GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: two man tackle on January 08, 2007, 06:24:59 PM

Title: croker - waste of money
Post by: two man tackle on January 08, 2007, 06:24:59 PM
On hearing recent news that Croke Park have installed floodlights and that they are thinking about putting a roof over the field in the next few years I'd like to take the opportunity to criticise what is only a Croke Park bias within the GAA.

The GAA have become so completely and wrongly obsessed with their Croke Park project and in furthering its development that they have neglected every other county and their facilities throughout the country. In my opinion it wasn't worth the money it lies empty most of the time and we only seem to fill it twice a year. This is an absolute disgrace considering all the tax-payers and gaels money that have gone into the ground.

[Edited by Admin for libellous content]

[edited by Admin for racist content]

Admin Edit: Consider this a warning. That rubbish is out of order. As mentioned before, could the timewasters and people only signing up to spoil the place, please take it elsewhere.

I won't be paying my membership this year, I hope you all will join me in that also as you now know where ypour money really goes.
Title: Re: croker - waste of money
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2007, 06:29:11 PM
That is an awful slanderous thing to say about past GAA presidents with absolutely no proof. To say all ex-GAA presidents are rich is a joke to begin with, and to suggest that they are taking back handers is disgraceful, unless you have proof of this.

To your main point, to be honest, I'm sick of the spending that is going on in provincial grounds, unless they get proper use. Limerick is a huge white elephant sitting on the Ennis Road, I don't think it's ever been full since it was done up. I'm all for having nice facilities, but I'd prefer a 20,000 capacity, with nice stand, toilets and facilities rather than a 45,000 monolith which never gets fully utilised.
Post by: fitzroy on January 08, 2007, 06:29:41 PM
I totally agree with the first comment! I hate dubliners aswell!
Post by: AZOffaly on January 08, 2007, 06:30:38 PM
Shite. I just realised I wandered into another of these multiple personality wind ups. This is getting tiring. Should we start banning IP addresses?
Post by: two man tackle on January 08, 2007, 06:32:02 PM
how could i possibily have proof like? i know what i know its common knowledge among gaa circles that this is true and name a president that isnt rich?
Post by: paddypastit on January 08, 2007, 07:11:02 PM
While I'm with AZ here, seeing as you asked
Quotename a president that isnt rich?
, let's try Brennan, Kelly, McCague, McDonagh, Boothman, Loftus that I know of?.  The only GAA president that I recall that was 'rich' was / is Peter Quinn - he may in fact be the only one evere to justifiably be so described - and "its common knowledge", very common in fact, that he was well rich before ever he became President... in fact I'd hazard a suggestion that being President was actually an inhibitor to him getting rich because the time involved in being President would leave very little time for anything else.
Post by: two man tackle on January 08, 2007, 07:19:30 PM
well thats your opninion that these people arent "rich" and your entitled to it we live in a democratic country. But i think your being naive as to the hoards of wealth that some of these people, who may or may not have been previously named by you, have amassed.
Post by: paddypastit on January 08, 2007, 07:36:24 PM
Except two man that I actually know some of these people, and they are not rich by any generally accepted measure, except in in spirit of course, being the fine men that they are and all that 8)
Post by: two man tackle on January 08, 2007, 07:38:26 PM
oh yeah your a real big shot, and anyway as if you know these peoples finances.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 08, 2007, 07:41:44 PM
Two man tackle

