Maigh Eo v Ciarrai, 1700, 30ú Lúnasa, Gaelic Grounds

Started by macdanger2, August 03, 2014, 10:36:58 PM

I'd disagree with that, the man is an out and out disgrace to Mayo and the GAA, should have been thrown out of the Gaelic Grounds and hopefully he'll come on here and ready what an embarrassment he is to his county with his actions.

If I were the editor of the Examiner I would not have published the article

I thought the reaction to that was interesting. It seemed to be a bit of a laugh. There were photos posted in Supermacs afterwards with supporters as if he were a legend of some sort. If I were him, and lost the rag like that, I'd be absolutely mortified and apologising to all around me, including the GAA and the ref.

I saw the footage as well, and couldn't believe he was just escorted back to his seat by one of the stewards he had been doing a one man rolling maul with a minute earlier.

I'm sure he's not a bad fella, and lost his temper in very trying circumstances as a Mayo man, but Jaysus you cannot go on the field after a ref. There's a danger that this is seen as a bit of craic, and sure isn't the GAA gas the way it inspires passion.

I'm loathe to use whataboutery, but if this was Soccer, he'd have been thrown out of the ground, and arrested.

As for this "He added that if the match had been replayed in Croke Park, and not the Gaelic Grounds, he would not have been able to get onto the pitch in the first place". What a load of bollix.

Crete Boom

It's the classic GAA shamozzle AZ and for me the biggest problems in these is always the backroom staff. One of the Mayo backroom staff gets involved ( I think it might be Ed Coughlan although I can't be sure?) which infuriates the Kerry players which in turn fires up another Mayo player. As the brawl moves close to the end line you can see a Kerry fan behind the goal looses the plot and runs on to get at the Mayo mentor/runner. Fair play to the one steward on his own here who grabs the fan and hauls him off immediately. Then the Mayo man gets involved. I can't help feel that the Mayo mentor then the Kerry fan getting involved spurred on Mayo Mick to get in on the act . Bottom line is if a mentor ( not medical staff) runs on to get involved he should get a side line ban along with a hefty fine for the county team also as this is what escalates most fracas everytime.If it is just players pushing and shoving then I don't think you would see many fans running on to get involved!! Also any fan running on the pitch during a match should be arrested by Gardai , looked up for the night then released with a hefty fine to pay.

Shure Mayo Mick should be the poster boy of our sport....it is mad men like him that set us aside from the cissy brigade playing soccer and the puritanical wannabe hardmen playing rugby... we should have more Mad Micks from Mayo and the like!!!  Dopey Deco from Dublin,  Carnapcious Con from Cork, and Alluring Aine from Sligo (sorry about the lack of alliteration in the last one but we all know that Aine would be a great streaker!!!

QuoteO'Shea refused blood-sub entry

Mayo's Aidan O'Shea was not permitted back onto the pitch at the start of Saturday's second half as a blood substitute.

The Irish Examiner has been informed by Mayo team sources that O'Shea, despite bleeding after a clash of heads with Cillian O'Connor in first-half injury-time, could only return to the field as a full substitute.

Last year's All Star midfielder had made way just before half-time to be replaced by Tom Parsons and on the resumption of play was prepared to return to the pitch.

However, what followed was a disagreement between James Horan and referee Cormac Reilly where the senior match official informed the manager O'Shea would not be permitted back on as a temporary blood substitute.

Strangely, Reilly gave the go-ahead to O'Connor, who wore a change of jersey (No14 to 28), being replaced by Alan Freeman at half-time. O'Connor then returned to the fray in place of Freeman in the 42nd minute.

O'Shea, who didn't change his No11 jersey, spent the first 14 minutes of the second-half on the sideline before being reintroduced as a full substitute for first-half replacement Michael Conroy in the 49th minute.

Neither O'Shea nor O'Connor are understood to have suffered concussion although both were groggy after the first-half incident.

