Kildare v Mayo AI Qualifier Round 3

Started by Dinny Breen, June 25, 2018, 09:32:04 AM

Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2018, 12:48:00 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 30, 2018, 12:26:34 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2018, 12:23:52 AM
Chill out. If you make it through the next round you might have the pleasure of losing to us as well.

That Ros side that lost by a cliff-hanger of 4 points in the Connacht Final, right?

How does one lose 'by a cliff-hanger'? :o

Fair dues, evidently, I've unearthed a sense of humour within that irony-proof exterior -- 2 points is a "hammering", so 4 points is a...   ;D

Anyway, this is a thread about the Kildare & Mayo game, let's leave it at that.

Quote from: highorlow on June 29, 2018, 11:21:45 PM
QuoteHaving said all that, if there's a shock to be had in this round of the Qualifiers tomorrow, look no further -

It won't be a shock. Everything now points to a Kildare win. Even the bookies have trimmed back the lillies to 5/2. Tomorrow will be the end of an era I'm afraid.

We can only do 15 minute or less bursts to get over the line these days and  that includes against Kildare in the league (a brief spell at the end and start of each half won the league game). It was the same last week against Tipp. I fear tomorrow this burst won't happen and Kildare will get enough to creep past us.

Kildare by 1 or 2 points. Fuckit anyhow, these lads gave us a good run over the years.

And Coen midfield!

Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 29, 2018, 11:31:29 PM
QuoteHaving said all that, if there's a shock to be had in this round of the Qualifiers tomorrow, look no further -

It won't be a shock. Everything now points to a Kildare win. Even the bookies have trimmed back the lillies to 5/2. Tomorrow will be the end of an era I'm afraid.

We can only do 15 minute or less bursts to get over the line these days and  that includes against Kildare in the league (a brief spell at the end and start of each half won the league game). It was the same last week against Tipp. I fear tomorrow this burst won't happen and Kildare will get enough to creep past us.

Kildare by 1 or 2 points. Fuckit anyhow, these lads gave us a good run over the years.
Kildare who lost to Carlow by 7 points then going on to knock Mayo out of the championship would be the shock of the summer.
The Kildare county board growing a set of balls was truly shocking imo

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 30, 2018, 12:10:10 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 29, 2018, 11:37:26 PM
Fermanagh beating a hyped up Monaghan side coming off the back of hammering Tyrone would still remain the shock of the summer, C'pn. Mayo's ropey Quailifer performances are part of folklore at this stage.

Why do you invariably demolish your very own contributions with wildly hyperbolic shite (rhetorical)? TWO POINTs can never be a fecking hammering, numpty.

Fear, losing is losing.
Syf reminds me of the Bodach.

Mayo Mick

There will be no shock. Kildare had their big win earlier in the week but that's as good as it gets for them. We are talking here about a top 3 team meeting a team well down the pecking order with little form. Expect a good start for the Flour Bags and maybe an early goal and even possibly lead by a point or two at h/t. Then the pace and intensity will be upped and we will pull away - expect a 7+ win. The same will happen next week regardless of who we draw. Our championship starts with the quarterfinals group games. No neeed to pretend the end will come anytime before then.

Now I better go out and make the most of this great weather. 
If You Don't Bring Home The Bacon, You'll Get Treated Like A Pig!!

Mentioned earlier that I feel this is a bit of a nothing game in grand scheme of things. We are threading water but the absolute grit of our lads will probably be enough...that being said, it's inevitable that grit at some stage won't be enough.
Kildare on the back of a horrendous league (results wise ) and Leinster championship, should give a decent kick and are strong in positions where we are nortiously vulnerable (big full forward ) and now midfield due to injuries.

Sure results on the field mean nothing. Kildare have done their talking off the field and that seems to mean more to them than anything. As things go, therefore, they've had a brilliant season. Hope you boys absolutely tank them

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on June 30, 2018, 09:30:34 AM
Sure results on the field mean nothing. Kildare have done their talking off the field and that seems to mean more to them than anything. As things go, therefore, they've had a brilliant season. Hope you boys absolutely tank them

Thanks Ned. We love you too. Must be great in your ivory tower.

On a scorcher of a day like that, white jersies are worth 4 points to a team.
The Lillies will be nice and cool while the Mayo lads are slowly roasting in their own juices.

