The 2008 US Election thread

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, January 04, 2008, 02:35:25 AM

Who will win?

Obama
McCain

QuoteBeing the smartest man in the room must be real burden sometimes - how do you cope?

Thank you,  No not really believe it or not,  Get up every morning and face the day just like the rest..... :)

Wouldn't be a Tyrone man voting Republican........ *whistles*

Quote from: Tyrones own on October 31, 2008, 01:23:13 AM
QuoteBTW, where's Tyrone's Own these days? I haven't seen any comments from him in quite a while.

No worries me old mucker... I've been in the background taking great craic out of reading some of the posts here :D
I figured I should back off and give some of the younger kids here a chance to voice their learned multi-national
expert notions without me embarrassing them at every turn and it worked a treat... the thread had dropped off
to the 5th page at one point owing to them running out of things to hate  ::) at least they put some bit
of thought into their rage filled ideology when they knew I'd be calling them on it but with me disappearing the guard dropped and the real
expertise began to surface  :D :D  Fcuk it the cats out of the bag now... back to Wikipedia, MSNBC or the Huffington post now girls :D

Can't say I've ever looked at any of those for political insight. But maybe when you're done condescending to people you could take a look at that well known bastion of socialism 'The Economist', they've endorsed Obama.

http://www.economist.com/world/unitedstates/displayStory.cfm?story_id=12516666&source=features_box_main

QuoteI drove by an early polling station here in Florida this afternoon, it was raining and the line was around the block . There will be some turnout this year especially down here.

Was chatting to the brother who is an interested observer ov there and he reckons the same. Huge early turnout and going to be big overall as well. You'd suspect that would be good for Obama but you would never know.

Yes I Would

Winner - Obama
Assassination attempt 1 fails (6 months)
Assassination attempt 2 fails (10 months)
Assassination attempt 3 successful - (13 months)

Quote from: Yes I Would on November 01, 2008, 09:21:33 PM
Winner - Obama

Attempt one last week.

Yes I Would

Quote from: ziggysego on November 01, 2008, 09:23:54 PM
Quote from: Yes I Would on November 01, 2008, 09:21:33 PM
Winner - Obama

Attempt one last week.

Them pair were looking caught.

QuoteYes lets get McCain in and kill another million worthless Iraqi and Afghan civilians then start on Iran.  Also lets allow George Bush snr and his cronies blast & bulldoze away the Pascua Lama glacier to get at the gold deposits underneath.   

Then when McCain retires thru ill health stick Palin in as president and really show us how to f**k the world up!

This is exactly the type of ignorant hate filled rantings that make you look like idiots ::) the fact that the all knowing DH felt the
need and was able to correct you just about says it all :P

QuoteBut maybe when you're done condescending to people you could take a look at that well known bastion of socialism 'The Economist', they've endorsed Obama.

Should I be shocked :o why should it be any different to most other rags who's subscriptions are dwindling,
of course they going to print what sells...are you really that naive  ::)
Maybe I should start bleating now like the rest of ye sheep in the love fest for Obama, why? 
because the Economist said so ::) Like Muppet mentioned earlier to you... think for yourself man :-[

Quote from: magpie seanie on October 30, 2008, 11:22:48 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on October 30, 2008, 01:09:43 AM
Sadly it looks like Barack Hussein Obama is headed for the White House now. Can't see even the finest hanging chads preventing that.

And that radio at work could be damaged beyond repair come Wednesday next, when the inevitable Obama lovefest commences on RTE Radio 1. Not quite Fox-like in its bias, but pretty impressive for a national broadcaster, paid for by that licence fee they love to remind us of at every ad break.

I cannot believe you'd prefer to see Palin in the White House. Genuinely shocked at that OMS.

Also explain why you used his middle name? Do you think he is a terrorist? Do you think he is a Muslim? Or are you merely trying to give that impression so a few idiots (10% according to polls - how fucked up is the US?) will believe that?
No real reason for using his middle name - it's just an unfortunate one to have. Mind you being a Bush probably wouldn't do you any favours after GWB's tenure.

Haven't been impressed by Obama during his campaign, can't see the messianic figure that some seem to believe. The sheer favouritism shown by the media here doesn't endear me to him either. Plus his tax policies in relation to MNC's wouldn't appear to help us here, at a time when we need all we can get. Maybe he will be prove to a good President, but only time will tell. He's going to get his chance anyway, barring a major surprise.

As for Palin - oh dear. A mistake by the McCain camp to put it mildly. Not many might want a McCain win now, but if we could do 2000 all over again...you'd probably want Gore to win anyway.

Mentalman

To be fair Hussein is a far more common name than Bush.

I reckon the picking of Palin has done for McCain BUT it's not over yet. In the privacy of the booth lots will not vote for Obama. Others will not go to the polls because they won't want to have to make the decsion. The right and the evengelicals will vote in force as they did four years ago, forelornly as it turned out for the Christians. This will be tighter than most think.
"Mr Treehorn treats objects like women man."

That's what I'm fearful of Mental. Was watching the news a few days back and they were interviewing ordinary Americans. One woman said she wouldn't vote for Obama, as no one in her family would vote for a baby killer. God I hope she isn't an example of an ordinary American...

Quote from: Mentalman on November 02, 2008, 12:09:16 AM
To be fair Hussein is a far more common name than Bush.

I reckon the picking of Palin has done for McCain BUT it's not over yet. In the privacy of the booth lots will not vote for Obama. Others will not go to the polls because they won't want to have to make the decsion. The right and the evengelicals will vote in force as they did four years ago, forelornly as it turned out for the Christians. This will be tighter than most think.
In the States though? Shouldn't make any difference anyway.

Regarding the race tightening, it should do, but the gap to make up is a ot, and perhaps may be insurmountable for McCain. Could the staggered closing of polls make any difference, in that if the early crucial states declaring go with Obama, that it could have an effect in the states further west? And the polls do get it wrong sometimes, even in Britain the exit poll (http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=QY8MxR1yRnE) on the night of the 1992 election suggested a hung parliament, when in reality the Tories actually won it.

Apparently variations on a "Vote McCain, not Hussein" chant are being heard at McCain and Palin rallies. The following exchange with a couple at a Palin rally in Florida today is being widely reported...

After the rally in Florida ended, two of the people leading the chant explained why they did so.

"Because it rhymes," said Shirley Mitten, 64, a volunteer at a pregnancy center and a resident of Brooksville, Fla.

She said she does not know if Mr. Obama is a Muslim. "He says he's not, but we have no way of knowing," Ms. Mitten said.

Her husband, John A. Mitten, 64, took credit for starting the chant. "I was trying to get it going!" he said. "I just do not want Obama to be elected."

Mr. Mitten said he could not trust Mr. Obama because of his past association with William Ayers, the 1960's radical, and because of his relationship with the Rev. Jeremiah A. Wright Jr. He also pointed out that Mr. Obama's father was a Muslim.

The middle name Hussein, he said, added to the suspicion. "I guess Obama was named after Saddam Hussein," he said.

Scary shit.

DrinkingHarp

Quote from: hardstation on November 02, 2008, 03:09:23 AM
Here lads, when is this expected to be wrapped up? I was doing my 11+ when this started.

Just last year.

Tuesday 4th of November, winner should be announced 3 or 4 am Ireland.
Gaaboard Predict The World Cup Champion 2014