Sayings only the Irish use

Started by qwerty123, November 25, 2013, 02:26:54 AM

Yer man over there....

I remember a group of Kiwi's / Brits finding this hilarious when I was over in New Zealand a few years ago...What do you mean my man??!!... one of them said back to me...

An Gaeilgoir

On me solemn oath..
The what do ya ma call
The day is famishing cold

Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on November 25, 2013, 03:22:48 PM
On me solemn oath..
The what do ya ma call
The day is famishing cold

Sounds more like pikey talk!

qwerty123

no harm to ya but...
no offense...but - cue an awfully offensive remark
your balls
aye right
go away and sh$$e
he's an awful man for the drink

You could scour a pot with X's face
A look that would turn milk sour
to go in and see him there in the bed
don't be getting caught up in the big occasion
I will give it a go
let them at it
absolutely cat.
God love them
God loves a trier
But I'd be happy with the performance
No better man
because he's brutal
Give over you!
Where do they think they're going with their
Well able to
as casual as you like
Grand so
don't know whether they're coming or going
a wild pull
boiling hot/freezing cold/drowned wet
used of doing
lose the run of themselves
so it is

Interviews with Davy and Daly and Babs are full of the richness of hiberno English

"He'd be out hunting with the dogs there. You'd meet him and he'd be so enthusiastic, 'The brain on him is unbelievable sure

CD

He has a head on 'im like a 2 bob cabbage.
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

You'd think somebody had put her through a baler and cut the string.

Genuinely interested to see if this thread throws up anything that didn't appear in the 29 pages on this thread >>>  ;)

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=10407.msg431056;topicseen#msg431056

haveaharp

Heard Aidan O Brien interviewed at Navan yesterday and the old "look it" came out. Seems to be the norm for sports people being interviewed, look it, but look it sure Navan is a great track etc. Where the hell did this creep in from?

Ach away and shite
Would ye quit
You wont be content until.........

qwerty123

it'd be rude not to - what a great excuse to do something, anything!

"If ye knocked that pair of laitchekoes together, ye wouldn't get one half-decent eejit for your troubles."

Quote from: Lar Naparka on November 26, 2013, 01:16:19 AM
"If ye knocked that pair of laitchekoes together, ye wouldn't get one half-decent eejit for your troubles."

Sick as a plane to Lourdes
Full as a bingo bus.