NFL Division 2 2011

Started by Jinxy, January 31, 2011, 11:44:56 PM

Have we Sligo at home? too lazy to look up!

Yep. 10 April in the last round.

I hope they've no problem with the teamsheet this time!

Meath, Laois and Sligo at home, amazing always seem to be away to those sides.

Antrim 0-11 Kildare 1-17

Similar match to the qualifier between the two teams at the same venue last summer. Kildare gave their usual curate's egg performance. The backs were overly zealous in some of their tackling during the first half and Paddy Cunningham punished them with his frees. Lynch and O'Neill struggled at midfield early on but once they got a hold of the game after half an hour Kildare took control.

Brian Flanagan had a great game and chipped in with a few scores. He was back to his 2009 form this afternoon and he looks a lot leaner than he did last year when he was too bulked up IMO. Leper was very effective again. Johnny looked a bit rusty but he got through a mountain of ball as usual. Rob Kelly was a handful at full-forward and will be a key player this year if he stays fit. Dowling showed well and Cribbo is making a habit out of these injury time goals!

David Whyte mixed the good with the bad. Ennis and Smith never really got into the game and Tommy O'Neill didn't look particularly comfortable in the corner. Hopefully we can get a few corner backs fit before the Derry match because we could struggle against better forwards.

Not a match that will live long in the memory but a positive result considering we're missing so many players at the moment.

Quote from: hardstation on February 06, 2011, 10:12:08 PM
We were complete gash.

Martin Higgins is a d**khead.

That is all for now.

Desperately poor alright. Par for the course from referees these days it seems.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 04, 2011, 02:07:51 PM
Newbridge should have been levelled about forty years ago - asbestos roofed stand, iron bars blocking your view of the pitch, a terrace that suddenly ends at the twenty one yard line, dressing rooms that you couldn't swing a cat inside, the state of the jacks!

Still though, the old girl can generate a great atmosphere. Looking forward to the Meath and Laois matches. I can't remember the last time we played Meath at home in the league.

Don't forget the pitch!. Great for building up the auld quads.

Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on February 06, 2011, 10:16:26 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 06, 2011, 10:12:08 PM
We were complete gash.

Martin Higgins is a d**khead.

That is all for now.

Desperately poor alright. Par for the course from referees these days it seems.

Martin Higgins (Fermanagh) - three words that should strike fear into any knowledgeable Gael.

Although he is, I'm told, the referee with the highest official rating in Ulster.

Expect to see much more of the little man.

Kildare team v Derry:

1 Shane Connolly (Naomh Lorcan)
2. Hugh McGrillen (Cill Droichid)
3. Brian Flanagan (Baile Droichead Sheáin)
4. Tommy O'Neill (Naomh Lorcan)
5. David Whyte (Achadh Mordha)
6. Mark Scanlon (Na Cloigthithe)
7. Emmet Bolton (Baile Éide)
8. Hugh Lynch (Confaigh)
9. Pádraig O'Neill (Naomh Lorcan)
10. Éamonn Callaghan (Nás na Roigh)
11. Johnny Doyle (Fiodh Alúine)
12. Eoghan O'Flaherty (Cairbre)
13. Fionn Dowling (Crochta na Gréine)
14. Rob Kelly (Teach Srafáin)
15. Alan Smith (Na Sairséalaigh)

Brian Flanagan and Tommy O'Neill in the full-back line? Not sure if they'll line out there.

Forwards look strong especially when you consider Kavanagh is yet to return to the team.

Kildare 0-11 Derry 0-13

Disappointing result and performance. Too many players not at the races yet we still had chances to win it that we squandered.

Tommy O'Neill and David Whyte both coughed up a few scores down the terrace side in the first half and were both replaced at half-time. We were well beaten at midfield and the forwards were starved of possession for long periods. Lynch and O'Neill are probably too similar but Daryl Flynn will be back after the next match so hopefully that won't be a long term problem. O'Flaherty and Smith in particular looked off the pace. Smith looks short of confidence at the moment. He needs to stop throwing himself on the ground at every opportunity. He might miss out next weekend if Kavanagh and Rob Kelly (who could have made a big difference today) are back.

McGrillen and Dowling were Kildare's best players. Dowling looks a real find. He kicked two great points off his left boot and should have been given the free-taking responsibilities from the right hand side. Tough trip up to Donegal next weekend. There should be another few lads back for that so hopefully we can improve.

1. Laois       4pts   +8
2. Derry      4pts   +3
3. Donegal  3pts   +7
4. Kildare    2pts   +7
5. Meath    2pts   +4
6. Sligo      1pt     -7
7. Tyrone   0pts   -8
8. Antrim    0pts   -14

Next fixtures

Antrim v Meath, Casement Park, 7.30pm (SAT)
Derry v Laois, Celtic Park, 1.30pm
Donegal v Kildare, Ballybofey 2.30pm
Sligo v Tyrone, Markievicz Park, 2.30pm

leaveherinsir

Quote from: thejuice on February 20, 2011, 10:52:38 PM
1. Laois       4pts   +8
2. Derry      4pts   +3
3. Donegal  3pts   +7
4. Kildare    2pts   +7
5. Meath    2pts   +4
6. Sligo      1pt     -7
7. Tyrone   0pts   -8
8. Antrim    0pts   -14

Next fixtures

Antrim v Meath, Casement Park, 7.30pm (SAT)
Derry v Laois, Celtic Park, 1.30pm
Donegal v Kildare, Ballybofey 2.30pm
Sligo v Tyrone, Markievicz Park, 2.30pm
Sweet reading!!  :D

might change next week. Sligo were poor today. Laois are looking good so you might be close to your friends in Tyrone in the table.

leaveherinsir

Quote from: thejuice on February 20, 2011, 11:10:18 PM
might change next week. Sligo were poor today. Laois are looking good so you might be close to your friends in Tyrone in the table.
Would have to fancy Dery to beat Laois at home. Joking aside, poor start for Tyrone in this league, but would be loathe to write them off completely, would only come back to haunt me in the summer, one thinks! That said, cant see them relishing a trip to Sligo next weekend

That's a handy couple of points for us up in Casement anyway.