Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

supersub

Rostrevor 1-19 0-5 Clann na Banna

A pretty convincing win for us after two so so performances in the opening games. Banbridge pretty poor to be honest, did seem to have any real threat or leaders, don't know if they were missing boys or what. Took our scores well and good to see some of the younger lads getting some game time. Young Connor Doyle started at wing forward, only 16 and a down minor this year but a great prospect.

Leo

Quote from: NP 76 on April 27, 2012, 11:02:31 PM
Great performance by the Harps tonight really fought hard all over the field . Some serious hits by both teams and very keenly contested game in very windy conditions . Ballyholland played a more attacking game tonight which worked to great effect in the 1st half especially well done
You were at a totally different game.
This was abysmal from both teams, cross-field hand passing that inevitably went astray, shot-shy forwards who produced 1 point (one point) from Buren in the first half and the same from Harps in the second half, so-called tackles that were an excuse for a mugging, gaelic football reduced to poor rugby league, Harps boys falling to the ground and holding up play with drastic injuries that cleared up as soon as their team had the ball (move over Man Utd & Ashley Young)  - no wonder Down are struggling if this is the coaching that is going on at clubs.
County men Dan McCartan Ger McCartan & Kevin McKernan (who you expect to stand up and be counted)  were exposed big time by a couple of game Ballyholland greenhorns, best player on the pitch by a country mile was White of Ballyholland, (not far behind was Eoin McCartan who looked like he could do serious damage if Burren had any clue about getting good ball in), and then we had a complete joke of a referee - apparently from Kilcoo - no seriously this is too bad it is funny - well,  can I say but that the intensity of the Harps-Burren rivalry brings with it some measure of respect and restraint because when things boiled over they sorted it out themsleves - while the fussy wee b***ard in black went missing (although you could still hear his wee whistle). But overall a shocking indictment of modern gaelic pissball from the teams and the "official".
Lads, we are in deep dodo.
And this is Dow Division One!!
Dire.
Fierce tame altogether

goldenyears

Good man Leo! What do you want ballyholland to do? Go out and play open football and get tanked by 10 points. Needs must dictates the way to get wins. We have been a yo yo club for years and we are all about maintaining a top 6 position in div 1. How we do that? Whatever it takes!

Anyone who thinks players were feigning injury haven't a clue about football. We had 3 injuries in the 1st half (one a dislocated thumb) when we had the wind! Pisses me off when people come on here and disrespect lads like this.

Leo

Quote from: goldenyears on April 28, 2012, 10:59:53 AM
Good man Leo! What do you want ballyholland to do? Go out and play open football and get tanked by 10 points. Needs must dictates the way to get wins. We have been a yo yo club for years and we are all about maintaining a top 6 position in div 1. How we do that? Whatever it takes!

Anyone who thinks players were feigning injury haven't a clue about football. We had 3 injuries in the 1st half (one a dislocated thumb) when we had the wind! Pisses me off when people come on here and disrespect lads like this.

No disrespect intended but there was definite over-playing of "injuries" inthe second half. But fair play to Ballyholland and it has to be said that when they had the wind in the first half they did put some football together whereas Burren were dire throughout. As a neutral I admire what a small club like Ballyholland are doing on and off the field but as to the game I can only comment on what I saw -  without bias.
Fierce tame altogether

Quote from: goldenyears on April 28, 2012, 10:59:53 AM

There must have been at least 4 minutes injury time in the 1st half....how many did the ref play? 0
A couple of minor stoppages in the 2nd half and at the end he played 5 mins+ when Burren had the wind.

Have to give our lads a huge amount of credit. They matched Burren in every department and were better in quite a few.

southdown

Anyone got an updated Div 1 table?

Line Ball

Quote from: southdown on April 28, 2012, 11:35:13 AM
Anyone got an updated Div 1 table?

Team   Pld   Won   Draw   Lost   For   Against   Diff   Points
Kilcoo
3   2   1   0   34   24   10   5
Longstone
3   2   0   1   49   35   14   4
Castlewellan
3   2   0   1   46   38   8   4
Clonduff
3   2   0   1   38   33   5   4
Mayobridge
3   2   0   1   55   54   1   4
Bryansford
3   1   1   1   40   37   3   3
Burren
3   1   0   2   41   35   6   2
Ballyholland
3   1   0   2   19   30   -11   2
Downpatrick
3   1   0   2   35   58   -23   2
Saval
3   0   0   3   37   50   -13   0

whitegoodman

Just a word on the Ballyholland Burren match last night.  Harps fully deserved their victory.  They can be cyncial and defensive but they play to their strengths and are very difficult to beat at home and play the conditions well.  As has been said they have been a yoyo club for a long time and Mulholland has obvioulsy seen what they need to do to be competitive in the top league and fair fcuks to him, thats what they are doing.

Burren were dire, whether there are confidence issues with some players, a lack of in some cases and too much in other cases, a lack of fitness, curious decisions along the line or whatever else, they are currently in a bad place and have a lot of improving to do.  Still early season and long way to go.

The ref was just rediculous, for both teams.  U could see both sets of players bewildered by the majority of the decisions.  I heard one player saying "dont be saying anything to him lads, the man is a lunatic".  Im not usually one for giving out bout refs but county board would need to look at it, if that man was in charge of an important championship match there would be carnage.

On county player watch, the best player by a country mile in the first half imo was the player the county have disregarded this year.  Note Burren had to take the current first choice county corner back off him after 20 mins!!!  Ballyholland had to move him out the field in the 2nd half as no ball was going in but u could see in the first half that he still has the class.  As for Burren's "county stars", the less said the better.......

