C'mon Laois. Leinster Council Chairman gets stuck in to RTE

Started by Bud Wiser, July 25, 2007, 09:21:10 PM

Evening Herald:

Our very own county man Liam O'Neill gave an outstanding display of how to win friends and influence people, not least Pat Spillane in this evenings Herald. The entire back page if you don't mind!

Exactlly as printed:

RTE's weekend coverage has been slammed by Leinster Ciouncil Chairman, Liam O'Neill who dropped an omnious warning about the next TV rights deal. The National broadcaster was left in a bind after last Sunday's two All-Ireland Semi-Finals were postponed. Against the backdrop, O'Neill has condemned its failure to even show highlights of the Christy Ring Cup semi finals in its highlights programme last Sunday night.

And he has also highlighted the fact that sports fans here had to turn elswhere to witness Irish golf's crowning moment - Padraig Harringtonn's British Open Triumph. The Laois official declared "Last Sunday night was a very good night for the GAA negotiator. All RTE had on was crap film. TG4 had a league of Ireland soccer game that finished nil all and its obvious that they can't afford to show any golf.

"The Sunday Game is Pathetic" O'Neill claimed. "Pat Spillane looks like he is shouting into the camera, as if there is a gale force wind blowing in the studio" 

"A huge opportunity was missed last Sunday to show the weaker hurling counties. They didntshow anything from the two Christy ring Cup Semi-Finals in Tullamore on Saturday. I was very annoyed. All I can say is the GAA negotiator is in a very strong position the next time."

Several RTE spokespersons could not be contacted for a response at the time of going to press.

Ends.

I'd say the RTE spokespersons are hiding in some bunker and will remain there for the forseeable future in case our Liam gets to them. I could picture him shouting "come out with yer cheque books"

Spillane said at the start of the season he would walk naked and barearsed through the main town of any county outside of the five teams he predicted had to win Sam.  Now here is a man who would take some delight in seeing the Shackleton of RTE walking down main street Portlaoise in September.

dublinfella

So the GAA postpone the games (rightfully) and then an official who is clearly angling for higher office complains that RTE dont show them?

The silly season has begun in earnest.  ::)

we are blue... etc

Brilliant stuff by the man from Trumera. First and foremost it's great to see him advocating the cause of hurling. But his comment on Spillane hollering at the tv through a gale -- priceless. Seems to me like Liam has his eye on a bigger job in the near future.

Quote from: dublinfella on July 25, 2007, 09:43:45 PM
So the GAA postpone the games (rightfully) and then an official who is clearly angling for higher office complains that RTE dont show them?

Read the article fella - he was complaining about not showing the weaker counties who were playing at the weekend.

dublinfella

Quote from: we are blue... etc on July 25, 2007, 09:46:29 PM
Brilliant stuff by the man from Trumera. First and foremost it's great to see him advocating the cause of hurling. But his comment on Spillane hollering at the tv through a gale -- priceless. Seems to me like Liam has his eye on a bigger job in the near future.

Quote from: dublinfella on July 25, 2007, 09:43:45 PM

Read the article fella - he was complaining about not showing the weaker counties who were playing at the weekend.

and RTE can just decide the day before and show up? do they even have a contract to show the CR cup? TG4 to cancel a game they had commited to showing months ago?

the real world isnt that simple

we are blue... etc

BTW the matches took place in Tralee, Navan, Carlow and Arklow, in case you were wondering.

The dubs are still upset Liam O'Neill had the cheek to speak up against them after Leinster Final  ::)

dublinfella

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 25, 2007, 10:06:35 PM
The dubs are still upset Liam O'Neill had the cheek to speak up against them after Leinster Final  ::)

My only objection to him was that that was the issue he decided to speak up on. Not the broken jaws we have seen in club games this summer, games delayed for fans leaving the pubs or drug abuse in games on his watch. No no, his countymates were taunted. Thats what needs fixing in Leinster.  ::)

we are blue... etc

Quote from: dublinfella on July 25, 2007, 10:05:17 PM
both. he is indirectly using that poor womans death for his own careerist soundbite and its utterly impractical for RTE to rejig the schedule in the way he argues. not the way to treat your business partners in the press.

Second point first: do you work for RTE? If you don't how do you know it is impractical?

Not going to get into a flame war with you fella on the first point, I wouldn't even dignify it with a response as it's a completely unacceptable and disgraceful thing to say in any forum or context. Suggest you leave it there.

Quote from: dublinfella on July 25, 2007, 10:12:08 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 25, 2007, 10:06:35 PM

My only objection to him was that that was the issue he decided to speak up on. Not the broken jaws we have seen in club games this summer, games delayed for fans leaving the pubs or drug abuse in games on his watch. No no, his countymates were taunted. Thats what needs fixing in Leinster.  ::)

So im right your posts on this thread having nothing to do with the article Bud posted you still have it in for O'Neill about another topic.Get over it  FFS

dublinfella

Quote from: we are blue... etc on July 25, 2007, 10:14:35 PM
both. he is indirectly using that poor womans death for his own careerist soundbite and its utterly impractical for RTE to rejig the schedule in the way he argues. not the way to treat your business partners in the press.

Second point first: do you work for RTE? If you don't how do you know it is impractical?

Not going to get into a flame war with you fella on the first point, I wouldn't even dignify it with a response as it's a completely unacceptable and disgraceful thing to say in any forum or context. Suggest you leave it there.

Are Arklow and Carlow capable of televising live games? Gantry's, camera points, electrical capabilities? No.

The GAA cancelled these games as a mark of respect and this jackass climber is using the consequences of that for his own gain. Its low.

Quote from: dublinfella on July 25, 2007, 10:19:48 PM

Are Arklow and Carlow capable of televising live games? Gantry's, camera points, electrical capabilities? No.

The GAA cancelled these games as a mark of respect and this jackass climber is using the consequences of that for his own gain. Its low.

Have you ever been to Carlows ground? Probably one of the best county grounds in Leinster if not Ireland..Guess you don't travel to away games Huh?

dublinfella

Quote from: The Real Laoislad on July 25, 2007, 10:23:08 PM

Have you ever been to Carlows ground? Probably one of the best county grounds in Leinster if not Ireland..Guess you don't travel to away games Huh?

Ive played on it. And fine as it is, logistically it cant handle the 12 camera satellilte linkup RTE require.

You would be giving out more if they made shite of the presentation.

The ability of the average GAA man to whinge is astonishing.

Although he is dead right about the Sunday Game. standards have slipped.

Dr Cullen Park couldn't hold a Televised game ???
You are talking through your arsehole

Laois lad is this guy ambitous for higher office ? I dont think he will make a great negotiator .RTE know they will get to keep the big games under the law and have shown increasing reluctance to televise games , They did not show any of the round 2 qualifiers yey went to Dungarvan , O Neill did not do a good job for Laois on Leinster final tickets

we are blue... etc

What about Tralee and Navan? Are you saying the games there couldn't have been televised? What about the fact that you got your facts arseways in your original post? If you don't work for RTE how on earth can you state whether anywhere is capable of showing a televised game or not, or comment on the logistics of doing so at short notice?

You are obviously on the wind-up fella and using the death of Vanessa McGarry to get at Liam O'Neill kindof proves who the jackass is in this conversation doesn't it?