Savings ACC

Started by Onion Bag, April 02, 2008, 10:25:32 AM

Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 02, 2008, 11:14:09 AM
Just wondering how much is it costing to get hitched these days ?

Getting married is the cheap part - it's the period after that costs the most !  ;D ;D ;D

Muzz

Quote from: Onion Bag on April 02, 2008, 12:47:26 PM
Quote from: Bensars on April 02, 2008, 11:48:20 AM
Alliance and leicester were offering an account at 12% AER for new customers  for the first year only.

That sounds good, Might give them a shout and ask them to send me out some forms

Im in this savings account - you wont have access to the money for the year.  The most you can save a month is £250.  But have to lodge a minimum of £500. 

Quote from: Muzz on April 02, 2008, 01:23:33 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on April 02, 2008, 12:47:26 PM
Quote from: Bensars on April 02, 2008, 11:48:20 AM
Alliance and leicester were offering an account at 12% AER for new customers  for the first year only.

That sounds good, Might give them a shout and ask them to send me out some forms

Im in this savings account - you wont have access to the money for the year.  The most you can save a month is £250.  But have to lodge a minimum of £500. 

f**k that for a game of darts

Down south, RaboDirect would be as good as can be got with the sort of money you're talking about.

However, here's an idea that might interest you:
I imagine you are referring to a regular savings account, the sort you stick a few quid into at regular intervals. You really won't earn much anywhere, if it's only going to be for a short period and you are starting off from scratch.
Now if you do happen to have a sum already saved, why not use that to stick into a Fixed Term Deposit account (3 months, 6 months or whatever.) You'll get a higher rate of interest and this interest rate starts off on deposit. You can then divert your regular savings into the account you took the deposit from.
I know the big catch is that you need to have a thousand or more already saved as you can't top up a fixed term deposit and you need to leave it in for the duration of the term but the interest rate will be far better

Quote from: Onion Bag on April 02, 2008, 11:17:18 AM
Sorry lads maybe i didnt make it clear enough, Its just a few pounds for the actual wedding, after that it will be separate accs,
another easliy led lamb to the slaughter ..... ;) :o

seperate accounts, did you get that in writing.
I had a quiet few months (picture no sound) after I brought up the mention of 'pre-nuptial agreement'.

Rabobank were/are good down here and have the highest rating in whatever the feck it is - meaning they are the least likely to go bust (a la northern rock)
so money is safe

eddie hobbs was on tv a few weeks ago talking abou this. Its prob on his web site and his latest money magazine apparantly carried all this info. I saw the programme so didnt need to buy it.

best of luck with the savings.
Wedding can be exp.
Car hire , suit hire, cake, wedding dress, bridemaids dress, wine, champagne, corkage, food, favours (the posh name for wee sweets or chocs), band, disco, invitations, flowers for the church,flowers for the mothers/grannies, paying priest and alterboys and sacristan, photographer, wedding singers, honeymoon
think thats it. Mine cost me £15000 approx in 2001. The honeymoon was an extra 8k.
But prices are diff in NI plus this was nearly 7 years ago - i'd sy you;'ll pay more now!

did you get the pre nup signed Lynchboy ;) and they said the kerry boys were cute

Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 03, 2008, 04:28:34 PM
did you get the pre nup signed Lynchboy ;) and they said the kerry boys were cute
no didnt go with it in the end..
love conquers all ! :)

Quote from: lynchbhoy on April 03, 2008, 04:40:06 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on April 03, 2008, 04:28:34 PM
no didnt go with it in the end..
love conquers all ! :)

your some boyo  :D

or else she was earninng more than him.
stick with the joint account women alway seem to be able to pull money outta some where . We could be broke one night. the woman goes for a few pints to console herself and whatdo you money problems gone by the morning.

QuoteWedding can be exp.
Car hire , suit hire, cake, wedding dress, bridemaids dress, wine, champagne, corkage, food, favours (the posh name for wee sweets or chocs), band, disco, invitations, flowers for the church,flowers for the mothers/grannies, paying priest and alterboys and sacristan, photographer, wedding singers, honeymoon
think thats it. Mine cost me £15000 approx in 2001. The honeymoon was an extra 8k.
But prices are diff in NI plus this was nearly 7 years ago - i'd sy you;'ll pay more now!

That's just insane!
I don't understand the need people have to spend that type of money on one day, is it for show or what? 
Are you not better putting money like that into a house?

15 k  Stg  is about right. However this takes in account everything.

I know my own wedding paid for itself with a nice wee lump sum left over. The same applies to my friends who have got married in the last 5 years.

Quote from: Bensars on April 03, 2008, 08:16:08 PM

I know my own wedding paid for itself with a nice wee lump sum left over. The same applies to my friends who have got married in the last 5 years.

Oh it's a business opportunity? I see.

Quote from: rosnarun on April 03, 2008, 05:00:37 PM
or else she was earninng more than him.
stick with the joint account women alway seem to be able to pull money outta some where . We could be broke one night. the woman goes for a few pints to console herself and whatdo you money problems gone by the morning.

I think she may have consumed more than a few pints ros  ;)

Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 03, 2008, 07:05:26 PM
That's just insane!
I don't understand the need people have to spend that type of money on one day, is it for show or what? 
Are you not better putting money like that into a house?

I know - it was a bit of a killer alright, but thats weddings down here , and I am glad I dont have to pay for the same now
its got way worse since then

I think they are hiring swans and all that f**king shite now - its not a show, ist now a competition.
I couldnt give a fcuk after I got the agreement to get hitched in a catholic church - missus would be apathetic to religion, so I got my way and the 'show' was effectively a compromise.
Its like this, when yer this ugly, you have to do a lot to get a woman to marry you !

Anyhow, I have feck all of a mortgage, and dont need much money to live since I stopped going mad on booze a number of years ago (its amazing the big holidays you can take with the money you save by not spending on drink).

(Ros - naw I was a contractor back then and times were good, although she would have run me close !)
:)

Quote from: pintsofguinness on April 03, 2008, 08:59:30 PM
Quote from: Bensars on April 03, 2008, 08:16:08 PM

Oh it's a business opportunity? I see.

Who said anything about a business oppurtunity. I made a matter of fact remark that agreed with a previous statement of another poster.

Dont  always try to be the smart arse pints !!