All Ireland u21 football championship 2015

Started by giveballaghback, February 16, 2015, 09:57:34 PM

The Black Mamba

Quote from: nrico2006 on April 10, 2015, 11:49:43 PM
Arguably the main players from the 2012 and 2013 Tyrone minor teams are not playing anymore.  What has happened James McGahan since minor level?  As for the 2013 minor match between Tyrone and Roscommon, the best team won that day fair and square.
That's very debatable :P Almost 2 years ago now so leave it be.

The Black Mamba

That minor match aside and back to the topic at hand, not overly keen on the venue tbh. It's certainly more convenient than a late trek to Cavan but Markievicz is a very tight pitch, can't see that suiting us.

Quote from: The Black Mamba on April 10, 2015, 11:57:21 PM
That minor match aside and back to the topic at hand, not overly keen on the venue tbh. It's certainly more convenient than a late trek to Cavan but Markievicz is a very tight pitch, can't see that suiting us.

Breffni is supposed to be very heavy. Marky is at least a half decent surface and that suits runners like Harney and Smith more. I do think the width of pitches is over-played sometimes, even a 'small' gaelic pitch is a large playing area. We saw what Tyrone did in Croke Park two years ago and what Sligo did in Marky last year so if we need a guide for that stuff we have it.

The Black Mamba

Quote from: Syferus on April 11, 2015, 12:01:18 AM

Breffni is supposed to be very heavy. Marky is at least a half decent surface and that suits runners like Harney and Smith more. I do think the width of pitches is over-played sometimes, even a 'small' gaelic pitch is a large playing area. We saw what Tyrone did in Croke Park two years ago and what Sligo did in Marky last year so if we need a guide for that stuff we have it.
Fair point, and considering our attacking strengths a decent playing surface definitely more important :P

Quote from: Syferus on April 11, 2015, 12:01:18 AM

Tyrone will hardly give them a chance to run.

Roscommon may have better players overall but Tyrone have some very decent players and a way of playing that is very effective. They are also very good at stopping the oppositions best players playing.

mjg

Black catd will be a big help in this game

Quote from: mjg on April 11, 2015, 02:08:06 AM

Tyrone have picked up 5 black cards in 3 under 21 matches. They won every game.

The Black Mamba

Quote from: Throw ball on April 11, 2015, 02:28:32 AM
Quote from: mjg on April 11, 2015, 02:08:06 AM

Tyrone have picked up 5 black cards in 3 under 21 matches. They won every game.
That many!?! They really are intent on stopping the opposition playing then :P

If this thread is anything to go by, Ros must be overwhelming favourites

tippabu

Match odds

Dublin 2/5  Tipperary 5/2 Draw 15/2

Roscommon 4/9 Tyrone 9/4 Draw 15/2

Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 11, 2015, 07:34:34 AM
If this thread is anything to go by, Ros must be overwhelming favourites

Only if there's a strong ref it seems.

How does one judge Roscommon to have the 'better' players? Have both teams been watched frequently?  What have the feeder teams to both these u-21 teams achieved?  Tyrones teams at underage level have been as good as there is on average, and this present squad is made up of players who won the 2012 Ulster Minor title, were All Ireland minor runners up in 2013 and have loads of players from fairly successful college teams. Roscommon must have cleaned up at minor level as they are apparently unbeatable

Quote from: nrico2006 on April 11, 2015, 12:03:09 PM
How does one judge Roscommon to have the 'better' players? Have both teams been watched frequently?  What have the feeder teams to both these u-21 teams achieved?  Tyrones teams at underage level have been as good as there is on average, and this present squad is made up of players who won the 2012 Ulster Minor title, were All Ireland minor runners up in 2013 and have loads of players from fairly successful college teams. Roscommon must have cleaned up at minor level as they are apparently unbeatable

Sure we only won the 2014 AI U21 Title, the corresponding 2012 AI Minor Title, AI minor semi-finalists in 2014. We've no chance.

giveballaghback

nrico the best team at not playing football won in 2013 minor, my original post pointed this out, now if you want to take match results(and maybe thats all that matters) Tyrone may be slightly ahead over the last couple of meetings but as regards footballers in our team and lads who go out to play the game well Ros are a mile ahead, ulster teams have destroyed our game (except Down), have turned people away and televisions off with cynicle  tactics and unsporting conduct, I see richie is denying doing the gooch when the whole country saw what was going on and maybe ye have 3 senior all-irelands but along with Donegals and Armaghs medals the shine is tainted at the expense of the game of football that we all love.

The Black Mamba

Quote from: nrico2006 on April 11, 2015, 12:03:09 PM
Who's said we're unbeatable? :P That 2013 team got very lucky and the scoreline in the AI final flattered them.