Stereotypes of the English (don't be racist)

Started by ardal, March 11, 2012, 02:53:54 PM

Pork pies
Warm beer
Cricket

3 things i will never get my head around

Quote from: maddog on March 12, 2012, 03:25:44 PM
Pork pies
Warm beer
Cricket

I love all three. And there was me wondering why she liked me ;)

Quote from: deiseach on March 12, 2012, 03:47:22 PM
Pork pies
Warm beer
Cricket

I love all three. And there was me wondering why she liked me ;)

Did you love them before she loved you though?

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 12, 2012, 03:57:54 PM

Pork pies - food of the gods. Always has been, always will be, and cholesterol be damned
Cricket - definitely came to appreciate its charms long before I met her
Warm beer - no. Definitely something she foisted on me with her "you'll love this!" ways. See also: home-grown tomatoes and walking around stately piles

Nail on the head, although it's more England than "the English"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGbWJoZAsCs

Had to laugh at the bad teeth one on the first page. We wouldn't be renowned for the state of our pearly whites ourselves..  :o

ziggy90

Quote from: deiseach on March 12, 2012, 04:02:14 PM

Pork pies - food of the gods. Always has been, always will be, and cholesterol be damned
Warm beer - no. Definitely something she foisted on me with her "you'll love this!" ways. See also: home-grown tomatoes and walking around stately piles
[/b]
You have more in common with Maddog than you think. :o
Questions that shouldn't be asked shouldn't be answered

Quote from: ziggy90 on March 12, 2012, 04:57:02 PM

But that's enough about piles

Pork pies
Warm beer
Cricket

Pork pies are alright, would eat the odd one but not that often.

Real Ales are an acquired taste but I'm a big fan now and love finding a CAMRA** pub with a few drinks I've never tried before. You develop a different way of drinking around it, drinking slowly to savour the taste as opposed to getting it down ya. And you get to drink a few different beers a night instead of 6 of the same gassy stuff.

Ireland traditionally was an ale producing country with about 200 breweries which seem to have disappeared over the last 100 years with drinkers turning in favour of the big brand lagers.

As for cricket, well I haven't taken to it yet and I don't see it happening either. I have enough sport on my plate as things are.

**(Campaign for Real Ale)

Quote from: Billys Boots on March 12, 2012, 10:46:21 AM
How can you start listing stereotypes about a nationality without becoming racist, sectarian or bigotted?
I was wondering that myself. And it's clear that you can't.

They're definitely more reserved/uptight/formal - even with their own families. It's weird.

I use to think laid back friendly sterotype of the Irish was a load of bullshit but it's generally the first thing I notice upon landing at Dublin airport!

Myles Na G.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on March 12, 2012, 07:05:33 PM
They're definitely more reserved/uptight/formal - even with their own families. It's weird.

I use to think laid back friendly sterotype of the Irish was a load of bullshit but it's generally the first thing I notice upon landing at Dublin airport!
That's those Eastern Europeans for you.

ardchieftain

Stupid thread
but i must say, Ale is the drink of the Gods

Im sorry but english ale is piss water and the waste water flowing out of your dishwasher would have more taste.

Quote from: deiseach on March 12, 2012, 05:26:08 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on March 12, 2012, 04:57:02 PM

But that's enough about piles

;D Theres a man trying to talk himself out of the fruits of my horticultural labour, which he has never turned his nose at. Here Ziggy - would you not be better off on the come dine with me thread ye hoor ye ;)