(http://www.forgets.net/med/unsorted/keyboard_warrior.jpg)
Post by: two man tackle on January 08, 2007, 07:44:07 PM
you withdraw your claims which are infactual and undertruthful. i wont withdraw anything other than my hand from your face.
Post by: corn02 on January 08, 2007, 07:50:16 PM
Ignoring two mans childish approach to the argument, perhaps there is a bit of truth in their somewhere? However his vandetta appears to be personal, maybe he met a President who would not sign an autograph for him?
Post by: J70 on January 08, 2007, 08:00:12 PM
Its looks like a second wave of invasion of the board by cretins is underway! Only Flameboy has hung around and tried to clean up his act since the first one after the transfer to the new board. These aren't alter egos of yours Flameboy, are they? :P
Post by: ziggysego on January 08, 2007, 08:02:07 PM
(http://www.kvods.com/wp-content/uploads/2006/04/NewJekyllFront.JPG)
Post by: two man tackle on January 08, 2007, 08:08:14 PM
i have no idea who this flameboy is, i was on the old board but i just never re-registered very a long time.
Post by: corn02 on January 08, 2007, 08:16:55 PM
yes i rmember your post on the old board, quite disturbing if i remember.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 12:45:50 AM
Quote from: two man tackle on January 08, 2007, 06:24:59 PM
Now in the next few months all these foreigners are gonna be playing in our stadium. Its bad enough they work in our fast food outlets and bars but now they're takin over our own game

Twelve replies to TMT, from eight different posters, and no-one thought to challenge the blatant xenophobia above, nor even point out that some of these "foreigners" might have names like Robbie Keane or Brian O'Driscoll (not to mention Andrew Trimble, or even Shane Geraghty, if picked  ;))
But perish the thought that he might impugn the integrity of a few GAA Presidents... :o
Post by: Gnevin on January 09, 2007, 12:47:02 AM

The GAA have become so completely and wrongly obsessed with their Croke Park project and in furthering its development that they have neglected every other county and their facilities throughout the country. In my opinion it wasn't worth the money it lies empty most of the time and we only seem to fill it twice a year.
Last year its was full
Leinster Semi
Leinster Final
AI Quarter Final
AI Quarter Final + Hurling Semi
AI Semi
AI Semi
AI Final
AI Final Hurling

Yup only twice
Post by: J70 on January 09, 2007, 01:04:50 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 12:45:50 AM
Now in the next few months all these foreigners are gonna be playing in our stadium. Its bad enough they work in our fast food outlets and bars but now they're takin over our own game

Twelve replies to TMT, from eight different posters, and no-one thought to challenge the blatant xenophobia above, nor even point out that some of these "foreigners" might have names like Robbie Keane or Brian O'Driscoll (not to mention Andrew Trimble, or even Shane Geraghty, if picked  ;))
But perish the thought that he might impugn the integrity of a few GAA Presidents... :o

Totally missed it, as must the others, given that it came after a load of other crap about GAA presidents. I don't there's much tolerance among the membership for that kind of idiocy. It would seem that Two Man Tackle is just another child-minded fool on here looking to stir a bit of shit and get a bit of attention.
Post by: tayto on January 09, 2007, 01:45:44 AM
Best thing to do is to not reply to muppets like this and then they drop off the radar in no time. obvious wind up merchant looking for attention.
Post by: full back on January 09, 2007, 08:17:23 AM
Two Man Tackle is an idiot.All he/she wants to do is create a platform to spout sh1t and get into arguments with 'proper' members of the board
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 09, 2007, 08:21:37 AM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 12:45:50 AM

Yeah, imagine, we must be all racist or it could be that everyone, like me, stopped reading before the 4th paragraph. 
I've reported the post to admin.

Btw evil, you hardly can take the moral highground when you didnt bother to challenge it yourself, just thought you'd use it as an opportunity to try and reinforce your own prejudices.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 09, 2007, 08:57:42 AM
I must admit I didn't see the bit about 'Foreigners' playing in Croker. I was suckered by the GAA presidents horse manure.

Obviously, I would totally reject a statement like that as well.
Post by: Dinny Breen on January 09, 2007, 09:05:57 AM
Evil Genius,

I saw that, didn't what to give his thread credence so reported it to a moderator instead, never mind xenophibic I thought it was down right racist....
Post by: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 09:44:06 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 09, 2007, 12:47:02 AM

The GAA have become so completely and wrongly obsessed with their Croke Park project and in furthering its development that they have neglected every other county and their facilities throughout the country. In my opinion it wasn't worth the money it lies empty most of the time and we only seem to fill it twice a year.
Last year its was full
Leinster Semi
Leinster Final
AI Quarter Final
AI Semi
AI Semi
AI Final
AI Final Hurling

Yup only twice

That is absolute nonsense that croke park was full all those times. OK twice may be an underestimate but I attended some of those fictures mentioned above and it was barely past the half-way mark, obviously your just a croke park-lovin, company yes man.

