Kerry v Tyrone

Started by Ball Hopper, July 16, 2012, 08:51:15 AM

First of all congrats to Kerry, some big players were insulted in/by the media and motivation was high - disgrace that it happened,however the tactics of O Sullivan and Cooper need further examination by the pundits.  I felt Tyrone needed to get beat by Kerry some time and I knew they wouldn't go much further so this year is as good a year as any I feel.  Takes the pressure off both teams for a next meeting.    The game was a one off that had more in common with the tough league game in 2009 in Omagh than any of the 3 all ireland games.  Tyrone finished with  so many guys that are over the hill, great servants that they have been, but they just don't know when to go and Mickey has been very loyal to them.  I felt it was wrong to start young mc curry, it gave kerry the chance to work him out at a non critical time of the game. The aghyaran lad starting defied belief.  Penrose and  Harte confirmed that they are great division 2 league footballers. I feel mickey should call a halt to the early season media stuff by pur players. No more talking till they deliver. VMidfield and breaking ball specialists were non existent.  This Tyrone team were well trained, as fit as they could be and were missing key talents but it dosent excuse another shocking exit performance.  The Tyrone management and players are burned out and now take a deserved break, for many its over.   

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Quote from: sheamy on July 21, 2012, 10:58:18 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on July 21, 2012, 10:50:35 PM
A few observations.
I honestly don't know how Tomás bit his tongue when Gormley did what he did.

I thought that too. A total legend.

What did Gormley do to Tomás lads? Missed that. Also, those on the terrace side might have noticed McMenamin come over near the fence and have "words" with a Kerry supporter during the Tyrone warm-up..don't know what the hell he was at!
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

maggie

They stop serving fierce early in Killarney.

Anyways. We were played off the park. Outclassed all over and had no real 'plan b'.

But no matter where u are from, Mickey Harte is a man who you can only admire and the Kerry supporters did just that. He was swarmed by them after the final whistle and stayed on the field signing jerseys and posing for pics. Long after he prob should have.
Felt very isolated on the stand. The Kerry crowd were more hostile than I thought. We were as welcome as tyrone supporters on the Shankill. All we can hope for (after a win for the minors tomorrow) is that some serious changes are made.

And when were Tyrone last beaten by 10 points? Must be years ago.

barelegs

Quote from: maggie on July 22, 2012, 01:48:06 AM

Anyways. We were played off the park. Outclassed all over and had no real 'plan b'.

But no matter where u are from, Mickey Harte is a man who you can only admire and the Kerry supporters did just that. He was swarmed by them after the final whistle and stayed on the field signing jerseys and posing for pics. Long after he prob should have.
Felt very isolated on the stand. The Kerry crowd were more hostile than I thought. We were as welcome as tyrone supporters on the Shankill. All we can hope for (after a win for the minors tomorrow) is that some serious changes are made.

I couldn't disagree with you there. I've never heard the kind of abuse anywhere else in Ireland that we got today from a sizeable minority of Kerry 'fans'. If the game had been in Omagh the one's doing the mouthing wouldn't have been near it

Quote from: barelegs on July 22, 2012, 02:19:27 AM
Quote from: maggie on July 22, 2012, 01:48:06 AM

I couldn't disagree with you there. I've never heard the kind of abuse anywhere else in Ireland that we got today from a sizeable minority of Kerry 'fans'. If the game had been in Omagh the one's doing the mouthing wouldn't have been near it

So we're far more welcoming our Wesht, right? Score one for the Rossies? Eh?? Eh??

Quote from: Aaron Boone on July 22, 2012, 02:06:49 AM
And when were Tyrone last beaten by 10 points? Must be years ago.

Probably 1997. Derry 2-15 Tyrone 2-3. Or something similar. And who could forget Armagh 5-9 Tyrone 1-9 in 1987?  ;D

Quote from: barelegs on July 22, 2012, 02:19:27 AM

I've witnessed it myself, and it was shocking to be honest. Paidi was spot on.

cadhlancian

Tyrone's first free set the tone for me.........Joe McMahon kicking a 35 m free from the right hand side, using the outside of his boot!!! Unbelievable that not one of our 6 forwards were able.........
Peter Harte always looks "timid", f**k it, I know he is probably getting pulled and dragged ( a la Finnian Moriarty) , , but FFS I would nearly rather he would just turn around and bury someone with a box! ( Stupid as that seems), just to light a spark in him!
NONE of our forwards can win there own ball, and as said on here numerous times, it beggars belief that we CONTINUOSLY run the ball up blind alleys , and into the tackle? How many times today did we break out of the half back line, cross midfield and then......not have a f**king clue what we were going to do next. The blame for this must rest squarely on the shoulders of Messrs Harte and Donnelly. The lack of a "plan B" was alarming.
TBH injuries have crippled us this year, and no doubt this is a side very much in transition. However, none of our newer players, ( P Harte, Mc Carron, Sean O'Neill etc) seem to have much of an edge to them. Tyrone in their pomp circa 2005 would have eaten ya without salt, not the case any more. Even Canavan was a hateful wee f**ker, and loved the tough games :o

Basketball style "team sanctions" need brought in , to end this cynical fouling, that is now the norm in high profile games.

