GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Owenmoresider on January 28, 2009, 01:08:36 AM

Title: Sligo - the Division Four thread, farewell, it's been nice knowing you....
Post by: Owenmoresider on January 28, 2009, 01:08:36 AM
Would be hopeful of a similar sized thread as the Mayo/Derry or Dubs/Tyrone threads on this one, well never mind....

Need to get off to a good start, so a comfortable win and a good display by the forwards would be ideal. Word is encouraging about the new regime, not what I'd expected. Still it's only January so a long way to go before we can judge them better. The trips to Clare, Antrim and Wicklow will be real tests of the team's character, and we'd need to win two of those probably, provided the Germans' border raid doesn't come off.

Team is named for Sunday. Sligonian: Care to notice that something, erm, isn't quite right about the panel?

The Sligo Manager Kevin Walsh has named his team which will line out against Kilkenny in Markievicz Park on this Sunday February 1st throw in at 2-30pm The First Round of the National League Division 4

Phillip Greene

Charlie Harrison (Capt)            Noel McGuire                       Brendan Phillips
St John's                                    Easkey                                      Eastern Harps

Jonathan Davey                        Michael McNamara                    Paul McGovern   
St Mary's                                    St John's                                 Eastern Harps                                                                             
                         Eugene Mullen                                Sean Davey
                           Easkey                                              Curry

Gary Gaughan                          Eamon O'Hara                        Kenneth Sweeney
Tourlestrane                              Tourlestrane                                Geevagh

Dermot McTiernan                    Keith Raymond                     Adrian Marren
Ballymote                                   Calry/St Joseph's                             Curry

SUBS
Jason Farrell
Neil Ewing
Barry Kivelhan
Pat Naughton
Tony Taylor
Stephen Gilmartin
Alan Costello
Shane Stenson
David Kelly

Mayo lads- fill yer boots.

And Farrell gets dropped after being in goals for the FBD games. Another Spring of Greene howlers awaits I guess. A few questionable selections, such as the ongoing problems at CHB and midfield (though we're not blessed with many options available to us, Taylor will be in early methinks). Raymond didn't convince against Galway but he gets another shot at it anyway. Anyone offering a spread on how long O'Hara survives until his inevitable yellow card? Having just seen who's got our game, I'll call it for 0-10, and we'll probably finish up with 12-13. Yes Vincent Neary is about to torture us again, just as well it's against Kilkenny then.
Title: Re: Sligo v Kilkenny - the weekend's real humdinger
Post by: Owenmoresider on January 28, 2009, 01:24:06 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 28, 2009, 01:19:27 AM
If there is anything less than a 20 point margin, I'll be very surprised. That's being generous to Kilkenny. They were unbelieveably bad last year and only for the ref giving them frees (which weren't) when they got anywhere near the 21, they wouldn't have scored.

You'll not learn much from this game.
This ref will give them all he can, bitter bordering bollix. Never seen him ref Sligo and give anything apporaching fair treatment to us. Better it be on Sunday rather than up in Casement I guess.

I'd expect comfortable, but I geniunely can't remember us ever putting away a team with real ease, so I'm reticent to predict a margin. The last time (or near enough to it) we played KK, we only won by two. Fair bit has changed in the interim though.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 28, 2009, 03:54:52 AM
Excellent update so early in the week OMS, thanks, flatout at work so will reply later.

I see Shane stenston made it is that what your on about OMS? ;).
Post by: baoithe on January 28, 2009, 06:50:17 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on January 28, 2009, 01:08:36 AM
Would be hopeful of a similar sized thread as the Mayo/Derry or Dubs/Tyrone threads on this one, well never mind....

Need to get off to a good start, so a comfortable win and a good display by the forwards would be ideal. Word is encouraging about the new regime, not what I'd expected. Still it's only January so a long way to go before we can judge them better. The trips to Clare, Antrim and Wicklow will be real tests of the team's character, and we'd need to win two of those probably, provided the Germans' border raid doesn't come off.

Team is named for Sunday. Sligonian: Care to notice that something, erm, isn't quite right about the panel?

The Sligo Manager Kevin Walsh has named his team which will line out against Kilkenny in Markievicz Park on this Sunday February 1st throw in at 2-30pm The First Round of the National League Division 4

Phillip Greene

Charlie Harrison (Capt)            Noel McGuire                       Brendan Phillips
St John's                                    Easkey                                      Eastern Harps

Jonathan Davey                        Michael McNamara                    Paul McGovern  
St Mary's                                    St John's                                 Eastern Harps                                                                             

Gary Gaughan                          Eamon O'Hara                        Kenneth Sweeney
Tourlestrane                              Tourlestrane                                Geevagh

Dermot McTiernan                    Keith Raymond                     Adrian Marren
Ballymote                                   Calry/St Joseph's                             Curry

SUBS
Jason Farrell
Neil Ewing
Barry Kivelhan
Pat Naughton
Tony Taylor
Stephen Gilmartin
Alan Costello
Shane Stenson
David Kelly

And Farrell gets dropped after being in goals for the FBD games. Another Spring of Greene howlers awaits I guess. A few questionable selections, such as the ongoing problems at CHB and midfield (though we're not blessed with many options available to us, Taylor will be in early methinks). Raymond didn't convince against Galway but he gets another shot at it anyway. Anyone offering a spread on how long O'Hara survives until his inevitable yellow card? Having just seen who's got our game, I'll call it for 0-10, and we'll probably finish up with 12-13. Yes Vincent Neary is about to torture us again, just as well it's against Kilkenny then.

Ah for Christ's sake!
I wonder how he'd treat Costello if he were playing?
Post by: irunthev on January 28, 2009, 09:39:25 AM
Is Daniel Davey off the panel this year?
Post by: magpie seanie on January 28, 2009, 11:59:41 AM
I have never seen Vincent Neary referee a match where Sligo (or a Sligo club team in Connacht) have won. This record will continue regardless of the result on sunday as I'm away at the weekend. With him reffing the margin is irrelevant, if we get a win I'll take it.

As for the team - backs look ok. Midfield we know about. I like the look of the forwards and think Raymond deserves to be persevered with. I think he could end up doing well there. We also have a bit of forward firepower on the bench for once.
Post by: dodo on January 28, 2009, 05:06:25 PM
Quote from: baoithe on January 28, 2009, 06:50:17 AM

Ah for Christ's sake!
I wonder how he'd treat Costello if he were playing?

Never mind how Neary would treat him what about the Shiek ?
Post by: thebandit on January 28, 2009, 05:29:19 PM
What is the point of playing O'Hara against Sligo? At his age would you not be better off giving him a break?
Post by: thebandit on January 28, 2009, 05:29:40 PM
Quote from: thebandit on January 28, 2009, 05:29:19 PM
What is the point of playing O'Hara against Kilkenny? At his age would you not be better off giving him a break?
Post by: mannix on January 28, 2009, 05:33:21 PM
best of luck against kk, will there be a dinnerdancew if ye win?
Post by: thejuice on January 28, 2009, 08:32:31 PM
Checked with the bookies Sligo 1/100,  Kilkenny 18/1.

What are Sligo doing in that division for feck sake,
Post by: baoithe on January 28, 2009, 08:52:45 PM
Quote from: thejuice on January 28, 2009, 08:32:31 PM
Checked with the bookies Sligo 1/100,  Kilkenny 18/1.

What are Sligo doing in that division for feck sake,

Because we deserve to be.
Post by: Owenmoresider on January 28, 2009, 09:11:55 PM
Quote from: mannix on January 28, 2009, 05:33:21 PM
??? ??? ???
Post by: mannix on January 28, 2009, 10:21:52 PM
Does that mean you are expecting a loss owenmoresider?
As a little sidepiece DJ CAREY kicked football for the cats a few years ago in a game against wexford, apparently he stood out as a decent football player.I would expect Sligo to win most of their games in this division and move back up fast. The new manager is a champion himself and who else can really be listened to?  It will be hard for the sligo lads to adjust to a blast from Galway or even Mayo in championship after a league playing the poorer relations in football.Imagine the time kk or waterford will allow a lad on the ball as opposed to the better teams.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 29, 2009, 12:52:10 PM
Everyone gets more time on the ball in the league because fellas aren't in razor sharp condition and pitches are heavy. I don't think the league is much indicator or preparation for championship.

Regardless, we'll struggle come championship though I'd expect improvment on last years debacle(s).
Post by: mannix on January 29, 2009, 03:27:37 PM
magpie, i ve seen mayo playing league games and even in bad weather the time given to any man on the ball is minimal. Lads are fighting for jerseys in the league.
Post by: baoithe on January 29, 2009, 03:55:46 PM
Mannix what's your point? Two posts ago you implied that players playing against the likes of Kilkenny and Waterford get more time on the ball. Fair enough.
Then on the same issue of time on the ball, your last post seems to discard any correllation between the divisional status of a team with the amount of time on the ball players therein might enjoy. Instead you place emphasis on the desire of players fighting for their place as correllating with time and space players find themselves in.

Which is it? Both? Or maybe you're just talking shite as usual?

As a general rule (and there is an obvious exception) threads involving Sligo football are contributed to by people who have a genuine interest in debating the issues at hand and also by people that put a bit of thought into their analyses. If all you're interested in is rising a schoolground slagging match then you're best placed to move along and try elsewhere.

Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 29, 2009, 04:11:50 PM
Sligonian: Care to notice that something, erm, isn't quite right about the panel?

Alan Costello

Yes Vincent Neary is about to torture us again, just as well it's against Kilkenny then.

Ye robbing bastards!! Taking a Mayo man, such hypocrits! And the likes of Sligonian going mad about Parsons playing with Mayo even though he has always played in Mayo!  :D

On the Vincent Neary issue I've never seen him referee a Sligo game but I've seen him referee an awful lot at club level in Mayo and yer comments do surprise me. I've always found Vinny to be extremely fair and willing to talk to the players and explain his decisions, not to lecture like a lot of plebs do. I've seen him make mistakes and I'm not sure if he is inter-county standard but I'm amazed that there is a question over his impartiality - he always struck me as a real stand up guy
Post by: baoithe on January 29, 2009, 04:20:18 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 29, 2009, 04:11:50 PM
Sligonian: Care to notice that something, erm, isn't quite right about the panel?

Alan Costello

Yes Vincent Neary is about to torture us again, just as well it's against Kilkenny then.

Ye robbing b**tards!! Taking a Mayo man, such hypocrits! And the likes of Sligonian going mad about Parsons playing with Mayo even though he has always played in Mayo!  :D

On the Vincent Neary issue I've never seen him referee a Sligo game but I've seen him referee an awful lot at club level in Mayo and yer comments do surprise me. I've always found Vinny to be extremely fair and willing to talk to the players and explain his decisions, not to lecture like a lot of plebs do. I've seen him make mistakes and I'm not sure if he is inter-county standard but I'm amazed that there is a question over his impartiality - he always struck me as a real stand up guy

To be fair, I have heard he is a good ref in Mayo but I'm afraid that any game involving a Sligo team that I've seen him ref he has been a disaster. That said, I guess it could all be mere coincidence. Its still disheartening to see him named as ref though.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 29, 2009, 04:22:08 PM
Quote from: baoithe on January 29, 2009, 04:20:18 PM

Alan Costello

Ye robbing b**tards!! Taking a Mayo man, such hypocrits! And the likes of Sligonian going mad about Parsons playing with Mayo even though he has always played in Mayo!  :D

To be fair, I have heard he is a good ref in Mayo but I'm afraid that any game involving a Sligo team that I've seen him ref he has been a disaster. That said, I guess it could all be mere coincidence. Its still disheartening to see him named as ref though.

