The Luke "Ming" Flanagan Thread

Started by mayogodhelpus@gmail.com, March 08, 2011, 11:44:12 AM

foxcommander

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on May 29, 2014, 07:13:30 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 29, 2014, 03:58:29 PM
When your kids emigrate for good  then come back to me on your high horses.

Quote from: foxcommander on May 29, 2014, 04:50:35 PM
Why not go to the French riviera, the Algarve or perhaps a nice little chalet in Tuscany? They are far nicer places to live.

mabye the kids decided there were far nicer places to live !!

Somehow don't think their stay would be sponsored by those governments?
I'd like a nice house just overlooking Lake Como please. And a medical card.
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Can ya keep the vaguely racist anti-immigration shite out of the Ming thread? It has absolutely nothing to do with him and he would endorse almost nothing of what you've typed here. Same goes for Lynchbhoy's Ayn Rand moment.

Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 29, 2014, 07:17:48 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 29, 2014, 06:07:47 PM
So feck Sinn Fein, it's me Fein for me and capitalism a all the way.
Systems need fixed!

Yeah, what a soaraway success casino capitalism has been.

For Capitalism to work,  there must be controls - the socialisation of gambler debts is a shameful obscenity visited upon those yet to see the light of day in this State by the culpable, complicit and incompetent,  by varying degrees, with no combination thereof mutually exclusive.

We've had so-termed administrations that have proved to be pitifully inadequate on the European political stage, but don't you worry, they're crucifying the least well off. You'll be grand. ;)
I may or may not be grand - it's not for me I want the proper controls you correctly mention put in place for! It is indeed those who are least well off. Plus it could be any of us some day !

Quote from: Syferus on May 29, 2014, 08:06:00 PM
Can ya keep the vaguely racist anti-immigration shite out of the Ming thread? It has absolutely nothing to do with him and he would endorse almost nothing of what you've typed here. .

Well said Syfín.  ( must lie down for a while... :-[)
Foxracist seems to think young Irish people emigrating only started when foreigners started coming in here in the last 15 years.
Meanwhile Lynchboy doesn't realise but his earlier rant about cheap foreign labour undercutting Irish workers is a charge that has been levelled at Irish people all over the world for 200 years.

CD

Should we all be racists now? What's the official line the Board is taking on this? Only, the farm takes up most of the day and at night I just like a cup o' tea and I mightn't be able to devote meself full time to the ol' racism.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDg07hd0BhQ
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

Quote from: Rossfan on May 29, 2014, 08:14:55 PM
Can ya keep the vaguely racist anti-immigration shite out of the Ming thread? It has absolutely nothing to do with him and he would endorse almost nothing of what you've typed here. .

Foxracist seems to think young Irish people emigrating only started when foreigners started coming in here in the last 15 years.
Meanwhile Lynchboy doesn't realise but his earlier rant about cheap foreign labour undercutting Irish workers is a charge that has been levelled at Irish people all over the world for 200 years.
Can't speak for yesteryear and there's no problem with someone undercutting someone else on price
But when it happened that the workers undercutting are unskilled at that particular trade - and the lads kicked out were skilled- then where's the racism!!

This isn't racist - personally I abhor malpractice irrespective of creed or colour
I'd not have immigrants misused or abused either

Some here just seem to be in a cocoon or naive
But speak up about actual incidents and that's not what some want to hear - not quite as easy to say such things don't happen! So shout racist instead!

Jeez with lads calling or implying others are racist, I'd have thought the mods would be all over this thread shutting it down

Quote from: lynchbhoy on May 29, 2014, 09:59:01 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 29, 2014, 08:14:55 PM

Can't speak for yesteryear and there's no problem with someone undercutting someone else on price
But when it happened that the workers undercutting are unskilled at that particular trade - and the lads kicked out were skilled- then where's the racism!!

This isn't racist - personally I abhor malpractice irrespective of creed or colour
I'd not have immigrants misused or abused either

Some here just seem to be in a cocoon or naive
But speak up about actual incidents and that's not what some want to hear - not quite as easy to say such things don't happen! So shout racist instead!

