Congress 2016

Started by Line Ball, February 23, 2016, 07:47:41 AM

Sky is the least of our worries coming out of this congress.

Quote from: longballin on February 27, 2016, 04:18:28 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on February 27, 2016, 04:12:30 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 27, 2016, 04:05:59 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on February 27, 2016, 04:02:10 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 27, 2016, 03:59:38 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on February 27, 2016, 03:56:59 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 27, 2016, 03:47:13 PM
and leave thousands of people here with no access to games while SKY figures are minimal?... money grabbing shower of...
Wasn't the difference between Sky's bid and TV3's bid minimal? And where is the money going to? I thought the "money-grabbing" remarks had left this board.

when GAA puts money above the interests of Irish people the remarks will be on the board...
Irish people? All of them? Surely they're responsible for people involved in the G.A.A. only. Does someone who never attends a game and moans about not being able to see them all rank as high as kids who require a coach or a ground that requires floodlights?

Kids who require a coach? You for real... paid coaches?  :o  im thinking many GAA people who cant afford SKY as well as elderly and those kids...
Yes, there are many paid coaches. What do you find odd about that? GAA people that can't afford Sky get to watch the vast majority of the games that are broadcast. And wait for it, there are many games that aren't shown on any platform. How should these people be compensated?

True there are many filling their pockets in GAA doing what used to be done voluntarily... I didn't ask anyone get compensated but is galling to watch our games being sold to Rupert Murdock...

The GAA is making no more money after selling the FTA TV3 package  to subscription channel Sky.
In fact, didn't TV3 offer a bit more than Sky?
It is a totally redundant argument to defend the GAA doing a deal with Sky on the grounds that it has  an added financial benefit.
Had the Dublin motion been passed, then TV3 would in all likelihood purchase the package and all the pundits and commentators that Sky took from TV3 would return to TV3.
One of the more progressive motions was denied.

Just saw that motion trying to move all Ireland forward by two weeks was rejected as it was six or so votes short of a two thirds majority
Galway apparently voted against it, a county where the club championship drags onto learly November and where they don't have provincial opposition in club hurling. They should not have been allowed to vote.
Some other eejit from Cork declared that September is Gaelic games month in Ireland
yeah it is two fiffin games in a month and up to four weeks apart from the semi finals
You cannot make this shit up unreal

An awful lot of people got out the wrong side of the bed this morning ::)
Ye all from Castle bar?
As for the lad that wants the rules from 30 years ago kept..... :-[

The mark is passed. Aussie Rules is now our national game.

Quote from: BennyCake on February 27, 2016, 05:26:11 PM

Surely it is only for the kickout?

Quote from: muppet on February 27, 2016, 05:30:44 PM

It is Muppet but don't be spoiling the indignant folks' moanfest

ha ha derry

For now until some TV pundit decides it should be implemented in open play !

Quote from: Rossfan on February 27, 2016, 05:33:58 PM

It is Muppet but don't be spoiling the indignant folks' moanfest

We couldn't catch a cold in the middle so it won't effect us at all.

tiempo

Quote from: ha ha derry on February 27, 2016, 04:44:40 PM
The Gaa is losing it's soul. The rules they had 20, 30, 40 years ago were perfectly acceptable. That was the game like it or lump it. Now we are pandering to the media and every Tom Dick and Harry . Time to wise up !

...every Joe, Pat and Colm

when was it even trialed at adult level?

I mean, come on?
this is ridiculous

mayo.mick

Quote from: manfromdelmonte on February 27, 2016, 07:08:17 PM

I mean, come on?
this is ridiculous

In the league a couple of years ago, 2013? Years flying I've lost track  :-\
mayo for sam-don't ask me what year! :-)
https://michaelmaye.com/mayo-gaa-photos/
@mayo_mick

Quote from: mayo.mick on February 27, 2016, 07:49:38 PM

I mean, come on?
this is ridiculous

What happens if the ball doesn't carry past the 45m line?

OgraAnDun

Quote from: mayo.mick on February 27, 2016, 07:49:38 PM

I mean, come on?
this is ridiculous

Closer to 2003 than 2013 I think.

Mayo4Sam14

Does Cluxton keep his kick outs short or change it ?
You can forget about Sean Cavanagh as far as he's a man!