Kildare v Mayo AI Qualifier Round 3

Started by Dinny Breen, June 25, 2018, 09:32:04 AM

Crete Boom

Quote from: Dinny Breen on June 27, 2018, 01:07:59 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 27, 2018, 12:58:17 PM
Who will likely be the inside two or three in the fullforward line for Kildare the next day? Will Niall Kelly be on the 40 for Kildare as he destroyed us in a league game from CHF in 2013.

Niall is not playing well and if Kevin Feeley is fit to start Niall could be under pressure. Kildare will play Neil Flynn, horrid 18 months with injury but returning to his best, 12 points in  1 1/2 games and Dan Flynn inside. Paddy Brophy also looked better than has since his return from Oz, he will be allowed to roam I suspect. Paul Cribben and Fergal Conway will be in the half-forward line. Kelly might get the nod ahead of Keith Cribben who was very poor against Longford but he is an O'Neill favourite.

Who will pick up Dan Flynn, he wasn't at his best Saturday still scored 0-1, won a few frees and should have had a couple more, big man syndrome with refs and also set up the goal.

Good question Dinny, the last day out Ger Caff marked Sweeney and Paddy Durcan marked Quinlivan.Caff did well on Sweeney but Paddy Durcan struggled badly on Quinlivan in the first half and did much better in the second. Keegan would normally be considered for a job back there but he will be needed in midfield. Harrision is only just back in full training so I doubt he well be ready for a starting berth on Sat. I think it will be more of a case of stopping the ball coming in at source as we probably don't have anybody to shut down the two Flynns if good ball is coming in!

Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 02:03:06 PM
Give the army a run out.
They're only down the road and they've nothin else to do anyway.

Are they any good at gaelic football, though?

tc_manchester

Well not a total disaster. Some tickets went online and I was able to get 4. They're now sold out

Common sense prevailed in the end but unfortunately for Kildare they didn't need all this drama over a venue that should have been set for Newbridge on Monday morning. A few at the top should be forced to step down over this now.

All Bring a Friend purchases will be cancelled and refunded in full.
Any tickets issued for Croke Park on June 30th will not be valid for St Conleth's Park on Saturday June 30th.
There is no Bring a Friend option for St Conleth's Park.
E-tickets will not be accepted St Conleth's Park.

Once payments have been processed you will simply be required to present your GAA Season Ticket card at the designated turnstiles on the day. Unreserved seating will be in operation.

Looks like season ticket holders from Mayo are getting in anyway

Geoff Tipps

Quote from: weareros on June 27, 2018, 01:27:07 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on June 27, 2018, 01:18:40 PM
Mayo were hoping they had a bye and a rest/ looke like they could have a bye bye now,  ;D ::)

Ah now as sure as night follows day, Mayo will win and then draw Ros, big day out for us all in Croke Park, and GAA to make up for lost revenues.

Mayo will get their walkover afterall  ;D

Quote from: Crete Boom on June 27, 2018, 02:05:03 PM
Who will likely be the inside two or three in the fullforward line for Kildare the next day? Will Niall Kelly be on the 40 for Kildare as he destroyed us in a league game from CHF in 2013.

Niall is not playing well and if Kevin Feeley is fit to start Niall could be under pressure. Kildare will play Neil Flynn, horrid 18 months with injury but returning to his best, 12 points in  1 1/2 games and Dan Flynn inside. Paddy Brophy also looked better than has since his return from Oz, he will be allowed to roam I suspect. Paul Cribben and Fergal Conway will be in the half-forward line. Kelly might get the nod ahead of Keith Cribben who was very poor against Longford but he is an O'Neill favourite.

Who will pick up Dan Flynn, he wasn't at his best Saturday still scored 0-1, won a few frees and should have had a couple more, big man syndrome with refs and also set up the goal.

Good question Dinny, the last day out Ger Caff marked Sweeney and Paddy Durcan marked Quinlivan.Caff did well on Sweeney but Paddy Durcan struggled badly on Quinlivan in the first half and did much better in the second. Keegan would normally be considered for a job back there but he will be needed in midfield. Harrision is only just back in full training so I doubt he well be ready for a starting berth on Sat. I think it will be more of a case of stopping the ball coming in at source as we probably don't have anybody to shut down the two Flynns if good ball is coming in!

Arah will ye go away with your football talk, who wants to listen to that shite!

Crete Boom

Quote from: Tubberman on June 27, 2018, 02:24:28 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 27, 2018, 02:05:03 PM

Arah will ye go away with your football talk, who wants to listen to that shite!

Fair enough so my mistake!! ;D Which county board and/or media company are we at war with now just so I can get back in the swing of things?