Jeez with lads calling or implying others are racist, I'd have thought the mods would be all over this thread shutting it down

Am I correct in saying that your problem is allegedly unskilled imigrants taking "Irish" jobs??

Surely then the problem lies with the employer and enforcement of regulations rather than with the guy trying to feed his family (who in many cases are in his home country)?? What would you do if you were in his shoes??

The sense of entitlement some people on here have is unbelievable

Missing my point in the rush to label me as a racist etc

I said that the problem is with unskilled people taking the place of skilled workers ( this could be an unskilled paddy taking the job of a skilled afghani - I have no actual issue with the person, race or creed)

Yes this is a problem mostly because of the employer ( though a lot of unskilled employees will chance their arm unfortunately - esp when shoddy work later causes injury to someone), which is why I said earlier that measures must be taken to resolve - my thoughts in construction industry where this issue was/is rife was to bring in a system that guarantees that the people doing skilled work are qualified skilled tradespeople ( again I make no distinction or care not for race creed etc), to get any building job certified, a builder now must get architect or civil/const engineer to sign off - so part of this should be that employees must show certificates that they are qualified.

This would guarantee quality of construct, stop unscrupulous builders abusing cheap labour and employing unskilled guys to do skilled work.

This does not guarantee irish men jobs, but that isn't my agenda or desire here - so you lads should start reading what is written not what you think is written and jumping on this high horse

Sorry, I must have misconstrued this as referring to non-Irish workers

I understand what foxcommander is saying on 'taking our jobs' as I now plenty of construction workers/tradesmen who were working in various sites, to be replaced by EU immigrants and non eu immigrants because they were cheaper

Quote from: macdanger2 on May 29, 2014, 11:24:01 PM
Sorry, I must have misconstrued this as referring to non-Irish workers

I understand what foxcommander is saying on 'taking our jobs' as I now plenty of construction workers/tradesmen who were working in various sites, to be replaced by EU immigrants and non eu immigrants because they were cheaper
That refers to actual cases I know about ( I missed out my usual qualification about skilled/unskilled here - as that's my beef, not replacing unskilled workers with cheaper alternatives - that's just capitalism , which I'm all for)

But the issue that needs to be fixed could also be the reverse

Is it racist to point out actual examples?
I think you will find what I've said all along is that measures must be taken to stop unskilled replacing skilled, protecting rights of all workers and ensuring that unscrupulous builders no longer can get away with abuse and shoddy/unsafe work

I have no problem with that stance Lynchbhoy, but I think the word 'unskilled' does change the perception of the comment a lot. And as someone else said, if a builder is hiring unskilled migrant workers because they are cheaper than Irish workers, then the fault is with him, not with the lads looking for work. At least they are out looking for work.

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 30, 2014, 09:34:06 AM
Are we racists now Ted?
undoubtedly dougal !!

some of us have had thinly veiled accusations thrown at us- so im surprised the thread has remained open!

im against exploitation and fine gael.

sure I wouldn't even have the unionist prods sent back to Scotland, that's how non-racist I am !!!
:)

To get back to the subject of this thread - a dacent Roscommon man who seems to have been derailed into some kind of debate on racism/immigrants/price undercutting  >:( >:( >:( >:(
Will Ming join some groupeen in the Euro Parliament and if so which one??
He's not a great fan of the EU as it presently is but most of those who are of a similar view are of a Raving Right outlook (UKIP/Le Pen etc ) which he isn't.

Quote from: Rossfan on May 30, 2014, 11:00:00 AM
To get back to the subject of this thread - a dacent Roscommon man who seems to have been derailed into some kind of debate on racism/immigrants/price undercutting  >:( >:( >:( >:(
Will Ming join some groupeen in the Euro Parliament and if so which one??He's not a great fan of the EU as it presently is but most of those who are of a similar view are of a Raving Right outlook (UKIP/Le Pen etc ) which he isn't.

Interesting question. Hard to see how he'd fit in the ones I know about.