GAA doing a deal with SkySports

Started by thejuice, March 27, 2014, 02:35:17 PM

QuoteIreland isn't the only country in the world containing GAA fans or GAA volunteers who work hard to promote the association's community ethos.

OK then, name another community, never mind country in the world where the GAA has any sort of important role in that community.

Quote from: armaghniac on April 03, 2014, 11:49:31 PM
QuoteIreland isn't the only country in the world containing GAA fans or GAA volunteers who work hard to promote the association's community ethos.

OK then, name another community, never mind country in the world where the GAA has any sort of important role in that community.

There's 83 clubs in Britain and I can assure you that it plays a massive role in the community I'm part of. The GAA plays a vitally important part in the lives of thousands of Irish ex-pats around the world as a place to socialise with friends, sort lads with jobs and obviously play or watch our sport and celebrate our Irish culture. It is the hub for these thriving communities, just like it is in Ireland. But sure, you wouldn't know this if you had never left Armagh.

Quote from: BennyHarp on April 03, 2014, 11:57:26 PM
There's 83 clubs in Britain and I can assure you that it plays a massive role in the community I'm part of. The GAA plays a vitally important part in the lives of thousands of Irish ex-pats around the world as a place to socialise with friends, sort lads with jobs and obviously play or watch our sport and celebrate our Irish culture. It is the hub for these thriving communities, just like it is in Ireland. But sure, you wouldn't know this if you had never left Armagh.

Once again the unnecessary reference to me, playing than man and not the ball. Sure what do you know about whether I have left Armagh or not? I have no doubt that GAA is important to ex-Pats, but ex-Pats are not a community but a special interest group.  I am distinguishing between communities where the GAA has a role for pretty much everyone and sets of individuals greatly interested in GAA, but who have negligible impact on their general communities. My point was that a big GAA game can be a shared experience for a large proportion of a community and that that shared experience is diminished when most people cannot watch it on TV. But I from previous experience I imagine the substance of my point will be ignored and the only response will be that I am "thick" or "untravelled".

Quote from: armaghniac on April 04, 2014, 12:59:26 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on April 03, 2014, 11:57:26 PM

Once again the unnecessary reference to me, playing than man and not the ball. Sure what do you know about whether I have left Armagh or not? I have no doubt that GAA is important to ex-Pats, but ex-Pats are not a community but a special interest group. I am distinguishing between communities where the GAA has a role for pretty much everyone and sets of individuals greatly interested in GAA, but who have negligible impact on their general communities. My point was that a big GAA game can be a shared experience for a large proportion of a community and that that shared experience is diminished when most people cannot watch it on TV. But I from previous experience I imagine the substance of my point will be ignored and the only response will be that I am "thick" or "untravelled".

It's hard not to play the man when he keeps tripping himself up in front of me. I couldn't care less if you have left Armagh or not, but my point is that you plainly have no experience of the Irish communities abroad that you quite happily make comments about with some sort of misplaced authority. Also, I'm not ignoring the substance of your point I'm trying to fathom what point you are making? Are we only to televise to areas where the whole community is completely immersed in the GAA by the standards you set? A big GAA match will attract hundreds of people to the Irish centre where I live and is a massively important shared experience for everyone there. Does it not matter if those people can't watch it? Is their experience less important than yours? Is that the point you are making? Also, can you explain why you are distinguishing between these groups of people?

Quote from: armaghniac on April 04, 2014, 12:59:26 AM
ex-Pats are not a community but a special interest group. 

the only response will be that I am "thick" or "untravelled".

You don't say.

fearglasmor

One of the worst afflictions Ireland suffers from is its entitlement culture. I am old enough to remember no live games bar All Ireland finals and semi finals. Even then there was one year rte didnt show an ai semi because it clashed with show jumping or something. No one has a right to anything for free. I went to see the local u16 in their div 3 final last year and was happy to pay a fiver in.

