Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Feckitt on February 27, 2018, 01:34:38 PM

Title: Things to do on St Patrick's Day?
Post by: Feckitt on February 27, 2018, 01:34:38 PM
Looking for ideas for Paddy's Day to spend with wife and kids.   Within 50 miles of Newry, something a bit different.
Title: Re: Things to do on St Patrick's Day?
Post by: BennyCake on February 27, 2018, 01:48:44 PM
Climb Slemish?

At least that way you avoid all the Paddywhackery and drunkeness.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2018, 01:49:27 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 27, 2018, 01:34:38 PM
Looking for ideas for Paddy's Day to spend with wife and kids.   Within 50 miles of Newry, something a bit different.

Have you done Newgrange/Trim/Bru na Boinne?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2018, 02:08:15 PM
Come to Cross .... let the children wander the streets with the rest of the waifs....come to the pub with me and listen to us criticise the club finals and reminisce about they wouldnt have had a patch on our team of x, y or z year....then fall out with the wife and send her home in a taxi with the kids

That's what I'm doing anyway....minus the wife as I don't have one anymore!!!  Wonder why? ;D
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 27, 2018, 02:20:23 PM
you wont tho chap. 17th on a sat, club finals on the Monday afaik  :D

3 day rip anyone??
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2018, 02:57:24 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on February 27, 2018, 02:20:23 PM

3 day rip anyone??

Unless they have changed from this morning they are definitely on Saturday.
Post by: armaghniac on February 27, 2018, 03:08:34 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2018, 02:08:15 PM
Come to Cross .... let the children wander the streets with the rest of the waifs....come to the pub with me and listen to us criticise the club finals and reminisce about they wouldnt have had a patch on our team of x, y or z year....then fall out with the wife and send her home in a taxi with the kids

That's what I'm doing anyway....minus the wife as I don't have one anymore!!!  Wonder why? ;D

I remember back in the day, when BCB was likely in a nappy, they had a fleadh in Cross' on Paddy's day.  The weather was decent and there were so many people "looking for something to do" that there were yokes parked from Creggan to Creevekeeran. Since nobody expected a quarter of this crowd there was a lot of people wandering around.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 27, 2018, 03:23:04 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2018, 02:57:24 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on February 27, 2018, 02:20:23 PM

3 day rip anyone??

Unless they have changed from this morning they are definitely on Saturday.

my bad getting mixed with the school stuff
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 27, 2018, 03:30:14 PM
I know it's too far for you but this is where I'll be:

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DW_MnKHX4AEqrc4.jpg:large)
Post by: Syferus on February 27, 2018, 03:48:16 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on February 27, 2018, 03:30:14 PM
I know it's too far for you but this is where I'll be:

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DW_MnKHX4AEqrc4.jpg:large)

Are you the leprechaun?
Post by: ONARAGGATIP on February 27, 2018, 04:10:53 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 27, 2018, 03:08:34 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on February 27, 2018, 02:08:15 PM

I remember back in the day, when BCB was likely in a nappy, they had a fleadh in Cross' on Paddy's day.  The weather was decent and there were so many people "looking for something to do" that there were yokes parked from Creggan to Creevekeeran. Since nobody expected a quarter of this crowd there was a lot of people wandering around.

mind sitting on the roof of the bogs in the square watching the king of the gypises, don't think it was Paddys day, probably has no relevance but sure it was good craic if kinda scary too.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on February 27, 2018, 04:13:38 PM
QuoteAre you the leprechaun?

Nah - shur I'm 6ft.

I'm one of the lads with a yellow bib making sure all goes to plan.

Hope this impending snow storm doesn't kill off the early season Leprechauns!
Post by: Feckitt on February 27, 2018, 07:38:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 27, 2018, 01:49:27 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 27, 2018, 01:34:38 PMNever been to Newgrange, might try that

Post by: AZOffaly on February 28, 2018, 10:47:21 AM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 27, 2018, 07:38:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 27, 2018, 01:49:27 PM
Quote from: Feckitt on February 27, 2018, 01:34:38 PM

Never been to Newgrange, might try that

Yes, it's worth a look. There's a few historic sights (and sites) around there. The Hill of Tara, Trim, and there's a nice visitor centre for Newgrange, Knowth and Dowth (Brú na Bóinne).
Post by: armaghniac on February 28, 2018, 12:02:08 PM
Book a tour for Newgrange, likely a busy day.
Post by: ziggy90 on February 28, 2018, 12:11:42 PM
Kalsarikännit and latibulate.
Post by: Hardy on February 28, 2018, 04:19:15 PM
Don't forget Páirc Tailteann. The green grassy banks won't be there much longer.
Post by: tintin25 on March 07, 2019, 07:34:49 PM
Folks, group of us thinking of getting a night out in Carlingford after the Fermanagh/Armagh game and then Newry the next day for St Paddies.  Would there be many about?  Preferably an oldish crowd i.e. over 30

Best places to head?
Post by: gallsman on March 07, 2019, 08:04:59 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on March 07, 2019, 07:34:49 PM
Folks, group of us thinking of getting a night out in Carlingford after the Fermanagh/Armagh game and then Newry the next day for St Paddies.  Would there be many about?  Preferably an oldish crowd i.e. over 30

Best places to head?

Out the A1 in either direction.
Post by: Boycey on March 07, 2019, 08:11:55 PM

Best places to head?

Oldish, jaysus I'm well fcuked ..

Carlingford used to be a cracking wee spot, has been ruined in recent years with influx of stags - hens and louts in general  >:(
Post by: BennyCake on March 07, 2019, 08:19:45 PM

Best places to head?

Far away from me :D

St Patrick's Day really has become an abomination.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 07, 2019, 08:28:28 PM
You can't beat the club, watch the club finals with a load of Guinness, the woman picking you up hammered, and a nice curry to finish it off!
Post by: playwiththewind1st on March 07, 2019, 08:43:18 PM
Never mind the Club Finals....Agincourt Avenue, breakfast time onwards, is the place to be.