[D1] Roscommon v Mayo - 27/03/16 [3:30pm, Dr. Hyde Park]

Started by Syferus, March 13, 2016, 06:27:14 PM

Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 18, 2016, 04:39:46 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 18, 2016, 12:26:21 AM
It's nice pundits are hailing us as soon sort of anachronistic success story in the face of impossible odds against financial benefits.

Roscommon have one of the biggest financial budgets in the game, they spent more on their teams last year than 5 of the last 8.
When the county hurlers win a final, footballers get promoted, U21s get to AI semi it tends to add up.
Roscommon don't have a training centre so they spend money on pitch hire and facilities.
Huge number of players outside the county to cover mileage for.

Il Bomber Destro

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on March 18, 2016, 08:41:41 AM
It's nice pundits are hailing us as soon sort of anachronistic success story in the face of impossible odds against financial benefits.

Roscommon have one of the biggest financial budgets in the game, they spent more on their teams last year than 5 of the last 8.
When the county hurlers win a final, footballers get promoted, U21s get to AI semi it tends to add up.
Roscommon don't have a training centre so they spend money on pitch hire and facilities.

Only three other counties who only have teams compete in the All Ireland Senior Football Championship spent more on their teams last year than Roscommon. They were Armagh, Donegal and Kerry. Only Armagh exited the Championship before Roscommon. They spent near 200k more than Kildare, Fermanagh, Tyrone and Monaghan. They spent more than Mayo did in the last two years. You lads like to do a lot of poor mouthing but it doesn't add up with the facts. I'm not buying the hurling argument either, there is no substance to it, they operate at a very low level. Tyrone won the same competition the year before in hurling and it had no impact on their spending on county teams.

Il Bomber Destro

Most counties also have to pay huge mileage costs, Roscommon are not unique in this regard.

And we obviously have more transparent accounts than a lot of Counties ;)

If Ros have sorted out their defensive issues they'll win.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 18, 2016, 10:15:01 AM
If Ros have sorted out their defensive issues they'll win.

If we can keep it down to a single digit deficit we will be doing well . This game will put the final nail in this particular mayo adventure . I'm expecting an early exit to Galway after relegation in the league and you'd have to think an early exit from the qualifiers would be ideal but we will probably win a couple of games there before losing to a provincial loser in last rd. Very sad year ahead but it was bound to finish like this .

Nothing but pride I have for this team and the memories they have given us . All eras end though , I just wish it was Galway that we're coming to take over and not them lot

westbound

Poor mouth! Sure the league table is there for everyone to see , we have nothing new to add to this team , where is the evidence to suggest otherwise?

Quote from: larryin89 on March 18, 2016, 11:56:17 AM
Poor mouth! Sure the league table is there for everyone to see , we have nothing new to add to this team , where is the evidence to suggest otherwise?

Means nothing come championship. There was a terrible mystique build up around Division 1 by the media and the established teams up there and us poor Rossies not long up from Div 4 were told we had no hope in surviving in that hot cauldron due to the speed, skill, stamina of the Division 1 teams. Sure who was that lad on this board McElf telling us we'd be hammered in every game. Speed, skill, stamina how are ya? At this time of year, all the teams up there  are pure shite and they would all be lucky to survive in Div 3. If Cavan and Galway were up in Div 1 right now, they'd have no problem being top 4. Come the Summer it will be a different story but at this time of year the big team are feckin useless and had us all codded. We've been bursting ourselves training hoping we might get one win if we were lucky only to discover it's easier to cut through these teams at this time of year than a dose of salts. I see all the Mayo lads giving out about Star pulling the beard O'Shea's jersey in the penalty area but what I see on that photo is like a scene from a bad junior match with O'Shea bulldozing his way through and knocking all around him, poor Star falling over and grabbing O'Shea's jersey to break his fall only to discover the bleddy thing was as elastic as 1970s playtex bra. It's awful stuff altogether. But you can be sure come Summer they will be back in form and waving their fingers and saying time to reverse that bus into the shed ye cocky Rossies .

giveballaghback

I feel very sad and have every sympathy for you larryin and your once great team thats about to draw its last breath, when Galway beat ye and ye then lose to Carlow in the qualifiers it will be a sad day for all us west of ireland folk, there will be bitter tears shed in every parish in Roscommon and beyond, never again will we see the gracefull moves of AOS or the swan dives of COC.
The king is dead,
Long live the king.

Quote from: giveballaghback on March 18, 2016, 04:30:14 PM
I feel very sad and have every sympathy for you larryin and your once great team thats about to draw its last breath, when Galway beat ye and ye then lose to Carlow in the qualifiers it will be a sad day for all us west of ireland folk, there will be bitter tears shed in every parish in Roscommon and beyond, never again will we see the gracefull moves of AOS or the swan dives of COC.
The king is dead,
Long live the king.

Never has "lowest form of wit" been more apt. Don't bother crying too much we won't be 15 years in the dark that's for sure .

fearsiuil

Quote from: larryin89 on March 18, 2016, 05:45:25 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on March 18, 2016, 04:30:14 PM
The king is dead,
Long live the king.

Never has "lowest form of wit" been more apt. Don't bother crying too much we won't be 15 years in the dark that's for sure .
Blinded by the light at the end of the tunnel  :).

Some of the Rossie posts on here are an embarrassment. St.Patrick's day is barely passed and anyone would think they are now the new kings of football.

Go out and have a few beers lads, enjoy these few moments in the sun. Return and gloat all ye want if ye win Connacht.

p.s having many friends and relations Rossies I'll be the 1st to support ye if/when we are out, but try and keep the banter to just banter. We are all Westies after all.

Quote from: highorlow on March 18, 2016, 09:46:06 PM
Some of the Rossie posts on here are an embarrassment. St.Patrick's day is barely passed and anyone would think they are now the new kings of football.

Go out and have a few beers lads, enjoy these few moments in the sun. Return and gloat all ye want if ye win Connacht.

p.s having many friends and relations Rossies I'll be the 1st to support ye if/when we are out, but try and keep the banter to just banter. We are all Westies after all.

Sensationalist shite, the non Rossies and media are the ones bumping us up. Bit ironic regarding banter, when one or two of your own has set up a Facebook page to exclusively have a cut  in a derogatory manner at anything remotely linked to Roscommon. The same sham banter page is touted by the WJ Blog, complete lack of class.