Line Ball

Quote from: whitegoodman on April 28, 2012, 03:54:07 PM
Just a word on the Ballyholland Burren match last night.  Harps fully deserved their victory.  They can be cyncial and defensive but they play to their strengths and are very difficult to beat at home and play the conditions well.  As has been said they have been a yoyo club for a long time and Mulholland has obvioulsy seen what they need to do to be competitive in the top league and fair fcuks to him, thats what they are doing.

Burren were dire, whether there are confidence issues with some players, a lack of in some cases and too much in other cases, a lack of fitness, curious decisions along the line or whatever else, they are currently in a bad place and have a lot of improving to do.  Still early season and long way to go.

The ref was just rediculous, for both teams.  U could see both sets of players bewildered by the majority of the decisions.  I heard one player saying "dont be saying anything to him lads, the man is a lunatic".  Im not usually one for giving out bout refs but county board would need to look at it, if that man was in charge of an important championship match there would be carnage.

On county player watch, the best player by a country mile in the first half imo was the player the county have disregarded this year.  Note Burren had to take the current first choice county corner back off him after 20 mins!!!  Ballyholland had to move him out the field in the 2nd half as no ball was going in but u could see in the first half that he still has the class.  As for Burren's "county stars", the less said the better.......

Just picking up on one point WGM.  There is no way on God's green earth that any player from Burren would ever suffer from a lack of confidence.  As soon as a breath hits their lungs on birth, the chest inflates and it remains that way for life (even if the were born in Warrenpoint and decide to play for Burren).  They were gonna stroll the league this year after wiping the floor with the Bridge in the first league game, maybe put on a few pound on a great league or championship run like some of them like to do  ;) and then Clonduff hammer into them and Ballyholland smother them. 

Any referees I have seen this year have been brutal.  Indecision, lack of consistency, favouritism, failure to apply the rules (if known), lack of common sense, listening to the loudest call on the line, the list could go on.  The frustration on the field and on the line can be felt in every game I have watched because of the inadequacy and arrogance of these men who control our games.  Are all counties the same as the tubes that we have in Down?

Quote from: Leo on April 28, 2012, 02:03:48 AM
Great performance by the Harps tonight really fought hard all over the field . Some serious hits by both teams and very keenly contested game in very windy conditions . Ballyholland played a more attacking game tonight which worked to great effect in the 1st half especially well done
This was abysmal from both teams, cross-field hand passing that inevitably went astray, shot-shy forwards who produced 1 point (one point) from Buren in the first half and the same from Harps in the second half, so-called tackles that were an excuse for a mugging, gaelic football reduced to poor rugby league, Harps boys falling to the ground and holding up play with drastic injuries that cleared up as soon as their team had the ball (move over Man Utd & Ashley Young)  - no wonder Down are struggling if this is the coaching that is going on at clubs.
County men Dan McCartan Ger McCartan & Kevin McKernan (who you expect to stand up and be counted)  were exposed big time by a couple of game Ballyholland greenhorns, best player on the pitch by a country mile was White of Ballyholland, (not far behind was Eoin McCartan who looked like he could do serious damage if Burren had any clue about getting good ball in), and then we had a complete joke of a referee - apparently from Kilcoo - no seriously this is too bad it is funny - well,  can I say but that the intensity of the Harps-Burren rivalry brings with it some measure of respect and restraint because when things boiled over they sorted it out themsleves - while the fussy wee b***ard in black went missing (although you could still hear his wee whistle). But overall a shocking indictment of modern gaelic pissball from the teams and the "official".
Dire.

I'm sure you'll be interested to hear Leo that one of the injuries you speak of is a broken thumb and a hairline fracture of the wrist...the lad finished the game...Goldenyears is 100% correct about respect, or the lack of it, from Hurlers on the Ditch.

The Real Gael

Quote from: whitegoodman on April 28, 2012, 03:54:07 PM

On county player watch, the best player by a country mile in the first half imo was the player the county have disregarded this year.  Note Burren had to take the current first choice county corner back off him after 20 mins!!!  Ballyholland had to move him out the field in the 2nd half as no ball was going in but u could see in the first half that he still has the class. As for Burren's "county stars", the less said the better.......

How many Burren players are currently in the Down panel?

Leo

Quote from: 5 Sams on April 28, 2012, 06:29:09 PM
Quote from: Leo on April 28, 2012, 02:03:48 AM
Dire.

I'm sure you'll be interested to hear Leo that one of the injuries you speak of is a broken thumb and a hairline fracture of the wrist...the lad finished the game...Goldenyears is 100% correct about respect, or the lack of it, from Hurlers on the Ditch.

never played hurling on the ditch or otherwise. I think the broken thumb happened in the first half. That does not deflect from the use of down-time as a clear tactic in the second half - and it does not detract from the fact that Harps deserved to win. A bit of balance does no harm.
As for the number of county players on the Burren team only Declan Rooney & Eoin McCartan looked remotely like county players, best man on the Burren team by a mile was Eamon McGovern.
Fierce tame altogether

NedFlanders

Thanks for the teams SuperSub, appreciate that!

Should be an interesting game tomorrow evening, two of the favoured and inform teams. Looking forward to it.

redandblackareback

Any decent games worth going to tonight? Could someone post the fixtures for this evening, cant access the down web page for some reason. Thank you.