Sober for October!

Started by No wides, September 27, 2016, 09:29:18 AM

No wides

Anyone else doing it, a great way of helping yourself as well as raising money for a great cause.

https://www.gosober.org.uk/

Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:29:18 AM
Anyone else doing it, a great way of helping yourself as well as raising money for a great cause.

Not unless you translate it into a long term change of lifestyle.

Anyone who thinks not drinking for a month is an achievement needs a boot up the hole and to seriously re-evaluate their relationship with alcohol.

No wides

Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:34:23 AM

Anyone who thinks not drinking for a month is an achievement needs a boot up the hole and to seriously re-evaluate their relationship with alcohol.

If one drank 7 nights a week, I would agree but I am sure like a lot on here I have a few bevvies at the weekend, surely to go without for 4 or 5 weeks is a good thing, but don't let your sanctimonious attitude distract from a good campaign to raise money and give one's body a month of alcohol.   

I'd say your comments say more about your own experiences with alcohol.

Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:43:24 AM

If one drank 7 nights a week, I would agree but I am sure like a lot on here I have a few bevvies at the weekend, surely to go without for 4 or 5 weeks is a good thing, but don't let your sanctimonious attitude distract from a good campaign to raise money and give one's body a month of alcohol.   

No. In the long run, it will literally do you no good whatsoever. Nothing sanctimonious about my attitude whatsoever. If not drinking for a few weeks is a challenge or a struggle, then you have a drinking problem.

No wides

Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:58:19 AM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:43:24 AM

No. In the long run, it will literally do you no good whatsoever. Nothing sanctimonious about my attitude whatsoever. If not drinking for a few weeks is a challenge or a struggle, then you have a drinking problem.

No one said it would be - it is a marketing campaign to raise funds for a good cause and to incentivize people to quit alcohol for a month, your attitude suggests that you have deeper problems with alcohol either directly or indirectly, I would also disagree and suggest that anyone who drinks in whatever moderation would benefit from quitting for a month, it is no different than going off drink for lent, I suppose all those people have a drinking problem as well?

You're now contradicting yourself.

I never said everyone who does sober October or goes off it for Lent has a drinking problem. I said anyone who thinks this an achievement or finds it a challenge does.

No wides

Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 10:13:34 AM

I never said everyone who does sober October or goes off it for Lent has a drinking problem. I said anyone who thinks this an achievement or finds it a challenge does.

I think you will find you are winding your neck in now, who said it would be an achievement?  You jumped up on your sanctimonious high horse form your first post, you obviously only know the reasons why.

Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 10:13:34 AM

I have a drink problem then. I go off it every November and usually in January again. I find it hard sitting in the house on a Saturday night with the feckin X factor on when i could be off down the local having the craic with the lads. Does anyone else think the further north you go in Ireland the more puritanical folk are when it comes to drink ?

Quote from: maddog on September 27, 2016, 11:07:21 AM
I find it hard sitting in the house on a Saturday night with the feckin X factor on when i could be off down the local having the craic with the lads. Does anyone else think the further north you go in Ireland the more puritanical folk are when it comes to drink ?

Arguably if you cannot go out and socialise and have the craic without alcohol then perhaps Gallsman has a point.

No wides

Quote from: armaghniac on September 27, 2016, 11:12:52 AM
I find it hard sitting in the house on a Saturday night with the feckin X factor on when i could be off down the local having the craic with the lads. Does anyone else think the further north you go in Ireland the more puritanical folk are when it comes to drink ?

Arguably if you cannot go out and socialise and have the craic without alcohol then perhaps Gallsman has a point.

I doubt that is what maddog said, he specifically mentioned going to the local for the craic, that implies he is going to the pub for a pint, I am sure when he is socialising on the bike or in other life situations he isn't pinting, I think though you have just proved maddogs point!

Quote from: armaghniac on September 27, 2016, 11:12:52 AM

who says i couldn't ? The reality is you would be laughed out of the place.

anyone else think the further north you go in Ireland the more puritanical folk are  ?

Yes, if you exclude Donegal. :D

That Whiskey thread you started is up to 7 pages