Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

passedit

Ah bollix, I was told by a rival club manager that these would be off to facilitate county team preparations. I suspected he might be yanking my chain. fyuck fyuck fyuck
Don't Panic

DownFanatic

Down's 34-man Championship panel is: B Connell, M McVeigh, B Grant, D McCartan, D Cunningham, D Rooney, J Clarke, K McGuigan, M Cole, O Henry, P Murphy, R Murtagh, S Toner, A Carville, C McCrickard, D Gordan, J Lynch, M McClean, P Turley, Aidan Burns, A Carr, B Coulter, B Sweeney, B McGourty, E McCartan, J McGovern, J Boyle, M Walsh, P Downey, P McComiskey, R Sexton and S Kearney.

downredblack

Rafferty / Rodgers / Doyle not there . Thought Doyle warmed up with the team in Galway ?

Brick Tamlin

so what are peoples opinions on the countys finest named below.
anyone care to hazzard a guess at starting 15 to face Cavan - whetehr it be your own favoured staring line-up or what ye think the management team will start for the championship opener.
Persoanlly i think its not a bad panel considering injuries and availability of players.

No1

Bad news about Rafferty not making it.

My team for Cavan would be:

M McVeigh
K McGuigan
B Grant
M Cole
R Murtagh
D Rooney
J Clarke
B Coulter
D Gordon
M Walsh
A Burns
R Sexton
P McComiskey
P Downey
D Hughes

Feel free to rip it to shreds!

DownFanatic

My Down starting 15 for Cavan.

1. B.Connell
2. M.Cole
3. B.Grant
4. K.McGuigan
5. J.Clarke
6. D.Rooney
7. R.Sexton
8. D.Gordon
9. J.Lynch
10. E.McCartan
11. B.Coulter
12. J.McGovern
13. R.Murtagh
14. D.Hughes
15. M.Walsh

downredblack

Hopefully Cavan dont rip us to shreds , No.1

Has Dan McCartan proved himself over the league that he is one of our more reliable defenders ?
Where do we play Benny ? Midfield / Half forward / Full forward ?
Dan Gordan and who if big Jackie goes missing after half time ?
Burns , Downey , McComisky,  big ask to start the three of them (imo)

Still thinking about my 15

off the laces

Quote from: DownFanatic on April 16, 2007, 09:41:26 PM

Down ACFL Division 3

Saul 2-06  Dundrum 2-09

Saul seemed pretty much at full tilt. They aren't a great side and it looks like they will struggle this year.
Saul probably where at full tilt last night when you consider their is still eight players to come back from injury one off these lee magee their powerful midfielder as well as a couple off transfers still waiting to be sanctioned i think you will see a different saul come business end off the season,as for duns DF they where at full tilt and lets hope ciairan walsh is not badly injuried as they do need him as saul got the upper hand in midfield when he went off.

Keeps 'er' straight

stpauls

Guys,

I know its early but below is how division 3 looks after 2 rounds.
Not a great start for us so far, but we know we can improve and play a lot better than we have done so far. hope to pick a few points at home and see where we go from there!!

Team   Played   Won   Drew   Lost   GF   PF   GA   PA   Diff   Pts
Bosco   2   2   0   0   5   21   2   16   14   4
Drumgath   2   2   0   0   3   26   4   12   11   4
Mitchels   2   2   0   0   1   24   3   14   4   4
Bredagh   2   1   1   0   2   22   2   16   6   3
Glenn   1   1   0   0   1   5   0   6   2   2
Dundrum   2   1   0   1   2   24   2   22   2   2
Tullylish   1   1   0   0   0   16   0   15   1   2
Bright   2   0   1   1   2   16   1   21   -2   1
Saul   2   0   0   2   2   12   3   14   -5   0
Teconnaught   2   0   0   2   5   10   3   29   -13   0
St. Paul's   2   0   0   2   3   11   5   18   -13   0

stpauls, you picked up a bit after 15 mins in the first half and seemed OK in the middle of the second half, but I think it may have been helped by Bredagh's anxiousness and unforced errors after your goal in the first half.  There was a period in the first half when anything coming out of the St Pauls half was going straight into the arms of Jody Gormley, not a player I'd pick to send the ball anywhere near. 
I have to say that Bredagh looked very stylish in parts, especially in the closing stages of the match. 

TORGAEL

My team v Cavan.

M.McVeigh
M.Cole
B.Grant
K.McGuigan
R.Murtagh
D.Rooney
J.Clarke
D.Gordon
J.Lynch
M.Walsh
A.Carr
R.Sexton
D.Hughes
B.Coulter
P.Downey

east down gael

ardglass are missing from that table.they have one point so far.

off the laces

My team Vs Cavan
McVeigh
McCartan
Grant
Cole
Henry
Rooney
Clarke
Gordon
McCrickard
Carr
Coulter
Murtagh
Huges
Downey
Walsh
i think midfield will be a problem this year
Keeps 'er' straight

stpauls

Sorry EDG,

find a reviewed table below, can't beleive i left some one out!!

Team   Played   Won   Drew   Lost   GF   PF   GA   PA   Diff   Pts
Bosco   2   2   0   0   5   21   2   16   14   4
Drumgath   2   2   0   0   3   26   4   12   11   4
Mitchels   2   2   0   0   1   24   3   14   4   4
Bredagh   2   1   1   0   2   22   2   16   6   3
Glenn   1   1   0   0   1   5   0   6   2   2
Dundrum   2   1   0   1   2   24   2   22   2   2
Tullylish   1   1   0   0   0   16   0   15   1   2
Bright   2   0   1   1   2   16   1   21   -2   1
Ardglass   2   0   1   1   1   21   2   25   -7   1
Saul   2   0   0   2   2   12   3   14   -5   0
Teconnaught   2   0   0   2   5   10   3   29   -13   0
St. Paul's   2   0   0   2   3   11   5   18   -13   0

DownFanatic

Off the Laces, Dundrum are no big shakes and neither are yourselves. Really the game could of gone either way. I fully admit we were poor but you's werent much to write home about either. Lee Magee probably would of won you's a good bit of ball around the middle but I thought that the midfield battle last night was pretty even.
Donnan Ritchie is your best player I would say. Played really well in cente half back. Adam King is strong as an ox and done well in midfield. Watching the game I would say that your full back Grape is a weak point aswell as the flank players in your forward line.
Im not convinced that Alan Murray and Conor O'Neill are going to make a seismic impact when they return. Nathan Keenan looks a handy prospect at full forward if he gets himself in shape. I thought Vint was poor. He used to be one of your main threats. Overall, id say we were a tad fitter.
It will be sooner rather than later when you boys start getting a run together. You werent in Division 2 for three years for nothing.
PS - Who are the boys transferring in?