Also in response to slurs on my character that I made racist comments, this is absolute untrue and false not once did any of my posts contain anything racist.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 09, 2007, 09:47:51 AM
I think your comments had a racist slant to them Xenophobic at least. Others obviously agreed.
Post by: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 09:52:21 AM
just because people agreed doesn't mean its correct. I was categorically not racist, I even know some non-white people.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 09, 2007, 09:53:24 AM
QuoteI even know some non-white people.

A FFS. Another wind up merchant.
Post by: full back on January 09, 2007, 09:55:02 AM
Quote from: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 09:52:21 AM
I even know some non-white people.

:D :D.
Dont bite AZ, dont bite
Post by: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 09:55:52 AM
typical on the fence middle of the road gaaboard view, if someone expresses an opinion different to theirs then they're definately a wind-up merchant.
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2007, 09:56:04 AM
To be honest, I dont even know if he is on  the wind up.  ???
Post by: fitzroy on January 09, 2007, 10:24:45 AM
I want to distance myself from any racist comments that were made by two man but I will focus on the heading of this discussion and agree that croke park is a joke.
Post by: Gnevin on January 09, 2007, 12:37:46 PM
Quote from: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 09:44:06 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 09, 2007, 12:47:02 AM

Last year its was full
Leinster Semi
Leinster Final
AI Quarter Final
AI Semi
AI Semi
AI Final
AI Final Hurling

Yup only twice

That is absolute nonsense that croke park was full all those times. OK twice may be an underestimate but I attended some of those fictures mentioned above and it was barely past the half-way mark, obviously your just a croke park-lovin, company yes man.

Also in response to slurs on my character that I made racist comments, this is absolute untrue and false not once did any of my posts contain anything racist.
The only doubtful ones are the AI Semi with Cork and Kerry and a Quarter Final match as i was at the rest and with the Dubs playing it was 100% full from the Leinster Final on and 99% for the semi if not full
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2007, 12:46:07 PM
although he is a shit, i have to agree with two man on the Gnevin I think you are being a bit generous on attendances. Most matches got 60,000 plus but more than a couple were not full house.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 12:53:11 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 09, 2007, 08:21:37 AM
Btw evil, you hardly can take the moral highground when you didnt bother to challenge it yourself, just thought you'd use it as an opportunity to try and reinforce your own prejudices.

I had assumed that my "challenge" was so inherently implicit in my post as to obviate the need to make it explicit; sadly, that seems not to have been enough for you, POG.
Might this be because every time you see that I've posted, it immediately produces a knee jerk reaction which causes you to attack me, regardless of what I actually say?
"Prejudice", indeed...

Anyhow, I'm pleased that others now appear to have picked up on TMT's comment and accorded it the condemnation it deserves.
Post by: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 02:45:18 PM
that editing is a disgrace. if you cant express an opinion whats the point of this site? obviously the site moderators have been partial to a few brown envelopes in the past in order to keep the presidents and the gaas dirty little secrets off the gaaboard.
Post by: tayto on January 09, 2007, 02:46:05 PM
Two man tosser more like.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 09, 2007, 02:47:52 PM
Quotebut I will focus on the heading of this discussion and agree that croke park is a joke.

Don't bother going back to it then
Post by: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 02:59:03 PM
Quote from: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 02:45:18 PM
that editing is a disgrace. if you cant express an opinion whats the point of this site?

I have to say that I agree with TMT in one respect. Whilst clearly the Moderators need to protect themselves from potentially libellous comments about public figures (and therefore are justified in excising contentious sections), I feel it is totally unacceptable to "edit" (censor, actually) the expression of non-actionable opinions, no matter how repugnant those opinions and their author may be.

