It was just announced that Andy Reid has been left out of the Ireland squad.
Il Trap names Ireland squad
Monday, 10 November 2008 14:21
Republic of Ireland manager Giovanni Trapattoni today named his 23-man squad for the friendly against Poland at Croke Park on 19 November.
The only major surprise is the omission of Sunderland midfielder Andy Reid, who has had a somewhat strained relationship with the manager.
Reid was named in the Ireland squad for the World Cup qualifiers against Georgia, Montenegro and Cyprus earlier this year but was an unused substitute in all three games.
It was widely speculated that Reid's fallout with the manager was related to incidents off the pitch following Ireland's 2-1 win over Georgia.
Republic of Ireland squad v Poland, Wednesday, 19 November, Croke Park, 8.00pm:
Goalkeepers: Shay Given (Newcastle United), Dean Kiely (West Brom), Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe United).
Defenders: Paul McShane (Hull City), John O'Shea (Manchester United), Richard Dunne (Manchester City), Kevin Kilbane (Wigan Athletic), Alex Bruce (Ipswich Town), Damien Delaney (QPR), Kevin Foley (Wolves).
Midfielders: Aiden McGeady (Glasgow Celtic), Keith Andrews (Blackburn Rovers), Darron Gibson (Manchester United), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), Damien Duff (Newcastle United)
Stephen Hunt (Reading), Liam Miller (Sunderland), Andy Keogh (Wolves).
Forwards: Robbie Keane (Liverpool), Kevin Doyle (Reading), Anthony Stokes (Sheffield United), Caleb Folan (Hull City), Shane Long (Reading).
Good. The fat bástard might get himself in shape so.
He played well in patches for Sunderland at the weekend. The hoor has talent.
Quote from: dublinfella on November 10, 2008, 06:13:33 PM
Ironic that you're the only person here whose first sport is soccer yet you still seem to know nothing about it.
Still no place for Delap and Lawrence, 2 men getting regular first team football in the EPL and the media never even mention them. If they were from Dublin too there'd probably be a bit more hype I suppose.
Quote from: thebandit on November 10, 2008, 06:16:04 PM
He played well in patches for Sunderland at the weekend. The hoor has talent.
The same Sunderland who are in the relegation zone?
Quote from: Rav67 on November 10, 2008, 06:44:25 PM
Still no place for Delap and Lawrence, 2 men getting regular first team football in the EPL and the media never even mention them. If they were from Dublin too there'd probably be a bit more hype I suppose.
Where are the two boys from?
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 10, 2008, 06:19:30 PM
Ironic that you're the only person here whose first sport is soccer yet you still seem to know nothing about it.
1: No its not.
2: I'm happy to trust the judgement of Europes most decorated manager over a player than a rookie who has spent a fortune to end up in the relegation zone.
Reid needs to sort himself out before he is to be considered an international soccer player. Trap has banished far better players than him for less than being a stone overweight.
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 10, 2008, 07:07:12 PM
Both were born in England
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on November 10, 2008, 07:07:12 PM
Both English-born. Delap hasn't featured in about 4 years now and Lawrence has been in the squad before but hasn't been capped, they're better than Miller and Andrews surely.
Come on lads, Keith Andrews in Andy reid out, that isnt a football decision. Miles apart in football terms..a joke looks like traps got something personal against reid to me.
Heard Dunphy on the Radio tonight trying to beat this story up for all it's worth..........Trap owes the public an explanation, bullying of a decent young fella etc. Why he's not getting a campaign going to have his former best mate Keane explain Andy's less than regular inclusion in the Relegation zone Sunderland's first team is not clear.
What appears clear is:
1. Reid is probably worth his place in the panel;
2. Trap ain't impressed with him, for either personal or professional reasons; and
3. This is a far cry from the Charlton era treatment of O'Leary and, to a lesser extent Brady, two genuinely class operators although part of a setup that was much stronger, in my opinion.
The Reid thing seems to reflect the fact that we ain't real strong in certain positions and a certain desperation for stories among certain media types.
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 10, 2008, 08:02:41 PM
Come on lads, Keith Andrews in Andy reid out, that isnt a football decision. Miles apart in football terms..a joke looks like traps got something personal against reid to me.
Keith Andrews is much more of a Trapattoni type player. Looks like a football decision to me. Can't believe we're now discussing this with references to examples like Liam Brady.
I'm absolutely baffled by this whole clamour over Andy Reid. Totally media driven bull. The man has had numerous chances in the Premier League with various decent clubs and not once did he even get into proper shape for the top level. You'd have to question his determination and hunger (for the game).
Trapattoni obviously prefers ball winners in midfield who can also dominate games in the air and leave the real attacking to the two men on the flanks and the front pair.
Looks simple enough, and who the hell has Dunphy or any of these clowns managed to say any different compared to Trapattoni. When you work with limited resources it's all about the plan and the system to achieve results. Reid fits neither.
Quote from: ExiledGael on November 10, 2008, 09:33:11 PM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on November 10, 2008, 08:02:41 PM
Keith Andrews is much more of a Trapattoni type player. Looks like a football decision to me. Can't believe we're now discussing this with references to examples like Liam Brady.
I'm absolutely baffled by this whole clamour over Andy Reid. Totally media driven bull. The man has had numerous chances in the Premier League with various decent clubs and not once did he even get into proper shape for the top level. You'd have to question his determination and hunger (for the game).
