone else find this a little bemusing ...one fan done for a stand full of fans chanting the song ?
I would think the fan feels a little hard done by ....
Post by: Muzz on February 17, 2009, 02:54:41 PM
I would imagine that he continued to sing it when asked not too.  You know what them boys are like - don't know when to shut it :-)

I wonder what will stop them from singing these songs...the fine they got for their European travels last year didn't seem to put an end to it - Point reduction?

Its not easy for Rangers either though as I remember from Fergus McCanns days when they tried to stop some songs there was up roar among the fans. 
Post by: T Fearon on February 17, 2009, 03:22:55 PM
On that point has anyone ever heard Charlie and the Bhoys song "Bhoys against Bhigotry". Its hilarious altogte :D :Dher
Post by: Muzz on February 17, 2009, 03:26:54 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVvzehTNXhs&feature=related (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AVvzehTNXhs&feature=related)
Post by: Tonto on February 17, 2009, 04:00:35 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 17, 2009, 03:22:55 PM
On that point has anyone ever heard Charlie and the Bhoys song "Bhoys against Bhigotry". Its hilarious altogte :D :Dher
Nho, nhever hheard ohf iht, bhut thhats a rheally ghood phun.

Hhow Chlever.
Post by: carribbear on February 17, 2009, 04:06:14 PM
Quote from: Muzz on February 17, 2009, 02:54:41 PM
I would imagine that he continued to sing it when asked not too.  You know what them boys are like - don't know when to shut it :-)

I wonder what will stop them from singing these songs...the fine they got for their European travels last year didn't seem to put an end to it - Point reduction?

If only their singing was the low point of last years european adventures but they managed to delve a little deeper than that!!

Lest we (and the SPL/UEFA) forget....time to shop a dob...you don't just get the 'gers on Setanta sports...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nbOquKAcQmM&feature=related

Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 17, 2009, 05:16:51 PM
Thought I heard the charming strains of "Big Jock Knew" when I had the match on the radio briefly on Sunday. You wonder what goes through these people's heads.
Post by: carribbear on March 15, 2009, 08:11:51 PM
Todays result was a travesty. Rangers had the bulk of attacking posession but thanks to some questionable refereeing decisions the game swung in celtics favour.
Walter had his tactics bang on playing free flowing football to Strachans anti-football policy, Weir, Broadfoot, Papac and Whittaker were magnificent at the back and were coasting even if they were being unfairly targetted by sly kicks from McDonald at every opportunity (how he wasnt sent off i will never know) - the flair and attacking instincts of Davis, Miller, Ferguson, Mendes and Lafferty (My man of the match) were keeping celtic on the back foot then springing Boyd, Novo and Dailly into attack later in the game nearly paid dividends. unfortunately at the end our shots just didn't go in, Kyle pulled out a save from Boruc that he was fortunate to get a hand on, the trophy should have been back at Ibrox this evening. It took a flukey header and once we bravely chased the game it was always a risk.

Anyway, thats a diddy cup, the real double is still on.

WATP
Post by: Over the Bar on March 15, 2009, 09:06:38 PM
QuoteTodays result was a travesty. Rangers had the bulk of attacking posession but thanks to some questionable refereeing decisions the game swung in celtics favour.
Walter had his tactics bang on playing free flowing football to Strachans anti-football policy, Weir, Broadfoot, Papac and Whittaker were magnificent at the back and were coasting even if they were being unfairly targetted by sly kicks from McDonald at every opportunity (how he wasnt sent off i will never know) - the flair and attacking instincts of Davis, Miller, Ferguson, Mendes and Lafferty (My man of the match) were keeping celtic on the back foot then springing Boyd, Novo and Dailly into attack later in the game nearly paid dividends. unfortunately at the end our shots just didn't go in, Kyle pulled out a save from Boruc that he was fortunate to get a hand on, the trophy should have been back at Ibrox this evening. It took a flukey header and once we bravely chased the game it was always a risk.

WATP

Wise up.  You were dominated for almost the entire match by the worst Celtic team in a more than a decade.  Boruc could have sat in the stands for all he had to do.

