AIFSF Replay Mayo v Dublin, Sat 5th Sept. HQ.

Started by highorlow, September 01, 2015, 10:28:28 AM

Quote from: The Aristocrat on September 03, 2015, 11:39:22 AM
Attack the post , not the poster, no need for name calling of myself or Indiana , I have not directly slagged off any poster on this site except maybe Teo Lurley.

It's a serious question, when the 16 men of Mayo beat Dublin by 8 or more points on Saturday, how will they deal with Kerry in the final? Wonder if mcquillen or Kinsella will start for Mayo?

Also , I heard O Connor got a brand new gold plated whistle for Saturday , anyone confirm ? Aidan superman o Shea is just finished his counselling sessions , no more philly mc nightmares, all the stars are aligning for Mayo now and its their all Ireland to lose.

You not away yet? You're a real tease with your promises.

Also do they do tin foil hats in dub colours? It's probably just you and Indiana need them but it would be good business for the hat and flag sellers if there are many more like you.

Very surprised Gardai etc didn't insist on a curtain raiser on Saturday. Would think that there will be delays in getting into CP so head in early all.

Hogan Stand and Canal Ends usually slower to get in to. Cusack stand no problems, Hill 16 lesser so.

Usual smartalec comments to follow.

Crete Boom

Quote from: Canalman on September 03, 2015, 12:25:39 PM
Very surprised Gardai etc didn't insist on a curtain raiser on Saturday. Would think that there will be delays in getting into CP so head in early all.

Hogan Stand and Canal Ends usually slower to get in to. Cusack stand no problems, Hill 16 lesser so.

Ardfhear Canalman , go raibh maith agat.

Quote from: Crete Boom on September 03, 2015, 12:31:51 PM

Did we ever establish if they saved O'Carroll's eye??

Nihilist

Quote from: screenexile on September 03, 2015, 01:19:31 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on September 03, 2015, 12:31:51 PM

Did we ever establish if they saved O'Carroll's eye??

No - They've gone very quiet on that subject. Instead they have updated Cillian O'Connor as the ref and said Eddie Kinsella will be the 16th man for Mayo. Maybe they would prefer if there was no ref at all. Could justify their tactics then no problem.

A bit of a cliche but it'll boil down to whoever learns the most since the last day. Both teams will feel like they left it behind them and that they have plenty of room to improve.

Key things for Mayo to improve:
- Not giving away goal chances, I think Dublin scored from two of their three goal opportunities (McM pointed from the other)
- Getting more support to AOS
- Improving our passing, we had a couple of desperate passes straight to a Dublin player and at least two hail marys to AOS where he had no chance of winning it
- Not dropping shots short
- Not losing the head if the going gets rough

Key things for Dublin to improve:
- Discipline in the tackle
- Scoring more of the frees they get
- Not getting turned over
- Getting more ball to BB
- Not losing the head if the going gets rough

I think we'll put Keegan on KK to put him on the back foot, he was excellent in the first half the last day.

It will be interesting to see whether we change our strategy on their kickouts or not. I thought initially that we'd push up more on Saturday but as someone pointed out, we did ok up until we started kicking wides in the second half the last day so maybe we'll keep it tight to start with rather than playing loose and letting Dublin get up a head of steam. Then if we need to in the second half, we can go gung-ho if we're trailing.

Neither side have massive attacking options off the bench - we have Moran & Freeman while Dublin have Brogan and McM.

Tight one to call but I'll go with Mayo by 7  ;)

Quote from: The Aristocrat on September 03, 2015, 11:06:47 AM
Any if the Mayo lads know what way they will go about beating Kerry in the final? Should be a good game.

Sorry that was last years semi final replay. You'll have to learn to keep up with GAA matters.

Connolly up before CAC tonight, and if the suspension is upheld again they're likely to go before DRA tomorrow night:

By John Fogarty

Diarmuid Connolly will return to Croke Park this evening to make his case to play in Saturday's All-Ireland semi-final replay against Mayo.