Quote from: fearglasmor on April 04, 2014, 05:09:53 AM
One of the worst afflictions Ireland suffers from is its entitlement culture. I am old enough to remember no live games bar All Ireland finals and semi finals. Even then there was one year rte didnt show an ai semi because it clashed with show jumping or something. No one has a right to anything for free. I went to see the local u16 in their div 3 final last year and was happy to pay a fiver in.

You might be right. If the GAA went from 0 games on TV to a split with RTE and Sky, everyone would be delighted. Except fifth man there, who has an issue with Sky on other, perfectly valid, grounds.

Said this before on many things in Ireland, its everywhere and once something changes you get all sorts of minorities coming out of the woodwork and crying the poor mouth.

Think its time this was put to bed, the decision is made and we will see how it works out. No bad thing in my eyes.

But as per usual its been discussed on the Late Late show tonight, Tubs will have plenty to say I imagine  :o

sheamy

That's an interesting philosophy. I sincerely hope you don't get sick and find yourself without the ability to pay for healthcare at any point.

This might get to a hundred pages. But it looks like we're going round in circles. At the end of the day whether there should hsve been consultation or not, whether the deal should have proceeded or not, whether it will be positive or not for GAA, it's all done and dusted and we'll just have to hope that it can end up being good for the GAA ( that means different things to different people ).

Quote from: orangeman on April 04, 2014, 09:25:47 AM
This might get to a hundred pages. But it looks like we're going round in circles. At the end of the day whether there should hsve been consultation or not, whether the deal should have proceeded or not, whether it will be positive or not for GAA, it's all done and dusted and we'll just have to hope that it can end up being good for the GAA ( that means different things to different people ).

thats it. Will be interesting to see how it pans out

I'm emmigrating to Australia btw, free GAA man !

It's a topic on The Late Late Show tonight  :-[

My ideal panel to discuss this would be:

Kevin Myarse
John Waters
Ian O'Doherty
Michael Healy Rae

The Dali Lama would know more about the GAA than Tubs.

One thing is for certain: there is no stopping them; GAA on Sky will soon be here. And I, for one, welcome our new Sky overlords

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on April 04, 2014, 09:44:28 AM
It's a topic on The Late Late Show tonight  :-[

My ideal panel to discuss this would be:

Kevin Myarse
John Waters
Ian O'Doherty
Michael Healy Rae

The Dali Lama would know more about the GAA than Tubs.

One thing is for certain: there is no stopping them; GAA on Sky will soon be here. And I, for one, welcome our new Sky overlords

I'd like to see this guy on the panel

Quote from: FiFtH mAn TaCkLe on April 03, 2014, 05:33:34 PM
there is nothing wrong with making money for the gaa. but not at any price. club sponsorships are nearly always of local benefit with many sponsors either being actively involved with their club. entrance money into games is no different from paying to watch a play by a local amateur drama group, clubs and counties try to raise funds and get the best deals. but if there is more going out than coming in then you must cut your cloth as you need.
but there are principles that you, me and many others have where money does not go above everything else. as i have said i refuse to give any money to the murdoch empire. look at the front page of the irish sun today for one very small reason why.
the problem is that ireland is and has been full of gombeen men with very few morals and principles, who would sell their mothers if there was a few bob in it for them. foreigners know this when they deal with irish people and companies on how to deal with us. and the smarter gombeens also know this. the dail is full of them, getting elected by less smart gombeens who will happily sell their vote to get a personal favour over money going towards hospitals and education. got mine, f**k you.
when people with principles start to stand up and make their voice heard, it scares the gombeen, they call them backwards, stupid, anti business, against the gaa. all the shit of the day like that fianna fail threw at people who warned of a property bubble a decade ago. maybe we should commit suicide?
remember when you do a deal with sky, when they say jump you ask 'how high'?

It's only 14 games FFS. RTE still has enough for those who don't have Sky or neighbours with Sky. What it might do is reinvigorate the pub trade in some rural areas. Murdoch's money is as good as any.