Post by: lynchbhoy on March 16, 2009, 10:54:37 AM
Quote from: carribbear on March 15, 2009, 08:11:51 PM
Todays result was a travesty. Rangers had the bulk of attacking posession but thanks to some questionable refereeing decisions the game swung in celtics favour.

WATP
LOL  :D

superb
prob cut and pasted that directly from fascist fascist !
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on March 25, 2009, 09:36:44 AM
Drove through Sandy Row this morning and painted on a wall - Boruc RIP

Where's the condemnation?
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 03, 2009, 12:33:34 PM
What a pair of twats, can only be good news for Celtic as they stutter towards 4 in a row.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/r/rangers/7981287.stm
Post by: T Fearon on April 03, 2009, 02:26:48 PM
Wonder will Walter's fall out with Barry have the same fatal consequences for him as it did for Le Guen?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on April 03, 2009, 02:35:53 PM
Fair play to Walter.  The players give their immature gestures, big men, but they hadn't the balls to do it properly, had to do it sneakilly against their mouths.  Well deserved suspension.
Post by: stiffler on April 03, 2009, 02:39:43 PM
Whos rangers back up goalkeeper?
Post by: the colonel on April 03, 2009, 03:07:27 PM
neil alexander
Post by: carribbear on April 03, 2009, 03:18:03 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on April 03, 2009, 02:26:48 PM
Wonder will Walter's fall out with Barry have the same fatal consequences for him as it did for Le Guen?

SuperBarry's influence isn't what it was during the LeGuen dynasty. At that point in his career he was worth 20 million (2 and a half Boumsongs) and the club could not afford to let him go so Le Guen had to walk. This time he's a bit more expendible, what with prospects like Maurice Edu, Aaron and Steven Naismith all looking to star in the attacking midfield berth Sir Walter doesnt have to rely on the midfield genius. If we can get 15 million for him now i'd cash in the chips although David Murray has indicated that we don't need the money.

Allan McGregor on the other hand is one of the top 5 goalkeepers in the world today and i'm disappointed that he has been dropped. All the same Neil Alexander is also top notch and will do a fine job once drafted in.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on April 03, 2009, 03:45:25 PM
Post by: T Fearon on April 03, 2009, 03:48:48 PM
Carribear.

As long as you retain Kirk Club sorry Broadfoot, you'll do well...everyone else at Ibrox is surplus to requirements ;D ;D
Post by: Boolerhead Mel on April 03, 2009, 03:53:09 PM
Carribear

I hope you are taking the piss about Baz being worth £20 mill and McGregor being in the top 5 keepers-if not please PM me as i wish to buy some of the shit you are smoking!!
Post by: the colonel on April 03, 2009, 04:27:51 PM
Quote from: Boolerhead Mel on April 03, 2009, 03:53:09 PM
Carribear

I hope you are taking the piss about Baz being worth £20 mill and McGregor being in the top 5 keepers-if not please PM me as i wish to buy some of the shit you are smoking!!

exactly what i was thinking.

madman
Post by: nifan on April 03, 2009, 05:41:10 PM
The SFA have said neither of these 2 eejits will be picked again. proper order, pathetic attitude they have
Post by: the colonel on April 03, 2009, 05:45:28 PM
the word coming from clyde 1 is they'll not play for rangers and will be leaving at end of season
Post by: red hander on April 03, 2009, 05:51:34 PM
Credit where credit is due, Rangers have acted extremely well here  ... now I'm away to wash my gub out with half a bottle of Fairy liquid  :P
Post by: Tony Baloney on April 03, 2009, 05:57:10 PM
The punishment seems a bit tough for what was essentially schoolboy behaviour. Not that Ferguson doesn't deserve everything he gets!
Post by: Galwaybhoy on April 03, 2009, 05:59:52 PM
Quote from: nifan on April 03, 2009, 05:41:10 PM
The SFA have said neither of these 2 eejits will be picked again. proper order, pathetic attitude they have