Disaster as in bad or do ye feel he has been very biased against Sligo?
Post by: baoithe on January 29, 2009, 04:37:22 PM
I think that he is generally perceived to be none too fair to players in the black and white.
Post by: mannix on January 29, 2009, 04:37:53 PM
baoithe,
your attack on my post would be acceptable if I could understand what you are saying in it. LET ME SAY IT REEEAALLY SSLLOOWW SO YOU UNDERSTAND. I was pointing out that neither kk or waterford are in the same world as galway and co for speed in any weather.Thats it, read it a few times and then maybe you will get it, and about fighting for jerseys in the top counties players are trying to make a name for themselves during the league so as the championship jersey might come their way too.
If you cannot understand that then theres no point getting smart with me, just get a grown up  to explain.
Post by: baoithe on January 29, 2009, 04:59:04 PM
Mannix, come clean - you've been on the wind up from the minute you came into this thread:

Nonetheless, apologies if you couldnt understand what I was saying. I'll make it much clearer and simpler next time.

So as I said, yes you are suggesting that in the higher divisions players would find less space on the ball. And as I said - fair enough.

But are you also implying that players in the top counties work harder during the league for a place in the championship than players in the division four counties?
Quote...and about fighting for jerseys in the top counties players are trying to make a name for themselves during the league so as the championship jersey might come their way too

If you are suggesting this, I'm sorry, but you are talking shite.

Post by: mannix on January 29, 2009, 05:17:38 PM
Baoithe,
yes I was winding a little.Is this not allowed or do you take it too seriously. I cannot say much more about time on the ball versus kilkenny except that if you ask eamon ohara on sunday he will tell you what I am trying to. The jersey thing is something like this, 12 forwards, 6 jerseys, the league as a place to try and get one to pull on for the summer, I imagine its similar in waterford but less pressure on players of football there, in Clare they don't even want the jersey but thats another days work. Sligo lads were cocky enough after they won connaught so this division four thing is stinging badly I assume.
baoithe i see you are ratty so I leave you the last word.
Post by: baoithe on January 29, 2009, 05:27:27 PM
Jesus I knew I'd regret getting into this.

For the love of God I understand the concept of "fighting for the jersey". Haha!
I just dont agree that players in the less successful counties fight for it less than those in the top counties.

We'll have agree to disagree.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 30, 2009, 07:25:44 AM

Phillip Greene

Charlie Harrison (Capt)            Noel McGuire                       Brendan Phillips

St Mary's                                    St John's                                 Eastern Harps                                                                             

Dermot McTiernan                    Keith Raymond                     Adrian Marren
Ballymote                                   Calry/St Joseph's                             Curry

SUBS
Jason Farrell
Neil Ewing
Barry Kivelhan
Pat Naughton
Tony Taylor
Stephen Gilmartin
Alan Costello
Shane Stenson
David Kelly

I think sweeney in the half forward line could be a coup, might just settle there, he scored 0-3 for the IT from there the last day. Time for consistency though. Ohara at CHF is good aswell, not able for midfield anymore. Gary Gaughans form i  hear has been impressive, i think hes u21 aswell again this yr so hope he keeps it up. Happy enough with half forward line and the 2 inside corner forwards.

Raymond if he doesnt show well against KK is there much point persisting so he has to have a big game, but then again hed have to do it against clare aswell for me to get anyways convinced by him judging from what ive heard so far.

Disapponted mcgee didnt get a call up and cant really understand, maybe he declined like wilson.

Midfield is a lottery, Havnt seen much of Mullen but Ive heard him and Davey have done ok so far, Taylor was poor i heard but id expect him to hit form somewhere in the course of NFL and maybe partner one of the other 2 in form. No doubt we look weak there though.

Full back line is ok, for Philliips isnt a corner back, he is a half back, and no matter how many times they try him there he will always be better at HB. I presuming Donovan is away for the yr?

McNamara as everyone KNOWS in the county except the genuises that manage Sligo football WILL never be a CHB IMO, its been tryed a 100 times and 3 or 4 good games tops. He played well as a wing back the last days because it doesnt expose his reading of the game or positional sense which is atrocious. Looks like last yr we are going to have to learn the hard way AGAIN and lose many valuable league points for the the management to cop on to it.

I think we are weak in the spine of our team, CHB, MID and FF, can we afford that sort of weakness NO, it will cost us, i dont think that team would beat Clare or Leitrim to be honest, should have enough against KK.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 30, 2009, 07:34:40 AM

Alan Costello

Big difference is Parsons never lived in Mayo, as far as i know costello lives and works in Sligo now, We are taking a man who isnt exactly in his prime but showed well in last yrs club championship. I didnt think he could be turned though but well done to those involved, could be a coup.

And the other point of a county stealing our players even though ye have 50+ clubs to our 26 should be leaving us alone, and damn right with our small pick we should try to maximise our potential but not at the expense of others like yer DOING..

Next hopefully Parsons wil be turned from the dark side ;). Nothings IMPOSSIBLE.
Post by: magpie seanie on January 30, 2009, 09:51:02 AM
QuoteWe are taking a man who isnt exactly in his prime

Yeah, he won't hit that for a couple of years yet.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 30, 2009, 10:21:06 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on January 30, 2009, 09:51:02 AM
QuoteWe are taking a man who isnt exactly in his prime

Yeah, he won't hit that for a couple of years yet.

Yeah I hope your right ;). Good news i have to say. His experience and intensity will be a serious asset. Good luck to him, he knows where the posts are no doubt aswell.

Actually FF could be his calling card come to think of it, Breheny to comeback and hopefully donovan, egan aswell might rattle a few cages come the summer.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 30, 2009, 10:36:04 AM
Costello is only 24 this year. If he can get in shape he'll be a serious asset to ye and good luck to him. I won't begrudge him his chance with ye. Unlike you're persistant rants about Parsons
Post by: stephenite on January 30, 2009, 10:39:32 AM
Enda Devenney transferred to St. Johns
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 30, 2009, 10:43:29 AM
Quote from: stephenite on January 30, 2009, 10:39:32 AM
Enda Devenney transferred to St. Johns

Holy fcuk. He'll be in with Sligo I'd say as well! If he wants to that is. Jesus when you think that Kenny Golden has been travelling from Belfast for years to play with Ballina and Enda packs it in because he's only in Sligo. Doesn't reflect very well imho
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 30, 2009, 11:17:34 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 30, 2009, 10:36:04 AM
Costello is only 24 this year. If he can get in shape he'll be a serious asset to ye and good luck to him. I won't begrudge him his chance with ye. Unlike you're persistant rants about Parsons

I always meant physically although i thought late 20s age wise i will admit, seen him last yr even with the a few extra pounds look sharp and intense on the ball and would add to our forward line for sure.

So your the better man sniper are you, for not begrudging costello or us ::). The thing that pisses me most off about yee is yee have 50+ clubs nearly 2 times the amount of players to chose from but that not enough for yee. Theres no need to be taking Bellaghy and it will never be right. In Costellos case we didnt go across any border which is completely different to Parsons fact.

Have heard the name Enda Devenney, but thats about it. If hes any good hed be more than welcome ;).
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on January 30, 2009, 11:54:47 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on January 30, 2009, 11:17:34 AM

So your the better man sniper are you, for not begrudging costello or us

Well I'd never say such a thing. Modesty would forbid me but if you're throwing out the compliment Sligonian, then thanks ;D

Have heard the name Enda Devenney, but thats about it. If hes any good hed be more than welcome ;).

He played wing-back for Mayo when we got hammered by Galway in 2007. Was just back after a lot of knee injuries. He had been the main man for Ballina en route to the All-Ireland club final success in 2005 before doing his knee a few weeks before the final. He still came on in that game (to the forwards, he had been playing wing-back prior to that) even though he was no where near right enough. Very talented player but he'd be fairly relaxed about his football
Post by: SLIGONIAN on January 30, 2009, 12:24:57 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on January 30, 2009, 11:54:47 AM

So your the better man sniper are you, for not begrudging costello or us

Well I'd never say such a thing. Modesty would forbid me but if you're throwing out the compliment Sligonian, then thanks ;D

He played wing-back for Mayo when we got hammered by Galway in 2007. Was just back after a lot of knee injuries. He had been the main man for Ballina en route to the All-Ireland club final success in 2005 before doing his knee a few weeks before the final. He still came on in that game (to the forwards, he had been playing wing-back prior to that) even though he was no where near right enough. Very talented player but he'd be fairly relaxed about his football

St Johns will suit him so.

Your most welcome for the compliment, it was probably the most sincere one ive ever given anyone.

I forgot to say, I cant believe this thread got so many replies, thanks to the Mayolads i guess, ironically i havent even thought about looking in the mayo derry thread but i guess its a compliment to Sligo Football that the mayo lads have such an interest in us.
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 04, 2009, 12:12:56 AM
Didn'y get back to this til now, busy organising a dinnerdance don't you know. ::) Well wasn't a lot to report on this one, at least we got some boost to the scoring difference eventually, but we were making hard work of it in the first half. Kilkenny faded as the game wore on, were not doing too badly when they did get the ball into the forwards, but their backs got cut open on numerous occasions, unfortunately we insisted on giving shite ball in too many times (guess who gave them the most?). Kicked some terrible wides in the second half too, hopefully we won't regret those later on. Marren and McTernan did reasonably well in the forwards, though McTernan kicked two bad frees late on. Sweeney still doesn't seem to be able to start well, Raymond isn't looking like he's the answer to our FF problems, and O'Hara is still my choice there, he wasn't really in it on Sunday and went off at HT. The Mayoman came in and did well, didn't think he had got 3-4 points but seems he did, sent in good ball too. Will be a good addition as time goes on. Midfield will face tougher tests, Mullen caught a few decent balls and did fine, but I'd still be concerned about how he'd fare against better opposition, not least Bergin or Cullinane. Davey was his usual self. Taylor did much better when introduced. The backs weren't tested too often, but McNamara isn't doing any better at CHB and McGovern is still looking vulnerable to getting a runaround. Neil Ewing came in for his first run but didn't have much to do.

Might as well make this the league thread, since only Antrim will have the posters to generate a match-specific thread.

Cooraclare is our destination on Saturday. Can't see too many going really, it's somewhere out west Clare, bit like us playing in Enniscrone I suppose. Hard to know what Clare will be like, but they did win a tricky tie in Carlow, and seem to have more on board this time (the KIB crew back according to the Weekender). A win here would set us up nicely for the old enemy after that.
Title: Re: Sligo - the Division Four thread (Mayomen only welcome if you're playing!)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 04, 2009, 05:30:42 AM
Clare will be tough, If they play McNamara and raymond we will lose simple as that. Too many weak links on that team, Mcgoverns form is a worry too. Midfield will be tested this weekend. Phillips at corner back worries me, he has to be moved to CHB. McNamara maybe to mcgoverns postion and see how that goes. Hows OHARAS injury and when will breheny be back?

I heard Ross Donovan is back aswell. Good News.
Title: Re: Sligo - the Division Four thread (Mayomen only welcome if you're playing!)
Post by: baoithe on February 06, 2009, 10:25:59 AM
I suppose there's not alot of comment to make on this Clare game - we don't know much about them and we wouldn't have learned anything from last week.

Has been a hoor of an away game for us in the past so I'm not expecting an easy ride nor indeed am I overly hopeful of a positive result. Obviously our main worries lie around the central diamond.

What else to say? Not alot. We'll know more Saturday evening.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 06, 2009, 11:40:43 AM
Re: Sligo - the Division Four thread (Mayomen only welcome if you're playing!)

I'll give full-forward a go if yer stuck . . .
Post by: magpie seanie on February 06, 2009, 01:59:53 PM
A win tomorrow of any sort would mean we are in business. I suspect we will just about get it though will admit I've very little to base that on. Knowing Walsh will demand a win is probably what's swinging it for me. Big worries about the central diamond as Baoithe has said and that is an area Clare have hurt us in before. If we get enough possession in the right hands I think we will win.