LilySavage

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on June 30, 2018, 12:13:11 AM
Quote from: LilySavage on June 29, 2018, 11:57:48 PM
Why would you do up a stadium for one Leinster Championship game in 30 years ? Ground is ideal for league and club championship. When Kildare ran up that debt, the team were playing week in, week out in qualifiers and over that 5 year period we had more televised games than anyone. We cleared the 'debt' very quickly. There were 15000 in Conleths in 2001 v Donegal. Nobody had an issue then. The ground redevelopment was stalled a couple of times. Once by Leinster Council when they were considering a hair brained M50 share with Meath, a long standing planning obijection by the Doc whose practice is behind where the terrace breaks and again during boom when Conleths was going to be sold for redevelopment as it is located in centre of town. The arse fell out of that like manly there.  KCB took bull by horns and are redeveloping the ground for 2020. Thankfully they are staying put in the heart of the town. And if you think we were wrong to challenge an arrogantly,  greedy CP, who make it up to suit themselves, we'll leave you to it.
Personally chief I couldn't care less. I'm an Armagh man and we've got a lovely, modern, fit for purpose stadium that holds County games and lots of Club championship games for players of all ages. We're proud of it. If you're happy with what you've got, then good luck to you. I just find it hard to understand that it takes a row with the GAA administration to generate some degree of animation within the County. In most other counties a good run in the championship and a chance of a match in Croker does that. I still am unclear as to who has won here and what they have won, apart from the Kildare manager who has cleverly managed to use this issue as a ruse to deflect attention from how useless he appears to be.

Just trying to educate you sir on reasons why you didn't find your one Feile experience there to your lofty standards. I hope the hundreds in attendance had enough room and the kids were not too traumatised by not playing on a stage comparable to the Athletic Grounds. Best of luck against The Banner. Be tricky one as they've been playing at a consistently higher level than you for a few years now .

giveballaghback

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on June 30, 2018, 12:13:11 AM
Quote from: LilySavage on June 29, 2018, 11:57:48 PM
Why would you do up a stadium for one Leinster Championship game in 30 years ? Ground is ideal for league and club championship. When Kildare ran up that debt, the team were playing week in, week out in qualifiers and over that 5 year period we had more televised games than anyone. We cleared the 'debt' very quickly. There were 15000 in Conleths in 2001 v Donegal. Nobody had an issue then. The ground redevelopment was stalled a couple of times. Once by Leinster Council when they were considering a hair brained M50 share with Meath, a long standing
planning obijection by the Doc whose practice is behind where the terrace breaks and again during boom when Conleths was going to be sold for redevelopment as it is located in centre of town. The arse fell out of that like manly there.  KCB took bull by horns and are redeveloping the ground for 2020. Thankfully they are staying put in the heart of the town. And if you think we were wrong to challenge an arrogantly,  greedy CP, who make it up to suit themselves, we'll leave you to it.
Personally chief I couldn't care less. I'm an Armagh man and we've got a lovely, modern, fit for purpose stadium that holds County games and lots of Club championship games for players of all ages. We're proud of it. If you're happy with what you've got, then good luck to you. I just find it hard to understand that it takes a row with the GAA administration to generate some degree of animation within the County. In most other counties a good run in the championship and a chance of a match in Croker does that. I still am unclear as to who has won here and what they have won, apart from the Kildare manager who has cleverly managed to use this issue as a ruse to deflect attention from how useless he appears to be.

So you say you are an Armagh man dougal yet you havent posted once on the Armagh v Clare thread, you have a lot to say here including you hope kildare get tanked, not very nice, why dont you feck off back to yere own match thread.

I don't really have anything to say on the Armagh v Clare match to be honest only that I hope they win. I'm not comfortable with our county set up and the way the county management rides roughshod over the Club scene but I don't feel strongly enough about it to kick up a scene. I just think the Kildare stuff is bizarre to be honest and if I was a Kildare person I'd be more concerned about how poor my team is and the fact that our county ground is so poor, rather than getting a bee in my bonnet about where our last match in the 2018 Championship is going to be played. I'm intrigued as to who is this Ned that Dinny Breen thinks I am

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 30, 2018, 10:49:17 AM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on June 30, 2018, 09:30:34 AM

Thanks Ned. We love you too. Must be great in your ivory tower.
I thought you were on the 'Teacher's Boat' to France. Who is this Ned that you keep referring to

Quote from: seafoid on June 30, 2018, 07:27:19 AM
Fermanagh beating a hyped up Monaghan side coming off the back of hammering Tyrone would still remain the shock of the summer, C'pn. Mayo's ropey Quailifer performances are part of folklore at this stage.

Why do you invariably demolish your very own contributions with wildly hyperbolic shite (rhetorical)? TWO POINTs can never be a fecking hammering, numpty.

Fear, losing is losing.
Are you sure you didn't mean the Bod (Mór)?

Quote from: seafoid on June 30, 2018, 07:27:19 AM

Fear, losing is losing.

And you remind me of a fresher in college who read a leaflet from the Socialism Society.