London v Mayo 29th May

Started by Mayo Club 51, April 05, 2016, 11:23:05 PM

Are you going to London v Mayo in Ruislip 29th May?

Travelling from Mayo & Have a match ticket
7 (23.3%)
Travelling from Mayo & Don't have a match ticket
11 (36.7%)
Travelling from England & Have a match ticket
4 (13.3%)
Travelling from England & Don't have a match ticket
8 (26.7%)

Total Members Voted: 30

Mayo Club 51

Now that the 2016 national football league is wrapped up, for us anyway, its time to start looking forward to our trip to London for the start of the 2016 Connacht Chapionship. These preliminary Connacht Championship match's are a big draw for people living in London and indeed all over England. Mayo by far draws some of the largest crowds in Ruislip, the last time we were there on the 26th May 2011 there were between 4/5000 at least there that day.

This year is no different and if anything, the large travelling support is causing London GAA a bit of a conundrum! So much so, that for the first time ever, the London v Mayo match is all ticket! The first initial batch of tickets that went on sale on the 25th of March, sold out completly online within a few days. A second batch went on sale a few days later, and these sold out in a matter of hours. We are waiting to hear back from Mayo county board and Connacht Council, to see what allocation they are getting for the match, if any at all.
http://mayoclub51.com/tickets-london-gaa-vs-mayo-gaa-sale-now/

Latest word is all ticket inquiries have to go to the London secretary Secretary - Mark Gottsche Telephone: 07872600074
mark.gottsche.gm.london@gaa.ie

sounds like they won't see anyone stuck

Mayo Club 51

Latest Update from London GAA 6th April @19.00

Further Ticket Update:
Due to an unprecedented demand for tickets, there will be no tickets on sale from the county board offices in Ruislip or online until further notice.
We are currently catering for the "clubs" in london, any requests should come through your club secretary.
Club secretaries are advised to contact the county secretary Mark Gottsche to request allocation of tickets.
secretary.london@gaa.ie
If you are a fully paid up member of a club in London, you are advised to contact your club secretary in the first instance if you require tickets.
As soon as the allocation of tickets to "clubs" has been completed we will make a further announcement in regards to general ticket availability.
London GAA County Board

The Rhubarbs won't fear London.

Mayo Club 51

Update from Mayo GAA

Sent: Monday, April 18, 2016 9:08 PM
Subject: Ticket Update: London v Mayo

Following discussions between the London County Board and the Connacht Council Mayo GAA can confirm we have received a limited allocation of tickets to cover players, management and sponsors for the upcoming Connacht Senior championship game on May 29th in Ruislip.

The size of this allocation means we cannot supply tickets to our clubs nor will we have tickets for sale through Elverys MacHale Park. Unfortunately this means some fans may not have access to tickets. We will endeavour to work with the London County Board and the Connacht Council and should more tickets be become available we will notify clubs immediately.

Paul Cunnane
PRO Mayo G.A.A.

Damn London and their huge population base taking all the tickets!

Nice if them to let ye're players and management in :D

Typical Connacht home venue bollix, another province would have moved it to neutral ground if the home venue hadn't capacity.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 20, 2016, 09:51:18 PM

Does a Cairde ticket get us into this gig Farr?

Quote from: moysider on April 21, 2016, 12:25:30 AM

Haven't a clue. MayoClub51 should know the answer though.

Mayo Club 51

Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 21, 2016, 12:35:17 AM

Neither the Cairde Mhaigheo or Croke Park season ticket covers this match we're afraid. In 2009 it got us into Gaelic Park in New York and also Ruislip in 2011. In 2014 when we were back in the Bronx again, we got a $10 reduction on the gate when you showed your season ticket, which was fair enough as there were nearly 2000 season ticket holders there that day. From what I could see, everyone that was with me in the gate and a few more, all paid the full $25!

Quote from: Mayo Club 51 on April 21, 2016, 12:47:30 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 21, 2016, 12:35:17 AM

Neither the Cairde Mhaigheo or Croke Park season ticket covers this match we're afraid. In 2009 it got us into Gaelic Park in New York and also Ruislip in 2011. In 2014 when we were back in the Bronx again, we got a $10 reduction on the gate when you showed your season ticket, which was fair enough as there were nearly 2000 season ticket holders there that day. From what I could see, everyone that was with me in the gate and a few more, all paid the full $25!

So I d be  wasting my time going to London for this?

sinabhuil

Lads the GAA agreed that New York and London could take the gate. The money does not go to the Connacht Council or Croke Park. It is retained at a local level and fair play to them. They need all the help they can get to promote the game. This whingeing is typical. We hear the same thing when an All Ireland Final is on. All of a sudden everyone wants a ticket and the 'I am more entitled than you' brigade comes out. There are limited tickets someone loses out. If you are not on the ball when they are put on sale - tough. Man up and take it. Stop crying. Same rubbish when it comes to refs, venues, prices, etc. We are getting more and more soccer like! - that is not a compliment.