Really think someone else needs to be tried at chb. McNamara would be in my team but not in that position. Phillips is the obvious choice I suppose. He will do ok in the corner this time of year though. Was the team named?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 07, 2009, 06:17:52 PM
Clare 2-9 Sligo 1-13 FT, delighted a great result, a ghost laid to rest so to speak, so many heartbreaking defeats in Clare over the yrs. Sligo team was Greene,harrison,mcguire,phillips,mcgovern,nuaghton,mcnamara,mullen,taylor,mctiernan,costello,gaughan,marren,raymong,S davey. Not sure what postions the lads played. Good start going into the Leitrim game, if leitrim win tomorrow there will be a big crowd in Markievicz next sunday. Should be a cracker.

Antrim beat KK 4-27 to 0-5 which is 9pts better than us...for scoring difference isnt good news for us. Waterford getting a draw out of Wicklow was good to hear. The deise footballers arent as bad as people think, seen them 2 yrs ago against us and we had to work our arses off to put them away albeit we were down for 14 men for a long time and dont talk about our darkest day trip to the south coast.
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 08, 2009, 12:07:36 AM
Sub: 44 mins Gary Gaughan for Sean Davey
          48 Mins David Kelly for Keith Raymond
          51 Mins Johnny Davey for Pat Naughton

First half scorers: Adrian Marren 1-2,Alan Costello 0-2, Sean Davey 0-2,Dermot McTiernan 0-1, Michael McNamara 0-1.

Sligo Team lined out as follows:

1 Philip Greene
2 Charlie Harrison (Capt)
3 Noel McGuire
4 Brendan Phillips
6 Michael McNamara
19 Pat Naughton
18 Barry Kivlehan
8 Eugene Mullen
20 Tony Taylor
13 Dermot McTiernan
22 Alan Costello
12 Kenneth Sweeney
14 Keith Raymond
9 Sean Davey
15 Adrian Marren

Didn't sound great from the radio commentary in the second half, but a win's a win, especially when you're out in such venues (we really should take some team down to Easkey, that'll test them). Good to get the points, especially with Wicklow dropping points today. Waterford might be troublesome but in fairness we should be able for them, the Lemybrien debacle did us a favour when you think about it. Leitrim next up, if that skip is still hanging about at the Park, Morrison can use that to 'motivate' their players.
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 08, 2009, 12:09:02 AM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 06, 2009, 11:40:43 AM

FF would be useful, but how would you fare at CHB? That's our problem position at the minute. Compared to the 15 problems ye seem to have. ;)
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on February 08, 2009, 05:28:27 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on February 08, 2009, 12:07:36 AM
Morrison can use that to 'motivate' their players.

I've no doubt Morrison will be more than happy to put Sligo in the skip for the second time in 4 weeks  ;)
Liatroim AbĂș
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 08, 2009, 05:36:06 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on February 08, 2009, 12:09:02 AM

FF would be useful, but how would you fare at CHB? That's our problem position at the minute. Compared to the 15 problems ye seem to have. ;)

Ah you're off the mark there, Barry Moran is flying :D
And as for centre-half back my first and last time playing there I got taken for 3-5 by 'my man'.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 08, 2009, 07:33:06 PM
A win in Clare at any time is satisfactory. Its wins like this that will be forgotten if we get promoted but they're just as vital. Top of the table with one of our main promotion challengers coming visiting.
Post by: baoithe on February 09, 2009, 09:18:45 AM
I listened to this online and from the commentary it sounded like Sligo were lording it at midfield. They built up a decent lead in the first half only to be pulled back by what sounded like some very porous defending. It sounded like Clare could have goaled at will with our full backs being skinned.

The second half started well against the breeze and from recollection I think Sligo went 3 points up. Clare then had their purple patch and going into the last 10 minutes there was a point in it, in favour of Clare. Sligo then seemed to be winning alot of possession again in midfield but were wasting it time and again. The ref appeared to be dodgy but then so was the commentator so its hard to tell. Credit where it's due though, Sligo held the heads and got the winner towards the end.

Looking ahead to next week and judging solely on the radio commentary it seemed like midfield is functioning well. Any time I've watched Sligo play Clare we always struggled against their big men. The forward unit definitely sounds more lively too. Pat Naughton started at CB so McNamara's days might be numbered there. As Seanie said above McNamara should be in the team but not in a pivotal position such as CB. I'm not sure that's Naughton's position either but he should be given time to claim it.

In any event, Sunday will be the best indicator of where Sligo are in terms of promotion. Its a must win and hopefully the extra game we have played over Leitrim might give us a bit of an edge. As OMS said its a pity we couldnt bring games like this out to Easkey. Although on reflection, O'Hara might get more stick than anyone.

Post by: southsidejohnny on February 09, 2009, 11:23:29 AM
Love the bit where ye want mayomen only if they are playing. I presume Alan Costelloe fits the bill. No danger ye will ever get a sligo man to manage either, one in the last two hundred years is it? Best of luck in the tommy murphy once more.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 09, 2009, 12:53:55 PM
Quote from: southsidejohnny on February 09, 2009, 11:23:29 AM
Love the bit where ye want mayomen only if they are playing. I presume Alan Costelloe fits the bill. No danger ye will ever get a sligo man to manage either, one in the last two hundred years is it? Best of luck in the tommy murphy once more.

A few things obviously going over someone's head there (along with the glaring factual inaccuracies). Computers in schools seemed like such a good idea....
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on February 09, 2009, 01:03:13 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 09, 2009, 12:53:55 PM
Computer's in schools seemed like such a good idea....

:D :D :D :D :D
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2009, 07:18:41 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 08, 2009, 05:36:06 PM

And as for centre-half back my first and last time playing there I got taken for 3-5 by 'my man'.

Was it against the ladies?
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2009, 07:23:52 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 09, 2009, 07:18:41 PM

No, more a reference to how loose I was that it would be hard to call him 'my man'. Have a couple of nightmares from playing against women at under 12 too though - lost a west final to a Tourmak team with three very refined ladies most certainly not of the mucksavage variety in central positions. :o  ;)
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2009, 07:26:37 PM
Quote from: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2009, 07:23:52 PM

No, more a reference to how loose I was that it would be hard to call him 'my man'. Have a couple of nightmares from playing against women at under 12 too though - lost a west final to a Tourmak team with three women in central positions. :o

Careful with that sort of talk, the mods are in a bannin' mood.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 09, 2009, 08:10:44 PM
Quote from: muppet on February 09, 2009, 07:26:37 PM

No, more a reference to how loose I was that it would be hard to call him 'my man'. Have a couple of nightmares from playing against women at under 12 too though - lost a west final to a Tourmak team with three women in central positions. :o

Careful with that sort of talk, the mods are in a bannin' mood.

Noted and edited accordingly
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 09, 2009, 08:48:01 PM

No, more a reference to how loose I was that it would be hard to call him 'my man'. Have a couple of nightmares from playing against women at under 12 too though - lost a west final to a Tourmak team with three very refined ladies most certainly not of the mucksavage variety in central positions. :o  ;)
Don't feel too bad - I got taken to the cleaners at CHB* once by an AI-winning girl in an U12 game (the oppostion in question would be fairly obvious to most here, they had a few of them on). Game was drawn, as was the replay, they objected to us on some technicality, we objected to them playing girls, and we won the replay. :D

* - there you go, it's a bugger of a position.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on February 12, 2009, 10:10:49 PM
Well Lads and Lassies,
time to have a look at the game on Sunday, 
Leitrims team is announced and remains largely unchanged, 

Any word on Sligo ?
Post by: baoithe on February 13, 2009, 09:27:15 AM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on February 12, 2009, 10:10:49 PM
Well Lads and Lassies,
time to have a look at the game on Sunday, 
Leitrims team is announced and remains largely unchanged, 

Any word on Sligo ?

I didn't realise McKeown and Maxwell are from the same club - a fine pair of footballers. Wasn't that club intermediate up until last year? Would it be unusual not to have a player from St Mary's on the team? Last question: I see McCloskey (the lad based in London?) is missing - is he a loss?

As for us, well I dont think we'll have it as easy in midfield this weekend. Whatever about Leitrim's 8 and 9 I see Duignan is at CB and Maxwell at CF. I suspect Naughton will start on Maxwell - we're donald ducked if McNamara is put on him. Apart from that by all accounts the forwards did fine in Clare and hopefully the normally reasonably reliable full back line will have sorted out whatever was ailing them the last day.

Post by: BigJohnBrowne on February 13, 2009, 10:49:54 AM
Quote from: baoithe on February 13, 2009, 09:27:15 AM
I didn't realise McKeown and Maxwell are from the same club - a fine pair of footballers. Wasn't that club intermediate up until last year? Would it be unusual not to have a player from St Mary's on the team? Last question: I see McCloskey (the lad based in London?) is missing - is he a loss?

Yep, both from Drumreilly,  and are our main men at both ends of the field.  Unfortunately McCloskey is away and I fear for that area of the field, both of the other men are relative novices in county level.  Suspect that Maxwell will operate in FF so his opponent will be busy !.

This will be a cracker and so early in the year !.  Only other chance to meet will be in the Connacht Final and that's unlikely as Sligo won't be there !

If Leitrim win then they will have played half of their away games and still have all of the home ones to come.  Is much of a crowd expected in Sligeach ?
Post by: 45GoneShort on February 13, 2009, 10:50:15 AM
Quote from: baoithe on February 13, 2009, 09:27:15 AM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on February 12, 2009, 10:10:49 PM

As for us, well I dont think we'll have it as easy in midfield this weekend. Whatever about Leitrim's 8 and 9 I see Duignan is at CB and Maxwell at CF. I suspect Naughton will start on Maxwell - we're donald ducked if McNamara is put on him. Apart from that by all accounts the forwards did fine in Clare and hopefully the normally reasonably reliable full back line will have sorted out whatever was ailing them the last day.

Yes, both lads are from same club Drumreilly but don't let that fool you - they are still Intermediate - but as club are a law onto themselves as far as discipline goes and while they have 10 or 12 good players this is where is stops for them as they lack any really depth in their team.

McCloskey is no real loss - in fact i'm delighted to see Guckian getting a chance but still a bit peeved as to why Gallagher from Mohill doesn't even make panel.  Should be interesting match with Duignan and probably O'Hara on each other there should be fireworks!!

As for our defense we should be okay bar the fact Duignan is more comfortable at midfield or CHF and O'Flynn is in ahead of Foley which makes no real sense.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 13, 2009, 02:11:12 PM
I went to college with Duignan and Doonan and would of known maxwell, All sound lads and like to see them do well except against us.

Looking forward to listening on the radio. Should be a cracker. Hate playing Leitrim though. With the extra game and home advantage I feel that will pull us through. We need to match there workrate as in the past I feel that let us down. Walsh will see that, that will happen. Hope the Sligo public will get out on Sunday and roar on the lads.

On the team front, Ohara got a injury against KK so dont know about him, hopefully be back, brehonys injured aswell , egans away and donovans just back from the states and I dont know if hes back in the panel yet. Wont be far away from the Clare line up id say.

Sligeach abu.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on February 13, 2009, 04:56:47 PM
I suspect Sligo are quietly confident about this one.  Is O'Hara likely to be playing ?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 15, 2009, 04:38:09 PM
SLIGO 4-13 LEITRIM 1-8 FT     

We owed them that.

FANTASTIC RESULT, well done lads keep it up. Looking forward to the sligo lads reports. Sligeach abu.

