Soldiers of Destiny to storm the border

Started by Donagh, September 17, 2007, 08:06:11 PM

Fianna Fail 'will organise in NI'

Fianna Fail are to organise in Northern Ireland, Irish Prime Minister Bertie Ahern has confirmed.
It is the first time in the party's 81-year history that efforts have been made to mobilise on an all-Ireland basis.
Mr Ahern said Foreign Affairs Minister Dermot Ahern would chair a committee to implement the move.
"This moves reflects the dramatic changes we have seen across the island," the party leader said.
Dermot Ahern said the party did not intend to contest any seats in a Westminster election.
"We wouldn't be interested in going to the House of Commons as a political party. That is for others to do," he said.
"We feel we should have representation in Northern Ireland as a political party."
Earlier on Monday, the SDLP refused to rule out a possible merger with Fianna Fail.
"The SDLP will be ready for the challenge or opportunity of such a future adjustment when it ripens," said a spokeswoman.
Commentators have said that Fianna Fail's plans to organise in Northern Ireland have been spurred on by the setting up of a powering-sharing executive at Stormont, making such a move less politically sensitive.
It has also been suggested that its success against Sinn Fein in the Republic's recent election played a part.

A momentous decision IMO which for the first time could see the real driver for reunification coming from south of the border, although I don't see why all the talk has been about an FF-SDLP takeover. Surely given the recent goings on at the Mahon tribunal and the furore over the Causeway Visitor Centre, the FFers natural bedfellows in the north are the DUP? Still it's heartening to see Bertie backing the SF abstentionist policy in regards foreign parliaments.

about time. any of ye lot going to vote for them? personnally i'd prefer if they merged with the sdlp or even the sdlp and sf. i see the dup and oup are on about merging too. interesting times...

Wouldn't vote for them myself while Bertie and the rest of the Drumcondra Mafia are running the party but they'd certainly hoover up most of the soft nationalist vote that remains with the SDLP and I'd say a fair bit of the ex-UUP and Alliance business class.

The move would certainly liven up the elections north of the border again. Just as the FFers hammered the soft southern Shinners in the last Free State election, SF will be asking the other 'Republican Party' where they were during the war. In the short to medium term SF will remain the voice of nationalism in the north but with all these realignments going on, who knows what will happen but our new dispensation does seem to be creating some sort of dynamic. Whether that can be channelled in the right direction, I remain to be convinced.

So what elections will they be standing in? Local Councils and the Assembly. Glad to see they won't be contesting the Westminister elections.

The SDLP will have no choice, but to merge with FF. If FF do contest elections up here, it will more or less kill of the SDLP votes.

Some interesting reactions:

Fianna Fail 'will organise in NI'

Fianna Fail are to organise in Northern Ireland, Irish Prime Minister Bertie Ahern has confirmed.

It is the first time in the party's 81-year history that efforts have been made to mobilise on an all-Ireland basis.

Mr Ahern said Foreign Affairs Minister Dermot Ahern would chair a committee to implement the move.

"This moves reflects the dramatic changes we have seen across the island," the party leader said.

Dermot Ahern said the party did not intend to contest any seats in a Westminster election.

"We wouldn't be interested in going to the House of Commons as a political party. That is for others to do," he said.

"We feel we should have representation in Northern Ireland as a political party."

Earlier on Monday, the SDLP refused to rule out a possible merger with Fianna Fail and party leader Mark Durkan later welcomed the decision to organise in the north.

"As a true republican party, we believe that the social and economic interests of the people of the entire island are best served by ever-deepening co-operation between north and south.  Looks like Mark has already sold his party to Bertie

"We anticipate a healthy and forward-looking debate as a means to forging a new political path for the whole country," Mr Durkan said.

Sinn Fein's John O'Dowd also welcomed Fianna Fail's decision.

"Unfortunately, it has taken Fianna Fail this long to embrace the positive aspects of developing its party throughout the 32 counties," he said.

