AIFSF Replay Mayo v Dublin, Sat 5th Sept. HQ.

Started by highorlow, September 01, 2015, 10:28:28 AM

Beffs

Quote from: ballinaman on September 07, 2015, 08:35:06 PM
Not surprised Aido didn't want to shake hands with McMahon. Horrendous stuff in the 1st game by all accounts. >:(

And what about O'Shea claiming after the first game, about being headbutted, when video evidence emerged later on, that clearly showed that he wasn't? McMahon is no choir boy, but claiming you were headbutted, to get someone into trouble retrospectively, is a pretty shitty thing to do. Lets not pretend that AO'S is an innocent angel either.

Why what O`Shea do that hes no angel? McMahon should been suspended for this game for an attempted headbutt

Quote from: Beffs on September 08, 2015, 12:48:19 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 07, 2015, 08:35:06 PM
Not surprised Aido didn't want to shake hands with McMahon. Horrendous stuff in the 1st game by all accounts. >:(

And what about O'Shea claiming after the first game, about being headbutted, when video evidence emerged later on, that clearly showed that he wasn't? McMahon is no choir boy, but claiming you were headbutted, to get someone into trouble retrospectively, is a pretty shitty thing to do. Lets not pretend that AO'S is an innocent angel either.

Cop on. McMahon could have split him if he wanted to but he did put his head in. An aggressive approach and ott. Remember AOS was just responding to a question from the press as well. Somebody even making a gesture of a head-butt is a no-no anywhere, anytime. The extent of the contact has nothing to do with it. What happened, happened. Why was he even sticking his head in anywhere anyway?
Anyway that is not the substantive issue between them. I think it is better to leave it at that.

Beffs

The video evidence clearly shows O'Shea with his fist around the neck of Philly shirt, pulling him towards him. Go to the Indos website, they have the video on there for the world to see. As the GAA came out and said that Philly had no case to answer, you'd have to imagine that they saw it too. But some people just want to convince themselves that O'Shea is this harmless gentle giant, who can do no wrong.

Don't be silly. Do you really think that O Shea was that bothered about that bit of a skirmish and the head- butting nonsense? I saw him get whaled with cheap shots by whippersnappers in a club game a couple of months ago. He's well used to it every day he goes out.

I suspect you may have noticed that several Dublin players shook AOS hand at the end of the game the last day. Go figure. The vast majority of that Dublin team are class acts. They knew.

Unless there's a major upset in Leinster or Munster next year, Mayo can get to the All Ireland final without having to face Kerry or Dublin. Then one big performance as underdogs and Sam 2016 is their's !

Anyone who thinks Mayo are not capable of beating Dublin and/or Kerry are deluded. Tiny margins this year and last year. Only thing for it is to keep going.

When was the last time Mayo won the league? Going all out to win it next year might be a good idea.

Ya the thing about next year is that Mayo avoid Kerry & The Dubs (assuming the 3 of them retain their provincial titles which while not certain is likely) until the AI final.
And Mayo are still better than all of the others so they should be good enough to make the final again.

Quote from: maigheo on September 07, 2015, 06:31:56 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam14 on September 07, 2015, 05:52:23 PM
Kerry would have absolutely taken us apart in the final had we won
What a stupid statement to make.How do you know that ?.Hear this kind of stuff from a lot of Mayo supporters like [shur it is better to get beaten early on because we would only get hammered in the final.If we did get to the final and Kerry beat us so what.How are we ever supposed to win a final if we do not get to a final.Does my head in.
Hah? What's stupid about that?
Going by what I saw in the two Dublin games, Kerry would ate Mayo without salt and unless the Dubs improve their discipline 100%, Kerry will finish them off also.
Kerry are not a better side than Mayo, the reverse in fact but where tactics and general cop on are concerned, Mayo lag far behind them.
Old failings since the Horan era are still there and until Mayo stop making elementary, unforced mistakes, we can forget about All-Irelands.
For instance, the Mayo defence is prone to leaking goals- often because backs fail to stick with their man or get drawn out of position time and time again. Philly McMahon the last day missed a sitter when he blazed over with no one around to tackle him. Now if that had been just about any of the others, he would have scored a very soft goal indeed.
Donaghy in Limerick last year got a soft one also. Brogan in 2013 etc. etc...the list goes on.
Boyle was supposed to be sweeper the last day.
He was nowhere to be seen when McMahon was put through and indeed he didn't seem to know what he was supposed to do. He was virtually anonymous throughout the game and it was easy to see that he had no idea of what a sweeper is supposed to do.
Aidan O'Sé made little impact on the game. Think back to Limerick last year and compare Aido on Saturday with Donaghy in the replay. Ball after ball dropped down on the big hoor and Caff was left on his own to try and deal with him.
By contrast, The Dubs had three ready to pounce any time O'Se got a pass.  Now, if it takes three men to mark anyone, it follows that two of his colleagues will be free. I didn't see a single instance when a Mayo player positioned himself to get a breakdown from Aidan. Think of Donaghy and James O'Donahoe last year and you won't need a degree in rocket science to spot the difference.
This is the best Mayo side that I have ever seen and without doubt there's at least one All-Ireland in them but elementary mistakes aided by lack of tactical nous on the sideline has seen to it that we could be waiting a long time for that to happen.