Have to admit i wasnt expecting that!! What happened leitrim?, like this wasnt our best 15, without ohara,brehony,egan, etc...
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 15, 2009, 05:17:13 PM
1 SLIGO 3 3 0 0 8-47 3-21 41 6    ;D ;D
2 Antrim 3 2 1 0 5-56 4-17 42 5
3 Waterford 2 1 1 0 4-29 0-18 23 3
4 Carlow 2 1 0 1 2-24 0-26 4 2
5 Wicklow 2 0 2 0 3-21 2-24 0 2
6 Clare 3 1 0 2 3-27 2-37 -7 2
7 Leitrim 2 1 0 1 3-20 6-20 -9 2
8 London 2 0  2 2-20 4-26 -12 0
9 Kilkenny 3 0 0 3 0-12 9-67 -82

With Home games against Carlow and Waterford left and london away it looks very promising that we will get promoted but nothings certain. Wicklow and Antrim will be tough away games.
Post by: 45GoneShort on February 15, 2009, 05:22:12 PM
Just in.  I'll be brief !! Sligo were far superior on the day, our once reliable defence seems to have been ripped apart and demmoralised by Moran & Morrison.  In fairness though Sligo took their goals really well, but if there was bit more authority taken on the line in the first half as regards switches then this wouldn't have turned into a one sided game.

The only way is up from here. Just as well we don't have a 2 week break as we'll need this Carlow game next Saturday to get this defeat out of the system quick.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 15, 2009, 05:41:44 PM
Quote from: 45GoneShort on February 15, 2009, 05:22:12 PM
Just in.  I'll be brief !! Sligo were far superior on the day, our once reliable defence seems to have been ripped apart and demmoralised by Moran & Morrison.  In fairness though Sligo took their goals really well, but if there was bit more authority taken on the line in the first half as regards switches then this wouldn't have turned into a one sided game.

The only way is up from here. Just as well we don't have a 2 week break as we'll need this Carlow game next Saturday to get this defeat out of the system quick.

Moran isnt the greatest when the games in progress, but no one seen that coming, things looked promising in Leitrim all yr so far, am i not correct. Leitrim Gaels seemed reasonably happy with things from ive been told but i could be misinformed. With the rossies in waiting Leitrim will seriously want to get there act together and regroup after this becuase the rossies have improved alot.

Sligo are a different animal this yr but Galway look very impressive from what im watching on TG4.ie so I doubt anyones getting carried away looking at the bigger picture.
Title: Re: Sligo - the Division Four thread, liking the view from the top!
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 15, 2009, 07:49:08 PM
Firstly, Leitrim were shocking bad. That London result makes sense after seeing that, were ragged throughout, and were fortunate that we squandered chances and went a bit sloppy when we got a good cushion. Will need tons of improvement, or the Rossies will be relishing Carrick on the 31st of May. Moran & Morrison might be giving us more entertainment in Connacht again, and we can probably thank him for jettisoning Costello from the Mayo setup too. Nice one Mickey!

Now that said, this was probably the best footballing display I've seen from a Sligo team in a long time, definitely in terms of the football played. Plenty of good direct passing and little of the intricate movements which invariably broke down. And forwards who won their ball and could do something with it. Backs held their own for much of the game, and midfield battled hard and won a good amount of possession. While dominant through most of the game, it took a while for it to show, a good number of chances went a begging early on, and Kelly blew a glorious goal opportunity, so that Leitrim were level, 3 apiece, at one point. But it didn't reflect the play, and if we got it together it would be a different tale - and it was. A couple of points and then a good ball from costello set up Marren who buried it as soon as he got hold of the ball. We went in six up, 1-8 to 0-5.

Second half was one-way traffic really, points were swapped before terrible meesing by the Leitrim backs left Sweeney through to finish to the net. And that was practically it. Went a bit sloppy for a while after that, but it was at 2-12 to 0-8 before Sweeney got his second goal. Leitrim got one back after a scrappy enough finish but Sean Davey responded to get our fourth goal. Two more points finished the job. A good day's work all round.

Team was Fizzy, Harrison, McGuire, Ewing, McNamara, Phillips, Kivlehan, Mullen, Taylor, McTernan, Costello, Davey, Kelly, Sweeney, Marren. Subs were Johnny Davey for McNamara (who got tallied early on and seemed to suffer for it), Gaughan for McTernan, McGovern for Kivlehan (victim of those f**king stupid rules), Coen for Kelly and Stenson for Mullen. FB's were a bit loose on their men early on but did the job well overall. McNamara was struggling after the early hit and Davey came in, was his usual terrier self, did well. Phillips was powerful stuff, and Maxwell will think again about lining him up for a hit, got rattled twice! Cleaned up a fair amount of ball and used it well. CHB - hopefully sorted out now. Kivlehan did well and was very involved, though a little lucky with a neck-high tackle on Barry Prior, and that he dummied Maxwell when he was ready to repeat Geraghty's medicine from 07! Drew a clip on someone in the second half and went, but wasn't bad at all. McGovern didn't have too much to do but did grand. Mullen proved quite useful at midfield, caught and picked up a lot of ball and distributed it well, not the most mobile maybe but could do fine, he's got two fine tutors of that kind of player along the line to guide him anyway. Taylor was quiet and didn't get much ball in the first half, but wasn't too bad in the second. Will come good yet hopefully.

Forwards - well the ? over the Leitrim backline apart, a fine day for them. Costello was a class act, his passing makes a big difference and he doesn't take too much out of it like Breheny would do, unless it's with reason. Kicked a few fine points too. Should be retained at CHF. Davey did the right things today, worked well, hassled and won ball and used it well, and a goal to round it off. McTernan kicked an early point and worked hard but faded in the second half. Gaughan came in and was involved a lot, but my does he need a new set of studs, twas like Bambi on ice at times, 5-6 he ended up on his arse, could have had a goal too but for that. Kelly wasn't too bad, helped to create the second goal with the pressure on McWeeney, and linked up well. Sweeney started a game and did well - a surprise in itself. Kicked a few good points and took two goals well. Gave McKeon a right doing. Marren was lively and kicked a number of points and a fine goal in the first half. Looks a much-improved player from old. Can be a bit greedy but certainly will shoot, something none of them wanted to do a few years back. Of course there were some moments where it got sloppy but by and large it was good football and a convincing win, and sweet revenge for the humiliation in Carrick last year. That'll quieten them!
Post by: Teeling Gael on February 15, 2009, 08:10:37 PM
Sweeney will get plaudits with goals, Harrison probably was MotM but I was hugely impressed by Mullen and Costello. Both were key in the new kick the ball into full forward line policy that paid huge dividends for particuliarily Sweeney. Costellos vision,ability to hold onto ball under pressure and pass the ball are a joy and his pass for Marrens game turning 1st goal was McDonaldesque. Mullens workrate, general cop on and surprising excellent passing were also very impressive. Concur with OMS on phillips and thought Ewing had an excellent game and he gives depth to full back line when Donovan comes back. Leitrim were awful and rarely does one see McKeon so ineffective. Why play Maxwell anywhere other than full forward perplexes me also.
Post by: RedandGreenSniper on February 16, 2009, 12:39:13 AM
Fair to say yis are very happy with Costello so far then?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 16, 2009, 03:59:06 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on February 15, 2009, 07:49:08 PM
Firstly, Leitrim were shocking bad. That London result makes sense after seeing that, were ragged throughout, and were fortunate that we squandered chances and went a bit sloppy when we got a good cushion. Will need tons of improvement, or the Rossies will be relishing Carrick on the 31st of May. Moran & Morrison might be giving us more entertainment in Connacht again, and we can probably thank him for jettisoning Costello from the Mayo setup too. Nice one Mickey!

Now that said, this was probably the best footballing display I've seen from a Sligo team in a long time, definitely in terms of the football played. Plenty of good direct passing and little of the intricate movements which invariably broke down. And forwards who won their ball and could do something with it. Backs held their own for much of the game, and midfield battled hard and won a good amount of possession. While dominant through most of the game, it took a while for it to show, a good number of chances went a begging early on, and Kelly blew a glorious goal opportunity, so that Leitrim were level, 3 apiece, at one point. But it didn't reflect the play, and if we got it together it would be a different tale - and it was. A couple of points and then a good ball from costello set up Marren who buried it as soon as he got hold of the ball. We went in six up, 1-8 to 0-5.

Second half was one-way traffic really, points were swapped before terrible meesing by the Leitrim backs left Sweeney through to finish to the net. And that was practically it. Went a bit sloppy for a while after that, but it was at 2-12 to 0-8 before Sweeney got his second goal. Leitrim got one back after a scrappy enough finish but Sean Davey responded to get our fourth goal. Two more points finished the job. A good day's work all round.

Team was Fizzy, Harrison, McGuire, Ewing, McNamara, Phillips, Kivlehan, Mullen, Taylor, McTernan, Costello, Davey, Kelly, Sweeney, Marren. Subs were Johnny Davey for McNamara (who got tallied early on and seemed to suffer for it), Gaughan for McTernan, McGovern for Kivlehan (victim of those f**king stupid rules), Coen for Kelly and Stenson for Mullen. FB's were a bit loose on their men early on but did the job well overall. McNamara was struggling after the early hit and Davey came in, was his usual terrier self, did well. Phillips was powerful stuff, and Maxwell will think again about lining him up for a hit, got rattled twice! Cleaned up a fair amount of ball and used it well. CHB - hopefully sorted out now. Kivlehan did well and was very involved, though a little lucky with a neck-high tackle on Barry Prior, and that he dummied Maxwell when he was ready to repeat Geraghty's medicine from 07! Drew a clip on someone in the second half and went, but wasn't bad at all. McGovern didn't have too much to do but did grand. Mullen proved quite useful at midfield, caught and picked up a lot of ball and distributed it well, not the most mobile maybe but could do fine, he's got two fine tutors of that kind of player along the line to guide him anyway. Taylor was quiet and didn't get much ball in the first half, but wasn't too bad in the second. Will come good yet hopefully.

Forwards - well the ? over the Leitrim backline apart, a fine day for them. Costello was a class act, his passing makes a big difference and he doesn't take too much out of it like Breheny would do, unless it's with reason. Kicked a few fine points too. Should be retained at CHF. Davey did the right things today, worked well, hassled and won ball and used it well, and a goal to round it off. McTernan kicked an early point and worked hard but faded in the second half. Gaughan came in and was involved a lot, but my does he need a new set of studs, twas like Bambi on ice at times, 5-6 he ended up on his arse, could have had a goal too but for that. Kelly wasn't too bad, helped to create the second goal with the pressure on McWeeney, and linked up well. Sweeney started a game and did well - a surprise in itself. Kicked a few good points and took two goals well. Gave McKeon a right doing. Marren was lively and kicked a number of points and a fine goal in the first half. Looks a much-improved player from old. Can be a bit greedy but certainly will shoot, something none of them wanted to do a few years back. Of course there were some moments where it got sloppy but by and large it was good football and a convincing win, and sweet revenge for the humiliation in Carrick last year. That'll quieten them!

Great stuff, our days of kicking into the corners is over.
Walsh was a pure footballer and looks like hes instilling that into us, with a more direct style from what i hear.

Costello is doing great and im very happy with him.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on February 22, 2009, 09:33:24 AM
Leitrim 1-12 Carlow 0-7 ft thats them on 4pts now, we have London and Carlow next, must be 4 pts haul. Leitrim back in the race.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 02, 2009, 07:06:31 AM
London V Sligo this weekend, any of ye heading over?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 08, 2009, 04:00:24 AM
Team to start against London.

Greene
Harrison
Mcguire
Ewing
McNamara
Phillips
KIvelhan
Mullen
McTiernan
Costello
S Davey
Kelly
Raymond
Marren

Still the management are still going over stupid mistakes, despite our great start. Raymond is he or isnt commited to the footballers, he did us a favour the last day choosing the hurlers because hes not good enough and the management were then forced to play sweeney FF which worked a treat. Sweeney must be injured. Alot of people i spoke to said McNamara going off changed the game the last day in a good way, as J Davey kept mulligan quiet and J Davey gets rewarded with place on the bench. I think todays game maybe tight if they put young joyce on McNamara he'll destroy him.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 08, 2009, 04:18:23 PM
A difficult win, didn't sound great but the conditions seemed to be awful.