"But we are encouraged that the taoiseach has now finally acknowledged the importance of such a move."

'Unwise'

However, Ulster Unionist leader Sir Reg Empey said the decision was "unwise and unhelpful".

Empey said that Bertie Ahern and Fianna Fáil had "thrown a grenade into the middle of Northern Ireland politics" by announcing its its intention to organise on an all-Ireland basis.  :D

"The last thing we need is another abstentionist party organising here," Sir Reg said.

"Bertie Ahern at a stroke has transformed himself from a potential partner in the process of normalisation, to a rival."

Commentators have said that Fianna Fail's plans to organise in Northern Ireland have been spurred on by the setting up of a powering-sharing executive at Stormont, making such a move less politically sensitive.

It has also been suggested that its success against Sinn Fein in the Republic's recent election played a part.

Colonel Cool

I'm not Homer Simpson. That ship has sailed. I'm "Colonel Cool"!

What's all this "Irish Prime minister" business?
Has the office of Taoiseach been abolished by Northern Nationalist posters on this forum?

Durkan loses the last bit of respect I had for him anyway.

Quote from: Rossfan on September 17, 2007, 09:50:04 PM
What's all this "Irish Prime minister" business?
Has the office of Taoiseach been abolished by Northern Nationalist posters on this forum?

The report was lifted from BBCNI Ross - illustrates the subtle contempt have for the natives up here.

Colonel Cool

Quote from: Donagh on September 17, 2007, 09:19:54 PM

SF will be asking the other 'Republican Party' where they were during the war.
You could start by asking some of your MLAs the same question Donagh! :D :D Who do you think you're kidding?  :-[

Quote from: Colonel Cool on September 17, 2007, 10:04:48 PM
Quote from: Donagh on September 17, 2007, 09:19:54 PM

SF will be asking the other 'Republican Party' where they were during the war.
You could start by asking some of your MLAs the same question Donagh! :D :D Who do you think you're kidding?  :-[

My MLAs Cool? I simply pointing out the obvious Shinner line of attack. They were here for 80 years while FF were shuffling suitcases full of cash over from Manchester.

Many years ago while I was still a civil servant in Stormont, I sat beside a couple of oul dolls and used to listen to them complaining about the british labour and conservative parties not putting up candidates in northern Ireland. I got so fed up of this one day I chipped in saying that I wished Fianna Fail would put up candidates in the north.

The ladies were speechless, and its a wonder I wasnt escorted on the premises in Castle Buildings.

Colonel Cool

Quote from: Donagh on September 17, 2007, 10:06:59 PM

My MLAs Cool?
Well we all know you take you orders from Connolly House. Never an original thought! So just where were all the SF MLAs during the troubles when FF were doing the hard work of building the Irish economy? Cathroina Ruane was playing tennis before was parachuted into South Down. Where was Mickey Brady? Michelle O'Neill?

Maybe economic policy is going to be important going forward to make a united Ireland really happen, rather than "what did you do during the Troubles?". That may be why SF are bringing in some candidates without a military background.

Quote from: Donagh on September 17, 2007, 09:32:55 PM
Some interesting reactions:

'Unwise'

However, Ulster Unionist leader Sir Reg Empey said the decision was "unwise and unhelpful".

Empey said that Bertie Ahern and Fianna Fáil had "thrown a grenade into the middle of Northern Ireland politics" by announcing its its intention to organise on an all-Ireland basis.  :D

"The last thing we need is another abstentionist party organising here," Sir Reg said.

"Bertie Ahern at a stroke has transformed himself from a potential partner in the process of normalisation, to a rival."

a partner to a rival? who the fcuk is he codding. ff are a republican party btw. someone should tell empey it is part of normalisation that the largest party on the island organises all over the island...

Quote from: Bogball XV on September 17, 2007, 09:51:15 PM
Durkan loses the last bit of respect I had for him anyway.

imo durkan is one of the smartest politicians around..