If Free Speech is to mean anything, it must also include the Freedom to Offend (legal constraints permitting)
Post by: tayto on January 09, 2007, 03:01:32 PM
Well boys no one is making yez come on here, so you don't like the way the mods operate? then you know where the ... eh ... door is .... so to speak
Post by: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 03:02:20 PM
jackeen kn**ker
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2007, 03:04:11 PM
I'll back up evil genius there. No matter how stupid his claims may appear, TMT has a right to post it, it is a discussion board after all. However should he not be back off his xmas holidays yet?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 09, 2007, 03:10:04 PM
Free Speech does not extend to personal insults or slanderous/libelous comments in my opinion. Also, I don't think racist comments have any place here either. If that stuff is allowed to carry on unchecked, no one will ever post here after a while. That would be a pity, as this board has lived through a lot of challenges, probably since before some of these heroes even knew what a keyboard is.

I don't think too many people get censored or banned here, and generally if it happens, they are asking for it. Look at the lattitude afforded to Flameboy.
Post by: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 03:12:18 PM
im not a racist person, i never said anything racist and i stand by that, after doing some research i just found out my great grandad was an egyptian postal worker so how could i be racist? i jus dont want foreigners ruinin our game that took us gaels so long to build. they already steal our jobs and take our women.
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2007, 03:13:39 PM
oh jesus,  can we get this muppet banned
Post by: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 03:15:05 PM
oh yeah bann me thats would youd like, someone expresses an opinion against yours and rthey get banned. well i know a place where stuff like that used to happen - germany 1933-45 but only they started bannin people but then after a while they got bored of that and jus gased them instead. thats the type o' you lot.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 09, 2007, 03:16:03 PM
Corn02 : Posted 3:04 pm
QuoteI'll back up evil genius there. No matter how stupid his claims may appear, TMT has a right to post it, it is a discussion board after all. However should he not be back off his xmas holidays yet?

Corn02 : Posted 3:13 PM
Quoteoh jesus,  can we get this muppet banned

Holy sh*t Corn02. That's the fasted U-Turn since Michael Schumacher found out what the handbrake could do. Are you a politician or something?
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2007, 03:17:35 PM
note to AZ:

Check post in between, it contains a racist element which i did not notice in his first posts, therefore i changed opinion.
Post by: two man tackle on January 09, 2007, 03:18:24 PM
your callin me a racist yet your the one supportin shit from nazi germany?
Post by: AZOffaly on January 09, 2007, 03:23:48 PM
Corn, so basically it's 'no matter how stupid (unless they are racist)'

Anyway, no bother, I agree with you. and this talk of Nazi Germany is ludicrous.

Hitler didn't have Broadband.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 03:24:11 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 09, 2007, 03:10:04 PM
Free Speech does not extend to personal insults or slanderous/libelous comments in my opinion. Also, I don't think racist comments have any place here either. If that stuff is allowed to carry on unchecked, no one will ever post here after a while. That would be a pity, as this board has lived through a lot of challenges, probably since before some of these heroes even knew what a keyboard is.

I don't think too many people get censored or banned here, and generally if it happens, they are asking for it. Look at the lattitude afforded to Flameboy.

Double Standards here, I think, AZ. You have not (to my knowledge) censored the examples of rabid homophobia posted recently by Flameboy (and Fearon). Why should homophobia be accorded "latitude" and xenophobia* not be?

[* - Though considering the xenophobia existing in the GAA towards "foreign" games generally, it's nice to see that Irony is allowed to flourish on this Board... ;)]
Post by: corn02 on January 09, 2007, 03:33:04 PM
Yes AZ, no matter how stupid or how much you disagree the poster still has a right to put up their opinion. Now when they become racist or sectarian e.t.c it is a different story.
Post by: tayto on January 09, 2007, 03:49:26 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 03:24:11 PM

[* - Though considering the xenophobia existing in the GAA towards "foreign" games generally, it's nice to see that Irony is allowed to flourish on this Board... ;)]

I didnt realise it is xenophobic to prefer one sport to another. There you go. ye live and learn.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 04:13:31 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 09, 2007, 03:49:26 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 03:24:11 PM

I didnt realise it is xenophobic to prefer one sport to another. There you go. ye live and learn.

