Sober for October!

Started by No wides, September 27, 2016, 09:29:18 AM

The "I don't need alcohol to enjoy myself" brigade are in fine voice. Going a month without alcohol is a doddle. Going months on end is as well (for me anyway) going out socialising and being the only sponge not drinking is not always that enjoyable and if you've an active social life and are a bit of a man about town then yes I would say sober October is an achievement.

If someone truly has an alcohol problem, going one day, never mind a month, without a drink is an achievement. Some prats on here

All-Ireland Final Replay is on the 1st Oct.

Can you pick another month?

No wides

Quote from: stephenite on September 27, 2016, 11:23:58 AM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:34:23 AM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:29:18 AM
Anyone else doing it, a great way of helping yourself as well as raising money for a great cause.

https://www.gosober.org.uk/

Not unless you translate it into a long term change of lifestyle.

Anyone who thinks not drinking for a month is an achievement needs a boot up the hole and to seriously re-evaluate their relationship with alcohol.

That Whiskey thread you started is up to 7 pages

Brillant http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25329.0 sounds like gallsmans only problem is two hands one mouth.  ;)

Quote from: muppet on September 27, 2016, 11:30:20 AM
All-Ireland Final Replay is on the 1st Oct.

Can you pick another month?

was thinking the very same !

goingsoberonthe2ndofoctober.com

November looks handy enough. The 1st is a tuesday so get the last gallon with the Monday club and the 30th is a Wednesday so can break out on the thursday night. ;) sorted

No wides

Quote from: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:29:38 AM
The "I don't need alcohol to enjoy myself" brigade are in fine voice. Going a month without alcohol is a doddle. Going months on end is as well (for me anyway) going out socialising and being the only sponge not drinking is not always that enjoyable and if you've an active social life and are a bit of a man about town then yes I would say sober October is an achievement.

If someone truly has an alcohol problem, going one day, never mind a month, without a drink is an achievement. Some prats on here

As much as I started this in a jovial way and to mention the great cause it is supporting, that is a very valid and real point.

Quote from: maddog on September 27, 2016, 11:19:39 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 27, 2016, 11:12:52 AM
Quote from: maddog on September 27, 2016, 11:07:21 AM
I find it hard sitting in the house on a Saturday night with the feckin X factor on when i could be off down the local having the craic with the lads. Does anyone else think the further north you go in Ireland the more puritanical folk are when it comes to drink ?

Arguably if you cannot go out and socialise and have the craic without alcohol then perhaps Gallsman has a point.

who says i couldn't ? The reality is you would be laughed out of the place.
They sound like a lovely bunch of people.

Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 11:35:46 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:29:38 AM

As much as I started this in a jovial way and to mention the great cause it is supporting, that is a very valid and real point.
Wasn't aimed at you. Few boys getting high and mighty over what is quite a good cause

Quote from: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:43:19 AM
Wasn't aimed at you. Few boys getting high and mighty over what is quite a good cause

Who is getting high and mighty? Nobody has disputed that it isn't in aid of a good cause. Nobody has even specifically addressed the "Sober October" campaign since the first post. What instead is being discussed is people's relationship with alcohol. Try to keep up and understand what's going on before you accuse people of things. Few boys getting worked up because they apparently can't read.

Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 11:31:48 AM
That Whiskey thread you started is up to 7 pages

Brillant http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25329.0 sounds like gallsmans only problem is two hands one mouth.  ;)

I'm delighted that it went seven pages. Some great recommendations for whiskey off the back of it. However I fail to see the relevance of the fact that I occasionally drink and enjoy whiskey to my ability to assert that anyone who can't go a few weeks off the drink without suffering has an issue with alcohol. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm not sure I ever claimed to be teetotal. Even if I did (I didn't), I certainly wouldn't claim that this in any way made me better or superior.

No wides

Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 11:57:51 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:43:19 AM

Who is getting high and mighty? Nobody has disputed that it isn't in aid of a good cause. Nobody has even specifically addressed the "Sober October" campaign since the first post. What instead is being discussed is people's relationship with alcohol. Try to keep up and understand what's going on before you accuse people of things. Few boys getting worked up because they apparently can't read.

Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 11:31:48 AM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:34:23 AMThat Whiskey thread you started is up to 7 pages

I'm delighted that it went seven pages. Some great recommendations for whiskey off the back of it. However I fail to see the relevance of the fact that I occasionally drink and enjoy whiskey to my ability to assert that anyone who can't go a few weeks off the drink without suffering has an issue with alcohol. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm not sure I ever claimed to be teetotal. Even if I did (I didn't), I certainly wouldn't claim that this in any way made me better or superior.

Your first post made that assertion when you make all sorts of conclusions in your head and climbed on your moral high horse to berate anyone who might try to give up alcohol for a period of time to raise money for a good cause.  And it most certainly was a sanctimonious statement you were making.

Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:34:23 AM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:29:18 AM
Anyone else doing it, a great way of helping yourself as well as raising money for a great cause.

https://www.gosober.org.uk/

Not unless you translate it into a long term change of lifestyle.

Anyone who thinks not drinking for a month is an achievement needs a boot up the hole and to seriously re-evaluate their relationship with alcohol.

Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 10:13:34 AM

I never said everyone who does sober October or goes off it for Lent has a drinking problem. I said anyone who thinks this an achievement or finds it a challenge does.
That might be me then - I would actually find it a challenge as I generally reward myself with a glass or two of wine on a Friday or Saturday night (sometimes both - eek!), and it would be like going off chocolate or crisps to go off wine.  My body doesn't need it and I don't sit and get sloshed in the house, but I do see it as a treat and to deny myself will be challenging.
Plus if I don't drink when I'm out socially, everyone will ask if I'm pregnant.

Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 12:08:36 PMYour first post made that assertion when you make all sorts of conclusions in your head and climbed on your moral high horse to berate anyone who might try to give up alcohol for a period of time to raise money for a good cause.

No, it didn't. It merely made a comment about whether giving up alcohol for four weeks is in any way an achievement. It didn't mention "the good cause" at all.

No wides

Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 12:10:45 PM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 12:08:36 PMYour first post made that assertion when you make all sorts of conclusions in your head and climbed on your moral high horse to berate anyone who might try to give up alcohol for a period of time to raise money for a good cause.

No, it didn't. It merely made a comment about whether giving up alcohol for four weeks is in any way an achievement. It didn't mention "the good cause" at all.

It was the second post on this thread - who said it was an achievement at that stage, you obviously just thought your were being a wise guy coming out with sanctimonious drivel, as I mentioned you obviously have an issue with your relationship with alcohol, I doubt if it was give up sugar for a month or cake, or do 10 minutes exercise a day you would have come out with such putrid drivel.

Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 12:19:39 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 12:10:45 PM

It was the second post on this thread - who said it was an achievement at that stage, you obviously just thought your were being a wise guy coming out with sanctimonious drivel, as I mentioned you obviously have an issue with your relationship with alcohol, I doubt if it was give up sugar for a month or cake, or do 10 minutes exercise a day you would have come out with such putrid drivel.

Now you're just spouting utter gibberish.

Sanctimonious? I'd look up the meaning of the word before I level that accusation if I were you.

No wides

You were called out for trying to be a dick end off.