Trapattoni obviously prefers ball winners in midfield who can also dominate games in the air and leave the real attacking to the two men on the flanks and the front pair.
Looks simple enough, and who the hell has Dunphy or any of these clowns managed to say any different compared to Trapattoni. When you work with limited resources it's all about the plan and the system to achieve results. Reid fits neither.
So youve seen Andrews alot have you?
I was at the cyprus game and that game was crying out for reid. Its a joke IMO.
Has to be personal. Brady always praised Reids ability on the ball in his role as pundit.
Now he is part of the set up which deems Reid unfit to be part of the squad.
Somethings not right here.
In a way I think it's very brave. He obviously sees no role for A Reid in that system and has decided that if he's not going to have the boy involved even as a sub in competitive games, then there's no point having him in the squad and to hell with whatever shit the media throw at him for the decision.
QuoteThe same Sunderland who are in the relegation zone?
Granted but if you look at the table there is only 3 points separating bottom and 10th. Reids weight is always going to be an issue and you will hear this and that about how he is naturally built like that, how he is so fit blah blah blah but basically it has to be a major reason for his lack of progress since he was starring at Forest.
1) Reid is good enough to be in the squad. There are several players worse than him in the squad.
2) He is overweight and has been as long as I remember. He seems to be in denial or unable to do anythnig about this.
3) If the team keep winning no-one will give a fcuk.
I'm glad we now have a manager in the Charlton mode, ie doesn't give a toss what anyone thinks (least of all Dunphy Giles and Co), and to date the results speak for themselves. Also bewildered by the clamour for Reid, a lad who failed to take his chance when he was transfered to a major giant like Spurs and inevitably is on a downward slope.
Having said that Cillian Sheridan might have merited a call up and young O'Dea as well, as both were considered capable enough to feature against Man Ure in the Champions League last week.
Magpie, I agree with all you said. Regarding his ability, some of the passes he pulls off are top class and he is potentially our best midfielder.
Yeah, I do admire his ability but he really needs to use this kick in the stones as a motivating factor rather than a reason to sulk.
I'm suspect that Trap has very good reasons for not selecting Reid and O'Brien.
To paraphrase him, success is not necessarily playing the best football, it's about teamwork.
It's surprised me the way it has gone for Andy Reid, I would have thought before the campaign, the team would have been built around him.
Instead it is being built around a solid middle with Duff & McGeady being the key players.
Duff at present, is our outstanding creative talent.
Up front, Keane and Doyle have been excellent with their work rate at closing down. Doyle in particular got his head onto almost every ball kicked in his direction against Cyprus.
The big test will come at home to the Bulgarians with the attempt to achieve the first home win against a top 2 seeded team in 7 1/2 years.
Right from the start Trap and Tardelli have emphasised the honour in being selected to wear the green shirt, I suspect that Reid O´Brien and Ireland have not met their standards.
Quote from: T Fearon on November 11, 2008, 09:36:12 AM
I'm glad we now have a manager in the Charlton mode, ie doesn't give a toss what anyone thinks (least of all Dunphy Giles and Co), and to date the results speak for themselves. Also bewildered by the clamour for Reid, a lad who failed to take his chance when he was transfered to a major giant like Spurs and inevitably is on a downward slope.
Having said that Cillian Sheridan might have merited a call up and young O'Dea as well, as both were considered capable enough to feature against Man Ure in the Champions League last week.
Spot on. We had managers over the last few years who pandered to all the usual media muppets. I even heard that so called journalist Roy Curtis on the radio stating that this was a travesty and how Trap. had lost his respect! :D If we cant trust the judgemnents of one of Europe'ss greatest coaches well then maybe we deserve the likes of Stan managing the team. Well done Trap, keep up the good work.
Quote from: Yes I Would on November 10, 2008, 11:38:34 PM
Has to be personal. Brady always praised Reids ability on the ball in his role as pundit.
Now he is part of the set up which deems Reid unfit to be part of the squad.
Somethings not right here.
Theres a big difference in praising ina commentary situation and wanting the player to be part of your own team/ squad.
Good to see a manager sticking by his beliefs ( rightly or wrongly) rather than being pressurised by the press and a few old pros who you wouldnt be able to please if ireland got to the world cup final
absolutely
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on November 10, 2008, 06:19:30 PM
True dat.
While I agree that Reid is def carrying a few pounds thats a bit strong Dub.
Reid needs to get his fittness up to a level that will match his fantastic skill. He could be a star for Rep. and IMHO this set-back will either make or break his international career.
Have to question Andrews myself but again I havent seen alot of him and this is a friendly which is the right place to look at these types of fringe players.
Quote from: billy the kid on November 11, 2008, 05:19:15 PM
While I agree that Reid is def carrying a few pounds thats a bit strong Dub.
Reid needs to get his fittness up to a level that will match his fantastic skill. He could be a star for Rep. and IMHO this set-back will either make or break his international career.
Have to question Andrews myself but again I havent seen alot of him and this is a friendly which is the right place to look at these types of fringe players.
Reid has been carrying various amounts of excess weight his whole career and thats inexcusible for a professional athlete. He is a gifted player on the ball, but off it he is a liabilty and Trap plays a specific system that requires hard work in the middle and the attacks to come down the wing. It has won him Seria A titles, Bundesligas, Portugese titles and European trophies and but for some suspect decisions from a proven corrupt ref probably a wold cup.
He is the best manager Reid has worked with and has fallen out of favour for a reason.