Connolly and Dublin yesterday evening made an unsuccessful bid in front of the Central Hearings Committee (CHC) to have his one-match ban rescinded.

Later, county officials will argue to the Central Appeals Committee (CAC) that the suspension should be thrown out.

The St Vincent's man was shown a straight red card by referee Joe McQuillan after he consulted with linesman Conor Lane about a tussle between Connolly and Mayo defender Lee Keegan, who was yellow carded as a result.

Dublin County Board chairman Sean Shanley told the Irish Examiner that they may look to pursue their challenge against Connolly's punishment to the Disputes Resolution Authority (DRA) if the CAC decide to uphold the CHC's decision. "It is a possibility, yes, if that happens," he said.

A convening of the DRA would then likely have to take place tomorrow evening in time for Connolly to be able to line out the following day.

Dublin are set to name Connolly in their starting 15 in the hope that he is freed to help take on Mayo at 5pm on Saturday.

However, doubts remain about the fitness of Rory O'Carroll after he sustained a serious cut to his head in an incident involving Cillian O'Connor in the third minute last Sunday.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/diarmuid-connolly-to-make-second-attempt-to-rescind-red-card-694162.html

The Hill is Blue

Ridiculous hubris from Mayo supporters considering that your team only scraped a draw last Sunday after being dead and almost buried until injury time. It will be one hell of a let down for you all if you don't win on Saturday.
I remember Dublin City in the Rare Old Times http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9T7OaDDR7i8

Quote from: The Hill is Blue on September 03, 2015, 04:43:03 PM
Ridiculous hubris from Mayo supporters considering that your team only scraped a draw last Sunday after being dead and almost buried until injury time. It will be one hell of a let down for you all if you don't win on Saturday.

??? Could you point out this "hubris" when you get a chance?
Or are you just finding it a bit dull after your buddies outrage over the past couple of days seems to have worn them out?

squire_in_navy_slacks

Quote from: Tubberman on September 03, 2015, 04:39:12 PM
Connolly up before CAC tonight, and if the suspension is upheld again they're likely to go before DRA tomorrow night:

By John Fogarty

Diarmuid Connolly will return to Croke Park this evening to make his case to play in Saturday's All-Ireland semi-final replay against Mayo.

Connolly and Dublin yesterday evening made an unsuccessful bid in front of the Central Hearings Committee (CHC) to have his one-match ban rescinded.

Later, county officials will argue to the Central Appeals Committee (CAC) that the suspension should be thrown out.

The St Vincent's man was shown a straight red card by referee Joe McQuillan after he consulted with linesman Conor Lane about a tussle between Connolly and Mayo defender Lee Keegan, who was yellow carded as a result.

Dublin County Board chairman Sean Shanley told the Irish Examiner that they may look to pursue their challenge against Connolly's punishment to the Disputes Resolution Authority (DRA) if the CAC decide to uphold the CHC's decision. "It is a possibility, yes, if that happens," he said.

A convening of the DRA would then likely have to take place tomorrow evening in time for Connolly to be able to line out the following day.

Dublin are set to name Connolly in their starting 15 in the hope that he is freed to help take on Mayo at 5pm on Saturday.

However, doubts remain about the fitness of Rory O'Carroll after he sustained a serious cut to his head in an incident involving Cillian O'Connor in the third minute last Sunday.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/sport/diarmuid-connolly-to-make-second-attempt-to-rescind-red-card-694162.html

Jaysus he will be wrecked by the time Saturday evening comes around regardless if he's not playing

Will you ever go and register for the fantasy nfl, and stop talking shite here? :)

Quote from: The Hill is Blue on September 03, 2015, 04:43:03 PM

Ah in fairness it is just a mirror image of the Dublin hubris. Both counties fancy their chances. Dublin being talked up all year i suppose find it strange for the opposition not to be talking about how low the score can be kept when facing them. It's only natural that Dublin fans are offended when a county like Mayo who were suppose to be goners this year (a bit like Donegal last year) are talking the talk. But it's only talk. No harm to shout for your own. So long as it does not belittle your opponent or disrespect them.

squire_in_navy_slacks