Those two things (how to play a sweeper and how to use a big man on the square) are relatively easily coached Lar and if we can remedy those, we won't be too far away next year. Both tactics were new enough to this group so there's no reason we shouldn't be better at both come next year if the coaching is there. Decision making on the line is another story but who knows, maybe H&C will have learned from this year as well - that remains to be seen obviously.

Now that you mention Dublin's discipline – Gavin must be raging at his players for getting three more frees moved forward for complaining at the ref. Absolute madness and in a game of tight margins, it could be their undoing

Quote from: macdanger2 on September 08, 2015, 11:05:25 AM
Those two things (how to play a sweeper and how to use a big man on the square) are relatively easily coached Lar and if we can remedy those, we won't be too far away next year. Both tactics were new enough to this group so there's no reason we shouldn't be better at both come next year if the coaching is there. Decision making on the line is another story but who knows, maybe H&C will have learned from this year as well - that remains to be seen obviously.

Now that you mention Dublin's discipline – Gavin must be raging at his players for getting three more frees moved forward for complaining at the ref. Absolute madness and in a game of tight margins, it could be their undoing
They had he whole league to nail down a sweeper and they didn't. Clear example from the drawn game what not to do and they did it again. Do not pump shite balls into Aido, doesn't work. Did it again in 1st half. That's down to coaching.

fearsiuil

Quote from: ballinaman on September 08, 2015, 11:22:45 AM

They had he whole league to nail down a sweeper and they didn't. Clear example from the drawn game what not to do and they did it again. Do not pump shite balls into Aido, doesn't work. Did it again in 1st half. That's down to coaching.

That's it. High loopy balls from any angle will do! In that case putting big Barry up there alongside AO'Shea had to be done , even for a spell. We were very predictable during both games and never forced Dublin to adapt during the game. Effectively making life easier on Galvin and allowing him to change tact as required.

Quote from: ballinaman on September 08, 2015, 11:22:45 AM

We didn't play a sweeper in the league, did we?? If we play next years league with a sweeper, it gives us time to work on it. Obviously the question is why we didn't play with a sweeper earlier in the year when we knew it would be needed but that doesn't mean it's a problem that can't be fixed now

Granted we played with a big man at FF for a good few games in the league and still don't seem to be able to kick in decent balls (COC excepted); it's even that difficult FFS

bucko

Just read McGuinness' piece in the Times today, makes for good reading IMO. Can't argue with most of what he said. The two standout points being our approach and set up when we had a four point lead and our over reliance on AOS as our main forward outlet. There was plenty of opinion in the lead up to both games on AOS at FF and how maybe we should vary it ie bring him out the field or start Barry in beside him or anything that might unsettle the Dublin defence and force a re think. But we stuck with the same strategy on both games, leaving him isolated and double or triple marked with no support, and kicking poor quality ball into him. I've said it a few times before, we are unable to consistently deliver long range passes of decent quality to cause problems to the opposition. One example from Saturday was late in the first half. Colm Boyle on the ball outside the Dublin 40. O'Shea gets out in front of his marker. Boyle kicks a pass toward him. It goes a good 4-5m over O'Shea's head. O'Shea gestures frustratingly at Boyle. If that ball came in front of O'Shea he would've been one on one with his marker in a bit of space. To solely blame O'Shea for his performances the last 2 days was unfair, he was hamstrung by poor support and skills execution from outfield and tactics from the sideline.
I think Boyle as sweeper was not the right call either. I would be a Boyle fan, it's his physicality, tenacity and bravery that make him the  player that he is. But it's exactly that sort of chase and hit everything that moves approach that makes him unsuited to that role. Ability to cover space, hold position and game reading are what was required. In the first half of the semi final against Kerry in 2011 we used McLoughlin as the sweeper in front of Donaghy and Cooper and it was quite effective. In the second half he was brought out the field. Cooper got a goal early in the second half and that was that. McLoughlin has never played that role again since. You have to wonder at what point, if ever, we are going to learn from our mistakes. A new management this year yet the same problem of conceding goals at critical times has undone us. As well as that, while different in approach we stuck with singular strategy with no variation in our attack that was dealt with both days compounded it.

mayoman dan

Quote from: moysider on September 07, 2015, 12:43:28 AM
Well that's it for another generation of the green and red. The new management did ok to an extent and so did the previous but counties with lesser quality have won the whole shebang. This management will probably go the full term and this group will have passed their shelf-life with them. That's the way it goes I suppose.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ntveBZsYtlM

This it the most accurate and depressing post ive ever read on this forum.Same shite about lessons will be learned.We never fecking learn.Tactically were light years away from Dublin Kerry Donegal and Tyrone.The game has changed and we refuse to change with it.

Glensman

Quote from: moysider on September 07, 2015, 10:06:40 PM

Unfortunately not. Not that I care. Just let all belonging to him down.

All that stuff eventually gets out.

What was said in general terms?