I'm surprised the SFA have taken such drastic action.  I'm not complaining about it, just surprised.  Its not like Scotland can afford to ban players for life.  But proper order though, both these lads should be disgusted with themselves, awful attitude to have.  If out drinking into the night in the middle of Scotlands two international fixtures wasn't bad enough, but then to make such gestures just because they are unhappy about being dropped...Got what they deserved.  Fair play to Rangers as well.  I just wonder though, a year down the road when this is all forgotten about will these lads be taken back if the international team needs them.
Post by: lynchbhoy on April 03, 2009, 06:01:14 PM
I actually think rangers are ott here and feel that ferguson and mcgregor are being hard done by
Post by: Puckoon on April 03, 2009, 06:02:09 PM
I agree with Lynchbhoy, seems a little bit of a knee jerk reaction, although they behaved liked twats, its not as if they lied about a dead granny.
Post by: carribbear on April 03, 2009, 06:16:08 PM
Quote from: Galwaybhoy on April 03, 2009, 05:59:52 PM
Quote from: nifan on April 03, 2009, 05:41:10 PM

I'm surprised the SFA have taken such drastic action.  I'm not complaining about it, just surprised.  Its not like Scotland can afford to ban players for life.  But proper order though, both these lads should be disgusted with themselves, awful attitude to have.  If out drinking into the night in the middle of Scotlands two international fixtures wasn't bad enough, but then to make such gestures just because they are unhappy about being dropped...Got what they deserved.  Fair play to Rangers as well.  I just wonder though, a year down the road when this is all forgotten about will these lads be taken back if the international team needs them.

A couple of bad results and the country will be clambering to get Ferguson back at least. They are well served with Keepers so thats not a huge deal (gordon, alexander, marshall)

Post by: carribbear on April 03, 2009, 06:17:39 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 03, 2009, 06:02:09 PM
I agree with Lynchbhoy, seems a little bit of a knee jerk reaction, although they behaved liked t**ts, its not as if they lied about a dead granny.

Trappatoni should be on his hands and knees begging that eejit to come back. Ditto Andy Reid.
Andrews/Garvan/Gibson are not international standard footballers.
Post by: sam03/05 on April 03, 2009, 07:54:17 PM
this is a simple tactic from rangers

they must offload both these players from the wage bill in the summer

this will ensure that they both want to leave,unlike boyd in janurary who refused to move to Birmingham

simple
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 03, 2009, 08:06:55 PM
Rangers deserve great kudos here, these boys shamed their nation and got what they deserve.
Post by: carribbear on April 03, 2009, 08:10:46 PM
Quote from: sam03/05 on April 03, 2009, 07:54:17 PM
this is a simple tactic from rangers

they must offload both these players from the wage bill in the summer

this will ensure that they both want to leave,unlike boyd in janurary who refused to move to Birmingham

simple

Can they afford to lose them both for the title run in?
i'd understand if they had no chance of the league but its pretty close right now.
Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 03, 2009, 10:05:42 PM
Quote from: Doogie Browser on April 03, 2009, 08:06:55 PM
Rangers deserve great kudos here, these boys shamed their nation and got what they deserve.

Just seeing this now on SSN. Agree, they embararassed their country and treated playing for Scotland as a joke.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 04, 2009, 03:39:49 AM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on April 04, 2009, 12:44:48 AM
Quote from: carribbear on April 03, 2009, 06:16:08 PM
A couple of bad results and the country will be clambering to get Ferguson back at least. They are well served with Keepers so thats not a huge deal (gordon, alexander, marshall)

Aye right, Ferguson has never been particularly liked by the Scotland support (mainly due to his habit of pulling out of squads through injury then appearing for Rangers in their next game) and the way he has acted over the past week will ensure he would not be welcomed back. Neither is he much of a loss, a player who has a decent enough career but has failed to realise his potential. Scotland wont miss his square passes and the midfield was better on Wednesday with Fletcher and Brown in the middle. McGregor is only a loss if Gordon ever gets injured.