X amount of "team" fouls per 35 mins , after that each one should automatically result in a 21 yard free, and players can "foul out" after say x amount of personal fouls??

Quote from: cadhlancian on July 22, 2012, 06:58:58 AM
Tyrone's first free set the tone for me.........Joe McMahon kicking a 35 m free from the right hand side, using the outside of his boot!!! Unbelievable that not one of our 6 forwards were able.........
Peter Harte always looks "timid", f**k it, I know he is probably getting pulled and dragged ( a la Finnian Moriarty) , , but FFS I would nearly rather he would just turn around and bury someone with a box! ( Stupid as that seems), just to light a spark in him!
NONE of our forwards can win there own ball, and as said on here numerous times, it beggars belief that we CONTINUOSLY run the ball up blind alleys , and into the tackle? How many times today did we break out of the half back line, cross midfield and then......not have a f**king clue what we were going to do next. The blame for this must rest squarely on the shoulders of Messrs Harte and Donnelly. The lack of a "plan B" was alarming.
TBH injuries have crippled us this year, and no doubt this is a side very much in transition. However, none of our newer players, ( P Harte, Mc Carron, Sean O'Neill etc) seem to have much of an edge to them. Tyrone in their pomp circa 2005 would have eaten ya without salt, not the case any more. Even Canavan was a hateful wee f**ker, and loved the tough games :o

Basketball style "team sanctions" need brought in , to end this cynical fouling, that is now the norm in high profile games.

X amount of "team" fouls per 35 mins , after that each one should automatically result in a 21 yard free, and players can "foul out" after say x amount of personal fouls??

Somehow I can't see that being a runner.

Completely outclassed yesterday and can have no complaints on the football side at all. The lack of having someone with the balls to shoot outside 30 yards killed us. There were umpteen opportunities but we turned back out into tackles, misplaced passes or went for the shot that invariably dropped wide/short. Coney and Sean would have helped in this regard.

This will have been the swan song for the vast majority of the 03/05/08 AI winning teams, a pity to go out on a game like this but those guys can hold their heads up high as they have brought us so many highs that lows like yesterday will soon be forgotten. Pity some of the cynicism was a notch too high, from both teams I might add.

Anyway, last word to Mickey Harte, a legend of a man with more dignity, strength and good grace than a hundred others.

Final final last word, Coldrick is sh*te.

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 22, 2012, 01:24:46 AM
A few observations.

What did Gormley do to Tomás lads? Missed that. Also, those on the terrace side might have noticed McMenamin come over near the fence and have "words" with a Kerry supporter during the Tyrone warm-up..don't know what the hell he was at!

After the goal he kind of thumped thomas o 'se with the ball in the stomach not a lot in it. For me it was a brutul match to watch so much cynical fouling just didn't enjoy it .Thought declan o'sullivan was superb yesterday back to his best. 

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 22, 2012, 01:24:46 AM
A few observations.

when tyrone got the goal, gormley ended up in the net with with the ball. he picked the ball up and drove it into Tomas guts, as someone has already said he could have had 5 yellows throughout the game. as for Mc menamin he just showed up yesterday what he really is,

Quote from: sizzler on July 21, 2012, 11:42:51 PM
Firstly I'd like to say congrats to Kerry. Best team won, of that's there's no doubt. I could make excuses about the ref and the sendings off but that would be disrespective to Kerry. But if u will allow me one rant.....that feckin ex mayo player summerising on tv 3, was so poor it was actualły embarrassing.

Can't blame brady this time  ;D . It was Kerry favourite Liam Hayes that was co commentating and i concur he was brutul.

Games over lads, leave it, we could talk about o sully, goofy etc but we were beat by the better team on the day. Let's not make bad losers out of ourselves. Kerry were at home and if we had been in their position we would not have let ourselves be beaten in the same situation they were in, so fair play to them, they done everything they had to do. Let's go for the minors!

One thing I'll say about Kerry. They do make deliciously good butter.