You mean the way the GAA has until now "preferred" to stage some sports like e.g. Boxing and American Football at Croke Park, but not "British" sports, like Association Football or Rugby Football?

Seems the very definition of "Xenophobia" to me... ;)
Post by: tayto on January 09, 2007, 04:21:57 PM
You'll see what you want if you want it badly enough. Soccer and Rugby are competing sports. American football and boxing arent.
Post by: realredhandfan on January 09, 2007, 04:24:53 PM
Tayto be careful What Evil Genius is saying is that he knows several American footballers who went on to be boxers.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on January 09, 2007, 04:32:54 PM
I don't understand this American Football isn't a sport sentiment
Post by: tayto on January 09, 2007, 04:39:53 PM
It's not a sport that could my any stretch of the imagination be considered as in competition with the GAA for facilities, players and funding.
Post by: J70 on January 09, 2007, 04:58:02 PM
This private board allows contributions by members only. Free speech here has whatever limits the administrator decides to impose. If the administrator decides that racist, sectarian, homophobic, any other kind of bigoted comments bring down the tone of the discussion and so decides to prohibit them, that's his decision. If you disagree, then leave. If you want a board where any kind of dumb, bigoted commentary is allowed, even if only for the purpose of attracting attention, there's no one stopping you starting another one.
Post by: AZOffaly on January 09, 2007, 05:35:40 PM
Also, Evil Genius, I believe that the admin warned Flameboy several times about various comments (he mentions it on that other thread). That purile stuff brings down the whole board. Any homophobic ramblings on the new board that have not been censored or triggered a warning is probably due to the Admin missing it, but sure lets ask him/her and see what they say. gaaboard is the administrator, and has been logged on here several times. (appears in red at the bottom of the screen).

In my opinion, and this is just MY opinion, racism, sectarianism, homophobia, libel and outright personal insults are just not bringing anything positive to the board.
Post by: laoislad on January 09, 2007, 05:44:23 PM
Argeed lads...I have nothing against a healthy even heated discussion nor do i mind being told im wrong but when it starts coming to insults like a few posters are more than willing to do it makes it a joke
If someone wants to hurl insults at people as J70 said start your own board or feck off to Bebo just don't bother posting on this board coz it's not welcomed or wanted
Post by: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 06:50:02 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 09, 2007, 04:39:53 PM
It's not a sport that could my any stretch of the imagination be considered as in competition with the GAA for facilities, players and funding.

Disingenuous (and I think you know that). The ban was originally on all "non-native" sports; it was conveniently ignored for some sports, whilst being rigourously upheld for "Brit" sports. These double standards* reached their nadir after the Omagh bombing, when a Charity Soccer match to raise funds for the Victims Appeal was turned down by Tyrone at Healy Park, so that the match had to be played at the much smaller St. Julien's Road (Omagh Town FC), where the extra costs of staging the game meant only a very small profit was made.

* - Unless, of course, you feel that the staging of a one-off charity soccer match posed an unanswerable competitive challenge to GAA in Tyrone... :o
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 09, 2007, 06:58:08 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 06:50:02 PM
Quote from: tayto on January 09, 2007, 04:39:53 PM

Disingenuous (and I think you know that). The ban was originally on all "non-native" sports; it was conveniently ignored for some sports, whilst being rigourously upheld for "Brit" sports. These double standards* reached their nadir after the Omagh bombing, when a Charity Soccer match to raise funds for the Victims Appeal was turned down by Tyrone at Healy Park, so that the match had to be played at the much smaller St. Julien's Road (Omagh Town FC), where the extra costs of staging the game meant only a very small profit was made.

