Best team not to win an AI.

Started by moysider, September 25, 2013, 09:17:58 PM

What has been the best team not to win an AI since 1970?

Galway 1971-74
Roscommon 1977-1980
Mayo 1985/89
Mayo 1996/97
Mayo 04-06
Mayo 11-13
Tyrone 95/96

SkillfulBill

Quote from: moysider on September 25, 2013, 10:59:54 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 25, 2013, 10:53:52 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 25, 2013, 10:47:03 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on September 25, 2013, 10:34:01 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 25, 2013, 10:26:57 PM
Quote from: moysider on September 25, 2013, 10:25:29 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on September 25, 2013, 10:07:33 PM
Derry from 91- (93) - 95
They won 1.

come on moysider stick with the program, I was caught out there a long time ago by that O Neill cnut

Thats 1 to many for my liking.

95 the inbreeds couldn't beat a Tyrone side down to 13 men and 4 pts up at half time.

whats the craic with the inbreds shit ye spout?

Have a wee gander at the 1911 census ye cousin-lover.

:o Jaysus, I didn t expect this to off on a tangent like this!

When you have a Derryman eulogising about a team that contained thon Brolly lad you have to expect these sorts of things.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uzae_SqbmDE

Quote from: SkillfulBill on September 25, 2013, 11:04:34 PM
Derry from 91- (93) - 95
They won 1.

come on moysider stick with the program, I was caught out there a long time ago by that O Neill cnut

95 the inbreeds couldn't beat a Tyrone side down to 13 men and 4 pts up at half time.

When you have a Derryman eulogising about a team that contained thon Brolly lad you have to expect these sorts of things.

We can quote properly up here however.

SkillfulBill

Derry from 91- (93) - 95
They won 1.

Did I just see Tony Scullion playing the Banjo in that clip ?

SkillfulBill

Quote from: theticklemister on September 25, 2013, 11:08:05 PM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on September 25, 2013, 11:04:34 PM
Derry from 91- (93) - 95
They won 1.

We can quote properly up here however.

I suppose you can the extra fingers probably helps.

Quote from: SkillfulBill on September 25, 2013, 11:09:45 PM
Derry from 91- (93) - 95
They won 1.

Did I just see Tony Scullion playing the Banjo in that clip ?

Tony can't play the banjo, he has to hold his all-stars

Tyrone 56 & 57 would bate those teams

Fermanagh 2004. They played some fantastic stuff that year.

Quote from: rrhf on September 25, 2013, 11:24:05 PM
Tyrone 56 & 57 would bate those teams

A side that scored a combined 0-14 in 2 All-Ireland semis? Away a that. We were just keeping the Ulster seat warm between the 2 great sides from Cavan and Down.

Quote from: BennyCake on September 25, 2013, 11:35:12 PM

Yeah, but did not make a final or win an Ulster or get back to semi again. And the team that beat them unlikely to get many votes either. It was some team though and with a bit more cop on line could have made final imo.

Taking into account the Rhu bias in these parts, the poll shows a huge lead for Ros.

Quote from: moysider on September 25, 2013, 11:53:13 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 25, 2013, 11:35:12 PM

Yeah, but did not make a final or win an Ulster or get back to semi again. And the team that beat them unlikely to get many votes either. It was some team though and with a bit more cop on line could have made final imo.

I thought they were robbed in that Mayo replay. They should've been in the final. Could've even beaten the mighty Kingdom too.

Sidney

Quote from: Syferus on September 25, 2013, 11:54:57 PM
Taking into account the Rhu bias in these parts, the poll shows a huge lead for Ros.

Nah. The Mayo vote will be split between our 'glorious failures'. That was some Ros. team but 1 final appearance was a poor return for a team with the quality they had. They pissed on Conacht teams but calved in Croke Park as badly as any Mayo team has done since.

Feck the poll Roscommon of course and when it comes to club football it has to Clann na nGael 1982 to 1990 which included seven Connacht titles and five All Ireland final defeats.