Going on a drinking session hours after a match, and with another coming up midweek, is embarrasing for professional athletes. Ferguson and McGregor werent alone in that, Whittaker, Teale and Brown and a few others were involved too but not for as long. These guys should be well warned as well. The fact Ferguson and McGregor followed it up with those gestures on Wednesday showed them up as petulant fools. Good riddance.

As for Rangers Ive heard Smith has been looking for an excuse to bin Ferguson for a while now. McGregor too is a liability of the park. Rangers will make a few million selling these guys in the summer, money they badly need.

What he said.

While McGregor has what could be a promising career ahead of him, Bazza is a spent force, relying more on his influence with the "peeeple" then his actual skill/talent as a player.
Minty moonbeams needs a good few million in the Summer to keep the banks happy and "blackening" the names of the Orcs two favourite players will do Smith no harm when he has to "get rid" in the Summer.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on April 04, 2009, 03:57:18 AM
Sorry for gloating but heh heh heh heh.....  ;D

World Cup qual - Duo banned by Scotland
Eurosport - Sat, 04 Apr 00:08:00 2009

Barry Ferguson and Allan McGregor have been told their Scotland careers are over and they have been suspended for two weeks without pay by Rangers.

Smith: Duo are an 'embarrassment'
The club handed out the maximum sanction available after the pair were summoned to a meeting with chief executive Martin Bain having been sent home from training earlier in the day.

Both players were involved in a drinking session at Scotland's team hotel at the weekend and then enraged club and national team bosses by apparently making V-signs while on the bench after being dropped for Wednesday's 2-1 win over Iceland at Hampden.

The Scottish FA claimed that the matter was closed but have since acted by announcing Ferguson and McGregor will no longer be considered for international selection.

The SFA have been besieged by phone calls and e-mails from Scotland fans.

It is understood the negative reaction from supporters and supporters' groups added to the pressure for the matter to be discussed again.

Following a further meeting between chief executive Gordon Smith and manager George Burley, sanctioned by the SFA board, it was decided neither player would play for Scotland again.

An SFA spokesman said: "In light of the events of the past 48 hours and following further discussions between the national team manager and the chief executive, it has been decided that Barry Ferguson and Allan McGregor will no longer be considered for international selection by Scotland.

"This action has been taken in the best interest of the squad, the fans and the country.

"We are determined to qualify for the World Cup and we must ensure that nothing is allowed to distract us from achieving this goal."

Ferguson - who has been stripped of the Rangers captaincy - and McGregor were called to a meeting with Bain at Murray Park, where they were informed of the action being taken by the club.

Bain said: "The overall conduct of the players during the last week while on Scotland duty has, regrettably, fallen considerably short of the standards expected by Rangers Football Club and our supporters and has brought the club into disrepute.

"The management of the club has taken the view that this has damaged both Rangers and Scotland and is unacceptable.

"Even though our club is entering the critical stage of the league season and the later stages of the Scottish Cup, appropriate disciplinary action was required."

Rangers has agreed with the players that part of their deducted wages will be donated to charity.

Both players issued an apology for their actions and spoke of their disappointment that their international careers are now over.

Ferguson said: "I deeply regret what happened last weekend and the events during the last week and apologise wholeheartedly for the embarrassment caused to Scotland, Rangers, both sets of supporters and my friends and family.

"I have always considered playing for Rangers and Scotland an honour and a privilege and nothing will change that and I am bitterly disappointed by the announcement that I will not be selected for Scotland again."

McGregor - who made his competitive debut against Holland on Saturday - added: "I was absolutely delighted to be selected for Scotland last weekend and I am deeply sorry over what has happened since then.

"We all make mistakes in life and I am very disappointed to have let Rangers, Scotland, my family, all the fans down.

"I am also desperately disappointed that I will not be selected again for Scotland at this stage in my career."

Post by: carribbear on April 17, 2009, 09:05:55 PM
I think we all know who should be Scottish Player of the Year

(http://assets.sbnation.com/assets/4940/vote_for_Pedro.jpg)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on September 29, 2009, 09:18:40 PM
Huns getting a spanking from Seville 1-0, no 2-0, no 3-0, no 4-0  ;D ;D ;D :D :D :D