Figuring out who is catholic on the NI soccer panel

Started by seafoid, May 26, 2016, 11:05:22 AM

Jim_Murphy_74

Quote from: Fuzzman on June 15, 2016, 03:31:05 PM
Do the Norn Iron football fans try to use the Ulster term as a means of not having to say the word Ireland or Irish?

Is it possible that it's easily sung, familiar to them from rugby and lads enjoying the craic in the stand started bellowing it out, got a reaction and it became part of the repertoire of chants & songs?

And maybe it's not really a premeditated effort to claim or deny a particular identity?

Frankly if people really see a conspiracy to stake a territorial view  they are affording soccer fans way too much credit.

Personally I am going with the fact they like the tune.

/Jim

Quote from: rosnarun on June 15, 2016, 02:58:55 PM
LADS calm down
Michael o neills team represent the Irish Football Association(IFA)  and the Football Association of Ireland (FAI)'s representative team are led by Martin Oneill
Neither team represent Ireland, eire nothern ireland,Norlin Airlann,Tuaisceart Éireann, the free state nor the  6 counties nor  Ulster  nor any subset there of .

Sure it's only oul feckin soccer anyway not real sport or real football.

Tonto

Quote from: Fuzzman on June 15, 2016, 03:31:05 PM
Do the Norn Iron football fans try to use the Ulster term as a means of not having to say the word Ireland or Irish?
Ah Jesus, set down your Big Book of Silly Stereotyoes and go and meet people.

Pissing into the wind with this thread aren't we?

Did we ever worn out who was Catholic in the NI squad?

Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2016, 10:16:22 PM
Did we ever worn out who was Catholic in the NI squad?

Baird, McLaughlin. Who else ?

Let's have a full analysis of the occupied six soccer squad, covering:

- religion of birth
- current religious affiliation
- passport country of origin
- ethnicity
- political persuasion
- sexual persuasion

etcetera
etcetera
etcetera

Tonto

Quote from: Orior on June 15, 2016, 10:25:15 PM

- religion of birth
- ethnicity
- political persuasion
- sexual persuasion

etcetera
etcetera
etcetera
Don't forget that we also need to know:

- how they pronounce H
- how they pronounce Magherafelt and/ or Maghera
- how far apart their eyes are
- how many siblings they have
- if they believe the thumb on a Red Hand of Ulster (am I, as a unionist, allowed to use that word or is it precluding some of you from reclaiming it for nationalism?) on the left or the right?

Only then can we provide the OP and all other interested parties with a fully comprehensive analysis of the religion of all members of the squad.

Quote from: Tonto on June 15, 2016, 11:05:34 PM

- religion of birth
- ethnicity
- political persuasion
- sexual persuasion

etcetera
etcetera
etcetera

- how they pronounce H
- if they believe the thumb on a Red Hand of Ulster (am I, as a unionist, allowed to use that word or is it precluding some of you from reclaiming it for nationalism?) on the left or the right?

Only then can we provide the OP and all other interested parties with a fully comprehensive analysis of the religion of all members of the squad.
I find that prods keep jam and red sauce in the fridge rather than the cupboard so can we use that as selection criteria. Probably due to years of oppression preventing catholics from having access to electricity and/or fridges.

Tonto

Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 15, 2016, 11:10:44 PM
Quote from: Tonto on June 15, 2016, 11:05:34 PM

- religion of birth
- ethnicity
- political persuasion
- sexual persuasion

etcetera
etcetera
etcetera

- how they pronounce H

I find that prods keep jam and red sauce in the fridge rather than the cupboard so can we use that as selection criteria. Probably due to years of oppression preventing catholics from having access to electricity and/or fridges.
I keep my red sauce in the cupboard as the fridge makes it too cold for chips. I always wondered why transubstantiation just seemed to make sense to me even though I was always told it was wrong. I've been hiding my true identity for too long. How will I tell my family I've been living a lie?

Tonto

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 15, 2016, 11:32:17 PM
Do city prods say criby and not kerby??
As in the game? I'm a mere country Prod and we would have called it kerbsies.

Kerby me arse. It's kerbsy.

As for figuring out the Protestant members, you could just look at them. Most of them are a different gene pool to us locals.

Quote from: BennyCake on June 15, 2016, 11:42:54 PM
Kerby me arse. It's kerbsy.

As for figuring out the Protestant members, you could just look at them. Most of them are a different gene pool to us locals.

Having worked on the Shankill and on the Falls for many years, I've definitely got a great idea of who's who....

Harold Disgracey

Quote from: Tonto on June 15, 2016, 11:38:19 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 15, 2016, 11:32:17 PM
Do city prods say criby and not kerby??
As in the game? I'm a mere country Prod and we would have called it kerbsies.

Jaysus, kerbsies sounds like something from a very effeminate cBeebies.
Kerby is not much better.

Is this the game of throwing the ball across the road at the opposite kerb?