Figuring out who is catholic on the NI soccer panel

Started by seafoid, May 26, 2016, 11:05:22 AM

Are there any products that are unique to either community eg biscuits, tea , processed meat etc

Kerby is N. Antrim. Cribby makes no sense as it involves an actual kerb. Kerbsie is just bollox also.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 16, 2016, 01:27:56 PM
Kerby is N. Antrim. Cribby makes no sense as it involves an actual kerb. Kerbsie is just bollox also.

It doesn't but that's what it was called

well done lads , you have just proven what a contrary bunch of f**kers lads up north are , in a thread devoted to seeing what divides the nationalist and Unionist population  yis are falling over the name of a game none of ye have probably played for 20 years

Ah Ros don't be expecting people from other parts of the Country to have evolved as much as us Connacht folks :D

Michael O'Neill rejects 'scrambling' jibe but wants Northern Ireland to get ugly

Northern Ireland manager annoyed by Ukraine criticism before vital Euro 2016 match and is planning changes after defeat in opening game

Wednesday 15 June 2016 19.29 BST  Last modified on Thursday 16 June 2016 08.28 BST 

Michael O'Neill has told Northern Ireland to improve "the ugly part" of their game on Thursday yet taken exception to Ukraine's Ruslan Rotan describing the Irish as reliant on physicality, high balls and scrambles. Ukraine "are not playing a Spanish style of football" retorted the manager before a contest that may determine Northern Ireland's fate at their first European Championship.

Both sides suffered defeat in their opening matches, against Poland and Germany respectively, heightening the importance of their encounter in Lyon. Rotan, the Ukraine midfielder, said Northern Ireland are the most British team at the tournament in terms of style, one he claimed was based on "great physical preparation, strong flanks, high crosses and lots of scrambling". The description has not gone down well with the first manager to win a qualifying group with a team drawn from pot five, and who did so not by "scrambling".

Joachim Löw says sorry for causing a stir with scratch and sniff

Read more

"It's interesting that statement was made," said O'Neill, who may change his selection and formation for the second game in Group C. "I looked at the statistics in the Germany game and Ukraine's possession was not particularly high [37%]. They also played a lot of long balls, which is very British. Ukraine are a very physical team. If you look at the amount of yellow and red cards the Ukrainians gained through qualification, they are not playing a Spanish style of football."

O'Neill admitted Northern Ireland's attacking threat must improve with Kyle Lafferty isolated for long periods against Poland and Steven Davis, given the onerous task of supporting the lone striker while trying to marshal Grzegorz Krychowiak in midfield, starved of possession. Having frequently mentioned the threat posed by the Ukraine wide men Andriy Yarmolenko and Yevhen Konoplyanka in the buildup to the game, a four-man defence with Jonny Evans at left-back is also under consideration.

The manager said: "What the tournament has shown is that all games are tight. That's most important. We recognise where we need to be better, I don't think we needed that reassurance of 'Do we belong here?' We felt that all along but we must demonstrate that against a strong Ukrainian team. We saw things in the Germany game that we didn't expect. We thought Ukraine may have been more defensive. They were a threat at set pieces. We recognise their strengths and we have to be prepared to match the physicality. What we didn't do against Poland was the ugly part of the game and that's something we generally always do well. When I say ugly I mean in terms of the competitiveness."

Marek Hamsik exudes calm and class in Slovakia's Euro 2016 win against Russia

Barney Ronay at Stade Pierre Mauroy

Read more

Uefa have granted Northern Ireland's request to wear black armbands in memory of Darren Rodgers, the 24-year-old fan who died in Nice on Monday after falling 26ft from a promenade, but not for a minute's silence before the game. Northern Ireland supporters plan to applaud during the 24th minute as a mark of respect to Rodgers. Davis, the captain, said: "It would be nice to go and get a positive result in Darren's memory. We always give 100% effort, but hopefully what has happened can spur us on even more."

O'Neill selected a training base and hotel close to Lyon specifically with the Ukraine game in mind. He believes straightforward preparations could be a deciding factor in what he has labelled "a cup final" for Northern Ireland.

He said: "Although it was not a big journey to Nice it was still time consuming because of security. We haven't got that for this game. It was one of the factors in deciding to base ourselves here. It's 45 minutes to get here and we haven't had to change hotel. Having lost the first game, there's a natural fear of when do you go home. Other teams will feel the same and we have to make sure that's a motivation. We love our base and want to stay there as long as possible. We have to play it like a cup final because we know the significance of three points."

There was a lighter moment at the pre-match press conference when Davis was asked about being the first player at the tournament to take a one-man kick-off, as he did against Poland. The Southampton midfielder explained: "Uefa spoke to us about rule changes and it was something we were going to do in the Slovakia friendly. The referee said no at that point. The reason is to get an extra player out wide from kick-off. Kyle was the target for the next ball. I believe we were one of the first teams to do it. A little piece of history."

O'Neill interjected: "We're hoping it's not the highlight of the tournament."

Ukraine's press conference also veered away from the game when the defender Artem Fedetskiy was asked about a claim in Bild, the German newspaper, that their players smoked cigarettes and drank beer in the dressing room after the defeat by Germany. "We have no players who drink beer," said Fedetskiy, with a straight face. "Maybe someone wants to provoke us. We behave in a civilised way. You can check the DNA from the cigarettes."

doodaa

Quote from: general_lee on June 16, 2016, 01:56:07 PM
It's f**king kerbsie ye weirdos

Kerby in our part of the world as well, North Derry/ North Antrim border.
South Derry has no kerbs so no need to ask them.

Quote from: doodaa on June 16, 2016, 03:34:05 PM

None down our way either  ;D

doodaa

Quote from: johnneycool on June 16, 2016, 03:52:36 PM
Quote from: doodaa on June 16, 2016, 03:34:05 PM

None down our way either  ;D

Just be thankful you's have tarmac  :P

Some goodlooking birds in the Nordie crowd...French women dressed in N Ireland jerseys surely?

Quote from: laoislad on June 16, 2016, 04:57:43 PM
Some goodlooking birds in the Nordie crowd...French women dressed in N Ireland jerseys surely?

The grass is always greener.  :D :D :D

Forbidden fruit and all that. What little time I spent up North I found themmuns women were very curious about southern men.  ;)

@DUP leader

Just to be clear the DUP website nowhere refers to the north of Ireland #nosuchplace #proudodNI #Nolan

what does proudodNI mean?