Death of Ruairi Ó Brádaigh

Started by Rossfan, June 05, 2013, 07:11:41 PM

Maybe they want to make it difficult for people who set themselves up as an illegal army and who think that only they alone are "pure" enough to know what's right for Ireland - no matter what the people may have voted for.( Of course no dissidents = no Sp Branch so they have to keep active or lose their special jobs and go back to real work)
A bit like the Brits in 1919 -21 refusing to acknowledge  what the majority of the Irish people had just voted for. ;)

Quote from: larryin89 on June 09, 2013, 10:27:41 AM
Or maybe they were told there would be no traditional send off, so they could lay off with the intimidation malarkey for a dignified burial to take place.

Lay people probably don't understand what happens not only at republican funerals but comm/functions and protests, the behaviour of the free state mafia is so uncalled for its unbelievable tbh, only for i have seen it first hand. Special branch detectives , showing you their guns on purpose, in a packed o connell street at a peaceful protest, asking your name and address and you have given it to them several times previous, they know this fine well too.

It's a tactic to alienate  any movement who opposes the status quo, esp republicanism, they want the general public to ignore our protest so they come in numbers waving guns, it is farcical and who tells them to act in this manner is what i'd like to know.
By 'lay people' do you mean the general law abiding Irish people?

Or maybe they were told there would be no traditional send off, so they could lay off with the intimidation malarkey for a dignified burial to take place.

Lay people probably don't understand what happens not only at republican funerals but comm/functions and protests, the behaviour of the free state mafia is so uncalled for its unbelievable tbh, only for i have seen it first hand. Special branch detectives , showing you their guns on purpose, in a packed o connell street at a peaceful protest, asking your name and address and you have given it to them several times previous, they know this fine well too.

It's a tactic to alienate  any movement who opposes the status quo, esp republicanism, they want the general public to ignore our protest so they come in numbers waving guns, it is farcical and who tells them to act in this manner is what i'd like to know.

These people have little regard for what 'lay people' think.

Did the Readymix lorry move in afterwards?

So the riot squad were there basically to ensure that the only thing fired at the graveside was Holy Water over the coffin?

Also ironic that representatives from all Political Parties paid their respects at the funeral or at the home, with the exception of Sinn Fein?

glens abu

Quote from: T Fearon on June 10, 2013, 03:46:35 PM
So the riot squad were there basically to ensure that the only thing fired at the graveside was Holy Water over the coffin?

Also ironic that representatives from all Political Parties paid their respects at the funeral or at the home, with the exception of Sinn Fein?

There were members of Sinn Fein at the funeral and G Adams released a statement paying respect.

Which Sinn Fein? Republican Sinn Fein or Stormont/Dail Sinn Fein. I believe Gerry Adams' statement contained all of eleven words.

glens abu

Quote from: T Fearon on June 10, 2013, 04:19:54 PM
Which Sinn Fein? Republican Sinn Fein or Stormont/Dail Sinn Fein. I believe Gerry Adams' statement contained all of eleven words.

Sinn Fein,how many words did you want it to contain,and what didn't it say you would like it to have said.

Who but only a fool would believe them if they did in fact say that there would be no 'traditional' send off !

Pity Tony couldn't be restricted to 11 words, even 11 threads would be a start :D

Go home ref

The Gardai were a disgrace surrounding the mans grave in front of his family I wonder how many of them or of you would like to see that at the funeral of a loved one?

Jim_Murphy_74

Same Gardai were accused of being a disgrace when they accepted the word of Alan Ryan's gang that shots would not be fired over his coffin.

When a bunch of uniformed (albeit mostly overweight and aged) men show up at funeral as a military "guard of honour", you'll get the guards down on top of you.

Accept that the real oglaigh na h-Eirinn are above in the curragh and that only their members get a military funeral and one will find that the guards won't show up at your funeral.

I saw respect the dead man by wearing a suit, not combats and berets.

/Jim.

Quote from: Go home ref on June 12, 2013, 10:13:45 PM
The Gardai were a disgrace surrounding the mans grave in front of his family I wonder how many of them or of you would like to see that at the funeral of a loved one?

Same medicine for this man.

Funeral of Omagh bomb suspect Seamus McKenna in Louth

A major security operation is in place in County Louth for the funeral of a man suspected of being involved in the 1998 Omagh bombing.

Seamus McKenna, 58, died after he fell from scaffolding while repairing a roof at a school in Dundalk last week.

He was acquitted in a civil action taken by relatives of the bomb victims.

They claimed he was linked to mobile phones used in the 1998 attack, which killed 29 people, including a woman pregnant with twins.

The bombing, in County Tyrone, was carried out by the Real IRA.

Armed checkpoints have been set up on the approach roads to St Mary's Church in Ravensdale and cars are being searched.

Police public order units are on standby along with the mounted unit, the Emergency Response Unit and uniformed police.

The Garda (police) helicopter is monitoring the funeral and officers from the special detective unit are escorting the mourners to prevent any paramilitary display or dissident republican show of strength.

Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan previously warned that the force would not allow any such activity.

On Monday he said: "There is one army in this country and there is one policing service. We will ensure that position remains.

"We do not like being present in any large numbers at a particularly sensitive time when people are burying their loved ones. But we will not allow any display of paramilitarism."

A number of people were charged after dissident republican activity at the funeral of a leading Real IRA member in Dublin in September 2012.

Shots were fired over 32-year-old Alan Ryan's coffin as it left his home. The funeral was accompanied by masked men and women.

What's all this about respecting someone's refusal to change with the times or change his mind in the light of new information? Why should that be admired as a virtue? Youse must have a high opinion of GW Bush in that case.  As Colbert said, "we know that what he believes on Wednesday is the exact same thing he believed on Monday, regardless of what happened on Tuesday."

Ignorance is not a virtue. Sticking to failed policies in the face of overwhelming evidence that they're counter-productive is not a virtue.