Down losing 3 players to America

Started by Corkey22, March 29, 2013, 10:06:51 AM

Corkey22

Down will be without Paul McComiskey for a year after the key forward decided to travel abroad.
It is a major blow for the Mourne men, who have one game left in their battle against league relegation, ahead of the Ulster Championship campaign.
Darren O'Hagan and Arthur McConville are also likely to miss the Championship with the pair going to America in search of work.
Down boss James McCartan said it was doubtful the pair will be available.
McComiskey played his last game for the Mourne men in last weekend's defeat at Croke Park.
"Any man that decides to travel the world for a year, you can't really hold it against him," McCartan told the Irish News.

Big blow for Down, in particular McComiskey!

McComiskey hasn't really kicked on like everyone thought he would though.  He was the main man in the u-21's 4 or 5 years ago and was in some form for the seniors then too.  Strange decision considering he is only after returning.

Fair play to McCartan as well for a common sense approach to it. I know where young lads have gone away and it has been held against them. Common sense isn't always that common.

How times have changed.As Percy French sang,they used to only go as far as London.

Quote from: magpie seanie on March 29, 2013, 02:18:32 PM
Fair play to McCartan as well for a common sense approach to it. I know where young lads have gone away and it has been held against them. Common sense isn't always that common.

Well said Seanie. It's a shame that we are losing players again due to the economy but what do you do?

To lose three lads is awful tough on any county, and I wouldnt wish that on my worst...................................er, Down.

Quote from: T Fearon on March 29, 2013, 03:56:57 PM
How times have changed.As Percy French sang,they used to only go as far as London.

Er, what? Irish emigration to America is a new phenomenon?!

Any word of what cities these boys are going to?

John o connor

We seem to have been hit harder than most from the 2010 final through injuries , emigration and fellas playing professional sports , can anyone list players who would be on the panel but for the above .

Hughes
Gordon
Rogers
Doyle
M Clarke
C Mooney
J Colgan
S Mc Cartan ?
T Hanna ?
K Duffin
J Ireland ?
Mc Comiskey
O Hagan
Mc Conville
C Maginn
P Fitzpatrick
To name a few , I'm sure there is another 8/10 at least

Quote from: Corkey22 on March 29, 2013, 10:06:51 AM
Down will be without Paul McComiskey for a year after the key forward decided to travel abroad.
It is a major blow for the Mourne men, who have one game left in their battle against league relegation, ahead of the Ulster Championship campaign.
Darren O'Hagan and Arthur McConville are also likely to miss the Championship with the pair going to America in search of work.
Down boss James McCartan said it was doubtful the pair will be available.
McComiskey played his last game for the Mourne men in last weekend's defeat at Croke Park.
"Any man that decides to travel the world for a year, you can't really hold it against him," McCartan told the Irish News.

Big blow for Down, in particular McComiskey!

Going to get away from Ireland you're only young once, all the best to them and if they feel homesick i'm sure Down will welcome them back.

Count 10

Good luck to them...you are only young once

Line Ball

If you go back to to the 80's, 90's etc how many players have made the call to go to the States for the Summer?  Get over it, no big deal.  Mc cartan himself played in America for many years so he can't say much himself and to be honest he has wished the lads well.

Mc Conville     -      No Loss
Mc Cumiskey  -       No Loss (bit player)
O'Hagan         -      Serious loss.  Best defender we have.

If we are to be honest, Down will do nothing this year anyway!

Mourne Rover

McComiskey (not McCumiskey) proved his ability beyond doubt in All Ireland finals at minor, u21 and senior level. The breakdown in communication along the sideline which resulted in his substitution in the 2010 decider arguably cost Down the game and may well still have been a factor in his decision to travel.

O'Hagan is a fine prospect, but after returning from injury he has not been at his best and was far from certain of a starting spot in the championship.

McConville did well in the league last year but has not really featured since, apart from the last match against Dublin when things did not work out for him.

There is still enough talent around to give Down a decent summer, although the departures have clearly weakened us. It is hardly fair to suggest that McCartan did the same thing in his playing days, as any trips he made were when either we were out of the championship or he was not in the squad.

Line Ball

Quote from: Mourne Rover on March 30, 2013, 12:17:42 AM
McComiskey (not McCumiskey) proved his ability beyond doubt in All Ireland finals at minor, u21 and senior level. The breakdown in communication along the sideline which resulted in his substitution in the 2010 decider arguably cost Down the game and may well still have been a factor in his decision to travel.

O'Hagan is a fine prospect, but after returning from injury he has not been at his best and was far from certain of a starting spot in the championship.

McConville did well in the league last year but has not really featured since, apart from the last match against Dublin when things did not work out for him.

There is still enough talent around to give Down a decent summer, although the departures have clearly weakened us. It is hardly fair to suggest that McCartan did the same thing in his playing days, as any trips he made were when either we were out of the championship or he was not in the squad.

Thanks for correcting my spelling of Paul's name- I'll sleep better tonight knowing how to spell his name now.

The selectors took him off in 2010 - tell us something we don't know.

Mc Conville?

Where is this talent?  Mc Cartan played in America - can't make out what you are saying.

Mourne Rover

Line Ball, you may think that McComiskey's contribution in All Ireland finals at three levels, or even how he spells his name, is of no consequence, but most Down fans will disagree with you.  It is particularly telling that you attach no significance to the circumstances surrounding his mistaken substitution in 2010.

The three players who have left are perfectly entitled to do so, for their own valid reasons, but it is simply untrue to say that McCartan did the same thing, as he only travelled after his involvement in Down teams during the summer was over.

While everyone knows that Down are not as strong as we were in 2010, we have still managed three consecutive seasons in division one since then and we made the All Ireland quarter finals last year. There is plainly talent in our squad, but we need to rebuild and it will probably be a long hard road. Committed supporters already know this, and are realistic about the prospects, but also appreciate the efforts of our players.   

Aristo 60

Quote from: Line Ball on March 29, 2013, 11:09:16 PM
If you go back to to the 80's, 90's etc how many players have made the call to go to the States for the Summer?  Get over it, no big deal.  Mc cartan himself played in America for many years so he can't say much himself and to be honest he has wished the lads well.

Mc Conville     -      No Loss
Mc Cumiskey  -       No Loss (bit player)
O'Hagan         -      Serious loss.  Best defender we have.

If we are to be honest, Down will do nothing this year anyway!

In which years did James McCartan not make himself available for championship football??