Star Wars

Started by omaghjoe, December 15, 2015, 10:52:41 PM

Quote from: Syferus on December 31, 2015, 09:42:23 AM
Saw it in the IMAX there yesterday. Really well-made film, totally enjoyable and it captured the spirit of the original trilogy.

That said, it pretty much was a retread of the major story points of A New Hope - Abrams and company played it very safe and weren't confident in their ability to right the Star Wars ship without leaning heavily on the original film's excellent story structure. I only watched A New Hope two days before so the contrast was stark for me.

You can see where this is going too - Rey is probably Luke's daughter, Luke will be her Yoda (just like Luke himself had Yoda in Empire Strikes Back), Kylo Ren will get the full-on Darth Vader prosthetics now and he will likely do something good just before he's finally killed, again like Vader. Finn's the wildcard here - hard to tell what he's going to become at this point, particularly after giving Kylo a good fight with the lightsaber. Basically they need to add their own flavour to Episode VIII or it's almost painfully clear where this is going.

Again I'm saying all that after emensely enjoying The Force Awakens - wonderful blockbuster and Rey is an incredible lead character. The new leads, Rey, Finn and Kylo all are very solid characters. Hopefully they do more with Doe, though, as Issac is a very good actor.

I'm gonna stick my neck out and speculate that Finn is Lando's son. (Where is Lando anyway? I'd like to see him make a comeback in the next film.)

Lads don't know what you were watching, for all the over hype, the film is no more than above average, storylines a mess and a repeat of the original star wars, let blow up a planet destroying base? i know we all like retro but that storyline been done already in 1977. Lead bad guy got all the menace of a puff fairy! compared to Vader or Darth maul,  Old hands cameos keep it afloat and new lead girl is good but can beat the bad guy on her first outing with a light saber (boy oh boy). In short plenty of fireworks, quick paced shortline, with little depth to a storyline but not a patch on any of the originals!!

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 01, 2016, 01:58:03 AM
Lads don't know what you were watching, for all the over hype, the film is no more than above average, storylines a mess and a repeat of the original star wars, let blow up a planet destroying base? i know we all like retro but that storyline been done already in 1977. Lead bad guy got all the menace of a puff fairy! compared to Vader or Darth maul,  Old hands cameos keep it afloat and new lead girl is good but can beat the bad guy on her first outing with a light saber (boy oh boy). In short plenty of fireworks, quick paced shortline, with little depth to a storyline but not a patch on any of the originals!!

Quiet.

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 01, 2016, 01:58:03 AM

We are all wrong, you are right. How could we not see that until now? Thanks 😀😀

I really enjoyed it, it has its weaknesses as already mentioned - not least with Paul from the Wonder years as a Dark Jedi but it's sets it up nicely for next movie

If only Wildweasel74 had issued this bulletin earlier it could have saved hundreds of millions of man hours and billions of dollars being wasted.

While trying my best not to sound like a sci-fi nerd, I'd think a lot of the new film's detractors are mistakenly clung to the previously displayed concepts of the force and of a jedi's powers.

The powers of Anakin, Obi Wan, Yoda, Dooku etc in episodes 1-3 are hugely more rounded than anything that has happened since, because:

- they had been training and honing their skills throughout their lives with Jedi / Sith masters.

- a number of them were at the peak of their powers.

- during the Clone wars, they had ample opportunity to test and extend their full range of skills.

Yet it wasn't until thousands of years after Jedis came into being that Qui G'on worked out to communicate from the afterlife.

Which would all suggest that the Force is continually and adapting to the people who use it and abuse it.

And more importantly it would suggest that some people are better at using the force in different ways.

I'd be thinking that Rey's expedited journey through understanding her skills is both related to the unusually strong force running through her, plus the need of the force itself to fast track / protect someone from the light side.

Too much is being made of Ren's inability to beat a young girl in a light sabre duel. Based on how Ren can extrapolate memories from minds, it would suggest that either his training or specialism was more into mind control than hand-to-hand combat. Which would sort of make sense as he wouldn't have had too many Jedis to face over his life.

Yes I'm a nerd.

Absolutely loved the film.

Quote from: heffo on January 01, 2016, 10:49:28 AM
I really enjoyed it, it has its weaknesses as already mentioned - not least with Paul from the Wonder years as a Dark Jedi but it's sets it up nicely for next movie

I thought he was more of a Marilyn Manson without the makeup

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2016, 10:50:37 AM
If only Wildweasel74 had issued this bulletin earlier it could have saved hundreds of millions of man hours and billions of dollars being wasted.

Precisely... the building of that star killer base must have been a seriously labour intensive exercise

This what Roddy Doyle thinks.

-I brought some o' the grandkids to the new Star Wars there earlier.
-Wha' was it like?
-A load o' shite.
-I heard it wasn't too bad.
-It was shite, I'm tellin' yeh. It looked like it was made in the Phoenix Park with a load o' wheelie bins painted white. Absolute fuckin' drivel. It made no fuckin' sense.
-Was Princess Leia in it?
-Yeah - played by Angela Merkel.
-That's alrigh', isn't it? Yeh'd trust Angela to save the world.
-Only if she's playin' Angela in a fillum about Angela. Not in this fuckin' thing. She looks lost. She couldn't handle a fart, let alone the European economy. But the worst bit - .
-Go on.
-They're tryin' to find that irritatin' little p***k from the first fillum. Luke Skypilot. An' d'yeh know where they find him? In all the fuckin' Galaxy an' infinity or wherever. Where do they fuckin' find him?
-Where?
-Kerry.
-Fuckin' Kerry?
-Not even Kerry. A rock off the side o' Kerry. He's been hangin' off a stone in the middle o' the fuckin' Atlantic. Not a Spar or a pub in sight. An' this **** is goin' to save us? For f**k sake.

Quote from: thewobbler on January 01, 2016, 11:17:48 AM

Yet it wasn't until thousands of years after Jedis came into being that Qui G'on worked out to communicate from the afterlife.

I'll bet Lucas just went through the whole three prequels and at the end he suddenly remembered "Oh shit, I forgot about about the power of dead Jedi to communicate with the living! Better add a line to Yoda's script and sneak it in there."

Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 01, 2016, 08:03:46 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 01, 2016, 11:17:48 AM

I'll bet Lucas just went through the whole three prequels and at the end he suddenly remembered "Oh shit, I forgot about about the power of dead Jedi to communicate with the living! Better add a line to Yoda's script and sneak it in there."

Communicate from the afterlife or retain his consciousness in the present?

I loved the original however nothing touches Blake's 7 or Firefly for quality Sci Fi.

STREET FIGHTER

Stupid question maybe.....

What's the best way to try watching these all again?

In the order in which they were made?

Prequels and sequels and all that.....