Table now, doing the maths:

Played-Score diff-Points

Sligo         4  +48   8
Antrim      4  +41   6
Waterford 3  +26   5
Leitrim      4  -2      5
Wicklow    3  +42   4
Carlow      3   -4     2
Clare         4   -9     2
London     3   -18   0
Kilkenny    4   -124  0
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 08, 2009, 04:21:36 PM
Hurlers had a good win, beat Monaghan 2-13 to 0-5.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 08, 2009, 05:10:43 PM
Long way yet to go in Div 4 but we're in the box seat. Antrim and Wicklow away will be tough and Waterford are going nicely too. Should take Carlow at home in which case 2 wins out of 3 would suffice.
Post by: baoithe on March 08, 2009, 05:27:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 08, 2009, 05:10:43 PM
Long way yet to go in Div 4 but we're in the box seat. Antrim and Wicklow away will be tough and Waterford are going nicely too. Should take Carlow at home in which case 2 wins out of 3 would suffice.

Agreed. Carlow aside, you'd be looking to the Waterford game and then one of the other two. Whilst we know progress has been made, the Wicklow and Antrim games will gives us a more clear indication as to the extent of that progress.
Post by: umgolaarmagh on March 08, 2009, 05:30:10 PM
Seanie, with the performance today in ruislip i dont think you will be in the driving seat to long, a poor sligo team beat london by 5/6 points with sligo scoring a goal near the end from a ball that had been thrown instead of a hand pass
Post by: magpie seanie on March 08, 2009, 06:29:14 PM
Haven't seen that much of our team this year but are they as bad as that today or are they as good as the side that hockeyed Leitrim? I hear conditions in Ruislip were terrible so that wouldn't have helped anyone. London aren't that bad are they? A fair few lads that played county over here.
Post by: irunthev on March 08, 2009, 07:46:40 PM
Whilst London won't make a great team overnight the improvement over the next 2 years will be considerable given the sheer number of players that will come into London over the next few years, and many of them will have played county at some level. This is a luxury that London haven't had since the early 1990s. You cant make  a county team overnight..... if you can then it makes a mockery of all the money that county teams spend on preparation and managers / coaches, but London can become respectable in Div 4. Sligo are way ahead of where London are, so a small vicotry today looks bad, but the conditions would have played a significant role. London have had three relative near misses so far in the elague, with late scores burying them today and against Carlow and Leitrim. They will have their eyes set on possible wins against Waterford (in London), Clare (away) and of course Kilkenny (in London). Two out of those three will leave people happy. London won't win any medals in the next year or so, but things are on the mend after ten or twelve awful years. You must remember that since the Celtic Tiger came into being in Ireland over 25 football clubs folded in the city, with the numbers falling form over 50 to 25 or so in that period. While they won't come back overnight, there will be an increase in clubs in London adn with it an improvement in the fortunes.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 09, 2009, 04:50:53 AM
Glad we won, and we were in control all the way through with our wastefulness keeping london in touch. All that matters was the win, it was never going to be pretty and considering what we conceded last yr there 0-5 is good defending. Ross Donovan coming on is good news. Im a little worried about our injuries as I believe Marren went off injured, that adds to Sweeney, brehony and O Hara in the forwards now which we need back asap. These lads need plenty of game time before the summer mcpartland included. We have a bye next round then Carlow at home so hopefully they'll clear up before then.

Still I feel Raymond at FF isnt working he had 4shots in the first half, 1 point, 2 dropped short and 1 wide and then substituted at HT i think. J Davey is supposed to have played well again coming on, is far superior to Kivelhan or McNamara simple as that. We need to get rid of them two and bring in J Davey and put Ross in the corner and Bring Ewing into the HB line. That lad was CHB for NUIG and u21s well able for wing back. Its not rocket science. Looking at the bigger picture Galway played Armstrong and Bane Wing forward against Tyrone, Ewing and Davey would be more suited to stopping them than Kivelhan or McNamara. Its disappointing that the management are making same mistakes over again, and whilst most people will think great job so far, im thinking doing most things right fair play but needs to get team selection right it mightin cost us playing McNamara or Kivlehan or raymond against DIV4 teams it will cost us against Galway. Anyway Im hopeful this will all happen in due course (when walsh reads my comments ;)).

Carlow next as the lads say on the 22/03/09 the day after our u21s play Leitrim in carrick. Best of luck to both.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 22, 2009, 05:18:38 PM
Sligo 2-8 Carlow 0-8 FT

Very weak team out so glad to win without much trouble, the amount of injuries is a worry.

Waterford did us a  favour and finished Leitrim promotion hopes. If we beat waterford at home were guarnteed a top 2 sopt.

Now lads, Dad heard on the radio that only 1 team goes up, in top2 final, is this true? Someone else mentioned a Newspaper article saying the same. It cant be true, Ive heard nothing and its not widely known.

My understanding is that top 2 go up but play a final like tipp and offaly last yr to see who wins outright.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 22, 2009, 05:39:21 PM
I'm sure 2 go up. If it was changed I think we would have heard.

Poor enough today but it was about winning without the U-21 players and we won comfortably in the end. The sooner we get out of this division the better because it was painful stuff to watch. Carlow were chronic and we were only a bit better. Costello and Kelly were the bright lights up front. Mullen might just work out in midfield. Caught a couple of good ones and though raw gives us a good option. The FB line was as good as usual. Balance is still not right in the HB line and we're not overburdened with options there.

Big game next weekend in Casement. If we win that promotion is in the bag.
Post by: baoithe on March 22, 2009, 06:00:51 PM
Thanks for that Seanie.

Antrim have been racking up some serious scores. I dont like the idea of eyeing up the Waterford game as the banker in respect of promotion and would prefer if they focussed on wrapping up the division in Casement. A loss up there would tinge this great league showing with an ever so small bit of regret.

It would be nice going into the summer without any black marks from the league and God knows, the way Galway are playing or even irrespective of how Galway are playing (!), we don't want to see a Sligo team that is in any way mentally vulnerable come the first outing in the championship.

So for me a win in Casement would represent great progress and would set them up to follow it up with a solid display against Galway.

We couldn't have asked for anything else from them this year lads.

P.S. - Was seriously p*ssed off that James Hynes didnt start for the under 21s yesterday. By all accounts, including those of the media, he had been one of the better performers for them this year. This seems to happen year on year when it comes to players from Farnans and it's becoming difficult not to view it as some sort discrimination. We're sending lads into county teams some of whom  are good enough and they're not getting a fair crack. It'll come to it that they'll just stop going in.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 22, 2009, 06:14:47 PM
Baoithe - was Hynes not injured recently? He did grand when introduced. Himself and Alan Dunne would be in contention for the last spot in my view.

We have to target the Antrim game. They're a good team and going up there and winning would be good. They are racking up huge scores alright but next Saturday will be different.
Post by: baoithe on March 22, 2009, 06:19:11 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 22, 2009, 06:14:47 PM
Baoithe - was Hynes not injured recently? He did grand when introduced. Himself and Alan Dunne would be in contention for the last spot in my view.

We have to target the Antrim game. They're a good team and going up there and winning would be good. They are racking up huge scores alright but next Saturday will be different.

He was Seanie and I said the same thing yesterday when I got a call about it. Maybe we're a bit too sensitive about this stuff given what has gone on over the years.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 22, 2009, 08:59:00 PM
Dire stuff today, as with yesterday the opposition were that chronic that it ended up being a comfortable win. Man they are a really bad outfit. Will need a major improvement for the trip north next Saturday. Five John's lads started today - should drop at least two, if not three of them. Agree with Seanie re Mullen, by contrast Taylor was anonymous, never really noticed him bar looking to take every free or lineball going. Costello provided the bit of class up front, and could have done more if provided with the opportunities. Kelly was lively enough, McTernan wasted a good number of balls when he could have used them better, but at least he wsn't running to nowhere in particular with it, like Scanlon kept doing. Isn't up to it IMO. Davey was crud once again. Backs did reasonably well. It's a win, and nothing more.

Good to see Mickey working the magic with Leitrim too. :D
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 22, 2009, 09:34:50 PM
Allianz GAA Football National League Roinn 4 Table
Team    Pld    Won    Draw Lost    For    Against Diff Points
Antrim    6    4    2    0    140    60    80    10
Sligo     5    5    0    0    97    43    54    10
Waterford    5    3    1    1    80    52    28    7
Leitrim    6    3    1    2    82    85    -3    7
Wicklow    5    2    2    1    104    61    43    6
Clare            6    2    0    4    100    80    20    4
Carlow    5    1    0    4    59    84    -25    2
London    5    1    0    4    45    86    -41    2
Kilkenny    5    0    0    5    19    175    -156    0

Looking good for us, a win in Belfast and it's goodbye to this muck. Leitrim are all but out of it, Waterford probably have to beat us to have a strong chance of going up, and Wicklow certainly do. Plus Antrim and Waterford have to meet yet, so someone will lose out in that one. The run-in:

Sligo - Antrim (A), Waterford (H), Wicklow (A).
Antrim - Sligo (H), Waterford (A).
Waterford - Carlow (H), Sligo (A), Antrim (H).
Wicklow - London (H), Carlow (A), Sligo (H).

Leitrim have Kilkenny and Clare to play, but it's very much out of their hands.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 24, 2009, 01:31:52 PM
When i seen the team named last week i knew we'd struggle even against Carlow. This yr in fairness i couldnt ask anymore but injuries are my only concern. We need Sweeney back at FF, no one else can do it there, Scanlon isnt good enough for the squad and raymond should stick to hurling. Brehony, Marren and Ohara are a huge loss to the forward line. Anyways we are in shite division but Divsion 3 is shite aswell so we have another yr of shite football to look forward to next, im mean TIPP are nearly top for crying out loud, I dont rate alot of the teams in there.
Post by: Onlooker on March 24, 2009, 06:08:29 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 24, 2009, 01:31:52 PM
When i seen the team named last week i knew we'd struggle even against Carlow. This yr in fairness i couldnt ask anymore but injuries are my only concern. We need Sweeney back at FF, no one else can do it there, Scanlon isnt good enough for the squad and raymond should stick to hurling. Brehony, Marren and Ohara are a huge loss to the forward line. Anyways we are in shite division but Divsion 3 is shite aswell so we have another yr of shite football to look forward to next, im mean TIPP are nearly top for crying out loud, I dont rate alot of the teams in there.
What is your problem with Tipperary doing well in Div. 3.  I don't see why Sligo should look down on any Div. 3 team. Were you not relegated from that Div. last year.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 25, 2009, 04:15:46 AM
Quote from: Onlooker on March 24, 2009, 06:08:29 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on March 24, 2009, 01:31:52 PM
What is your problem with Tipperary doing well in Div. 3.  I don't see why Sligo should look down on any Div. 3 team. Were you not relegated from that Div. last year.

Just calling it as it is man, we were shite last yr and deserved to go down but we still should of beaten, down, louth, etc.. Tipp glad to see them do well but in reality tipp arent great are they now, div 3 is poor aswell and thats just a fact and TIPP and even roscommon doing well is a reflection of that. BTW im not saying Sligo are great so im not looking down on anyone. Just saying div3 & 4 are a poor standard.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 29, 2009, 06:49:38 AM
I rang through to people at that game, and all I got was, "absolute shite, disgraceful stuff, giving away the ball cheaply etc.." they were the only adjectives used to describe us :-\. Said something about missing 2 great goal chances aswell in 2nd half. Anyways we all have bad nights so hopefully this is just a blip and we'll bounce back against Waterford, main thing as Walsh says every week the workrate, effort and atitude is there.

