Clare Daly brands GAA 'grab all association'

Started by Bord na Mona man, June 19, 2014, 09:03:18 AM

Quote from: AZOffaly on June 19, 2014, 09:39:13 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on June 19, 2014, 09:35:29 AM

Never heard of her

She's been quite a strong performer in the Dáil, early on at least. Socialist in the Jim Higgins mould, or used to be at least. She's the one the Gardai apparently stitched up with a leak about her being done for drink driving, just after she had spoken in the Dail about the penalty points and people getting off. Turned out she was well under the limit, but was frogmarched to the station and made to give a blood sample (I think).

Mick Wallace, on the other hand is, was and will be a gobshite. Unfortunately Clare Daly seems to be easily led.

I'm not sure anyone would describe Jim Higgins as a Socialist!  :o

Didn't hereself and Joe Higgins fall out? She's no longer a member of the Socialist Party AFAIK - she left due to her connection with Mick Wallace. Anyone who associates with that clown is no better than him - I lost a lot of respect for Ming when he didn't distance himself from Wallace, would have thought he'd have had more principles than that.

I'd have a lot of time for Joe Higgins - I don't necessarily agree with all of his policies but he's got integrity.

We will have to get the guards after her again.

Quote from: macdanger2 on June 19, 2014, 10:02:32 AM

Never heard of her

She's been quite a strong performer in the Dáil, early on at least. Socialist in the Jim Higgins mould, or used to be at least. She's the one the Gardai apparently stitched up with a leak about her being done for drink driving, just after she had spoken in the Dail about the penalty points and people getting off. Turned out she was well under the limit, but was frogmarched to the station and made to give a blood sample (I think).

Mick Wallace, on the other hand is, was and will be a gobshite. Unfortunately Clare Daly seems to be easily led.

Didn't hereself and Joe Higgins fall out? She's no longer a member of the Socialist Party AFAIK - she left due to her connection with Mick Wallace. Anyone who associates with that clown is no better than him - I lost a lot of respect for Ming when he didn't distance himself from Wallace, would have thought he'd have had more principles than that.

I'd have a lot of time for Joe Higgins - I don't necessarily agree with all of his policies but he's got integrity.

Sorry, Joe. I meant Joe obviously.

Quote from: macdanger2 on June 19, 2014, 10:02:32 AM

Never heard of her

He's some man.

You'd never catch Ming at this craic. He'd do other crack.

Quote from: Bord na Mona man on June 19, 2014, 09:03:18 AM
Grab all leftie Clare Daly moaning about the GAA.  :o
Ironically the GAA, often disliked by the left, is one of the few good examples of socialism at work - Co-operative ownership, not for profit volunteerism and generally being non-elitist.

A strain of socialist politics is based around begrudgery. A dislike of those who get up off their arses, meaning they show up those who prefer to sit back with the hand out.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/oireachtas/minister-hits-out-at-description-of-gaa-as-grab-all-association-1.1836876

This isn't a simple misguided rant, it is part of a fundamental ideology. The problem those of the far left have with the GAA is simply its independence.

That doesn't fit in with Communism nor any of more left leaning socialist ideologies.

I'm going to send her an email asking what she thinks of the implementation of the black card rule, thus far.

I'm pretty sure I know what her stance on the black card is.............she's against it

She would be a fresh addition to the Sunday Game panel.

Thiis "grab all association" comparison is made between the tiddlywinks club and the GAA, with the former having no money compared to latter. The point is that the reason by the  tiddlywinks club has no money is because nobody is interested in it! 

Never heard of her

There was a bit more to that story.

She drew the attention of the Gárdaí for making an illegal turn. A garda patrol crew stopped Ms Daly's car after she was spotted making an illegal turn on the South Circular Road in Dublin shortly after midnight.[/i] - See more at: http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/td-clare-daly-arrested-on-suspicion-of-drinkdriving-29024407.html#sthash.ER6F3gCx.dpuf

This in itself should attract a penalty point. (Failure to obey requirements at junctions, e.g. not being in the correct lane when turning onto another road http://www.theaa.ie/AA/Motoring-advice/Penalty-Points.aspx)

They smelled alcohol, which she admitted taking, and she refused the breath test. Nothing wrong with that. She subsequently came in under the legal limit. Someone leaked the story to the press. That became the story.

Before politics she worked at the airport and is on now a sabbatical I believe. During Euro 2012 a large vehicle with 'WALLACE' written on it was parked in an airport staff car park. http://www.herald.ie/news/aer-lingus-probe-as-wallaces-jeep-found-in-free-staff-car-park-28010752.html

AKAIK she has not made a statement as to whether or not she was involved in the latter event.

He nearly knocked me down in that Poxy jeep outside Heuston Station one day.

Mac2

Quote from: Jinxy on June 19, 2014, 01:59:37 PM
I'm going to send her an email asking what she thinks of the implementation of the black card rule, thus far.
She'd probably say the GAA is racist.

Thisonegoesto11

Lets turn into 'The Sun' and bash all things left.
Some nonsense on this thread.....obvioulsy some folk were happy with the ultra conservative right wing policies that we have endured for the last 10 years. Thank you FF/FG. Thank you. We knew yer Da well.

That aside , she is wrong there....

she has a point

the barracks is a HUGE site. and it belongs to all the local people
Westmeath GAA only need a few parts of buildings, which are spread out in a few separate buildings and the playing fields (which are in terrible condition)

the place could be used by half the sports clubs and community groups in Mullingar and there'd still be space left over.