I have just seen a few adverts for animal charities. Shortly before this there had being some adverts for human charities.
I really struggle to understand how a sane person could give money to pet charities, and not human charities, when children in the 3rd world as well as are own. Are dying from simple things such lack of food and clean water to drink. It really really gets to me. can anyone explain it to me please?
Totally agree youngfella..
Some people are just stupid with the amount of money they spend on animals.. ::)
I've no problems giving to either.
I have no problem giving to charity as long as 80% of the money is not absorbed in "administration" or to pay the wages of those fu*kwits that stop you in the main shopping street of various towns looking for a direct debit commitment. You know the ones, pink hair and very wacky...........
Shite, and there was me thinking I was doing good giving money to the Donkey sanctury the other day. Or the £5 a month to the world wildlife fund for the preservation of Rhinos. Dont get me wrong I give to other charities too like trocaire and goal but I dont think the plight of rapidly vanishing wildlife and habitats should be ignored.
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on November 21, 2008, 03:01:46 PM
Some people are just stupid with the amount of money they spend on animals.. ::)
Why shouldn't they spend money on animals?
I'd prefer to give all the money to a children's hospital or cancer research here in Ireland than splitting the money you give to Charity saving some Hippo or Rhino out in Africa..each to their own I suppose
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on November 21, 2008, 03:13:57 PM
Why shouldn't they spend money on animals?
They can do what they like I just don't agree with it..
I have seen better kept and fed dogs than children in houses I have worked in
I agree with Minder. I was actually looking into sponsoring a child in Africa or whatever, £3 a week or something like that, but I wiuld be afraid of £2.50 of that going towards admin leaving my donations worth sh1te all! Anybody know a good charity to do this??
Have to say I agree with Youngfella although I am a big animal lover and hate to see them in distress. There are some pretty crappy charities out there. I used to make a monthly contribution to concern until I heard 50-60% of their money is spent on administration. I changed to world vision recently as they only spend 20% on admin. At the end of the day there is always going to be some admin costs. But prize for the stupidest charity has to go to bothar. Not content with the ridiculous notion of shipping animals around the world which is totally inefficient on a number of levels, they are now advertising their charity on national TV as gaelige. Now I support the Irish language, but it is a fact that a large proportion of the population do not speak it well. I can't understand then how Bothar can justify an advert in Irish - surely they would get more bang for their buck with an English language add.
here here goatboy ;)
Quote from: SidelineKick on November 21, 2008, 03:17:14 PM
I agree with Minder. I was actually looking into sponsoring a child in Africa or whatever, £3 a week or something like that, but I wiuld be afraid of £2.50 of that going towards admin leaving my donations worth sh1te all! Anybody know a good charity to do this??
www.Worldvision.org
someone somewhere has to be making a packet out of this !?
Quote from: mylestheslasher on November 21, 2008, 03:32:23 PM
Quote from: SidelineKick on November 21, 2008, 03:17:14 PM
www.Worldvision.org
I have no problems in people giving money to world charities and helping kids in Africa,Who am I to say how someone should spend their money even if it is ridiculous amounts on animals..
I am however a firm believer in helping your own first and thats why I give money to places like the Marie Keating foundation and Bernardo's
Quote from: youngfella on November 21, 2008, 02:59:46 PM
I have just seen a few adverts for animal charities. Shortly before this there had being some adverts for human charities.
I really struggle to understand how a sane person could give money to pet charities, and not human charities, when children in the 3rd world as well as are own. Are dying from simple things such lack of food and clean water to drink. It really really gets to me. can anyone explain it to me please?
Why, are all of these things mutually exclusive?
People have different interests and priorities. I contribute to several wildlife/conservation organizations and museums, because I feel passionately about the value of the work they do.
Considering the plight of most animals in distress is due to the direct impact of human interaction (abusive owners, silly owners, encroachment on habitats, over harvesting) we with a few pennies left owe it to try and help rectify the damage done by other humans.
Quote from: Puckoon on November 21, 2008, 05:16:41 PM
Considering the plight of most animals in distress is due to the direct impact of human interaction (abusive owners, silly owners, encroachment on habitats, over harvesting) we with a few pennies left owe it to try and help rectify the damage done by other humans.