More reports from people at the game today, was Mullen did his best at midfeild, TT didnt track back to his man the full game, Phillips was taken off, but unjustly as he had loads of Antrim players running down his throat, Mcnamara decided to give his man freedom of the park and not mark him, thus giving himself a free role, one of the funniest quotes, "youd want to see the craic, Mcnamaara looking for his man after he scores a point' but he played well on the ball, but id prefer a wing back that marks and stops his man than them both doing damage attacking.

Said Antrim could of been 2-10 to 0-0 up after 15 mins but it 5-0 according to my sources, Sligo came back into it. Said our FB line played very well with the pressure they were under. Sweeney missed a open goal, but sure that happens, but turned the game as that would of put us 1-9 to 1-8 ahead and have scoerd 1-4 without reply but it didnt.

My sources werent happy with Management changes, also said Antrim were a bigger physical team than us, with 6ft players all over, suprised me to be honest, interesting views all the same. Said Antrim supporters were bang on, delighted to beat us judging by the final whistle roar they said aswell, passionate lot by all accounts, like to see them hold there own in Ulster.

This means Sligo V Waterford game is winner takes all, with us guarnteed promotion if we do it, should be exciting enough game, waterford have dropped points away from home so hopefully the will in there next outing.

I guess the Topic name needs changing :-\,
Post by: Gold on March 29, 2009, 10:55:27 PM
yeah Antrim should have been much further ahead early on-- i had the game on the stopwatch and Sligo DIDNT HAVE A SHOT AT GOAL UNTIL THE 17TH MINUTE!! Sean McGreevy in the Antrim goal didnt touch the ball until the kick out after this score in the 17TH MINUTE!! Good win and looks like promotion is assured!
Title: Re: Sligo - the Division Four thread, for the time being anyway
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 30, 2009, 12:13:04 AM
Title duly amended. Sounded like very poor stuff generally, seemed to be on top for a while early in the second half, and were well placed to catch Antrim, but that prospect faded away soon after. Disappointing defeat, will have to get it right for the last two games, Waterford have the task of beating the two teams above them, while Wicklow might just sneak it yet. It's in our hands, but we're slipping at the wrong time.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 30, 2009, 06:33:47 AM
Quote from: hardstation on March 30, 2009, 12:37:29 AM
Also, why do Sligo have their own thread on this section of the board?

Because we are special ;),

Cheers for the advice, Subs, Gaughan, Gilmartin and mcgovern obviously impressed ya hardstation?

Ya wicklow have better score difference, theyre coming up the blind side, even if we beat waterford they could catch us on the last day so not over by a long shot. Have to win our last 2 games to be sure, need costello back as stenson played chf the last day, and i wouldnt rate him as highly.

Anyword on O Hara and brehony?

Post by: Gold on March 30, 2009, 01:47:29 PM
your No.15 was your main man Sligo--flying maching 1st to the ball all day
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 30, 2009, 01:50:38 PM
Quote from: Gold on March 30, 2009, 01:47:29 PM
your No.15 was your main man Sligo--flying maching 1st to the ball all day

Have to be D Kelly, hes a important player for us alright.
Post by: AhFeckRef on March 30, 2009, 01:59:06 PM

Mickey Moran says Leitrim still has an outside chance of promotion ???  :o

Thats if (I think...) :

Waterford beat Sligo
Letirm beat Clare,
Carlow beat Wicklow,

Antrim beat Waterford
Wicklow beat Sligo.

And Leitrim beat Clare by 9 + the diff at the end of the WD/SO game - the diff at the end of the Antrim/WD game!!

So any bookie going to give me odds on that!  :P

Post by: Gold on March 30, 2009, 05:14:56 PM
Quote from: AhFeckRef on March 30, 2009, 01:59:06 PM

Thats if (I think...) :

Waterford beat Sligo
Letirm beat Clare,
Carlow beat Wicklow,

Antrim beat Waterford
Wicklow beat Sligo.

And Leitrim beat Clare by 9 + the diff at the end of the WD/SO game - the diff at the end of the Antrim/WD game!!

i'll give you €1000/1
Post by: magpie seanie on March 30, 2009, 10:16:11 PM

Thats if (I think...) :

Waterford beat Sligo
Letirm beat Clare,
Carlow beat Wicklow,

Antrim beat Waterford
Wicklow beat Sligo.

Mickey has been known to talk a good bit of shite over the years.
Post by: stevecw on March 31, 2009, 12:21:50 AM

Thats if (I think...) :

Carlow beat Wicklow,

And thats where Mickeys dream ends!!
As a Carlowman i cannot believe how bad things have become this year. Ok we are always poor enough, but tend to put it up to teams and pull off a decent win or 2 most years (like last year v Tipp) and look at them now!! We won 4 lost 4 last year in league. This year we will win 2...and we were even so lucky to beat London!

This year is the worst i can remember in all my years watching them. Most of the players have left panel already to focus on their clubs...for the game in Sligo we had only 3 outfield subs! :o
Its a total mess, and we will lose badly to Wicklow. Then we play Kilkenny in last game!! I can guarantee we won't beat them by much!

Thank god for the hurlers this year, they are the future in Carlow. County football is finished it seems. Nobody cares anymore...its all about the club. Thats why i haven't bothered to post on this thread up to now. Even i who have all the years have gone to every game has totally lost interest in them :-[
Post by: Gold on March 31, 2009, 01:22:28 PM
Thats hard going Steve. You cant give up on your County. I nearly did after the Div 4 Promotion collapse last year but was back at the NFL games this year. Its great that we are going places and the picture in the Irish News yesterday summed up Antrims progress--4 Athletes surrounding an opposition player --C'mon Antrim!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on March 31, 2009, 02:10:58 PM
Quote from: stevecw on March 31, 2009, 12:21:50 AM

Thats if (I think...) :

Carlow beat Wicklow,

And thats where Mickeys dream ends!!
As a Carlowman i cannot believe how bad things have become this year. Ok we are always poor enough, but tend to put it up to teams and pull off a decent win or 2 most years (like last year v Tipp) and look at them now!! We won 4 lost 4 last year in league. This year we will win 2...and we were even so lucky to beat London!

This year is the worst i can remember in all my years watching them. Most of the players have left panel already to focus on their clubs...for the game in Sligo we had only 3 outfield subs! :o
Its a total mess, and we will lose badly to Wicklow. Then we play Kilkenny in last game!! I can guarantee we won't beat them by much!

Thank god for the hurlers this year, they are the future in Carlow. County football is finished it seems. Nobody cares anymore...its all about the club. Thats why i haven't bothered to post on this thread up to now. Even i who have all the years have gone to every game has totally lost interest in them :-[

Has Lukie lost the confidence already???
Post by: stevecw on March 31, 2009, 04:29:40 PM
Yeah he sure has, but to be honest i don't know if anybody would be capable of sorting us out really.

Hard to know why it has gone so horribly wrong this year. Most people were happy with Luke being appointed. But 1st couple of games went bad in league and it has just been embarrasing since. Even players who have proven to be good are playing way way below their best, and there is zero confidence in the team.

With the rate players are dropping out of panel, we will have a seriously weakened squad come the Louth game in Championship. Wouldn't surprise me if Luke walks away before then anyway.
Post by: Gold on March 31, 2009, 05:37:05 PM
wheres Evan Doyle--he looked like a proper player in the O'Byrne Cup last year--what club does he play for?
Post by: stevecw on March 31, 2009, 08:52:04 PM
Evan Doyle is still on the panel. But he is actually not a good player at all. Way too slow for county level. He is usually a sub now, but due to falling numbers has started the last 2 games.

I remember the game last year v Dublin that you would have seen as it was live on Setanta. He was excellent that night, but that was his one and only really good game. No idea how he played so well, as he hasn't come anywhere close to that standard since sadly for us.

His club is Tinryland.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 11, 2009, 04:39:18 PM
Best of luck tomorrow lads, have to win it.  Throw in at 1.00.

Sligeach abu.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 12, 2009, 04:21:39 PM
Sligo 0-16 Waterford 1-11 FT, Fair play and congrats to the lads, after the Antrim defeat its a good reaction and doubly so with us 7-1pts down early on, heard costello was outstanding but we werent overly impressive.

Wicklow now last game, draw will do, havent heard the FT from there game yet but they were 2-1 to 3-3 up so presume they beat carlow. Scratch that thanks CARLOW.... ;D Fair play  great comeback, means we are promoted now doesnt it....by my calculations.

Sligo and Antrim promoted. Congrats to both teams.
Post by: FermPundit on April 12, 2009, 04:23:12 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 12, 2009, 04:21:39 PM
Sligo 0-16 Waterford 1-11 FT, Fair play and congrats to the lads, after the Antrim defeat its a good reaction and doubly so with us 7-1pts down early on, heard costello was outstanding but we werent overly impressive.

Wicklow now last game, draw will do, havent heard the FT from there game yet but presume they beat carlow.

Carlow 2-15 3-07 Wicklow
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 12, 2009, 04:28:22 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on April 12, 2009, 04:23:12 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 12, 2009, 04:21:39 PM

Wicklow now last game, draw will do, havent heard the FT from there game yet but presume they beat carlow.

Carlow 2-15 3-07 Wicklow

Thanks fermpundit, was modifying my post, Sligo and Antrim promoted now. My minimum expectations for the year realised. Be still nice to beat Wicklow but its futile, Sligo V Antrim now in the Div4 final.
Post by: FermPundit on April 12, 2009, 04:31:43 PM
Fermanagh Sligo next season. Should a cracker. I'm looking forward to it already!  ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 12, 2009, 04:37:10 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on April 12, 2009, 04:31:43 PM
Fermanagh Sligo next season. Should a cracker. I'm looking forward to it already!  ;)

Me too, hope its away though as its only a 1hr from my home ;).
Title: Re: Sligo - the Division Four thread, farewell, it's been nice knowing you....
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 12, 2009, 07:59:35 PM
Didn't expect to be promoted today, but it's a very welcome surprise. At least the pressure of needing to avoid defeat in Aughrim is no longer there. Weren't all that impressive, a very poor start when we trailed 7-2, improved things coming into half time, and went in 8-5 down. The response to the half time talk was what made the difference, six points without reply in the first 10-15 mins of the half. Sloppiness in marking left Waterford in for a soft goal to go into the lead again, but our lads recovered well to retake the lead and see it home late on. O'Hara made his return for the last 10 minutes, not too much involved but good to see him back, could do with a longer run in Aughrim I suppose.

Costello made the difference in the forwards, Stenson, Kelly and Davey had their moments, though Davey did mix it with the awful too. Sweeney had another 'mare. Midfield was so-so, backs were slighlty better, though Donovan had a smashing game, Harrison did well also. Ewing came in for Phillips at CHB, looked better as the game wore on, but he's a bit small for CHB (our HB line finishing was Davey-Ewing-McGovern - talk about being light!). Fizzy did ok with the kickouts and made one crucial save in the second half, which had stemmed from a awful pass up the other end from Sweeney. All in all a job done, can look forward to somewhat better opposition next year, and we have two more compeitive outings before the Galway game, which is no harm.
Title: Re: Sligo - the Division Four thread, farewell, it's been nice knowing you....
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 12, 2009, 08:03:25 PM
Who do ye have next week OMS? The way Galway are playing in the last 1 and a half matches anything could happen when they meet ye!
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 12, 2009, 08:05:17 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 12, 2009, 08:03:25 PM
Who do ye have next week OMS? The way Galway are playing in the last 1 and a half matches anything could happen when they meet ye!

Wicklow down in Aughrim. Would have been the decider for the second promotion spot, had they not fucked it up against their neighbours today. Amazed at that as Carlow were dire, and I mean Ballycroy-type dire, when we played them a few weeks back.
Post by: laoisgaa on April 12, 2009, 08:07:39 PM
Who got the Waterford goal? Heard Davy let Hurney play today - real question is are either Sligo or Antrim good enough for Division 3 next year or will ye be sent back down again?
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 12, 2009, 08:12:10 PM
Ah Jaysus, not another trip through the winding roads of Glenfarne... :o

Where will the league final be, Cavan perhaps? Omagh or Clones would be the other two alternatives, the other three finals would probably be held further south. Or could it be along with the Div 1 final*?

