Cill Dara v An Mhí - Droichead Nua 20/3/2011

Started by Donnellys Hollow, March 14, 2011, 11:05:13 AM

I'm not going to write off the Banty era already as some are doing on Hoganstand but so far I haven't seen any new footballing 'paradigm' from last year.

What's more disappointing is that it seems to be very few new faces making a claim to a spot on the team. Now maybe since the U-21s are out we'll see a few of them coming in to it.

We are also missing the 2 Bray's, Cian Ward is out but not for too long, Graham and Kevin are out for the rest of the league. Jamie Queeney hasn't got a run yet, Micky Burke is injured I think, Chris O'Connor hasn't got a run yet either.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on March 14, 2011, 11:05:13 AM
Never write off the Royals......

Kildares to lose.
And THIS time I actually mean it.  :'(

The Claw

I can see Kildare handing out a beating here.

There's plenty of dirty diesel to be blown out of the Kildare system yet. They've been poor enough so far this year and are missing quite a few players including two All-Stars with long-term knee injuries. Quite fortunate to win yesterday but they had a bit too much cuteness for Laois when it came down to the last five minutes. I get the impression they're not too bothered about the league as long as they avoid relegation - starting with Daryl Flynn at full-forward yesterday when Kavanagh was on the bench, and not playing Johnny Doyle or Éamonn Callaghan even though both would have probably been fit enough to have taken some part suggests as much.

Meath have been poor so far, going their results. I'm sure they'll be well up for this one though given the result of the last match between the sides and the fact that they could both meet again in Croke Park next June. This match is far from a foregone conclusion and it wouldn't surprise me in the slightest to see Meath win.

The only games we are ever 'well up for' are games against Dublin.
Pretty much any team in the country could beat us atm.

I loathe to comment on Kildare when I haven't seen them play but I get the impression that McGeeney is working on developing his squad while managing injuries better. Banty in Meath I reckon has written off the league and coming from Ulster I'd say his focus initially will be getting Meath into a physical and mental shape to play a very agressive game and with new systems I'd say it will be the summer before we see the best of Meath.

Still Kildare probably have the edge, only lost once so far this year and with players returning should take this at home.

For anyone interested the Kildare Juniors are playing the Carlow seniors at 5pm in Hawkfield after this game.

McEnaney: Royal slump will be the making of us

QuoteBy Colm Keys
Tuesday March 15 2011

It's not a matter of if Meath will turn their abysmal league form around, it's a matter of when.

That was the bold prediction of manager Seamus McEnaney yesterday as his team edged ever close to the Division 2 trap door after a third defeat from four in their campaign to date.

It was more the performance than the result against a Michael Murphy-inspired Donegal that heaped the pressure on McEnaney and Meath, but the manager remained upbeat despite the predicament they now find themselves in.

Meath travel to Kildare on Sunday, host a resurgent Tyrone two weeks later and are then away to Derry in their final game, a fixture that was never kind to them even at the height of Sean Boylan's time in charge.

Failure to win at least one of those games would mean certain relegation to Division 3 and would pile even more pressure on the management.

controversial

McEnaney took charge of Meath last November after a controversial and at times embittered process, his appointment the outcome of Eamonn O'Brien's removal as manager in September after losing a County Board vote of confidence.

McEnaney's position as the county's first 'outside' manager and the assembly of a high-profile back-room team was never likely to allow him much of a honeymoon period.

But their situation now can be the "making" of the team, he insisted yesterday, and the "biggest test" they have faced.

"It's a great test of this management team and it is a great test of the players' character. I'd like to think that we can look back on this period and say that this made us better, this was the making of us," McEnaney said.

"There is no doubt that we are not playing as well as we can and we are certainly not playing as well as we would like to be. But I'm certain we'll turn a corner soon. It's only a matter of when that this team puts together a really big performance."

As for pressure, he is not publicly buying into the notion that he is under any after only four league games. And he is adamant that he can count 100pc on the support of the players, the majority of whom were very keen to see his appointment happen last autumn.