The news of O'Shea being refused entry onto the field as a blood substitute is sure to rile Mayo supporters further.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/oshea-refused-blood-sub-entry-284351.html

Shocking altogether...  wasnt aware of this, thought they were trying to give as much time as possible

Sidney

http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/match-day-tracker/2202140725-gaa-congress-2014-day-2-live

12:43pm GMT
Motion 32 – Numbering of Jerseys

Very simply, a player will not be allowed to enter the field of play with a number over the maximum allowed on a match-day panel. For example, in a senior inter-county game, no player with a number over 26 will be allowed on to the field. If there is a late change in playing personnel from the match-day programme, the new player will take the number of the player he is replacing. A blood sub will have to come on with a fresh jersey bearing his original number or he can be identified alphabetically – A, B, C, D, E etc.

Quote from: Sidney on September 04, 2014, 02:09:11 PM
http://www.gaa.ie/gaa-news-and-videos/match-day-tracker/2202140725-gaa-congress-2014-day-2-live

Very simply, a player will not be allowed to enter the field of play with a number over the maximum allowed on a match-day panel. For example, in a senior inter-county game, no player with a number over 26 will be allowed on to the field. If there is a late change in playing personnel from the match-day programme, the new player will take the number of the player he is replacing. A blood sub will have to come on with a fresh jersey bearing his original number or he can be identified alphabetically – A, B, C, D, E etc.

O'Connor wore the number 28, and he was allowed on again. That is not the issue.

If the article is correct, O'Sé was allowed back only '..as a full substitute'. That had nothing to do with jersey number. A blood substitution takes place on the instruction of the referee. He ordered O'Sé off, and bear in mind there is no time limit on a blood substitution, and evidently he wasted one of our substitutions by refusing to allow O'Sé to return in place of the temporary sub.

If this is true, it would only add to the perception of the poor performance of the ref that day.

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 04, 2014, 11:14:41 AM
I'm loathe to use whataboutery, but if this was Soccer, he'd have been thrown out of the ground, and arrested.
If he was from Louth of course he'd have been arrested and charged.........

Incorrect. We've all seen players with numbers over 26 if their own jersey is ripped or bloodied.

Sidney

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 04, 2014, 02:39:56 PM

Incorrect. We've all seen players with numbers over 26 if their own jersey is ripped or bloodied.
I'm merely giving the GAA's explanation of the motion that was passed at congress this year.

Given that Horan only made three substitutions in the 70 minutes anyway, I don't see how Mayo would have been robbed of a substitution even if Reilly had mistakenly counted an extra one.

Sidney

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 04, 2014, 03:11:57 PM
Motion 32 was rejected!
Oh crap. I'll take this as a clamping and move on after I've paid the charges.

Quote from: From the Bunker on September 04, 2014, 09:46:00 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 04, 2014, 09:42:15 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/mayo-mick-says-his-pitchside-entrance-will-never-happen-again-284334.html

What an absolute disgrace and embarrassment

Mayo4Sam can you delete that last post? Man had nothing to do with the game and should be ignored. You are only feeding his ego and adding to his celebrity status!
you can't say it was 'nothing to do with the game' the guy is a  mayo supporter who can be seen at any mayo game at most Grades.
you may not agree with his actions and neither would he when the blood cooled  but  to ignore such an obvious incident is pointless

Quote from: rosnarun on September 04, 2014, 03:23:06 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 04, 2014, 09:46:00 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on September 04, 2014, 09:42:15 AM
http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/mayo-mick-says-his-pitchside-entrance-will-never-happen-again-284334.html

What an absolute disgrace and embarrassment

Mayo4Sam can you delete that last post? Man had nothing to do with the game and should be ignored. You are only feeding his ego and adding to his celebrity status!
you can't say it was 'nothing to do with the game' the guy is a  mayo supporter who can be seen at any mayo game at most Grades.
you may not agree with his actions and neither would he when the blood cooled  but  to ignore such an obvious incident is pointless

..and that's the story of how St. Patrick's replacement was born.

The next time Muppet posts a Paddy Joe video I'll post the gif of this lad storming the field and hulking out.