* - bearing in mind that the D2/D3 finals could be a double-header in Portlaoise, if they did want to double up the finals.
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 12, 2009, 08:17:59 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on April 12, 2009, 08:07:39 PM
Who got the Waterford goal? Heard Davy let Hurney play today - real question is are either Sligo or Antrim good enough for Division 3 next year or will ye be sent back down again?

First question - no idea.
Second question - the standard in Div 3 seemed to be distinctly average. We're not what we were earlier in the decade in terms of league performances, but we're hardly much worse than Offaly, Louth, Cavan or Roscommon. In the past three seasons we have beaten Roscommon and Antrim, and narrowly lost to Wexford, Louth and Cavan, as well as Fermanagh, who did have it sown up that day, only to let us close the gap late on. Haven't played Offaly for a long time. It's not impossible to survive it, sure look at how Tipp performed in it this year.
Post by: FermPundit on April 12, 2009, 08:34:18 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on April 12, 2009, 08:12:10 PM
Ah Jaysus, not another trip through the winding roads of Glenfarne... :o

Where will the league final be, Cavan perhaps? Omagh or Clones would be the other two alternatives, the other three finals would probably be held further south. Or could it be along with the Div 1 final*?

* - bearing in mind that the D2/D3 finals could be a double-header in Portlaoise, if they did want to double up the finals.

The Athletic grounds in Armagh or even Brewster Park in Enniskillen could be the venue
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 12, 2009, 08:49:20 PM
Div3 is poor, id expect us to stay up, alot of sides in there i dont rate.

Its time O Hara was put in the HB line, its our weakest line, ewing isnt big enough for chb, disappointly and suprisingly phillips has got his chance and not taken it. McNamara is a waste of space defensively, mcgovern is inconsistent, so I say throw ohara in CHB and take it from there.  Maybe ewing and davey ether side of him i dunno maybe, but it needs to be sorted in the next 2 games, Padraic Joyce will be no 11 and ohara would keep him quiet, Donovan will keep meehan quiet as possible so id say we have every chance if that selection is made and works. Looks like Galway peaked early again, and its still 10 weeks away till we lock horns so massive break for them which will work in our favour and our lads know from 07 we can beat them.

Whats the story with our starts, recently, like from what i heard the first 15mins against antrim we could of been 2-10 to 0-0 down, that needs sorting, maybe chance pre match routine and warm up, maybe but need looking at, against antrim and waterford we may get away with it but Galway no.

Delighted to hear how well costello is doing,  fair play,  disappointed to hear how sweeney did today, heard kelly missed alot, but davey got good reports from my sources.

Post by: stevecw on April 13, 2009, 01:28:33 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on April 12, 2009, 08:05:17 PM
Wicklow down in Aughrim. Would have been the decider for the second promotion spot, had they not fucked it up against their neighbours today. Amazed at that as Carlow were dire, and I mean Ballycroy-type dire, when we played them a few weeks back.

As as a Carlowman i am actually amazed too! After the disaster of a league we've had so far, a win today was the last thing I or anyone expected!!
Especially as within 10 minutes we conceded 2 soft goals. But played well after that in 1st half. And despite going down to 14 men at start of 2nd half we took over then. Played really well in 2nd half and fully deserved the win!

We are a strange team to understand...2 weeks ago in Waterford we scored only 6 points...but today can manage 2-15 against a supposedly stronger team!

Nice to help Sligo get promotion, and especially sweet for us to deprive Wicklow of a chance of that after the whole Thomas Walsh affair of the last couple of years!
Maybe that alone fired up the lads to put in their best performance of the year so far!! So after 3 years of Micko, and basically robbing players from neighbouring counties Wicklow are still not good enough to make it out of Div 4!  :D
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 13, 2009, 04:03:33 AM
Worth commenting (and I couldn't think of anywhere else to do it) on how well Waterford have done in the year this year. A winning goal today adnt hey'd have had an excellent chance of promotion. John keily seems to be doing an excellent job. Just shows that there is progress possible in every county if the work is put in.
Post by: aontroim on April 13, 2009, 07:52:10 AM
For the final I don't think the result in Casement is going to have much bearing.  Obviously I would love to see Antrim win the title to add to promotion, but I don't think we will catch Sligo as cold again in the opening quarter of the game.  Would love to be proved wrong. Aontroim Abu!
Post by: magpie seanie on April 13, 2009, 03:44:17 PM
Delighted that promotion is sewn up without the trip to Aughrim. It's great to have a competitive game next week to try a few things with the result not mattering. CHB looks again to be an issue. On Sligonian's suggestion - I remember O'Hara being tried in the HB line earlier in his career and it did not go that well. Maybe with the additional maturity of the years of experience he might adapt better.

Congrats to Antrim too.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 18, 2009, 06:33:35 PM
Sligo beat wicklow 11-10, not as important as it could of been but wins breed confidence and long may it last. Now the div4 final this saturday in longford, i see Antrim have objected to the venue.  Doubt anything will come from it. Itd be a good sign to turnaround the defeat earlier and put in a good performance.

Good luck to our ladies tomorrow in Down.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 18, 2009, 06:39:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 18, 2009, 06:34:51 PM
Good to finish top of the table, not that it matters.

No it doesnt, ye can have that, We'll take the cup ;)
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 18, 2009, 08:11:27 PM
Nice to finish off with a win, keep the momentum up for the final next week. No more Division Four...for a year at least
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 19, 2009, 08:42:04 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on April 18, 2009, 08:11:27 PM
Nice to finish off with a win, keep the momentum up for the final next week. No more Division Four...for a year at least

Id be confident enough of Antrim and Sligo showing well next yr. Both teams were well ahead of the chasing pack this yr. Both have to aim for promotion and believe in themselves like Tipp who I completely underrated and did brilliant and i congratulate them on that.

On another note, the SLIGO 2009 range is on azzurri, with the new Sligo Jersey. back to the black and white :), will have to see in the flesh before i judge it properly, but on first impression im not overly impressed, no collar again.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 19, 2009, 01:38:21 PM
Not sure there's much point in a Division 4 final to be honest. Good to win 8 out of 9 though. Would be far happier with 2 points off Antrim in Div 3 next year than a cup next weekend.
Post by: paddypastit on April 19, 2009, 11:27:05 PM
QuoteIts time O Hara was put in the HB line, its our weakest line, ewing isnt big enough for chb, disappointly and suprisingly phillips has got his chance and not taken it

As Seanie says... that has been tried before and the result wasn't good.  Having worked closely with the guy over the years, he was never ever one to approach a game on the basis of blocking or marking an individual opponent.  He is far far too loose to play in there and putting him at #6 would backfire, especially against a cute mover like Joyce whose game is all about subtelty, which is not part of EO'H's bag at all.  As for BP, as I have said here before on more than one occasion, nobody that was close to the county set up in the first three or four years of this decade would be in any way surprised at what hasn't happened... and let's leave that particular debate there.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 20, 2009, 07:38:42 AM
Quote from: paddypastit on April 19, 2009, 11:27:05 PM
QuoteIts time O Hara was put in the HB line, its our weakest line, ewing isnt big enough for chb, disappointly and suprisingly phillips has got his chance and not taken it

As Seanie says... that has been tried before and the result wasn't good.  Having worked closely with the guy over the years, he was never ever one to approach a game on the basis of blocking or marking an individual opponent.  He is far far too loose to play in there and putting him at #6 would backfire, especially against a cute mover like Joyce whose game is all about subtelty, which is not part of EO'H's bag at all.  As for BP, as I have said here before on more than one occasion, nobody that was close to the county set up in the first three or four years of this decade would be in any way surprised at what hasn't happened... and let's leave that particular debate there.

Well paddy, any chance of a suggestion or solution from yourself? I take your points on O Hara and prob agree, BP after his harps performances at chb hasnt materialised for the county. Dissappointed i have to say and McNamara isnt the answer either, dont really understand lets leave that particular debate there comment, CHB should be debated IMO, its only football related, maybe im missing something.

You know if i were the manager, i would got Johnny Martyn 100% fit and tryed him in there at CHB. Always rated him highly.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 20, 2009, 11:23:31 AM
Quote from: hardstation on April 19, 2009, 09:04:25 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 19, 2009, 01:38:21 PM
Not sure there's much point in a Division 4 final to be honest. Good to win 8 out of 9 though. Would be far happier with 2 points off Antrim in Div 3 next year than a cup next weekend.
There goes a man who is shitting himself....

Couldn't care much less to be honest. Div 4 cup is much worse than the Tommy Murphy cup really. The most important game for me next weekend is in Ballymote on Sunday.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 20, 2009, 12:03:22 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 20, 2009, 11:23:31 AM

Couldn't care much less to be honest. Div 4 cup is much worse than the Tommy Murphy cup really. The most important game for me next weekend is in Ballymote on Sunday.

I agree partly, really only the Div1 final counts for anything the rest really dont. But i think a win will do us no harm and keep confidence up more than a challenge game would or tm cup.
Post by: paddypastit on April 20, 2009, 01:35:22 PM
Sligonian - the 'leave it there' comment is reference to talking about a / any given person in a public forum like this - no issue with discussing the team or any position thereon.
The solution in my experience is not always about one individual.  You could look at different types to play there depending on who is around them.  As an example, John Divilly was absolutely central to Galway's '98 AI but he wouldn't fit into or look like fitting into a lot of teams. You can have a 'McNamara type' at 6 - although I personally wouldn't play him as an individual in defence at all - as long as there is a 'lock down across the HB line that comes from two defensively minded wing men and a MF structure that always has a holding player. To conclude with a specific answer on the team now, I'm a little limited in that I've had little sight on a recurring basis of any of the guys that have come into the set up in the past three years or so so I don't have the perfect answer, I can only give a view on those that I know. I would share your views on Martyn 100% however.
Post by: Gold on April 20, 2009, 02:00:28 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 20, 2009, 11:23:31 AM

I'll tell you what's worse--all of Antrim's Round 2 club games scheduled for this Wednesday night have been called off due to this game--thats a farce --the first round of club games was 15 days ago --so it will probly be the following wednesday at best when the club games are back on--thats nearly 25 days--thats a disgrace

Dublin never call off a game due to the county(club league games)--they play right through regardless of whether or not the county has a game--the county players just dont play

There is more to GAA than the 15/20 players playing a county game

Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 25, 2009, 11:50:11 PM
Well its great to back and see the outstanding standard of football ::). Congrats to our lads but worrying stuff i saw today. :-\

Ok we won but i was disappointed with Antrim as they were poor today. We werent much better. We have a lot of work to do before June 28th. Our team is a mess, and all this naive praise of the management is very premature. We got our start ok with a great move with marren finishing off a lovely score, then we owned the ball for first 10 mins with only 2 points to show, this was down to us making stupid decsions in the final third, Antrim lived off scraps early on and looked clinical then they dominated and went into a 6-2 lead and we got goal from coen i think from the outstanding Chalie Harrison forward run (when in the 1st we looked second best this man was mesmeric, well done to him fantastic and lead by example), then sean davey was disgracefully pulled for overcarrying, quick free then goal, the ref may aswell have kicked in himself. It didnt end there with this clown. Our 2 wing forwards were coming way too deep leaving to much distance till ff line. Sligo were in trouble in a number of positions with stenson getting roasted by no7 and hb line very loose. ohara steadied the ship when he came on and no7 influence dissapeared.