Would those with a few pennies not be better off trying and help rectify damage done to kids by other humans?
as was said before
QuotePeople have different interests and priorities.
I cant speak for them - but maybe they do?
Some people dont give to charities at all - I dont think it should be castigated in any way which charity someones money goes to.
The bottom line for me, is that if I have one quid to give to charity and it could directly save a rhino, or directly save a kid - Ill give it to the kid.
If Ive two quid Ill give a quid to each.
Now in fairness Ill die broke before I leave my entire estate (which consists of 3 guitars, a car and a student loan debt) to two dogs.
bagsy the car
The house in Nevada.
It comes with added extras gabriel
Two mangy mutts and a student loan debt.
Other than that, its a cracker.
Quote from: Puckoon on November 21, 2008, 05:31:05 PM
I cant speak for them - but maybe they do?
Some people dont give to charities at all - I dont think it should be castigated in any way which charity someones money goes to.
The bottom line for me, is that if I have one quid to give to charity and it could directly save a rhino, or directly save a kid - Ill give it to the kid.
If Ive two quid Ill give a quid to each.
Now in fairness Ill die broke before I leave my entire estate (which consists of 3 guitars, a car and a student loan debt) to two dogs.
I already said in a previous posts who was I to say how people should spend their money,I just think its ridiculous and wrong to be helping a rhino in Africa when the money could go towards helping a child who needs a transplant or even helping a homeless person get food and a roof over their head which in my view is far more important than a fecking animal
If i had two quid to give I'd give the two quid to the child...
Well you've obvioulsy never shared your bed with a Rhino.
Fair enough.
Each to their own I suppose but if anyone is looking for a worthwhile overseas charity with little or no admin fees really I'd recommend http://www.lightofmaasai.com/index.htm (http://www.lightofmaasai.com/index.htm).
I'll admit a vested interest as its my cousin who set it up and is doing great work out there
Quote from: Puckoon on November 21, 2008, 05:34:26 PM
It comes with added extras gabriel
Two mangy mutts and a student loan debt.
Other than that, its a cracker.
I'd love to have your dogs to be honest
QuoteMarie Keating foundation
Who are they?
I used to sponsor a child in Ethiopia. Guilt after the famine a good few years ago! Then I read an article on the organisation which explained how much went on admin and the (very fat) salaries for the CEO and his staff. Serious money in the 1990s!
I did further research on the back of this and I found out that this type of sponsorship is seriously resented in the host country. Little Jimmy gets all the benefits while his community starves and some guy in Ireland feels good about himself. Not the way to solve the underlying problems IMO.
I now give to Concern and Oxfam. 3rd World just happens to be my interest. I'm concerned that some people in the world can't drink clean water or get enough food.
I'll not criticise someone who wants to give money to the Cats Protection League or Royal Society for Birds. That is up to them.
Quote from: Lecale2 on November 21, 2008, 08:17:33 PM
QuoteMarie Keating foundation
Who are they?
Cancer research
Its sad that some people care more about animals than they do for people
But then some people are worse than animals so can we really blame them
I give money when I can and when I remember to. I'm no saint but I think we all could do more.
Quote from: The Iceman on November 21, 2008, 08:24:56 PM
Its sad that some people care more about animals than they do for people
But then some people are worse than animals so can we really blame them
I give money when I can and when I remember to. I'm no saint but I think we all could do more.
Some people get more from animals than the people they've met in life.
Thats sad.
Id rather give to animals, I like them more.
You can take this sort of argument to the nth degree and soon enough you will end up in a situation where no form of charity meets with approval because there is always some harder luck case that can be deemed to be more sympathetic and deserving. Give to whatever cause you feel passionately about and f**k the begrudgers.
This one is needing a bit of money at the minute, if anyone has a spare few quid...
http://www.dec.org.uk/
Watching the news, there's few 'harder luck cases' at the minute, i'd reckon.
I don't buy in to these overseas charities, I think they're a con. People seem to be throwing away an awful lot of money to them for an awful long time and I dont see any results which justify all that money.