GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: fearglasmor on November 16, 2008, 03:34:48 PM

Title: Connacht Final 1980
Post by: fearglasmor on November 16, 2008, 03:34:48 PM
Can anyone name the Roscommon team that won the Connacht final in 1980.
Title: Re: Connacht Final 1980
Post by: Moose on November 16, 2008, 03:41:57 PM
No, no one can
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 16, 2008, 06:10:44 PM
Give me a while and i'll have it posted up for you.
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on November 16, 2008, 06:29:10 PM
Roscommon won 4 in a row that Sunday in very sad circumstances for both teams - as two Gardai had been shot dead in the county after a bank raid in Ballaghaderreen, one former Mayo great John Morley.

The Roscommon team for the record was:

Roscommon 3-13 Mayo 0-8

Gay Sheerin, Harry Keegan, Pat Lindsay, Gerry Connellan, Gerry Fitzmaurice, Tom Donnellan, Danny Murray, Dermot Earley (0-1), Seamus Hayden, John "Jigger" O'Connor (1-3). John O'Gara (0-1), A Dooley, Michael Finneran (1-5), Tony McManus (1-1), Eamon McManus (0-2).

Mayo had not won a Connacht title in over ten years but Willie Joe Padden came on that day and showed his potential.
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 16, 2008, 06:42:33 PM
Thanks Turlough, saved me digging up the info from the books around here. Which players won All-Stars that year btw?
Post by: Turlough O Carolan on November 16, 2008, 06:47:07 PM
I believe it was Harry Keegan, Gerry Connellan and Danny Murray. Ros forwards put up some amazing scores that year and I thought Tony Mac, Jigger and Finneran were hard done. A poor performance in All-Ireland cost Earley that year.
Post by: Owenmoresider on November 16, 2008, 06:52:53 PM
Cheers, have met Gerry a few times lately, thought he had one alright but didn't want to ask. A fine team, shame they didn't win it, but unlike others at least ye performed well against Kerry in an AIF. ;)
Post by: fearglasmor on November 16, 2008, 06:53:58 PM
Thanks lads  !!!!
Post by: dodo on November 16, 2008, 07:43:49 PM
Sure didn't Ross start with 2 Mayomen that day......no shame them Rossies !  ;)
Post by: moysider on November 16, 2008, 10:28:44 PM

Best team that I ve seen come out of Connacht. Unlucky to run into one of the teams ever.
It has to be said that Mayo were in one hell of a mess at that time. There were decent players about but........
I dread the return of similar times.
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 17, 2008, 04:49:05 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on November 16, 2008, 06:52:53 PM
Cheers, have met Gerry a few times lately, thought he had one alright but didn't want to ask. A fine team, shame they didn't win it, but unlike others at least ye performed well against Kerry in an AIF. ;)

Remind me please how Sligo did in the AIFs please... Oh yeah, you can't can you.