Then Sligo finished the half with our best football picking off some lovely scores. Level at ht 1-6 a piece.
2nd half we started brightly and dominated midfield, I thought TT did stupid lazy things but overall did well, needs to speed up in possesion, lad thinks in the back garden too often, mullen does go about his business queitly but did fine. Marren and coen got another few good scores to put 1-10 to 1-6 ahead, itd have been nice to kick on but we went asleep again and let them back into it. S Davey got sent off, was a good distance away but seemed to push away his opponent with arm, seemed harmless enough, but made contact with nose by the looks of the lad getting up, i just didnt think intent was there as ive seen davey do try to shrug players off with a leading arm before, might caught him with the elbow, well i'll put this way how the antrim lad who did something worse IMO on similiar lines stayed on I'll never know, disagraceful and alot more venom in his action i thought from the momemtum carried into the charge, glad gaughan got up.

Antrim then levelled but we got 2 scores form gaughan and marren to win it out deservedly. 1-12 to 1-10.

On first viewing i was disapointed with our forward gameplan of the wing forwards playing so deep, it killed us in the 1st half, costello was a major disappointment, but everyone tells me that he was way better in every other game so hopefully just a bad day blip, or if not brehony we need you back asap. I was reall y disappointed all our so called genuises on the line didnt take him off until 69 mins, anyone explain that? We cant afford coen and kelly on the same team, too similiar and if anything coen is better as he is fast but can score something kelly cant seem to do conssitently. Our hb line for me is  a mess, joyce will destroy ewing, ewings ok but is too easily overtaken and if mcnamara gets 10yds within his man were doing well, j davey fights hard but fouls alot, so all in all we really dont have a good defensive hb line, loose, very light, 2 not tall, but all are good on the ball. FB line majestic, although asleep for the goal. FF line needs sweeney, and for me marren and coen either side.

HF line with ohara, not sure about costello, but brehony no games looks likely he wont be match fit for galway so costello hopefully back to his old self, s davey gets stuck in and worked hard so you need that and maybe gaughan introduced quicker for whoevers not in form. Great to see marren stepping up to the plate and coen too i think could do damage.

Was disppointed how many times we gave away the ball and how many times in our grasp it fell out, also for long periods our decison making in the Forward line was bad, very bad and our shape was handicapping aswell. Too many problems at this time of yr to be sorting that should already be sorted.

Lastly on the ref, couldnt be arsed repeating this clowns name, but what are the GAA at, 2 intercounty refs in crowe and reilly linesmen for div3 final and we get an idiot from clare. On antrim cunnigham impressed me but ye are poor so im not getting carried away on todays win.

Congrats to Tipp Aswell. Some very good young players, no3, 6, 10, 9, 13 and 15 all impressed me. But div3 is shite too by the looks of things so we'll wont be far away from top next yr.
Post by: ludermor on April 26, 2009, 04:56:19 AM
i hear tipp players nos 3, 6, 10, 9, 13 and 15 are getting  agents ready after getting a seal of approval
Post by: Sligoper on April 26, 2009, 11:15:30 AM
Quote from: ludermor on April 26, 2009, 04:56:19 AM
i hear tipp players nos 3, 6, 10, 9, 13 and 15 are getting  agents ready after getting a seal of approval

Just waiting for the transfer speculation now when the window opens  ;D ;D
Post by: paddypastit on April 26, 2009, 09:22:16 PM
Was watching on TV and due to "domestic distractions" (aged 3 and 4) couldn't really say I was glued.  A few observations on the whole.

Firstly Davey had to go - it was an ugly and violent act that could not be excused. In truth the correcxt application of the laws would have been a yellow for the guy that tackled him - it was a good bit more than a 'punch on the elbow' - it was a full blooded belt in the midriff but that still doesn't excuse the response for which the only fair punishment would be the old fashioned three months for striking

The tackle at the end by the Antrim sub was nearly as ugly but not quite.  Still clearly a straight red.

The whole refereeing performance, and there were more similar moments in Croke Pk today, showed uup the absolute stupidity of these experimental rules.  Basically a yellow has ust changed into a black book and a red has become a yellow.  You basically have to murder somebody to get a straight red.  The final minute yellow being a classic example of an old red being now a yellow and the 'tackle' on Johhmy Davey in the first half being a classic example of the yellow becoming a black book as was the black booking of Michael McNamara after the ref had consulted with am umpire and then run half the field to act

After the first ten minutes, when the pace flagI realged, it was poor fare.

Sligo did well when they went direct to the FF line and in fairness I suspect the tactric of hanimnhg the two wing HFs play deep was to play the ball in ahead of Marren and Kelly to get them on the ball ahead of a relatively pedestrian Antrim FB line.  Far too often though Sligo tried to walk the ball in there and they had veruy littloe penetration when playing the short game.

Am I the only one that is increasinly unconvincede about Kelly.  A corner forward that is noi scoring threat needs to have a lot more to his game than just being quick out to the ball and I don't see it.

I liked the look of Coen - most particularly the way he took the goal where he had to adjust the poition oif his feet very quickly but did so calmly and slotted.  That showed a presence of moind and awareness as well as good technical ability.

Costello is a neat ball player but, bluntly, he needs to lose about a stone and a half if he is to be any sort of a contributror come June.  That was a point in general aboiut the forwards - they looked out on their feet 10 minutes before the end.  It is in fairness a long long time until Sligo are out in championship so I'd nearly be more concerned if they were lepping out of their skins at this point.

The midfielders are raw in spots but they each look like natural midfielders rather than converted something elses which is encouraging, but we may see them get a few skinnings before they actually deliver properly.  All in all though I'd be for sticking with them

On the HB line though, we have a lot to do.  None to me were convincing as defenders.

Overall, a win was better than a loss and it might have taught us a few things.  The one big learning though is that without O'Hara, we are still significantly the lesser
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 26, 2009, 10:08:41 PM
Quote from: hardstation on April 26, 2009, 08:28:14 PM
QuoteS Davey got sent off, was a good distance away but seemed to push away his opponent with arm, seemed harmless enough, but made contact with nose by the looks of the lad getting up, i just didnt think intent was there as ive seen davey do try to shrug players off with a leading arm before, might caught him with the elbow, well i'll put this way how the antrim lad who did something worse IMO on similiar lines stayed on I'll never know, disagraceful and alot more venom in his action i thought from the momemtum carried into the charge, glad gaughan got up.
Hope you get to see the Davey incident again. Provoked by a punch on the elbow but he deserved to go. Horrible challenge by Sean Burke. Deserved a red. Could be revisited. Wouldn't be bothered if it was.

Havent seen it up close, but general consesus talking to sligonians today is he had to go, was a good distance away from it so didnt see it properly as i said.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 26, 2009, 10:12:46 PM
Quote from: paddypastit on April 26, 2009, 09:22:16 PM
Was watching on TV and due to "domestic distractions" (aged 3 and 4) couldn't really say I was glued.  A few observations on the whole.

Firstly Davey had to go - it was an ugly and violent act that could not be excused. In truth the correcxt application of the laws would have been a yellow for the guy that tackled him - it was a good bit more than a 'punch on the elbow' - it was a full blooded belt in the midriff but that still doesn't excuse the response for which the only fair punishment would be the old fashioned three months for striking

The tackle at the end by the Antrim sub was nearly as ugly but not quite.  Still clearly a straight red.

The whole refereeing performance, and there were more similar moments in Croke Pk today, showed uup the absolute stupidity of these experimental rules.  Basically a yellow has ust changed into a black book and a red has become a yellow.  You basically have to murder somebody to get a straight red.  The final minute yellow being a classic example of an old red being now a yellow and the 'tackle' on Johhmy Davey in the first half being a classic example of the yellow becoming a black book as was the black booking of Michael McNamara after the ref had consulted with am umpire and then run half the field to act

Sligo did well when they went direct to the FF line and in fairness I suspect the tactric of hanimnhg the two wing HFs play deep was to play the ball in ahead of Marren and Kelly to get them on the ball ahead of a relatively pedestrian Antrim FB line.  Far too often though Sligo tried to walk the ball in there and they had veruy littloe penetration when playing the short game.

Am I the only one that is increasinly unconvincede about Kelly.  A corner forward that is noi scoring threat needs to have a lot more to his game than just being quick out to the ball and I don't see it.

I liked the look of Coen - most particularly the way he took the goal where he had to adjust the poition oif his feet very quickly but did so calmly and slotted.  That showed a presence of moind and awareness as well as good technical ability.

Costello is a neat ball player but, bluntly, he needs to lose about a stone and a half if he is to be any sort of a contributror come June.  That was a point in general aboiut the forwards - they looked out on their feet 10 minutes before the end.  It is in fairness a long long time until Sligo are out in championship so I'd nearly be more concerned if they were lepping out of their skins at this point.

The midfielders are raw in spots but they each look like natural midfielders rather than converted something elses which is encouraging, but we may see them get a few skinnings before they actually deliver properly.  All in all though I'd be for sticking with them

On the HB line though, we have a lot to do.  None to me were convincing as defenders.

Overall, a win was better than a loss and it might have taught us a few things.  The one big learning though is that without O'Hara, we are still significantly the lesser

Agree with all of that, what was the ref at though wasting half the day to give a black book on mcnamara, it was a joke, some lad on anfearrua gave the ref 8/10, what planet are people on on watching games ::).

O Hara we need him and for a few yrs yet for sure.
Post by: Gold on April 27, 2009, 10:23:34 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 26, 2009, 10:12:46 PM

Agree with all of that, what was the ref at though wasting half the day to give a black book on mcnamara, it was a joke, some lad on anfearrua gave the ref 8/10, what planet are people on on watching games ::).

this ruined the game--this is where antrim lost the game--we had just came back into it after stopping playing from the 10th minute, our tails were up and we had the momentum--when the ref went to the linesman then to the umpires (who didnt put their hands up to call him) i said that he better f**king at least give someone a f**king yellow here or else that is an absolute joke--gues what--3 minutes 50 seconds later--after noone had been injured or anything--the ref gave a black card---a f**king disgrace--pointless waste of time--this wrecked antrim's (albeit slight)momentum and sligo duly went on to wim the game(With 14 men).
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 27, 2009, 10:28:51 AM
Quote from: Gold on April 27, 2009, 10:23:34 AM

this ruined the game--this is where antrim lost the game--we had just came back into it after stopping playing from the 10th minute, our tails were up and we had the momentum--when the ref went to the linesman then to the umpires (who didnt put their hands up to call him) i said that he better f**king at least give someone a f**king yellow here or else that is an absolute joke--gues what--3 minutes 50 seconds later--after noone had been injured or anything--the ref gave a black card---a f**king disgrace--pointless waste of time--this wrecked antrim's (albeit slight)momentum and sligo duly went on to wim the game(With 14 men).

And in fairness to Antrim aswell i think it was no9 got a yellow beside where we were and it wasnt even a foul, didnt see what no13 got a yellow for but having no freetaker at the end didnt help ye.
Post by: Gold on April 27, 2009, 01:50:21 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on April 27, 2009, 10:28:51 AM
Quote from: Gold on April 27, 2009, 10:23:34 AM

And in fairness to Antrim aswell i think it was no9 got a yellow beside where we were and it wasnt even a foul, didnt see what no13 got a yellow for but having no freetaker at the end didnt help ye.

No 9': Gallaghers was for very little --No 13 Cunningham's was for a rugby tackle Brian O'Driscoll would have been proud of when there was no need as the ball was deep in Sligo's defence.

We stopped 10 minutes before half time and had no bite or penetration in the forward line--thats where we lost it--also you's were that bit more psysical and both our wing half backs noses were broken--the first one was cutely done by i think O'Hara and the 2nd by Davey was there for all to see. Unfortunetly these 2 were our best players by a distance and didnt help us.
Its poor however when of our 3 cores from play--1 came from midfielder McCann and the other 2 from wing back Loughrey. Worrying stuff
Post by: paddypastit on April 27, 2009, 04:33:33 PM
Quotethe first one was cutely done by i think O'Hara
the more things change...