Best footballer ever from your county.

Started by 5 Sams, February 21, 2014, 09:54:02 PM

Love starting a wee bit of debate...so imho these are the best ever from each of the 32...I picked them from own opinion, in some cases from general opinion e.g. Jack Brattan and Seán Purcell and others were just pure guesses from a vague knowledge of your county's football history ....if anyone wants to suggest a player from London and NY feel free..

So away ye go lads...let me have it.....give good arguments if you disagree...and tell me why I'm talking shite if that is the case..I have a thick skin.

Antrim - Kevin Armstrong
Armagh - Jack Brattan
Carlow - Hugh Brennan
Cavan - Gunner Brady
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - JBM
Derry - Jim McKeever
Donegal - Martin McHugh
Down - Seán O'Neill
Dublin - Heffo
Fermanagh - Peter McGennity
Galway - Seán Purcell
Kerry - Mick O'Connell
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny - D J Carey ;)
Laois - Tommy Murphy
Leitrim - Mickey Quinn
Limerick - John Quane
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - Stephen White
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Nudie
Offaly - Matt Connor
Roscommon - Dermot Earley Snr
Sligo - Mickey Kerins
Tipperary - Declan Browne
Tyrone - Frank McGuigan
Waterford - Liam Ó Lionáin
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde
Wicklow - Sorry this one has me snookered :-\

Quote from: hardstation on February 21, 2014, 09:57:29 PM
Jimmy Barry Murphy for Cork??

I'll give you that one. Took my eye of the ball. Who's your pick then?

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 09:54:02 PM
Love starting a wee bit of debate...so imho these are the best ever from each of the 32...I picked them from own opinion, in some cases from general opinion e.g. Jack Brattan and Seán Purcell and others were just pure guesses from a vague knowledge of your county's football history ....if anyone wants to suggest a player from London and NY feel free..

So away ye go lads...let me have it.....give good arguments if you disagree...and tell me why I'm talking shite if that is the case..I have a thick skin.

Antrim - Kevin Armstrong
Armagh - Jack Brattan
Carlow - Hugh Brennan
Cavan - Gunner Brady
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - JBM
Derry - Jim McKeever
Donegal - Martin McHugh
Down - Seán O'Neill
Dublin - Heffo
Galway - Seán Purcell
Kerry - Mick O'Connell
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny - D J Carey ;)
Laois - Tommy Murphy
Leitrim - Mickey Quinn
Limerick - John Quane
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - Stephen White
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Nudie
Offaly - Matt Connor
Roscommon - Dermot Earley Snr Gerry O'Malley or Bill Carlos
Sligo - Mickey Kerins
Tyrone - Frank McGuigan
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde

Seán Flanagan or Tommy Langan (Mayo) instead of Ciarán McDonald and J. J. O'Reilly Cavan?

Quote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2014, 10:13:48 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 09:54:02 PM

Antrim - Kevin Armstrong
Armagh - Jack Brattan
Carlow - Hugh Brennan
Cavan - Gunner Brady
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - JBM
Derry - Jim McKeever
Donegal - Martin McHugh
Down - Seán O'Neill
Dublin - Heffo
Galway - Seán Purcell
Kerry - Mick O'Connell
Kildare - John Doyle
Kilkenny - D J Carey ;)
Laois - Tommy Murphy
Leitrim - Mickey Quinn
Limerick - John Quane
Longford - Paul Barden
Louth - Stephen White
Mayo - Ciarán McDonald
Meath - Trevor Giles
Monaghan - Nudie
Offaly - Matt Connor
Roscommon - Dermot Earley Snr Gerry O'Malley or Bill Carlos
Sligo - Mickey Kerins
Tyrone - Frank McGuigan
Westmeath - Dessie Dolan
Wexford - Mattie Forde

Ya fooleen. He had it in one.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Mick O'Connell might have been good for his day, but he wouldn't make my top 5.

1. Jacko
2. Spillane
3. Moynihan
4. Maurice Fitz
5. Cooper

That could change every hour of the day, but Jacko is the best I've seen.
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 10:05:43 PM

JBM not a bad shout from what I remember seeing. But his career was brief as well as brilliant.
Hard to look past Thompkins for Cork I suppose.

McDonald in Mayo probably most people's choice from recent times. But Carney, Langan, Flanagan, Morley and others would have to be considered.
Purcell probably stands alone in Galway and anywhere else for that matter.
Gerry O Malley in Roscommon would push Earley. Ditto Packie McGarty and Mickey Martin in Leitrim. Eamonn O Hara in Sligo was as influential as Mickey Kearins. Kearins was a great, no doubt about it though.

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on February 21, 2014, 10:21:39 PM
Mick O'Connell might have been good for his day, but he wouldn't make my top 5.

1. Jacko
2. Spillane
3. Moynihan
4. Maurice Fitz
5. Cooper

That could change every hour of the day, but Jacko is the best I've seen.

GRMA CT. Note to other contributors  ...see above...just don't say you're talking shite 5 Sams give me your alternatives.

Schkite

Quote from: moysider on February 21, 2014, 10:23:37 PM

JBM not a bad shout from what I remember seeing. But his career was brief as well as brilliant.

McDonald in Mayo probably most people's choice from recent times. But Carney, Langan, Flanagan, Morley and others would have to be considered.
Gerry O Malley in Roscommon would push Earley. Ditto Packie McGarty and Mickey Martin in Leitrim. Eamonn O Hara in Sligo was as influential as Mickey Kearins. Kearins was a great, no doubt about it though.
Good stuff Moysider..now we're motoring. Wait till the Tyrone lads get back from the barn dances...then the crack will start ;)

Quote from: 5 Sams on February 21, 2014, 10:27:39 PM
Quote from: moysider on February 21, 2014, 10:23:37 PM

Good stuff Moysider..now we're motoring. Wait till the Tyrone lads get back from the barn dances...then the crack will start ;)

Yeah, most will want Peter The Great and who could blame them.
McKenna was a savage player too. Won All Stars at midfield, half forward and full forward if memory serves me correctly. And then there was Iggy Jones! Christ, this could take some time  ;D

Johnny Corvan for me in relation to Armagh, I never seen jack  Bratten play but it was a great guess five Sam's.

Mo Fitz was the best Kerry player I ever saw and I thought it a disgrace the way they treated him at the end of his inter county career.

Quote from: stew on February 21, 2014, 10:47:50 PM
Johnny Corvan for me in relation to Armagh, I never seen jack  Bratten play but it was a great guess five Sam's.

Mo Fitz was the best Kerry player I ever saw and I thought it a disgrace the way they treated him at the end of his inter county career.

+1 on all counts. Big statement about Mo Fitz. Cant disagree with you. BUT Moynihan and all the Ó Sés would feature in my best evers for Kerry...among many others.Corvan was a superb player. Peter Loughran?? Big Joe??

Champion The Wonder Horse

Limiting it to players I've seen.

Antrim - JP O'Kane
Armagh - Martin McQuillan
Carlow - Johnny Nevin
Cavan - Jim Reilly
Clare - Seamus Clancy
Cork - Larry Tompkins
Derry - Anthony Tohill
Donegal - Tony Boyle
Down - Greg Blaney