Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

Banna Man

What a win for Kilcoo Today in the Ulster SFC. Kilcoo showed real strength and grit in todays game knocking out one off the favourites. You have done your club and county proud.

In the Onion Bag

Hurrah for Kilcoo. Finish the job and bring back the Ulster. Am rooting for ye.

Tomorrow is another day

how did the div 2 relegation game go?

Cúig huaire

Donagh, the GAA Board`s Sinn Fein PSNI spokesperson.

Cúig huaire

Donagh, the GAA Board`s Sinn Fein PSNI spokesperson.

Tomorrow is another day

Quote from: Cúig huaire on November 08, 2009, 07:17:45 PM
Quote from: Tomorrow is another day on November 08, 2009, 06:51:06 PM
how did the div 2 relegation game go?

Shamrocks won by 2.

Is that Glassdrumman relegated  now or is it round robbin system? Cant help feeling Glassdrumman are suffering now from their "Celebrity Bainisteoir" activities early in the season and fatique

Maiden1

Quote from: Blue Island on November 07, 2009, 04:38:26 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on November 07, 2009, 02:19:24 PM
wats the craic with Div1 relegation now,  is that saval down??

No they are not down. We play Saval next and if they lose that they are down. If we lose against Saval we have to beat Liatriom to force a three way tie and more games would then be required.

Is there points difference in the playoff's this year or if all teams finish with 1 win do they play again?
There are no proofs, only opinions.

QuoteCant help feeling Glassdrumman are suffering now from their "Celebrity Bainisteoir" activities early in the season and fatique
Or maybe, just like in every other season they've been there, they found Division II a little bit too tough?

lecale4

Quote from: Mourne Rover on November 07, 2009, 12:16:03 PM
There is no big secret about the low representation of Bredagh and Carryduff players on Down underage sides. The clubs are geographically separated from the rest of the county, and the main schools in their area, Knock and Aquinas, tend to have a low GAA profile. County selectors literally need to go out of their way to check on emerging players, and the evidence is that they have often  not made the effort.

Bredagh for example made the all county minor semi last year,  their u16s were in the ED final and the all county league semi this year, and they have been generally strong at most underage grades over recent seasons. However, apart from the keeper Sean Armstrong, who then missed out through injury, I'm fairly sure that Bredagh have not had anyone in the Down minor squad over the last 12 years.

It's not fair to focus too closely on individual young players, but, briefly, Owen Costello was always facing a tight call for the minor squad because of his size. He has since filled out, and got over a long-term injury, and he has the ability to make an impact with QUB. There will be something badly wrong if his brother, Emmet, is not involved with Down minors in 2010, and it is generally reckoned that Magee and McKegney were poorly treated last summer. If Down really had 12 defenders better than those two guys, we would have won an AI.

Bredagh are also strong at underage hurling, which can put pressure on dual players, and suffer from a lack of basic facilities, but the club will make a breakthrough sooner or later.

Thank you for your impartial assessment - spot on from someone who obviously knows what he's talking about and has seen the teams/players involved.

Stevie Nicks

Well done Kilcoo for what was an immense display today against a big strong team. Best on the day included Niall Morgan and young choc in defense. In attack very good games from Anthony and Paul Devlin. Midfield were excellent who were up against 2 man mountains from Donegal. As for my fellow Armagh man Mr McCorry is doing a great job for Kilcoo. From all accounts there should have no fears for the Loup next week.

Maiden1

Quote from: Maiden1 on November 08, 2009, 08:26:49 PM
Quote from: Blue Island on November 07, 2009, 04:38:26 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on November 07, 2009, 02:19:24 PM
wats the craic with Div1 relegation now,  is that saval down??

No they are not down. We play Saval next and if they lose that they are down. If we lose against Saval we have to beat Liatriom to force a three way tie and more games would then be required.

Is there points difference in the playoff's this year or if all teams finish with 1 win do they play again?

From the bye laws I think points difference would come into play.

(d) Where teams finish on equal points, finishing position shall be decided by the following means and in the order specified:
(i) Where two Teams only are involved - the outcome of the meetings of the two Teams in the previous games in the Competition i.e. the combined scores of he two games;
(ii) Scoring Difference (Subtracting the total Scores Against from the total Scores For);
(iii) Highest Total Score For;
(iv) Scoring Average (Divide total Scores Against into total Scores For).

In the event of any of the Play-off games for promotion or relegation ending in a draw, extra time of ten minutes each way will be played.
There are no proofs, only opinions.

13aside

hard luck to Ballymartin, thought they had a good case for a penalty in the first half  and a few missedchances early in the second half,well done to Down county champions Kilcoo and the whole county are behind you in the semi-final next week-COME ON KILCOO!!!

Mid Down Gael

Another great day for us. Quite blocked as i am writing but very happy. The boys gave a great display off workrate and endeavor. Stephen Kane had a great game in goals while the 3 Nials, Morgan, Brannigan and McEvoy where superb at the back. Our midfield pairing off McClean and Greenan where outstandig while Barry Kane, Anthony Devlin and Paul Devlin caught the eye up front. Its great winning with our star forward Conor Laverty struggling with a back injury and choc suspended. Bring on the Loup.

dundrumite

Quote from: Mid Down Gael on November 09, 2009, 12:35:57 AM
Another great day for us. Quite blocked as i am writing but very happy. The boys gave a great display off workrate and endeavor. Stephen Kane had a great game in goals while the 3 Nials, Morgan, Brannigan and McEvoy where superb at the back. Our midfield pairing off McClean and Greenan where outstandig while Barry Kane, Anthony Devlin and Paul Devlin caught the eye up front. Its great winning with our star forward Conor Laverty struggling with a back injury and choc suspended. Bring on the Loup.

That not the sort of stuff you want to be keeping to yourself?By the sounds of Brolly yer man Brennan would be the wrong man to be knowing that material. This thing drunk can be as bad as drunk texting. :o Anyway thats neither here nor there.
Agree with all your other points, Kilcoo were very impressive and well worth their win. Loup should be an inspiration to Kilcoo, with their only appearance in Ulster seeing them claim the title. Looking forward to next Sunday

goldenyears

lads surely this is wrong? can anyone clarify?

take div2 - shamrocks have now beaten glassd - that means glassd are relegated

shamrocks now play d cross in 1 off game to decide who stays up and who goes to div3 with carryduff and glassd

am i way off the mark? ???