Monaghan v Donegal 03/04 Blaney 2pm

Started by Main Street, March 31, 2016, 12:50:41 AM

We needed to win this game much more than Donegal did, you'd wonder just how much that fact had effect on Donegal.
Still, seeing that we were coming from 4 straight defeats, any win over Donegal is no mean feat.
We are almost Brothers in Arms. ;D

Schkite

Fair play to the lads, it's not often you come back from 7 pts behind against Donegal, and it could easily have been more. Great to see them grinding out the result when it mattered, but it was clear we needed the win more. Staying in Division 1 is important for the development of the young lads coming through so it was a big win.

Second time in a year that Walshe has scored an injury time winner for us! - the other being Cavan last summer.

Quote from: Conallach on April 03, 2016, 03:48:24 PM
Losing and still making the league semis is truly the cruelest of jokes.

4 losses in a row and heading into a semi-final against a side who are 7 wins from 7.

I suppose Donegal will have to go a bit defensive to have any chance.

BluestackBoy

Quote from: twohands!!! on April 03, 2016, 05:57:18 PM

4 losses in a row and heading into a semi-final against a side who are 7 wins from 7.

Wouldn't be in our nature twohands ;D ;D ;D ;D
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

Quote from: twohands!!! on April 03, 2016, 05:57:18 PM

Depends on what they want from it.

They didn't give a shite about the league semi-final last year and conceded four goals to Cork in a very loose, open game, losing 4-11 to 0-19.

But... they were out in mid-May against Tyrone. This year they're last up in Ulster in mid-June to play the winners of Fermanagh and Antrim.

That said, losing by ten or fifteen points to Dublin won't be of much benefit, no matter what way you look at it. But, on the other hand, keeping it tight for 50 minutes, only to lose by six or seven won't mean much either.

In other words, we're fucked either way! ;D

So I'd like to see Gallagher use it to give some of the newer players a taste of Croke Park against the Dubs.

Quote from: Main Street on April 03, 2016, 03:55:50 PM
We needed to win this game much more than Donegal did, you'd wonder just how much that fact had effect on Donegal.
Still, seeing that we were coming from 4 straight defeats, any win over Donegal is no mean feat.

Then we're the wee brother you never fail to best, no matter what the circumstances!

Whereas you lot curl up in the foetal position at the sight of Tyrone, who we usually beat no matter what (may change this year).

The little love triangle makes no sense at all!

babarino

Great to win this having gone 7 points down at the start. A small county going through a transition period, maintaining top flight status is a great achievement. We'll be all the more competitive for the coming championships.

Donegal still rank higher than us by virtue of going to semi final stage.

Down will have nothing to lose come Championship 1st round. If we beat them it's Dún na nGall arís.

And them Tyronie hoors will wait in the wings, while we tear strips of one another.

It's going to be a  Monaghan Cavan ulster final,  the first since ??

Great to come away with that result. It didn't look promising at the start and the second week in a row that we conceded a goal as a result of the short kickout. Lucky to respond so quickly with a goal of our own as another Donegal point at that stage and it may have been past saving.

Great atmosphere towards the end and a big crowd. Not convinced Blaney is up to these big games though.

Some interesting games in D1 next year with Cavan and Tyrone up.

Quote from: J70 on April 03, 2016, 07:57:31 PM

Then we're the wee brother you never fail to best, no matter what the circumstances!

Whereas you lot curl up in the foetal position at the sight of Tyrone, who we usually beat no matter what (may change this year).

Apart from the 2013 and 2015 Ulster Finals, the 2014 D2 Final, the 2015 league game and today...

We beat Tyrone in the 2014 Championship and 2015 League. But they're definitely our bogey team we're probably yours.

Will Donegal have a go at winning the league? I know the last number of years it has been a awkward distraction to their first round Championship games v Tyrone. But this year they have a bye to the Quarters and the lesser lights of Fermanagh/Antrim await. Last year they had no interest in winning their semi final.

Quote from: Maguire01 on April 03, 2016, 10:52:20 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 03, 2016, 07:57:31 PM

Apart from the 2013 and 2015 Ulster Finals, the 2014 D2 Final, the 2015 league game and today...

We beat Tyrone in the 2014 Championship and 2015 League. But they're definitely our bogey team we're probably yours.

Uh... Yeah... That was my point!

"You never fail to best us..."

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 03, 2016, 10:59:53 PM
Will Donegal have a go at winning the league? I know the last number of years it has been a awkward distraction to their first round Championship games v Tyrone. But this year they have a bye to the Quarters and the lesser lights of Fermanagh/Antrim await. Last year they had no interest in winning their semi final.

Is there any realistic chance of us beating Dublin?

Quote from: J70 on April 03, 2016, 11:17:12 PM

If we can run them to a point, why not?

straightred

Quote from: Maguire01 on April 03, 2016, 11:19:26 PM
Quote from: J70 on April 03, 2016, 11:17:12 PM

If we can run them to a point, why not?
Dubs will be up for it - they need competitive games including a final as then they face into the leinster turkey shoot. 1 Div 1 team and 2 Div 2 teams (this year and next year) That's really poor form for Leinster