* - Unless, of course, you feel that the staging of a one-off charity soccer match posed an unanswerable competitive challenge to GAA in Tyrone... :o

There you go again, (like the Ervine thread) just can't stop yourself.  ::)
Post by: Fionntamhnach on January 09, 2007, 07:02:15 PM
QuoteThese double standards* reached their nadir after the Omagh bombing, when a Charity Soccer match to raise funds for the Victims Appeal was turned down by Tyrone at Healy Park
If you're going to raise a point at least be accurate. The Tyrone County Board did not refuse Omagh Town FC Healy Park, OTFC instead declined the Tyrone County Board any pre-emptive offer. Around the time there was talk about holding the charity games in Healy Park to fundraise but Central Council reiterated the rule forbidding this. Tyrone were at one point considering this with the possibility of consequences (which I doubt would have happened as the GAA would have received a s*itload of negative PR in doing so that would take a long time to recover) before OTFC intervened.

As for "Freedom of Speech", I support what J70 said. Also under Irish or British law, there is no such thing as Freedom of speech.

Edit: Just checking online, it would have been the St.Enda's GAA club that would have taken the fall and not the Tyrone county board directly.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 07:07:53 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on January 09, 2007, 05:35:40 PM
Also, Evil Genius, I believe that the admin warned Flameboy several times about various comments (he mentions it on that other thread). That purile stuff brings down the whole board. Any homophobic ramblings on the new board that have not been censored or triggered a warning is probably due to the Admin missing it, but sure lets ask him/her and see what they say. gaaboard is the administrator, and has been logged on here several times. (appears in red at the bottom of the screen).

In my opinion, and this is just MY opinion, racism, sectarianism, homophobia, libel and outright personal insults are just not bringing anything positive to the board.

AZ, I'm not proposing, defending or condoning racism, sectarianism or homophobia, nor (to the best of my knowledge) have I ever posted anything of such a nature myself.
Personally, I am of the view that provided no laws are broken, freedom of speech should be paramount - even where such speech may be offensive.
However, I accept that on a Board like this, the Administrators are perfectly entitled to censor such contributions which incur their displeasure, without reference to me or any other poster.

My problem in this case is that such a policy is not being applied equally.
When one new poster (TMT) makes a comment offensive for its xenophobia*, it is censored immediately it is brought to the attention of the Moderators and the offender is threatened with a ban.
Whereas, other more seasoned posters - Flameboy and Fearon spring to mind - consistently make equally offensive comments of a homophobic nature, these are allowed to remain on the record, with only an off-the-record warning given.
There was another example of where a regular poster baldly stated an offensive opinion of a clearly sectarian nature i.e. that the Kingsmill Massacre of 10 innocent civilians was "justified", as part of the "armed struggle" in South Armagh.
No-one from amongst the Administrators thought to take action in this case, either, which was very disappointing, to say the least, in the light of TMT's crass, but generalised inveighing against "foreigners".

* - To complain about "foreigners" as TMT did is xenophobic, not racist (though hardly any more acceptable for all that)
Post by: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 07:12:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 09, 2007, 06:58:08 PM
There you go again, (like the Ervine thread) just can't stop yourself.  ::)

And there you go again, attacking the messenger, rather than the message. Contrast that with Fionntamhnach (above), who did me the simple courtesy of addressing what I actually posted.
Post by: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 07:19:35 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 09, 2007, 07:02:15 PM
QuoteThese double standards* reached their nadir after the Omagh bombing, when a Charity Soccer match to raise funds for the Victims Appeal was turned down by Tyrone at Healy Park
If you're going to raise a point at least be accurate. The Tyrone County Board did not refuse Omagh Town FC Healy Park, OTFC instead declined the Tyrone County Board any pre-emptive offer. Around the time there was talk about holding the charity games in Healy Park to fundraise but Central Council reiterated the rule forbidding this. Tyrone were at one point considering this with the possibility of consequences (which I doubt would have happened as the GAA would have received a s*itload of negative PR in doing so that would take a long time to recover) before OTFC intervened.

As for "Freedom of Speech", I support what J70 said. Also under Irish or British law, there is no such thing as Freedom of speech.

Edit: Just checking online, it would have been the St.Enda's GAA club that would have taken the fall and not the Tyrone county board directly.

I stand corrected, Fionntamhnach and apologies to St. Enda's (and Tyrone).

