Sayings only the Irish use

Started by qwerty123, November 25, 2013, 02:26:54 AM

Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 26, 2013, 01:16:19 AM
"If ye knocked that pair of laitchekoes together, ye wouldn't get one half-decent eejit for your troubles."
Always wondered the spelling of that one! ;D

An Gaeilgoir

As thick as custard..
Christ on a bike..
As daft as a hay'penny watch
Gobdaw

A hoor for the dhrink
Shockin fond o' porther
Glaum (gláim?) as in "He glaumed it straight off the ground"

Count 10

As well to be hung for a sheep as a lamb
He would want to be shot with balls of his own shite (Normally aimed at a corner forward no matter how well they play )

offtheground

I was talking to a fella yesterday evening and he came out with a classic saying I hadn't heard in years.
"Die dog or shite the license" - more or less a do-or-die situation. Does anyone know where this term came from, surely there must be a story behind it. A quick google search throws up a reference to it in Brendan Behan's Borstal Boy, but no explanation or etymology for it.

Knock Yer Mucker In

Knock yer mucker in  ;D ;)
What about ye
Daft as a brush
Long road wheres theres no turning
Wee daftie (in the interest of cross community)

I've a horn on me would bate a donkey out of a quarry

Clov

Here's one my mother used to say when she was at the end of her tether - "I'm like a hearn (sp?) woman"?

Hearn woman / Heron women ? Anyone come across that or know where it comes from?

edit: Actually now that i think about it, it might be 'Herring woman'.
"One of the most salient features of our culture is that there is so much bullshit"

Quote from: screenexile on October 07, 2015, 11:29:42 AM
I LOL at that one.
never heard it used, must be a derry thing  ;D

Quote from: blewuporstuffed on October 07, 2015, 12:45:37 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 07, 2015, 11:29:42 AM
I LOL at that one.
never heard it used, must be a derry thing  ;D

I've heard that except we say 'would bate an ass out the gate'

ashman

"They gave the day drinking"

" a feed of drink" ??

"As sick as a small hospital"

winghalfun

"Was it a big funeral?"
"Big enough"

Just after telling a scottish lad he was full of mad dogs shíte and he didn't know what I was talking about!