Microsoft outlook.

Started by An Gaeilgoir, June 29, 2007, 08:35:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

An Gaeilgoir

Lads,
I need a bit of information regarding Microsoft outlook. Work is upgrading my Lap-top and i am wondering if i change will all my archieved mails be lost, or will my account just transfer to my new lap top. Also i am getting a desk top for work....(my company is so generous).So if i set up my outlook on the desk top and laptop can i use both machines to access my mails or will they work as seperate accounts. Thanks.

Tony Baloney

Your mail should live in a .pst file (saved to a drive) rather than embedded in your actual application "Inbox" so as long as your account on your new laptop points to this .pst file I reckon you'll be grand to pick up all your existing/archived mail!

Again your laptop and desktop will have the same login details and point to the same Outlook account so should be no issue.

Note: I'm no expert though  :)

Gnevin

Go to start >control panel>mail >data files . This will show you the location of your archive(s) just simplely copy the folders to a back up such as a portable hard disk these folder can be quite large
Anyway, long story short... is a phrase whose origins are complicated and rambling.

lynchbhoy

Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on June 29, 2007, 08:35:26 AM
Lads,
I need a bit of information regarding Microsoft outlook. Work is upgrading my Lap-top and i am wondering if i change will all my archieved mails be lost, or will my account just transfer to my new lap top. Also i am getting a desk top for work....(my company is so generous).So if i set up my outlook on the desk top and laptop can i use both machines to access my mails or will they work as seperate accounts. Thanks.

optimum solution for you is run your email from 'the exchange server' in work - your desktop will connect to this.

As for your laptop - it depends on if or how you connect to your work systems when off site.