However, whilst my account of the mechanism of the ban was clearly wrong, nonetheless, the principle remains i.e. that the Omagh Bomb Appeal would have liked to have used Healy Park, in order to raise the maximum amount, but use of the ground was denied to them by the GAA for the "non-native sports" reason, whilst other non-native sports were being allowed elsewhere on GAA-owned premises.

[As for your point about Freedom of Speech, the general principle in the UK and Ireland is that everything is allowed that is not proscribed and merely expressing opinions which may be offensive to minorities (e.g. racism, homophobia, sectarianism etc) is not illegal in itself. And in any case, this is a Private, member-operated Message Board, not a Court of Law!]
Post by: dublinfella on January 09, 2007, 07:26:05 PM

his point stands. the GAA as an entity refused to allow a charity soccer game be played in omagh to raise funds for the medical bills of the victims of the bomb. the rule could have been suspended or ignored. but being anti-soccer means more to some of us than helping children get expensive burn treatment.

it was was not a high point for the organisation.

didnt a Dublin game scheduled for the RDS on the same day as a Rovers Bohs game as a charity double header get pulled by the association too?

Post by: fitzroy on January 09, 2007, 07:29:28 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on January 09, 2007, 07:07:53 PM
When one new poster (TMT) makes a comment offensive for its xenophobia*, it is censored immediately it is brought to the attention of the Moderators and the offender is threatened with a ban.

Just to clarify, TMT was in fact banned this afternoon as I do know him. He rejoined as "Abair Amach", the poster who was responsible for some outlandish posts over the last few hours. This was just a protest by TMT at the earlier censorship and his banning. "Abair Amach" is now also banned.

All very amusing, I thought.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 09, 2007, 07:31:04 PM
Evil
And there you go again, attacking the messenger, rather than the message. Contrast that with Fionntamhnach (above), who did me the simple courtesy of addressing what I actually posted.
Aye we don't know how lucky we are to have you and dublinfella here to teach us the error of our ways  ::)
Post by: dublinfella on January 09, 2007, 07:38:11 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 09, 2007, 07:31:04 PM
Evil
Aye we don't know how lucky we are to have you and dublinfella here to teach us the error of our ways  ::)

our ways?

because i dont swallow it hook line and sinker im an outsider?  ;D

feel free to tackle any of the points made
Post by: Fionntamhnach on January 09, 2007, 07:45:53 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 09, 2007, 07:26:05 PM

his point stands. the GAA as an entity refused to allow a charity soccer game be played in omagh to raise funds for the medical bills of the victims of the bomb. the rule could have been suspended or ignored. but being anti-soccer means more to some of us than helping children get expensive burn treatment.

it was was not a high point for the organisation.

didnt a Dublin game scheduled for the RDS on the same day as a Rovers Bohs game as a charity double header get pulled by the association too?

He accused the Tyrone county board (which he has now retracted), not the Central Council. The GAA Central Council PR was wrong, certainly for the time it was, a very emotive one. OTFC withdrew looking for permission for Healy Park because of this, despite the likelyhood of the local GAA club prepared to break the associations own rules to allow this. In the long term the GAA ended up being AFAIK being the single biggest contributor to the Omagh fund, £450,000 or around that - it was presented by then GAA president Joe McDonagh in Healy Park. The three friendlies that Omagh Town FC had took place at St.Julian's road with an attendance of over 7000 each against Liverpool, Man Utd and Chelsea which in turn raised over £200,000 but it ended up that only £15,000 of it went towards the fund.
Post by: deiseach on January 09, 2007, 08:10:22 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 09, 2007, 07:45:53 PMThe three friendlies that Omagh Town FC had took place at St.Julian's road with an attendance of over 7000 each against Liverpool, Man Utd and Chelsea which in turn raised over £200,000 but it ended up that only £15,000 of it went towards the fund.

