Kildare manager 2016

Started by Donnellys Hollow, September 03, 2013, 10:21:53 PM

QuoteHopefully Longford will have mellowed him out

Met Glen in the Burlo last Friday - we only discussed his time with Longford - I was itching to axe him about Kildare but I figured it would be impolite.

Cannot see how 5 years in Longford would mellow anyone out......that said the County Board are progressive enough and there is really only one contrary club so I don't think he would have been riz too much.

We're hell of a soap opera

KfmSport ‏@KfmSport 9m

We believe that Kildare Co Chairman John McMahon had a meeting with former Kerry manager Jack O'Connor this week to discuss taking SF job.

Interesting.

I think he has some family up near Maynooth.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 24, 2013, 11:43:23 AM
Looking like Glen Ryan, will wait and see what happens and in particular his backroom team. Hopefully Longford will have mellowed him out and he understands that not every player needs tough love.

Is Jason Ryan in the frame ? Ryan ruled himself out of it on Monday http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/exskipper-glenn-ryan-out-of-running-for-lilywhites-job-29608081.html

Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 27, 2013, 07:26:02 PM

KfmSport ‏@KfmSport 9m

We believe that Kildare Co Chairman John McMahon had a meeting with former Kerry manager Jack O'Connor this week to discuss taking SF job.

A safe, easy to deal with choice with no ego or chance of bullying clubs. Christ lads, out of the frying pan, into Dante's Inferno.

KfmSport ‏@KfmSport 9m

Tell him to hold off Dinny until next time out
He's on a hiding to nothing coming In now with the mcgeeney aftermath. Any disgruntled  players and politics there etc

Better taking a senior cob side in Laois Eric closer to home for a yea or two to recharge before takingkildare
Time is on his side and the squad are v young

KfmSport ‏@KfmSport 9m

Is Gerry Adams moving on?

Mickey Ned wanted to remain as Kerry minor boss, so some ill feeling at Co Brd tonight if vote to ratify Jack O'Connor, 44-28, is indicator.

mick999

I see that ye may be loosing one of your young talents :

http://www.irishecho.com.au/2013/10/02/adelaide-tipped-to-sign-kildare-teenager/29140

Kildare teenager Daniel Flynn is being tipped to sign for Port Adelaide, according to a report.
The 18-year-old impressed AFL talent scout Tadhg Kennelly at a screening in March and was picked by the Kerryman for an AFL Europe selection that took on an AFL Academy team in Surrey the following month.

Flynn will be a big loss for Johnstownbridge. They will have serious ambitions for the Leinster intermediate title and maybe beyond after their fine win today.

Sure he'll back in 2 years anyway.

All of a Sludden

Jason Ryan's appointment as Kildare's new football manager is expected to be rubberstamped tomorrow night.

Last Tuesday's scheduled county board meeting was put back seven days to allow Kildare chairman John McMahon to finalise arrangements with the Waterford native, who served as a selector under Kieran McGeeney last season.

Ryan's imminent appointment is all the more surprising in light of him stating that he had no interest in taking over the manager's role following McGeeney's controversial dismissal last month. Indeed, the in-demand former Wexford manager had ruled himself out a return to management with any county in 2014.

But following the withdrawals of former Kildare captain Glenn Ryan and ex-Kerry manager Jack O'Connor from the race in the past week, the De La Salle clubman is now poised to fill the void.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Quote from: All of a Sludden on October 07, 2013, 03:54:50 PM
Jason Ryan's appointment as Kildare's new football manager is expected to be rubberstamped tomorrow night.

Last Tuesday's scheduled county board meeting was put back seven days to allow Kildare chairman John McMahon to finalise arrangements with the Waterford native, who served as a selector under Kieran McGeeney last season.

Ryan's imminent appointment is all the more surprising in light of him stating that he had no interest in taking over the manager's role following McGeeney's controversial dismissal last month. Indeed, the in-demand former Wexford manager had ruled himself out a return to management with any county in 2014.

But following the withdrawals of former Kildare captain Glenn Ryan and ex-Kerry manager Jack O'Connor from the race in the past week, the De La Salle clubman is now poised to fill the void.

Did you get that info  in an early morning text ?

Jason Ryan is a good solid appointment. Has been there for the past year so he knows the players well. Added to this he will know the structures, backroom team and most of the pitfalls that lie ahead!

Quote from: From the Bunker on October 07, 2013, 08:25:26 PM
Jason Ryan is a good solid appointment. Has been there for the past year so he knows the players well. Added to this he will know the structures, backroom team and most of the pitfalls that lie ahead!
McStay will be disappointed after admitting last week on telly that he was a contender.