Cavan v Galway (Sunday 3rd April 2016 2pm - Breffni Park)

Started by Westside, March 28, 2016, 01:14:30 PM

babarino

Happy to renew acquaintances with the Breiffne in the top flight next year. Suspect they'll last as long as this year's newbies Down.

(The Cavan 1st goal today was a cleverly disguised lift ball)

sans pessimism

"So Boys stick together
in all kinds of weather"

Quote from: babarino on April 03, 2016, 08:47:15 PM
Happy to renew acquaintances with the Breiffne in the top flight next year. Suspect they'll last as long as this year's newbies Down.

That's mean spirited Barbarino  and on a day when Monaghan's teeth skin was just marginally thicker than Cork's.
Just be grateful we didn't pass by Cavan on our way down to Div 2.

D1 will have 4 counties who live for football and have not won Sam for over 60 years if at all. Only Kildare are gagging for an AI more than MO, CN,MN and RN. Surely one of them can break the hoodoo.

Quote from: seafoid on April 03, 2016, 09:20:46 PM
D1 will have 4 counties who live for football and have not won Sam for over 60 years if at all. Only Kildare are gagging for an AI more than MO, CN,MN and RN. Surely one of them can break the hoodoo.

Ah sure don't you be worrying your good self about us poor creatures in suffering!

Much more to senior inter county football than just winning All Ireland. Your county are now established division two team and for the pick you have that simply isn't good enough.

Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 03, 2016, 09:31:12 PM
Much more to senior inter county football than just winning All Ireland. Your county are now established division two team and for the pick you have that simply isn't good enough.

Sure neither is the Mayo pick .. All Irelands do count. Walk into any pub in North Galway.

Quote from: seafoid on April 03, 2016, 09:51:51 PM

Sure neither is the Mayo pick .. All Irelands do count. Walk into any pub in North Galway.

Absolutely! Being in Division One for 20 years. Winning Connacht titles year in year out, winning Quarter finals and semi finals in Croker for the last 15 years, Playing nice football, running Kerry close and getting all the plaudits are not worth a damn if you are not winning AI titles. But hey you can only try and we've enjoyed the last 15 years a lot more than some have!  ;)

babarino

Quote from: Main Street on April 03, 2016, 09:15:01 PM

That's mean spirited Barbarino  and on a day when Monaghan's teeth skin was just marginally thicker than Cork's.

Moi, mean spirited a propos Cavan. Jamais. Feck of with your generosity of spirit ye lundy.

Westside

I too am looking forward to Cavan v Conor McManus next year. Congrats on staying up and getting through a second year without a doping scandal in your squad.  ;D

Massive win today, delighted for the lads. Strongest Cavan Senior Panel in 10 years or more. 

Duine Eile

Well that's that then, last competitive game until June 18th. Wasn't at the game but it sounds like the same old story. Not looking forward to meeting Mayo to be honest, I can see us taking another hammering if Mayo click on the day and we continue the way we have been. Goalkeeping still seems to be an issue for a second year in a row. I saw a list of teams that were in the semi finals of the Galway club championship somewhere lately and there was a shockingly low representation from these teams on the county panel, might be time to go back to these clubs and see if there's anything they've missed. Even though the standard of our club championship lately (with the exception of Corofin) has been absolutely shocking which hasn't helped.

Not many pluses for Galway but good to see Shane Walsh getting back to his best after last year's tragic accident. Some of his touches today were sublime given the conditions. He should be even better on the firmer surfaces come the Summer. Unfortunately hard to see anything other than Galway getting overpowered by Mayo again in Connacht and another trip into the qualifiers.

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 03, 2016, 10:05:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 03, 2016, 09:51:51 PM

Absolutely! Being in Division One for 20 years. Winning Connacht titles year in year out, winning Quarter finals and semi finals in Croker for the last 15 years, Playing nice football, running Kerry close and getting all the plaudits are not worth a damn if you are not winning AI titles. But hey you can only try and we've enjoyed the last 15 years a lot more than some have!  ;)
Are Mayo the new Tyrone?
Every thread has to end up being about Mayo?

Quote from: babarino on April 03, 2016, 10:08:12 PM
Quote from: Main Street on April 03, 2016, 09:15:01 PM

Moi, mean spirited a propos Cavan. Jamais. Feck of with your generosity of spirit ye lundy.
I just can't remember the last time Cavan were a problem for Monaghan.
2001?
Cavan have been in the shadows that long.

Cavan have a rare day of success and before the sun sets the witch comes to claim Cavan's first child. The witch's name is Monaghan.