The Beeb did a big splash about how much of the money ended up paying for this that or the other expense. Now THAT was funny

"Tragedy is when I cut my finger. Comedy is when you walk into an open sewer and die" - Mel Brooks
Post by: dublinfella on January 09, 2007, 08:15:01 PM
Quote from: deiseach on January 09, 2007, 08:10:22 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 09, 2007, 07:45:53 PMThe three friendlies that Omagh Town FC had took place at St.Julian's road with an attendance of over 7000 each against Liverpool, Man Utd and Chelsea which in turn raised over £200,000 but it ended up that only £15,000 of it went towards the fund.

The Beeb did a big splash about how much of the money ended up paying for this that or the other expense. Now THAT was funny

"Tragedy is when I cut my finger. Comedy is when you walk into an open sewer and die" - Mel Brooks

Im glad money not getting to a worthy charity amuses you  ::)

3 x accomodation for the visiting sides 3 x insurance 3 x stewarding costs etc while a suitable venue was closed to them down the road, despite the locals wanting it opened to soccer on an exceptional basis, because of the pettyness of the GAA leadership.

hilarious
Post by: deiseach on January 09, 2007, 08:29:04 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 09, 2007, 08:15:01 PMIm glad money not getting to a worthy charity amuses you  ::)

3 x accomodation for the visiting sides 3 x insurance 3 x stewarding costs etc while a suitable venue was closed to them down the road, despite the locals wanting it opened to soccer on an exceptional basis, because of the pettyness of the GAA leadership.

hilarious

Well, the allegation made by the BBC was that the money did not go on paying for Ales Ferguson's digs but on clearing Omagh Town's debt (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/733168.stm). And yet, as this thread demonstrates, the GAA still gets the flak. You couldn't make it up.
Post by: deiseach on January 09, 2007, 08:47:52 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 09, 2007, 08:40:22 PMthat was not the rationale for pulling the plug on the charity game and well you know it. the GAA had to make the contribution because everyone in Omagh was so pissed off with them.

Ah right. The GAA couldn't have done it because its membership has many generous people, it must have been as part of some Machiavellian plot!

You really give the GAA too much credit . . .
Post by: Fionntamhnach on January 09, 2007, 09:37:05 PM
"the GAA had to make the contribution because everyone in Omagh was so pissed off with them." A few of days after the attack, it was announced that a proportion of the gate from the All-Ireland hurling semi-final replay between Clare and Tipperary (where the match was controversial in its own right) was to contribute to the Omagh Fund which made its way towards the end donation. I'm pretty sure this was announced before any news of staging soccer games in Healy Park was heard about.
Post by: deiseach on January 09, 2007, 09:40:26 PM
It was Waterford and Kilkenny. Des Fahy tore the GAA a new arsehole in the Irish Times for not postponing that match
Post by: dublinfella on January 09, 2007, 09:44:29 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 09, 2007, 09:37:05 PM
"the GAA had to make the contribution because everyone in Omagh was so pissed off with them." A few of days after the attack, it was announced that a proportion of the gate from the All-Ireland hurling semi-final replay between Clare and Tipperary (where the match was controversial in its own right) was to contribute to the Omagh Fund which made its way towards the end donation. I'm pretty sure this was announced before any news of staging soccer games in Healy Park was heard about.

that never came to the half million ultimatly handed over though. CP dug deep to match funds iirc.
Post by: never kickt a ball on January 09, 2007, 10:00:49 PM
Did the GAA not raise £750,000 for the Omagh fund?
Post by: Fionntamhnach on January 09, 2007, 10:16:15 PM
Quote from: dublinfella on January 09, 2007, 09:44:29 PM
Quote from: Fionntamhnach on January 09, 2007, 09:37:05 PM

that never came to the half million ultimatly handed over though. CP dug deep to match funds iirc.
I never said it was and I never assumed. My estimation was that the monies raised came from fund-raisers from GAA clubs across Ireland.

On further investigation, the row over access to Healy Park for charity soccer matches didn't surface until late September that year, well after the hurling semis had been played, and NKAB, you're right - it was £750,000 and was the second highest donation made to the fund, and was presented in May 1999. Finally Deiseach, the Kilkenny vs. Galway game did have a contribution, but so did the Clare vs. Offaly replay.