It may be a sweeping generalisation, but looking at some of the online reaction, if there is an imbalance in terms of people being annoyed that the game is now in Newbridge, it is among the 'casual' fans.
What I mean by that is the people who go to watch county games in the summer when the team is doing well, but otherwise don't seem to have much to do with the GAA year round in terms of playing, volunteering etc.
Also, the majority of people slagging Kildare for not having a better stadium seem to fall into this bracket.
I don't particularly like categorising people, but there is an acceptance among the vast majority of genuine GAA people (from Mayo & elsewhere), as opposed to 'fans', that this was the only right & proper outcome.
Maybe the association needs to worry more about accommodating the genuine GAA people, and less about accommodating the casual fans.

Who are these "genuine GAA people"?
Will we only let fully paid up members into games any more?

shark

Quote from: Syferus on June 27, 2018, 02:05:35 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 02:03:06 PM
Give the army a run out.
They're only down the road and they've nothin else to do anyway.

Are they any good at gaelic football, though?

Probably not as strong as when Kevin McStay and Jim Gavin were their wing forwards.

Quote from: Rossfan on June 27, 2018, 02:48:18 PM

People who give a sh*t about the wider implications of the decisions made by HQ and how they affect all of us.

http://www.hotpress.com/GAA/Why-Kildare-Have-Done-the-Whole-GAA-a-Massive-Service/22642624.html

Why Kildare Have Done the Whole GAA a Massive Service

With the Kildare-Mayo game finally being fixed for Newbridge, Hot Press contributing editor – and lifelong Kildare fan – Paul Nolan outlines why this is about more than just a single game.

Throughout this decade, I and other Kildare fans have watched as a succession of decisions regarding fixtures, financing and other issues have gone against us.

Our neighbours and historic rivals Dublin have become a runaway train and we have been all-too accomodating when it has come to giving up home league fixtures against them – as well as happily complying with their more-or-less permanent residence in Croke Park during the Leinster championship. It was a sickly relationship that had become symbolic of our – and other counties' – meek towing of the GAA establishment line.

Well, the Mayo game was when we shouted stop. The shocking arrogance the GAA showed before, during and after this sorry debacle has revealed the extent to which commercialism and elitism rules the roost in GAA HQ. A succession of prominent figures in the association – ex-presidents Sean Kelly and Nicky Brennan among them – have completely misjudged the intensity of feeling around this issue.

Unfortunately, it's not an attitude that is confined to GAA officialdom either. On the very day the match was moved to Newbridge, the Irish Times published an article, headlined 'GAA Correct Not To Respond To Kildare Ultimatum', which backed the GAA establishment to the hilt.

Despite all this, the resolve of the Kildare team, management, county board and supporters ultimately prevailed.

The likelihood is that this is a moment which will lead to more counties taking a stand against commercial-led decisions which are blatantly unjust.

I have been following this group of Kildare players since they were minors in 2010, when a thrilling double victory over Dublin heralded the arrival of hugely gifted players like Kevin Feely and Niall Kelly. I have enjoyed some thrilling moments following them since, including an U21 Leinster title, promotion to Div 1 and a journey to last year's Leinster final.

A shot at one of the finest GAA teams of the 21st century is another important moment in their development. It is only right that it is played in their home ground – and my home town.

Newbridge Or Nowhere. Cill Dara Abu.

Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 02:32:28 PM
It may be a sweeping generalisation, but looking at some of the online reaction, if there is an imbalance in terms of people being annoyed that the game is now in Newbridge, it is among the 'casual' fans.
What I mean by that is the people who go to watch county games in the summer when the team is doing well, but otherwise don't seem to have much to do with the GAA year round in terms of playing, volunteering etc.
Also, the majority of people slagging Kildare for not having a better stadium seem to fall into this bracket.
I don't particularly like categorising people, but there is an acceptance among the vast majority of genuine GAA people (from Mayo & elsewhere), as opposed to 'fans', that this was the only right & proper outcome.
Maybe the association needs to worry more about accommodating the genuine GAA people, and less about accommodating the casual fans.
[/b]

Preach it.

tc_manchester

Quote from: Jinxy on June 27, 2018, 03:01:26 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 27, 2018, 02:48:18 PM

People who give a sh*t about the wider implications of the decisions made by HQ and how they affect all of us.

You can be a "Genuine" GAA person and disagree about how Kildare handled this. What Croke Park did was not without precedent since they already moved Wicklow's home game this year. I would have thought that moving the game to a venue which could cater for the expected attendance made perfect sense - be it Portlaoise or Croke park. Kildare stood up to "Big Bad Croke Park" - no - they held Croke Park to ransom by threatening to not field. Maybe Kildare will now refuse access to SKY cameras because that's what the "genuine" GAA person wants.