Armagh team for the Championship

Started by eriugaMS, March 18, 2012, 11:43:34 PM

Lawnseed you must have taken all your grumpy pills at once today. For what it is worth I do not believe it is possible to judge a manager given the restrictions he has had this year. We are in the position we expected to be but in my opinion are still in a better position than we were last year. Will add though that O'Rourke showed a good bit of man management on Sunday after the match with Laois personally escorting McKeever until the referee had left the pitch.

Quote from: naka on March 20, 2012, 09:54:22 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 19, 2012, 07:00:51 PM
Morgan didn't cover himself in glory at the weekend, how can he walk onto a team he's yet to play for.
give me an alternative

A fella that gets cleaned in his last game, has never played Senior Inter-County football and he's an automatic championship starter? and people actually have the neck to demand alteratives? Jesus Christ - is it just me or is that not f**king crazy???.  Your alternatives are currently in the squad (for better or worse), Morgan has to prove he's better than them at County level.  He may very well prove to be the real deal, but he cant be anointed with out even being tested.

Benny I have been at all our games this year
And accept your comment about Morgan having to prove himself
I think he will and should make the team
Championship is two months away.

Quote from: Throw ball on March 20, 2012, 09:11:03 PM
Lawnseed you must have taken all your grumpy pills at once today. For what it is worth I do not believe it is possible to judge a manager given the restrictions he has had this year. We are in the position we expected to be but in my opinion are still in a better position than we were last year. Will add though that O'Rourke showed a good bit of man management on Sunday after the match with Laois personally escorting McKeever until the referee had left the pitch.
what restrictions? you must mean the lack of something? what has he not had? hes in charge of a team who all have all ireland medals. arron kernan.. young player of the year, keiran mckeever international rules captain, stevie.. legend. cross players with all irelands.. brand new field.. resources galore. compare that to our opponents this week-Down. then compare the managers.. we've got a dud. remember the two brians and the shite they had to listen to i never heard them saying "we weren't going to win any how"

eriugaMS

Is Swift badly injured, I see no one has mentioned him above

He's walked ... gone

eriugaMS

"and grimleys reluctance to step into the limelight by actually becoming the manager and not the assistant"

if you actually bothered to go to a game this year you can clearly see that Grimley is the man making all the changes. Telling what subs to get warmed up......... Against Cork he was ready to take the head of Coonihan. Grimley is the man leading the line....... is passionate and excited about the game (Unlike some others).......... He is the man calling the shots from what i can see from a supporter who has been there for most of the national league and is making the big decisions....

Wind your neck in boss. Have you even been to game this year. If so you would not have written the above as it proves you:

A)  have no clue

B)  Don't watch the line during a game

In Grimley we trust

QuoteIn Grimley we trust

Perhaps, but he is now going to end up suspended for his carry on at the end of the Laois game and if he is calling the shots the team performance isn't great, esp against Mayo.

Maybe I missed it but i saw no reference to Tony Kernan there, he has one attribute currently missing in that Armagh team...the ability to hit frees from beyond 35 metres. I also think Stephen Kernan is vastly under rated by fans and management alike, although I don't see a role for both him and Tony at the same time.

Quote from: eriugaMS on March 20, 2012, 11:31:12 PM
"and grimleys reluctance to step into the limelight by actually becoming the manager and not the assistant"

if you actually bothered to go to a game this year you can clearly see that Grimley is the man making all the changes. Telling what subs to get warmed up......... Against Cork he was ready to take the head of Coonihan. Grimley is the man leading the line....... is passionate and excited about the game (Unlike some others).......... He is the man calling the shots from what i can see from a supporter who has been there for most of the national league and is making the big decisions....

Wind your neck in boss. Have you even been to game this year. If so you would not have written the above as it proves you:

A)  have no clue

B)  Don't watch the line during a game

In Grimley we trust
who has he managed? do you buy any programs at all these games your going to i think grimley is the assistant. truth is armagh were playing better before he arrived. chase them both

That is some statement to come out with. Players missing all over the shop, we are largely a young developing side and you want to chase both managers?  Sounds well thought out, replace them with who or what though considering new management would have the same missing players and be faced with the same rebuilding project?  Bit of realism required.

Pay no heed, benny. Yer man is barstool gobshitery incarnate.

again... ::) what has james macartan had that paddy orourke has been missing or denied in their respective jobs as managers of down and armagh. on paper armagh are the stronger team. look how the two teams performed against dublin? did james macartan say 'ah sure w werent going to win anyway'? no he told them to get stuck in

Quote from: bennydorano on March 21, 2012, 07:31:27 PM
That is some statement to come out with. Players missing all over the shop, we are largely a young developing side and you want to chase both managers?  Sounds well thought out, replace them with who or what though considering new management would have the same missing players and be faced with the same rebuilding project? Bit of realism required.

I certainly think that POR has to go at the end of the season barring an Ulster title/AI semi-final appearance. Though he is a man who will not leave until he is pushed so anything is possible. Unless the Co Board make the decision a 4th term is not out of the question.

Quote from: yellowcard on March 23, 2012, 11:24:50 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on March 21, 2012, 07:31:27 PM
That is some statement to come out with. Players missing all over the shop, we are largely a young developing side and you want to chase both managers?  Sounds well thought out, replace them with who or what though considering new management would have the same missing players and be faced with the same rebuilding project? Bit of realism required.
I certainly think that POR has to go at the end of the season barring an Ulster title/AI semi-final appearance. Though he is a man who will not leave until he is pushed so anything is possible. Unless the Co Board make the decision a 4th term is not out of the question.

We'll have a new manager next year then...

QuoteI certainly think that POR has to go at the end of the season barring an Ulster title/AI semi-final appearance.

Why should he go?  He has made the team punch well above its weight at times and he can't be expected to make a silk purse from a pig's ear.