Meath travel to Kildare on Sunday in the knowledge that their away record over the last four seasons is dreadful, with just one win (against Wexford) and a draw (against Roscommon) from 12 games.

They are also without a number of key players who are either injured or, in the case of Peadar Byrne, suspended. Terry Skelly is also facing suspension after being sent off against Donegal.

Stephen Bray is not due back from his honeymoon until the end of the month, while Graham Reilly (groin) and Kevin Reilly (hamstring) are unlikely to see any further league action.

There is, however, better news for Cian Ward, who could be available again for the Kildare game after a specialist cleared him of any serious damage. Ward sustained what was thought to be a fractured cheekbone in a club game, but has made a quick improvement.

Squad members David Bray and Cormac McGill are also injured, but McEnaney is not offering injuries and unavailability as an excuse.

"We're not making any excuses for any performance we've had. We're in a bad place, not a place we intended to be and it's up to us together, management and players, to dig ourselves out of it.

"I can't say there is any one thing that has stopped us from performing to the best of our ability. Our training has gone well and the players have bought into it and everything we have been trying to do.

"There is a tight-knit group of players in there doing everything they can to pull us out of it," added McEnaney who defended the effort his players put into Sunday's game.

Failure to win another game in the division would mean relegation, and even one win from the three remaining would not guarantee survival.

Kildare will have Johnny Doyle and Eamonn Callaghan back for the match after they missed the weekend win over Laois.

- Colm Keys

This will be the making of us it seems. Nothing like a relegation battle in Division  2 to drive you on.

Ah I'm being cynical. Sure we have been up and down the leagues even when Sean, the 2 Eamonns and Coyler were in charge. I'm trying not to get worked up about a few bad results, would be nice to see a solid performance sooner than later though. The bihatimber final against the Dubs was probably our best performance so far.

Bernard Flynn was saying in his column the lads attitude were a disgrace and was comparing them to Harnan and his own generation who would at least show some pride etc. The whole thing seemed to be written from the stands, I wish Bernard took the time to actually speak to the lads rather than ranting about it in the papers. It doesn't do anyone any favours and I'm sure all the lads would have time for him given what he achieved in the green jersey.

by all accounts the lads are training hard 4 nights a week as well as their own personal training. I'm sure they'll come good eventually but it might be too late to save us from relegation. Here's hoping we pick some points up in the last 3 games.

agorm

I agree Juice.

The other point is that if they are the best we have got it is not really their fault that they are the best we have got if you get my drift.. We have been very poor at underage level in recent years and petty county board politics is a big cause of where we are. Delegates seem to vote Barney et al back in time after time and a fresh approach is needed.

Good result for Kildare considering we were wiped out at midfield for long periods. I can't understand why Daryl Flynn was left inside in the full-forward line for so long and it was no surprise that Kildare's improvement coincided with his switch. Paudie is well worth his place in the team but I'm not sure it's at midfield. Young Moolick did ok against Nigel Crawford but it's a lot to ask of a lad straight out of minor to throw him into a derby match like that.

Full-back line was very solid. Mick Foley had another stormer and kept Sheridan quiet for long periods. Mac was very solid and his man was replaced at half-time. McGrillen got the better of Brian Farrell but he was caught out badly for the Meath goal which let them back into it. Chalky had another fine game in the half-back line (might be worth a run at midfield alongside Flynn?). Flanagan needs to up his game with Morgan Flats back in contention. Rob Kelly kicked some great points and now looks nailed on to start come the summer. Johnny was back to his best and Roli, Eoghan Flats and Cribbin got through plenty of work.

Marty Duffy did his best to ruin what was a decent enough match. It was some laugh when he ran into a Roli Sweeney shoulder in the first-half! His daft officiating was the spark for that bit of a scrap at the end. Should be some craic if the teams meet again in a few months time.

Kildare still have a lot of work to do but they are improving. Tyrone in Omagh will be a big test.

Just wait till we get hold of ye in the summer.  >:(

Micklow will bate us. We're going the scenic route again this year.

Speaking with lads last night and although they know Meath are training savagely at the moment there is still a feeling that the players haven't really bought into Banty's system of play.