Search for New Mayo Manager

Started by IolarCoisCuain, September 28, 2015, 11:17:28 PM

Quote from: Syferus on December 17, 2016, 02:58:45 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 17, 2016, 02:55:34 PM
Quote from: Syferus on December 17, 2016, 02:22:38 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 17, 2016, 02:17:17 PM
Neither side 'gave their side', until now.

I hope the players are bigger than the two lads and stay away from 'Indo Exclusives'.

The vast majority of Mayo supporters had great sympathy for the two lads, but probably supported the players. The article probably changes that, in favour of the players, as long as they keep their heads down.

I would hope some Mayo supporters have more perspective than you on this one.

I'm sure many do, and we certainly have a lot more perspective than you.

Ger Gilroy ‏@gergilroy  2h2 hours ago
They heap abuse on the Horan regime, slag off the players and justify every single thing they ever did weeks after own goals cost Mayo Sam.

??

The dirty secret about all this is it was very obvious that Horan, consciously or unconsciously, militarised the Mayo panel against the county board. It would have been pointless if Holmes and Connelly pretended their predecessor was a saint because by God was he not.

Lol.

Mayo Border

I'm confused. Who's Ger Gilroy?

I hope the players are bigger than the two lads and stay away from 'Indo Exclusives'.

The vast majority of Mayo supporters had great sympathy for the two lads, but probably supported the players. The article probably changes that, in favour of the players, as long as they keep their heads down.

The players don't have to give their side because they won.
They're still there, playing away.

Quote from: Jinxy on December 17, 2016, 03:21:45 PM

The players don't have to give their side because they won.
They're still there, playing away.

No one won.

But the players don't need to respond. They have the support of the vast majority of the supporters.

Quote from: muppet on December 17, 2016, 03:04:35 PM

They heap abuse on the Horan regime, slag off the players and justify every single thing they ever did weeks after own goals cost Mayo Sam.

??

The dirty secret about all this is it was very obvious that Horan, consciously or unconsciously, militarised the Mayo panel against the county board. It would have been pointless if Holmes and Connelly pretended their predecessor was a saint because by God was he not.

Lol.

What is gonig off to New York and running your own fundraiser against the CB's wishes in your world, Muppet? The signs of a good working relationship?

H&C were set up to fail. It didn't matter how good or bad they were as managers. The panel saw them as CB men and they saw themselves through the Us versus Them prism Horan established.

Quote from: Syferus on December 17, 2016, 03:50:17 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 17, 2016, 03:04:35 PM

??

Lol.

What is gonig off to New York and running your own fundraiser against the CB's wishes in your world, Muppet? The signs of a good working relationship?

H&C were set up to fail. It didn't matter how good or bad they were as managers. The panel saw them as CB men and they saw themselves through the Us versus Them prism Horan established.

Now what tangent have you run off on?

Let me know when you come back.

Just read the letter the players sent to the CB.
Wow.

gammysolo

I had huge respect for the two lads up until this point. I presume they did the interview at the counter in the Palace bar where the other dreg lives. Vindictave piece that leaves little in way of reply for the players, except that is if the County Board releases the mediators report from the incident. The appointment process, liason issues and all the other criteria that would provide balance in this case would show the players to have acted correctly. I hope in doing this interview the lads have found some form of closure, it's just a pity that's it's this they'll be remebered for and not their success on the field.
I sincerely hope the players put that article up in the dressing room wall when they get back from their well deserved holiday to South Africa next month.

Quote from: Jinxy on December 17, 2016, 04:03:59 PM
Just read the letter the players sent to the CB.
Wow.

Now we know who is behind the leaks.

And the story.

But then we knew all along.

A lot of interesting stuff here.

Holmes/Connelly on Mayo revolt: Aidan O'Shea's selection email, Seamus lobbying for Hennelly and clashes over mass times

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/holmesconnelly-on-mayo-revolt-aidan-osheas-selection-email-seamus-lobbying-for-hennelly-and-clashes-over-mass-times-35301012.html

'Following the departure of Holmes and Connelly, the Mayo County Board invited Martin Conry (DCU) as an independent mediator/facilitator to examine the entire sequence of events and to make recommendations for the future.

His report, which had not made public until now, reflects badly on the squad.

He wrote that while the players outlined their concerns to him, they would not allow him to report back to Holmes and Connelly. That left him unable to "adjudicate on the merits of the contrary positions".

He proposed that the players meet Holmes/Connelly to set out their views but that was rejected. Conry felt that the managers were entitled to that on the basis that they "could reasonably argue that they suffered reputational damage and are entitled to have cause stated to them".

He also found that instead of demanding that the management be removed, the squad would have been better advised to follow "a more graduated approach to the perceived matter at issue".

On the threatened strike, he felt that it should only have become an option when all negotiations with the county board - who appointed the managers - had been exhausted.'

Would any Mayo folk disagree with the bit in bold?

Quote from: Jinxy on December 17, 2016, 06:27:18 PM

Holmes/Connelly on Mayo revolt: Aidan O'Shea's selection email, Seamus lobbying for Hennelly and clashes over mass times

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/holmesconnelly-on-mayo-revolt-aidan-osheas-selection-email-seamus-lobbying-for-hennelly-and-clashes-over-mass-times-35301012.html

'Following the departure of Holmes and Connelly, the Mayo County Board invited Martin Conry (DCU) as an independent mediator/facilitator to examine the entire sequence of events and to make recommendations for the future.

He wrote that while the players outlined their concerns to him, they would not allow him to report back to Holmes and Connelly. That left him unable to "adjudicate on the merits of the contrary positions".

He proposed that the players meet Holmes/Connelly to set out their views but that was rejected. Conry felt that the managers were entitled to that on the basis that they "could reasonably argue that they suffered reputational damage and are entitled to have cause stated to them".

He also found that instead of demanding that the management be removed, the squad would have been better advised to follow "a more graduated approach to the perceived matter at issue".

On the threatened strike, he felt that it should only have become an option when all negotiations with the county board - who appointed the managers - had been exhausted.'

It might sound reasonable, if the original appointment of the lads and subsequent investigation into that shambles had been as 'graduated'. But it wasn't, so it most likely looked like another fudge to the players.

TBH, my good man,most Mayo folks don't give two flying fucks whether the squad did or not! ;D ;D
That's past history, aimsir caite etc. etc. No point looking back now, is there?
But anyway, fair dues to your good self and the indefatigable Syf for trying to turn a molehill into a mountain.
We're doing grand as we are and all offers, suggestions, opinions, warnings etc. etc. from the usual suspects will be treated with the same respect as similar ones got in the past.

longballin

The Jimmy White of the GAA... some great performances but always bottle the big final

Quote from: muppet on December 17, 2016, 07:08:13 PM

It might sound reasonable, if the original appointment of the lads and subsequent investigation into that shambles had been as 'graduated'. But it wasn't, so it most likely looked like another fudge to the players.

Well if that's the cause of it all fair enough, but it seems a bit unfair to H & C to dress it up as something else.
Seems like they were dead men walking from the get go.

Quote from: longballin on December 17, 2016, 07:11:54 PM
The Jimmy White of the GAA... some great performances but always bottle the big final

And we served ye ye're arse on a plate this year! Beaten by bottlers! That must have been hard to swallow?  :P