McGeeney in on the ice bucket challenge

Started by Armaghgeddon, August 26, 2014, 10:36:10 AM

Armaghgeddon

And has nominated Brolly, Spillane and O'Rourke to do the challenge at Croke Park this weekend.

http://balls.ie/gaa/kieran-mcgeeney-does-ice-bucket-challenge/

Quote from: Armaghgeddon on August 26, 2014, 10:36:10 AM
And has nominated Brolly, Spillane and O'Rourke to do the challenge at Croke Park this weekend.

http://balls.ie/gaa/kieran-mcgeeney-does-ice-bucket-challenge/

Alan Milton and Peter Mc Kenna from Croke Park Limited met this morning and advise that due to health and safety and insurance reasons, this challenge cannot take place within the grounds of Croke Park in case some of them fall or in case some of the patrons slip on an ice cube.

BluestackBoy

I thought McGeeney had more sense!!

Couldn't see Paul Grimley or Jim McGuinness getting involved in this palaver.

The sooner this fad passes into history the better.
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

Quote from: BluestackBoy on August 26, 2014, 10:49:59 AM

Why? Why does this annoy you so?

Harmless stuff. There's worse things people could be at.

BluestackBoy

Quote from: Bingo on August 26, 2014, 11:33:02 AM

Why? Why does this annoy you so?

What annoys me about it is the pressure that people are put under to take part for fear that they will be seen as "spoilsports" if they don't.
I see this morning that eejit Mattie McGrath dd it & nominated James Reilly. The only reason he did tht was to make himself look funny & put pressure on Reilly who I'd say wouldn't be big on it. This is bullying plain & simple.

Barack Obama, not a man I would have huge time for, has said that under no circumstances will he be doing it & good for him.

I would like to see a few more people stand up a say feck off to this nonsense.
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

Would you ever cop yourself on, bullying!!

Do it or don't do it, I've seen people not do it and no one give a dam. Its light hearted bit of craic for a good cause.

Some people love to be annoyed.

Meh you're right that was a bit OTT I'll take it down. The ALS challenge was grand for a week or so but it's fecking everywhere now and I just don't see the attraction... yes give to charity of course but I just don't get the pouring water all over you thing!

Quote from: screenexile on August 26, 2014, 12:10:43 PM
Meh you're right that was a bit OTT I'll take it down. The ALS challenge was grand for a week or so but it's fecking everywhere now and I just don't see the attraction... yes give to charity of course but I just don't get the pouring water all over you thing!

It'll pass as quick as it. The key is for the charity to get the money and how will they do this? They could call door to door, stand in the street with a bucket or sell pink teddys and they'll not touch on the money they've earned from this. You need a novelty factor and this is one that worked. The same people who are pouring water over their head and donating are likely to be ones who would walk past a street collection or even cross the road to avoid it.

Will you stop for Jesus sake. Anything for charity is a good thing. Its about time his country lightened up a bit.

It has so many tight arsed miserable gits it's unreal.

Mc Geeney nearly smiled 8)

Agreed, but I'm sure there'll be something as stupid come along shortly.

Quote from: BennyCake on August 26, 2014, 12:28:27 PM

Why not create one ourselves?

Any ideas???

* Ride a shopping trolley down a steep hill
* Smoke a head of cabbage
* Have someone break a chair over your head

Quote from: muppet on August 26, 2014, 12:35:06 PM

Any ideas???

I like the last one. It might give a few posters here a sense of humour

Any ideas???

Here's a crazy idea... Drop a few quid in a bucket.

Quote from: BennyCake on August 26, 2014, 12:46:52 PM

Any ideas???

Here's a crazy idea... Drop a few quid in a bucket.

I nominate BennyCake to ride a shopping trolley down Patrick Street in Cork.