Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

DownFanatic

Quote from: T O Hare on August 08, 2015, 01:04:28 PM
I thought Adams outfoxed Dawson last night . Dawson pushed his players up on the Clonduff sweepers which Arthur and Barry O Hagan exploited. There is no point having players like Savage , Clarke , Maginn and the Brannigans in your forward line if you drive every ball on top of King at full forward. Darren O'Hagan is a class act who led by example last night. The question mark still lies over Byransfords mentality in major championship games, but no one will be looking them in the next game either.
The first game was not great but the experience of Liatroim got them over the line. Liam Doyle is such a stylish footballer and its a shame we never seen more of him in the county jersey. He is a great club servant and is playing through the pain barrier to represent them.

I thought Clonduff won the tactical duel too. They had a very solid game plan that worked brilliantly.
Ford's forwards underperformed.
Darren O'Hagan was immense. Best defender in the county at the moment while Arthur McConville put in a star display. Big lad Henry Brown at midfield had a good game at midfield as well.
Liatroim and Annaclone wasn't a great game but as you say Liam Doyle had a rolls royce of a performance at midfield. Annaclone are an ageing team and might'nt be about the SFC for much longer.

Leftmidfield

Was at CPN and Ballyholland match tonight. CPN stole it with a majestic last minute point from Ross McGarry. Ballyholland will be sick that they lost this. They were winning. 0.10 to 0.4 but lost 1.8 to 0.10
CPN also missed a penalty too

charlieTully

SHEEDY

Quote from: charlieTully on August 08, 2015, 10:05:57 PM
Any other results lad? 
Glenn 1-15 longstone 1-13 in SFC. An riocht and loughinisland won easily in IFC.
nil satis nisi optimum

gaamann

Glenn 1 15  Longstone 1 13 what do you think of that Steveywhiteser and Urbangael!!!

Dubh driocht

Managed two games in the last 24 hours and both were enjoyable.It must be frustrating to be a Ford supporter as the whole is less than the sum of the parts.Dawson did appear clueless but the yellas usually produce at least one good championship performance each year and they were good value for the win. The O'Hagans, Aidan Carr and big Arthur were excellent and maybe Gearoid is potential successor to the man nobody seems to have a good word for
I reckon if the vote was run again he would be out.   Glenn were lucky to beat the Stone; however the fadhians had only themselves to blame for not getting Mark Poland on the ball enough.They still could have won it at the end when Ambrose was bearing down on goal but lost possession and Glenn went down the field for the insurance point.

SamFever

Quote from: Dubh driocht on August 08, 2015, 11:09:35 PM
Managed two games in the last 24 hours and both were enjoyable.It must be frustrating to be a Ford supporter as the whole is less than the sum of the parts.Dawson did appear clueless but the yellas usually produce at least one good championship performance each year and they were good value for the win. The O'Hagans, Aidan Carr and big Arthur were excellent and maybe Gearoid is potential successor to the man nobody seems to have a good word for
I reckon if the vote was run again he would be out.   Glenn were lucky to beat the Stone; however the fadhians had only themselves to blame for not getting Mark Poland on the ball enough.They still could have won it at the end when Ambrose was bearing down on goal but lost possession and Glenn went down the field for the insurance point.
You are not suggesting that Gearoid Adams is a future Down Manager on the back of a win in the Down SFC?

TooLongRef

Quote from: imagine on August 08, 2015, 08:53:42 AM
Quote from: imagine on May 13, 2015, 09:07:24 AM
Is Conor Mc Gregor of UFC fame in charge
if your team  this year? There's only  4 rounds of
matches played and you may regret some
of your comments as the season goes on but
best of luck.
A post I made in May about Ballyholland.

Must of made this post after Ballyholland beat your club did you ? W*nk*r

imagine

Quote from: TooLongRef on August 09, 2015, 12:57:06 AM
Quote from: imagine on August 08, 2015, 08:53:42 AM
Quote from: imagine on May 13, 2015, 09:07:24 AM
Is Conor Mc Gregor of UFC fame in charge
if your team  this year? There's only  4 rounds of
matches played and you may regret some
of your comments as the season goes on but
best of luck.
A post I made in May about Ballyholland.

Must of made this post after Ballyholland beat your club did you ? W*nk*r
Charming response from you, still drowning your sorrows?It'll be a long time before we would be playing the likes of Ballyholland.

charlieTully

Quote from: SHEEDY on August 08, 2015, 10:17:35 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on August 08, 2015, 10:05:57 PM
Any other results lad? 
Glenn 1-15 longstone 1-13 in SFC. An riocht and loughinisland won easily in IFC.

Glen were 5/2 to win that. Huge price given their league positions. Was tempted. Should have got on it.

ardtole

Its only 6 years ago Ardglass beat Glenn in Glenn, we would have beat them a good few times before that too, but they have soared through the leagues since and to beat longstone in a sfc game is a great achievement in a short period of time.

urbangael

Aye I've just put the mortgage on them to win the championship!!

gaamann

Thanks Ardtole yes Glenn and Ardglass had a few tight games.09 would have been the start of our minor team coming.Still very young and inexperienced but Longstone are a good championship side and a great win yesterday.Yous had some good players then remember some of them well Magee two Deegans Taggert them lads would have got on any first division team.The year yous finished top of the league and got done in the playoffs was a difficult one to recover from.
Urbangale Glenn have no chance of winning the Championship fools and there money better giving the mortgage money to your ma to mind for you.Feck the begrudgers!!

stiff breeze

Glenn where ahead the whole game but yeah must have been luck  ;)

elk

Quote from: Leftmidfield on August 08, 2015, 10:01:09 PM
Was at CPN and Ballyholland match tonight. CPN stole it with a majestic last minute point from Ross McGarry. Ballyholland will be sick that they lost this. They were winning. 0.10 to 0.4 but lost 1.8 to 0.10
CPN also missed a penalty too
Two poor teams , the Point only scored 2points in the first half. Although it was a difficult night for football. Stevie P must have lost his voice at the end cause he did some shouting for the first 58 minutes, looked totally bemused at the end