Accents you love, accents you hate, accents that make you laugh

Started by Eamonnca1, October 18, 2011, 06:47:12 PM

The South African accent is one of my favourites.  I also love the Boston, New York and Newcastle accents.  I hate the scouse accent with a passion, as well as the North Antrim one.

amallon

Retired Rugby commentator Bill McClaren had a great accent
Disclaimer: I am responsible for MY comments only.  I don't own this site.

Quote from: amallon on October 19, 2011, 09:22:52 AM
Retired Rugby commentator Bill McClaren had a great accent

Yes. I could listen to him all day. 
Peter Alliss who did the golf and the cricket commentators are nice to listen to as well.

I can't abide the Dort occent. It used to come with an inbuilt superiority complex but the collapse of the Tiger has left it looking very bereft.   

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on October 19, 2011, 12:22:58 AM

Mayo
Roscommon
Fermanagh
Wexford
Cork
Welsh
Scouser
Highland Scottish
Edinburgh Scottish
Newcastle
Posh South of England
French girls
New Orleans
Southern American women (Savana)
Melbourne
Posh Belfast
Boston
Devon-Cornwall
Soft Derry
Soft Donegal-woman
South African Afrikaner
South African Nelson Mandela type accent
Cavan-Monaghan

Dislike

East of the Bann
D4 Dublin/Dort
Mid-Ulster
Glasgow Scottish
Essex
Chav accent
Traveller-Irish accent
East Coast American
Dutch
Ian Paisley sounding folk
Gerry Adams sounding folk
Nicole Coyle Derry
Angry Donegalman
Dublin Skanger
Danish people speaking English
Steryotype Jewish-American comedian accent
West African English
Kiwi
South Sea Islander
Australian Bogan accent
Australian Med accent
Getto British accent

Jesus christ you have too much time on your hands! Glad to see you like your own accent too.

Quote from: nrico2006 on October 19, 2011, 08:44:42 AM
The South African accent is one of my favourites.  I also love the Boston, New York and Newcastle accents. I hate the scouse accent with a passion, as well as the North Antrim one.

grow a set

love the scottish accent italian, french and spanish, also enjoy listening to a proper cockney rambling on, good craic

ziggy90

Like   Brummie, New York/Jersey, West of Ireland, South Tyrone & working class Dub. Cant stand Pakistani, Scouse & Cockney. Ones that make me laugh include West Country, North Tyrone, South African & Hillbilly.
Questions that shouldn't be asked shouldn't be answered

Like ( on burds obviously)

Armagh - can add at least 50% to doable scale
Tyrone - as above
Welsh
Soft Scottish

Dislike

South Dublin - Do you have a nasal problem?
West Clare - Subtitles needed
Cork - I know you are from Cork, stop trying to be from Jamaica
Cockney - Every conversation feels like you are going to end up buying stolen goods of some sort
Australian - Hi ya guuyin???
Californian - Sound like an idiot no matter how intelligent they are

Quote from: J OGorman on October 19, 2011, 12:52:45 PM
The South African accent is one of my favourites.  I also love the Boston, New York and Newcastle accents. I hate the scouse accent with a passion, as well as the North Antrim one.

grow a set

love the scottish accent italian, french and spanish, also enjoy listening to a proper cockney rambling on, good craic

How does your above contribution correlate with anything I have written? 

Enjoy:
Geordie
N E Lancashire
East Scotland, Aberdeen, Edinburgh
Isles accent
Cork
Newfoundland
Educated Aussie
Maori
Kenyan/Tanzanian
Zimbabwean
French (female only though)
Russian (female only)

San tome and Principe
Comoros Islands.

Detest.
Jackeen
Scouse
Cockney
Brummy
Belfast
skanky derry
Kyaaaavin
Maaaanahin
South African
Chinese
Egyptian

Quote from: nrico2006 on October 19, 2011, 04:02:48 PM

grow a set

Manchester Utd fan hates Liverpool accent shocker, you the same age as the chuckle brothers?  :o

Quote from: J OGorman on October 19, 2011, 04:42:13 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on October 19, 2011, 04:02:48 PM

grow a set

Manchester Utd fan hates Liverpool accent shocker, you the same age as the chuckle brothers?  :o

Are we now supposed to like accents depending on our football teams :D. Personally I like the Scouse accent, especially in women and the Manc drawl does nothing for me is this wrong??

Just thought of this, classic!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tbqkN6W8j38

Hate

All Nordie accents.
Skanger Dubs
Posh Dubs
The Offaly accent.

Swedish.
Scottish.
Welsh.

Some of the Ulster accents Nadine Coyle,Daniel O'Donnell have probably killed the Derry,Donegal ones. Leitrim,Utah,Wyoming,Norwegian,Dutch

Dislike

The story bud Dublin accent,Loughrea Galway accent,Louth (the ones that sound like Steve Staunton)Mancunian (might have something to do with Coronation street) Mid Texas.